Worse gig youve ever been at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I honestly don't remember for sure who it was. You couldn't spit without hitting one of those bands for a few years there.

Highlight for me of that gig before i fell asleep was somebody shouting out "WE LOVE YOU RAZORLIGHT!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,241 ✭✭✭✭siblers

spiralism wrote: »
    Saw them at Oxegen in 2008, was hanging around the main stage as i wanted to be up close to the front for RATM. Actually sat leaning against the back barrier of the pit and fell asleep. Snooze inducing.

I was at that too, I think Arcade Fire were on after..it's not that they were awful live or anything, just that their songs were really bland and boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

mikeym wrote: »
    Bob Dylan Live at the Marquee 2014.

Hes too old to go on tour and he doesnt have the voice anymore.

and its been like that for the past 20 years tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

+1on the Lansdowne oasis gig,complete let down.was gutted altogether, never got the chance to see them again either.although that said super grass were class,was really surprised tbh.(seen them at article monkeys in malahide a few years ago,were still class IMO)

Best probably chemical brothers in the point around the time come with us was out I think.no drink or pills(absolutely unheard of for me then)but was a cracking night all the same.
    Honorable mention gos to Nas in the point.not a big fan of hip hop but was a really good gig,two turntable see and a microphone, a DJ and himself.really bare stage,but was very engaging with the crowd,not just doing his own stuff,did some biggie,tupac etc was really pleasantly surprised.

Also Glenn Hansard is a prize prick alright.was at a charity gig in Whelan's.came on after ham sandwich and when he came to do THAT song wasked people to quiet down,literally waited till everyone stopped talking, ffs there's a mic in front of ye,ya dope.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

mikeym wrote: »
    Bob Dylan Live at the Marquee 2014.

Hes too old to go on tour and he doesnt have the voice anymore.

He's an acquired taste.
    I'm a huge fan but I've still not had the chance to witness him live.
    I really like his voice as it is today, its got that ghostly, bluesman aura about it.
    He's earned it.Takes skill to get your voice like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

Britney Spears at the O2 a few years ago with my girlfriend, could actually hear her breathing down the mic as the backing track played! And as for her lip syncing... Shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Seanachai

He's an acquired taste.
    I'm a huge fan but I've still not had the chance to witness him live.
    I really like his voice as it is today, its got that ghostly, bluesman aura about it.
    He's earned it.Takes skill to get your voice like that.

I saw him in Nowlan park in Kilkenny in 2006 and wasn't impressed, I'm not a huge fan so it wasn't that much of a letdown, it was kind of funny hearing him speed through the songs with the nasal tone though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Elton John a few years back at the RDS... played none of his hits all from new album. . Boring and self indulgent. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i do get a little angry when people suggest bands should call it a day ....it's like someone walks into your job off the street and tells your boss your sh1t and should be let go...it's their fecking job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Elton John a few years back at the RDS... played none of his hits all from new album. . Boring and self indulgent. .
    get a cd

i'm not a fan at all but i reckon he played 12 hits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

get a cd

Get a TV!

Niemoj wrote: »
    Britney Spears at the O2 a few years ago with my girlfriend, could actually hear her breathing down the mic as the backing track played! And as for her lip syncing... Shambles.
    and you were expecting?

The after party for that was the stuff of legend.
    do tell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Plek Trum

Oasis years ago at Feile, Cork - major let down.
    Most recently, Kings of Leon at Marlay Park... no buzz at all !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Linoge

Gorillaz at Glastonbury - really really bad. They were so tame and none of the crowd could get into it. I think at one point Damon got pissed off and shouted "oh fcking come on!" Didn't work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

and you were expecting?

At a concert?!

Well I don't know, actual singing maybe...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

At a concert?!

So if you went to a string quartet concert you'd demand singing? Or maybe just different bands do different things?

At a concert?!

britney spears???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

A friend of mine was at that gig. She said she was a little disappointed that she didn't sing live but that the show and choreography was so elaborate that you couldn't really expect someone to sing and do the dancing at the same time. She enjoyed it anyway but said it was more of a show than a concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Worst and best performance, Robert Plant, first time I saw him was 1984 at the Glasgow Appollo he was touring the Principle of the moments album, he concentrated on solo material and not a Zeppelin classic in sight. Was bored sh1tless as was more a Zep fan than a Plant solo fan, although he had a trippy lighting rig. Fast forward to 19 years later at Electric Picnic 2013 and Robert Plant simply blew me away, 6 or 7 Zeppelin classics and some great new material, super tight band with a mixture of Zeppelinish Massive Attack sound. He even looked and sounded more like Plant than Plant nearly twenty years ago.

