Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Huge week for Cork hurling with munster final Wednesday night and the senior hurling Saturday
    Only two teams left
    Flynn could be huge loss Wednesday but brennan has to start

Sean mac what do you think are the chance for the replay in the football??

Ttm,

I think we have a chance IF we learn again from sunday. Kelly must start,kerrigan must also start as he was flying in his new role before black card. When kerrigan went off we leaked a load of scores as kelly operated further up the pitch. For me also dorman has to be considered,strong physical and a hard runner evetything kerry dont like.
    Undortunately i think fintan who was quiet may have to make way?next 2 weeks all about mental preparation;cork should go back into the bunker,cuthbert et al say nothing let all the ex kerry fellas yerrah away and ****ing explode out of the blocks sat week. The natural conclusion is to say cork lost their chance and kerry will be highly motivated,that could be right but IF cork are cute,plan correctly we have the players imo. Kerry favourites definately but cork should have the belief to go again and while cork have not yet put games back to back under cuthbert they have a chance,lots of IFs do! Have to say flanagan has them in serious condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

To do an Eammon Sweeney on it, the day of reckoning for JBM and co. Smacks of the panic of the football management last yr in implementing a sweeper system far too late in the day. These things cant be cobbled together in matter of weeks. If Cork suffer from a lack of direction and coaching Clare have the exact opposite problem with Davy Fitz strangling them to tedium with plan x,y,z....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

i am hearing the game is on in thurles next saterday at 7 . probabley suites everyone that bit more

You're right I just got a text from 1 of the players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

on Wednesday 8th July in Páirc Uí Rinn at 7:30pm.
    Competition: Munster IHC Final

Fixture: Cork v Limerick

When: Wednesday 8th July at 7:30pm

Where: Páirc Uí Rinn

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

Cork Intermediate Hurling Team:

1. Padge Buckley (Mallow)
    2. Barra Ó Tuame (Castlemartyr)
    3. Ed Finn (Ballinhassig)
    4. Greg Murphy (Newcestown)
    5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline) Capt.
    6. Donnacha O’Donovan (Ballinhassig)
    7. Tomas Lawrence (Brian Dillons)
    8. Martin Brennan (Fermoy)
    9. Shane McCarthy (Ballinhassig)
    10. Willie Leahy (Aghada)
    11. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)
    12. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
    13. Noel McNamara (Kilworth)
    14. Fintan O’Leary (Ballinhassig)
    15. Tony Murphy (Carrigaline)
    Subs:
    16. Stephen O’Sullivan (Meelin)
    17. Paudie Butler (Argideen Rangers)
    18. Brendan Weathers (Banteer)
    19. Ciarán O’Brien (St. Ita’s)
    20. Kevin O’Neill (Watergrasshill)
    21. Aaron Sheehan (Mallow)
    22. John Sheehan (Argideen Rangers)
    23. Andrew Cagney (Charleville)
    24. Kieran Sheahan (Kilbrin)
    Extended Panel: Shane Kelly (Mayfield), Donal Hannon (Newmarket), Pa Herlihy (Mallow), Jack Buckley (Charleville), Killian O’Connor (Mallow

Good see brennan start and o Neill on the bench with meade starting on intermediate team from the under twenty one

Anthony Spillane should be sub here and use one half with senior game coming up

Sean Hayes should been on the panel with luttrel also

Ian Walsh would been useful addition also as he's good in the air
    Histon I'm surprised isn't here

Good team considering new but could be better and limerick is huge game

McSweeney Newcestown who always looked solid full back would be worth look

Finn fine club Player but morrisey will take some watching

Leahy training senior recently and had good last game so here's another chance

Tony Murphy one to watch as he's physical full forward and is in great form at present
    A performance would be good despite result in cork are fielding a new team over winning last year with brennan and meade and o Neill hopefully showing promise for future senior recognition

the game next saterday will be live on sky sports , so that confirms the throw in time if nothing else 7pm

i get the feeling on this page its the draw nobody wanted either !!!