Best gig hands down was Iggy Pop and the Stooges at Electric Picnic 2007, where they played most of Raw and the first album.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

Everlong1 wrote: »
    What is it about toe rags and reggae ? Seriously? Has anyone ever noticed the correlation between knack bags (and I don't mean Pavees, I mean knackers as in general scumbag druggie types) and reggae? They love their Bob Marley, and of course they're usually racist as fu*k too.

Bob Marley was racist (at times), although not as bad as Bunny Wailer (all the times). Reggae has a huge problem with racism and homophobia. I'm into reggae myself, but it's not all peace and love.

Edit: I should qualify that by saying that the majority of Marley's lyrics promoted decency and equality, but he did have another side to his character Some would say it's understandable given the environment he was born into and the prejudice he experienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Bob Marley was racist, although not as bad as Bunny Wailer. Reggae has a huge problem with racism and homophobia. I'm into reggae myself, but it's not all peace and love.

Yet special reggae areas at festivals tend to have the opposite vibe, loved up stoned people dancing away to a dub pulse, Trenchtown at EP, Port Royal at Body & Soul festival and Simma Down area at Life festival. Not a UB40 record onsite, proper Jamaican happy vibe and ska music.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

Yet special reggae areas at festivals tend to have the opposite vibe, loved up stoned people dancing away to a dub pulse, Trenchtown at EP, Port Royal at Body & Soul festival and Simma Down area at Life festival. Not a UB40 record onsite, proper Jamaican happy vibe and ska music.

Yep, and I'm one of them. But I'm not talking about Irish people dancing about and singing in patois accents. Jamaican music has long-standing issues in relation to race and sexuality, some of it derived from Rastafarianism and some of it which pre-dates it.

Don't get me wrong. I totally disagree with that person who said scumbags and reggae go hand in hand. That's never been my experience. I was simply (trying) to point out the irony in racist people listening to a genre of music that occasionally hates them just as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭chewed

ciartastix wrote: »
    madonna at slane with iggy top as support. AWFUL

I have to agree with you there. Possibly the worst gig I've been to ever. Won 2 free tickets to it for me and the Mrs, so thank Christ I didn't waste any money. She was nearly 2 hours late coming onto the stage, then it starts pissing. The 1st song wasn't even over and I wanted to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I wouldnt mind making her lips sync. Hur Hur

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

Not a UB40 record onsite, proper Jamaican happy vibe and ska music.

Before they descended into cheesy cover-version hell UB40 were a good band. Check out this 13 minute dub workout/meditation on Thatcherism, recorded in their mate's bedsit for zero money:

Bob Marley was racist (at times), although not as bad as Bunny Wailer (all the times). Reggae has a huge problem with racism and homophobia. I'm into reggae myself, but it's not all peace and love.

Edit: I should qualify that by saying that the majority of Marley's lyrics promoted decency and equality, but he did have another side to his character Some would say it's understandable given the environment he was born into and the prejudice he experienced.
    before the skangers got their mits on electronic music, bob marley was the music of the scrotes in dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Seanachai

sabat wrote: »
    Before they descended into cheesy cover-version hell UB40 were a good band. Check out this 13 minute dub workout/meditation on Thatcherism, recorded in their mate's bedsit for zero money:

I'm sure they're decent guys with a social conscience but for some weird reason they seem to draw a rough crowd in Ireland. Maybe it's the hypnotic rhythm that draws them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Was really looking forward to seeing Pixies at that gig but thought they were meh and partly down to the fact there is no life or interaction, it is just one song into another. I didn't know their entire collection so at times it was hard to know when one song finished and another started. As someone else mentioned, they walked off early as well. Have been to see other bands who I don't know too well but few were as big a letdown as Pixies.

They didn't walk off early, they played until their sound was cut. They did the same in the Olympia that year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

They didn't walk off early, they played until their sound was cut. They did the same in the Olympia that year
    I was at that Olympia gig. Pretty sure they finished up their quite mechanical and ridiculously brief recital exactly when they'd planned the night I was there.