This is the draw I wanted. If we can't beat Clare in Thurles we have right to be mixing it with the 'big boys'. Clare will probably be favs. nothing like knock out, Cork can't afford to go to sleep like they did for 1st 20mins in 2nd half but if we play like we did in 1st half Clare will have to bring their A game to beat us. I'm still not convinced Hoggie has the bottle for a tight battle. Lehane showed some grit. I just hope our 2 wing backs aren't as loose because this Clare forward outfit will punish any slackness. JESUS I CAN'T WAIT. GAA got it right for once in their choice of venue. nowhere better to hurl

sean mac wrote: »
    Ttm,

I think we have a chance IF we learn again from sunday. Kelly must start,kerrigan must also start as he was flying in his new role before black card. When kerrigan went off we leaked a load of scores as kelly operated further up the pitch. For me also dorman has to be considered,strong physical and a hard runner evetything kerry dont like.
    Undortunately i think fintan who was quiet may have to make way?next 2 weeks all about mental preparation;cork should go back into the bunker,cuthbert et al say nothing let all the ex kerry fellas yerrah away and ****ing explode out of the blocks sat week. The natural conclusion is to say cork lost their chance and kerry will be highly motivated,that could be right but IF cork are cute,plan correctly we have the players imo. Kerry favourites definately but cork should have the belief to go again and while cork have not yet put games back to back under cuthbert they have a chance,lots of IFs do! Have to say flanagan has them in serious condition

That's as clear as dawn break say as clear as it always rains in Ireland and kk and kerry will win all Ireland in replays always decided by who learns the most

There's a huge sea of change on Cork now for the replay
    This moral victory talk yesterday should be shot down both barrel and thankfully cuthbhert did that
    Yesterday nothing to be delighted with in yes we great fight spirt etc but sure look that's not worth a dime in truth if you don't win
    This is Cork football not Wicklow or louth cork must see our selfs as a serious elite team and yesterday was imo awful in yes we drew but awful in we lost glorious chance to beat them and the game as I called it correctly at half time Cork still had a chance but needed good

You could see the lethargic complacency in kerry and that's hard to change mid game
    Kerry are absoultey bullying for Cork I heard off reliable source had tough meeting yesterday post game and have no doubt the two week will be inside-out upside-down fbi you name it forensically analyses by kerry and o Neill and fitzmaurice won't leave anything to chance

Many didn't rate Barry Driscoll defensively and fitzmaurice naively underestimated him like us all have no doubt he's target the next day
    Or Connor destroyed kerry midfield but kerry will maher moran be fully targeting him
    Kerry will change here cork won't
    Gould even in the paper got a six as like I said he doesn't do it v kerry in killarney
    They well and truly have he's number
    But don't think he won't start
    This management slow as yesterday proved by astonishing loughrey on donughe and waiting nearly hour make changes and we were awful half time two points play yet no change
    Don't be naive either kelly Christ oh sweet lord was awesome but me you sean said this last year yet management didn't start him only enforced change

Kerrigan no no no no no absoultey not
    He was fine for a start as he always does but he would have faded and it was woeful challenge by a experience player like him and he must not start
    Fine in loose game but no way ahead of Collins kelly o rourke

You see cork were absolutely critsed every corner fans pundits ex players and correctly so so when you hit rock rock bottom and we did not matter how much team is in trouble there's always back wall performance as Ireland world cup in ninety one v Australia proved Ireland soccer many times cork football and limerick hurling v Kilkenny classic example that pride surfaces
    Every player has pride
    Cork from ist minute pinged kerry with cadogan and o Connor pride was huge as so so much hurt there

Problem is kerry are hurting so much it's change roles kerry will absoultey be hounding for Cork and kerry bad were with weak team picked still with ten players scoring had default system get them over the line with a draw

Kerry individuals failed yesterday many match up and the next day at worst break even cork so when that happens cork system will be tested and Barry Donovan said it paper cork defence still not good on scores yesterday

Also imo Cork management huge huge questions marks still
    O Connor destroyed Fitzgerald and took him two points goal created goal yet we took him off so o Connor off allowed Fitzgerald roam forward score match winner
    If o Connor there we wouldn't lost as Fitzgerald had mark him

Cork had smallest defender on keane and while he was good got taken two points
    It may seem harsh but in game small margins these are crucial and the difference between winning and loosing

We also brought deane too late
    He should start ahead Gould and like Paudie palmer said and I don't agree him always cork have make changes next day but sean this management won't bar kelly and if same cork team starts kerry will win by few points

We always had the players
    Tactics and management was the key and taking off you best defender and forward certainly doesn't add confidence they turned corner

Listening radio earlier cork fans saying whatever happens cork should be proud even loose the next day

Utter utter rubbish
    Cork football needs new identity
    Moral victory draws to kerry team no where near full mode is not good
    Cork as brolly was correct say have to be ruthless and want win all costs
    It's win win with kerry
    Brolly and o se and sweeny correct everything said up yesterday and people say have eat humble pie
    People forget there we only drew

When we win then yes but sweeny was right Cork had to win yesterday and performance wasn't just good enough
    I said when kerry named team cork had to win
    We didn't
    Sweeny right cuthbhertt talked about bringing values back to cork yet he went on about mayo last year and kind victory
    That's not moving cork forward
    Today there's hope as he said draw was nothing to cork
    But is cuthbhert all talk like sweeny said that is the test and if he picks the same team it means he's not going to win the game the next day

Christ above the attuide cork football at times is unbelievable
    We had about six draws the last thirteen or so years in kerry so yesterday was hardly anything new we still didn't win
    To celebrate it today as great is just nonsense
    I was critsed hugely from telling limerick lads who glorified moral victory to kk and now year later many agree with me it wasn't good as limerick haven't evolved

I hope cork are furious and gutted over yesterday and not happy as only then will they have the will to finish the job the next day
    Yesterday was the one that got away

Cork only had four player scored all game two points play ist half and this blanket is awful with huge score again conceded and we need three changes with two positions changed the next day
    Will cork improve
    And everybody expect cork to now and kerry will go in to ist class yerra mode saying Cork all Ireland contenders and should won and kerry were lucky as Tomas o se even and fitzmaurice started the ball rolling yesterday

Cork will be glorified with praise
    So Cork are going to have be energised again as the hurt and pain motivation is gone in a way and kerry know Cork will run at them
    Cork need something new

Imo no real new doubts thankfully came up yesterday but a lot of questions imo still remains to be answered and we still have to beat a big team and that's what team will be judged on
    Loose to kerry and the season is over as with qualifier and Dublin in back to back week Dublin will win
    We have been in these positions before with kerry and I hate false dawns so while yesterday was good We were not beaten the bottom line is we didn't win either
    We can't be naive or fickle enough to forget that
    Flangan is awesome but there at the peak kerry will be the next day as they fitness wise were in recovery mode after the warm weather camp

I hope to be wrong but I think kerry will win as nothing yet tells me cork managment learn from mistakes

Cork team when named will tell a lot about our chances
    We have the players have no doubt and kerry are beatable definitely

I watched yesterdays match again. Why do RTE have an anchorman when he stopped Joe Brolly everytime he wanted to get stuck into the ref & the penalty decision. The reason the soccer so good was because Bill O allowed Brady & the boys to say whatever was bugging them. Whatever one thinks about Brolly he is entertaining. For all the skill Henry & Eddie had on a pitch in a studio they are like sheep

youngbob wrote: »
    I watched yesterdays match again. Why do RTE have an anchorman when he stopped Joe Brolly everytime he wanted to get stuck into the ref & the penalty decision. The reason the soccer so good was because Bill O allowed Brady & the boys to say whatever was bugging them. Whatever one thinks about Brolly he is entertaining. For all the skill Henry & Eddie had on a pitch in a studio they are like sheep
    Bit much the remark as sheep to both imo
    Brennan good pundit
    Sheffkin whether he's good or not he's only new so deserves time

As for brolly id day Maloney being new wanted to and rightly so lay down the law I control the tempo of debate as with lyster out you don't want brolly to think hes free reign and brolly makes good point but at times talks across o rourke other pundits and they can't get a word in either way

I think brolly was getting bit excited about the referee and I'd say Maloney was afraid he'd loose the run of himself

Bit much the remark as sheep to both imo
    Brennan good pundit
    Sheffkin whether he's good or not he's only new so deserves time

As for brolly id day Maloney being new wanted to and rightly so lay down the law I control the tempo of debate as with lyster out you don't want brolly to think hes free reign and brolly makes good point but at times talks across o rourke other pundits and they can't get a word in either way

I think brolly was getting bit excited about the referee and I'd say Maloney was afraid he'd loose the run of himself

Maloney might be new to that gig but he is by no means a greenhorn. He isn't there to control the debate. Lyster at least lets them have their say & comments afterwards if needs be. I'd rather hear what the pundits have to say than listen to the tripe questions Maloney wanted answered( like do you think the penalty award will motivate Cork?). That's the kind of rubbish you'd hear on local radio, where you don't want to upset your neighbours . Maloney is getting well paid he should be professional enough to focus on the biggest decision of the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Are the tickets for the Town end on sale in super valu/centra yet does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

DylanAFC wrote: »
    Are the tickets for the Town end on sale in super valu/centra yet does anyone know?

only the killinan end are on tickets.ie, hopefully they will open the Town end during the week. won't be near a sell out anyway so you could always buy on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

youngbob wrote: »
    Maloney might be new to that gig but he is by no means a greenhorn. He isn't there to control the debate. Lyster at least lets them have their say & comments afterwards if needs be. I'd rather hear what the pundits have to say than listen to the tripe questions Maloney wanted answered( like do you think the penalty award will motivate Cork?). That's the kind of rubbish you'd hear on local radio, where you don't want to upset your neighbours . Maloney is getting well paid he should be professional enough to focus on the biggest decision of the afternoon.

Brolly is on a last warning in RTE after his crass comments about Marty Morrissey and Cavan football so I'd say Moloney was trying to control the situation so that it wouldn't get personal about the ref. In fairness, Colm O'Rourke weighed in also to try to dampen things.

That being said, Brolly was 100% correct about the penalty and RTE need Joe more than he needs RTE!

RTE will suffer if Joe isn't there.

Just watch him after any match in Croker as he walks up Clonliffe road and the line of people in front and behind him looking for pics and autographs.

Brolly might be crass at times but he is passionate about football and wears his heart on his sleeve!

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/cork-need-to-reap-rewards-of-possession-game-341125.html

The stats show cork should won and were better team in the second half

That's my worry in I hope it's not chance gone as Cork have improve again

Cork short kick out was superb but kerry forward full forward line showed made just four tackle when Dublin high end press caused real problem showed the complacency they had and the stats of lowest kerry player in age twenty possession game shows my point I said before lot kerry individuals didn't play well at all and they will be hurting

On these stats kerry were well beaten but draw game should lost and Sunday was one that got away

Cork can win the replay but like I said huge improvement again is needed
    Donughe destroyed loughrey ist half but waited twenty six second half minutes get ist touch second half
    It should not be though James improved for Cork it's just he didn't be tested
    A good management will see this and switch him the poor manager will say James improve leave him there
    Last year he got ten points play he got ball
    Ist half two points created a load scores

Cork simply have to switch him

One statics not here that should be Cork only four players in games scored
    Yes that mean we can improve hugely
    Problem is through the league this has been evident to a point and still not solved
    Like I said kerry had ten different scorers that shows a system default when individuals were poor

Kerry couldn't win any breaking ball at all second half
    Cork were good yes and point is Cork didn't allow them
    However we must look at those kerry players done it v Donegal and mayo last year so they are going to improve
    This post look like in saying kerry are ones we should watch rather than ourselves and that imo only way win the replay as we need to think about how and expect Kerry improve as only then can we stop them and prevention better than a cure

If on the other hand we adopted a view we are better and Barry Driscoll and loughrey can do what done again imo it's huge worry in were not expecting kerry to target them

Cork running game was there all league for people to see
    Mcguimness said Cork didn't show their hand in the league deliberately
    I disagree as I often remarked cork half forward are picked as runner and don't kick or vary angle attack a lot
    It was the same Sunday with seventy one per cent hand passing
    It was brilliant Sunday as kerry were weak down the centre and never swarmed cork

However as cavan showed v monaghan when monaghan ran and ran they turnover over huge ball and monaghan only won as they changed to kicking
    Kerry will force cork to kick the next day that's why kelly has to start as he was Cork most influential link man and done most kicking
    If kerrigan starts he may turnover ball but essentially he's a runner

Cork done lot right Sunday management deserve credit for
    However there's still a lot that wasn't done
    I still think we play more as individuals than a team
    Defence with a double sweeper still conceded two fifteen
    Yes we can negate the penalty but then geaney had huge goal chance
    Kerry still scored fifteen points on day that start forward only had ist touch second half twenty six minutes and half forward line had no orchestra link man

Cork had superb kelly yet we still can't score enough points
    Talk before hand was kerry unlike last year with sullivan had problems as no link man with Gooch on the bench
    It proved so as time again Buckley o brien ran cul de sacs

Yet still score fifteen points and created lot

Cork were fitter and hungrier and management and flangan for fitness deserve huge credit
    Also cork never gave up and that improvement
    They had no talk in the match build up and deserve huge credit that in realised match won on the ptich not on media
    They need to do the same again
    Cuthbhertt right to mention the referee but then said line was drawn
    He couldn't change decision now but brought attention to it while correctly asked clarification black card
    But he moved on in unlike last year after mayo game talk about ref was like single reason they lost
    Players feed in that
    Moving on from the ref he's saying we we robbed but we other areas close game we didn't do it

Kerry will be hungry and much fitter the next day
    Cork don't need to be fitter as there at their peak but hunger must remain
    Also cork won tactical battle is the talk at present
    Kerry won't start the same team of be as naive and complacent the next day and kerry will laud cork praise and do everything bar send cork Xmas card
    Cork have be cautious
    I must admit McGrath waterford showing signs of cuteness
    Wonderfully played him today saying tippeary some best ever hurling played the game
    Tippeary don't do hype great so he's dangling the carrot

Cork need say expect Kerry win by cork pundit and kerry win normally replay and kerry greatest team etc
    Kerry you see won't be complacent again as who ever looses is out in Dublin was tough but now impossible in three games three weeks
    Every game there's new challenge team win all Ireland
    Cork essential under no pressure in nobody expected them to win and written off
    Next day have to win with games now week on week
    There's also pressure of can we improve but crucially this is test any management will they be ruthless know while some played well harsh call may need be made and one player played well dropped as cody kk does it horses courses game

Kerry going for the jugular the next day
    Barry Driscoll never like Cork have back line tested defence consistent kerry
    Imo cork get half time game on have huge chance
    I'd drop Barry driscoll for ist half play clancy
    But Driscoll played well yes
    Kerry didn't rate him but they now do and will target weak part he game
    I'd tell him why being dropped in won't loose confidence in we want go defence with clancy half and contain them and then he'll be on and make it clear it's not anything do performance last day just every game different and him clancy different type players but Cork will go attack the next day second half
    Kerry get lead early then it's tough ask
    We must contain contain contain then strike for home

I'd leave Kevin Driscoll there
    Brian wouldn't be dropped over Barry as he'll create kick passes from defence attack
    You see cork can't go running game totally as kerry now waiting for it
    Cork need a curve ball we have players kick pass so when kerry beef and plug the centre and become cynical stop either man or ball we should bypass that by fast kick over them to avoid traffic congestion cork can rest on their laurels and laud this performance as improvement and loose the next day

Or they can evolve change things again and go win the game as the only way they will get respect by beating top team
    Again they have done nothing like other cork teams haven't done draw killarney but they never pushed on
    These lads need to push it on again

We must as management look at ruthlessly in defence, cohesion as system get more player four to score, get the match up correct in not leave keane on Cronin and loughrey on donughe and crucially drop Gould start deane and clancy and we have a huge chance then
    But change has to happen as for all dominance Sunday some stats we still only drew and while referee had influence we should finished the job and had ample opportunity to but went too defensive and took off Connor such he's direct opponent Fitzgerald allowed ist time game bomb forward score a point

They must say we should left donnacha on
    Donnacha wasn't tiring that much all he had to do was stay in he's d zone then Fitzgerald had stay with him it
    Donnacha didn't need do anything else bar just be there in great player like donnacha there's presence can sometimes in final moment just be enough lead you home and he key v mayo in come back last year and winning cork all Ireland
    Should never been taken off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Just as well you are only a keyboard warrior TTM.
    All this crazy sh1te about resting our best player Barry.O.D 'till we are in the 'catching up' cage.
    Wouldn't the great great great awsome Fitzmaurice love to see that move.?
    I wasn't at the game but somebody whose opinion I respect totally, tells me that Loughrey gave a masterclass in defending, off camera of course. That cheating little so & so J.O.D. was limited to 2 points from play. Brolly isn't always right but when he said that little so and so shouldn't sully the Kerry jersey with his cheating antics, he deserves credit for highlighting such behaviour. B.J.Keane is another who isn't too concerned about honesty or manliness. So much for this constant beefing up of Kerry's great tradition and sportsmanship by the meja, and of course their long list of former medal holders who practically own our newspaper sports pages.
    BTW.........I do enjoy SOME of your analysis, but FFS could you shorten it by 1000 words and stop repeating yourself.

wackokid wrote: »
    All this crazy sh1te about resting our best player Barry.O.D 'till we are in the 'catching up' cage.
    I wasn't at the game but somebody whose opinion I respect totally, tells me that Loughrey gave a masterclass in defending, off camera of course. That cheating little so & so J.O.D. was limited to 2 points from play. Brolly isn't always right but when he said that little so and so shouldn't sully the Kerry jersey with his cheating antics, he deserves credit for highlighting such behaviour. B.J.Keane is another who isn't too concerned about honesty or manliness. So much for this constant beefing up of Kerry's great tradition and sportsmanship by the meja, and of course their long list of former medal holders who practically own our newspaper sports pages.
    BTW.........I do enjoy SOME of your analysis, but FFS could you shorten it by 1000 words and stop repeating yourself.
    I agree you point regards media bring lot kerry man in Hennessy and McCarthy and leen all kerry etc

Look again and I can't say it again will you stop personal agenda my posts
    Well agree disagree so be it leave it gaa
    I'm not key board warrior and again another insult
    What you and other posters so give opinion in fairness

I agree lot you point at times
    I don't rate Hayes etc few you do on performance but surely that my right opinion
    I said it here i was wrong like other poster here Kevin o Driscoll had awesome game
    You were right
    Yes should start next day

Would I started colm no only cause I rate Collins kelly better players
    Like you I think kerry can be beaten as Cork have players but Cork have improve again and surely you agree they target few cork better players the next day

Genuinely thanks for the kind words about my post you enjoy some them
    I said it before I don't have never did problem your posts
    We disagree on few things so be it
    But it's gaa related let's keep it that way
    Maybe I'm too negative regards cork but look I'm sick teeth false dawns cork winning moral victory loosing when cork have every right expect demand beat kerry
    You want that too I guess as you don't like kerry by you posts
    Point is kerry will want same half back line Cork as they will pick half forward line to put them on the defence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Brolly is on a last warning in RTE after his crass comments about Marty Morrissey and Cavan football so I'd say Moloney was trying to control the situation so that it wouldn't get personal about the ref. In fairness, Colm O'Rourke weighed in also to try to dampen things.

That being said, Brolly was 100% correct about the penalty and RTE need Joe more than he needs RTE!

RTE will suffer if Joe isn't there.

Just watch him after any match in Croker as he walks up Clonliffe road and the line of people in front and behind him looking for pics and autographs.

Brolly might be crass at times but he is passionate about football and wears his heart on his sleeve!

Passion & wearing a heart on his sleeve aren't credentials that matter when it comes to punditry or analysis & far too often Brolly lets his emotions take over like a fella in the pub after a match. The panel is quickly becoming a parody, similar to their soccer coverage - RTE won't make the change because their controversy stirs up viewing numbers & has people talking about RTEs coverage - no such thing as bad press so far as their concerned

Calls somebody a keyboard warrior then gives a masterclass. Solid analysis of JOD (the cheating so & so :rolleyes: ) 2 from play & one of the only Kerry forwards to run at Cork & try put them on the back foot. I thought Cork defended well against him but it wasn't Loughery on his own - it was the numbers Cork put back to flood the space.

As for not letting JOD 'sully' the great Kerry jersey - outstanding stuff, we'll stop last years POTY playing for Kerry, based on an over-inflated sense from a minority that he goes down too easy, all for the good of the jersey. Come off it. As for your petty swipe at BJK? What exactly did he do the other day that has him on your radar? That guy is the most hardworking of any of the Kerry forwards, he's had to claw his way onto that team, he's had serious heartbreak (miss vs. Dublin in the AI final) and was the most passionate in his celebrations last September - I was watching him Sunday, he did nothing to justify your ire imo - children should look up to his example and try to follow it if anything.

All in all - you're so far off the mark it's comical

I agree with you on brolly and it shows while you don't like him he's views can still be good

I don't like brolly either but I respect he's kidney work ireland and I never liked Liam Hayes meath as player either but hugely agreed he's point in cork under Counihan
    It's not about like or dislike
    Donough is great player but disgraceful see kilnsmann type diving in football

As for keane etc kerry manifestly being on edge manly play I'll be honest I admire like kk ruthless want win and sooner cork get that way better
    Cork hurling years ago had cynical edge and look at Cusack antic sliothsr particularly v limerick all ireland quarter final and rock was tough as nails etc were hated by other counties but we in cork didn't care

Cork need that and Christ the team of the ninety with cullothy slocum McCarthy by two and McGrath and cahalane and couninhan were tough no prisoners taken on the field
    Cork have to wise up and stop being too nice on the field
    Sundays showed improvement but has been consistent

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,016 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Not been on line since Saturday.

Hurlers. Great to win away to Wexford. To be fair the home team are brutal enough. We started well and had the well and truly won by ht, some great scoring and performances. Unfortunately with 12 to go there were only 6 points in it and had they scored an unlikely goal, they could have pushed on for the win, which should never have been allowed. Awful pussy footing around with ball in the defence in the second half, disappointing. Glad of thewin though.
    Next up Clare in Thurles, this will show us exactly where Cork hurlers really are. We are capable of winning but it will be tough, pity its on Sky- will have to go to the pub!

Footballers- robbed of a deserving win in Killarney, we just can't get over the line down there. It was great being in Kerry on Sunday. We started like a train. Good defensive setup took our scores well. Gave away a stupid goal. Then the blackcard changed things. Kerrigan had been doing a good job and him going off upset the tactics and we didn't recover from it till half time with Kerry throwing 5 over thebar on the trot at one stage. Fair dues to Donna - great point at the death!!
    While our defence lost its way a bit it did allow us bring on Paddy - a player we really should be starting. He is a fantastic link player.

I heard the worst at ht. Good start, fell away, 4 down at ht having played with the wind, I fully expected Kerry to win the second half by 6 or 7 points. Thankfully we regrouped and ran at them in the second half - which was great to see!!! There was always a big question mark over Kerry's full bvack line and we certainly provided more. A super effort in the second half. O Connor at midfield had a huge game, delighted for him and this gave us an advantage I didn't think we would have. Great attack minded running also caused Kerry so many problems.
    Fukin gutted not to have won. That ridiculous decision for the pen, Christ almighty but you have to think you are not going to win when yet another decision goes against you! O'Brien and Donaghy around the neck tackles, yellow, easily could have been a black. Donaghy in particular was lucky as he really cannot tackle. More often or not he gives a free away , he should be booked more offer for persistent fouling.

Pity about the 45, tired legs I reckon, also poor decision to bring Sheehan off as O O'Donoghue looked about as uncomfortable as possible when he took an important one. Also re really falls down 'easily' and seems to 'hurt' his face lot.

When you get a chance to beat Kerry in Kerry, you simply have to take it, beating them in 2 weeks again in Killarney will be a serious job, one I would love to see happening, but cannot see them being as bad again. Will be change tactics, can we?

Lots to look forward to at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Not been on line since Saturday.

Hurlers. Great to win away to Wexford. To be fair the home team are brutal enough. We started well and had the well and truly won by ht, some great scoring and performances. Unfortunately with 12 to go there were only 6 points in it and had they scored an unlikely goal, they could have pushed on for the win, which should never have been allowed. Awful pussy footing around with ball in the defence in the second half, disappointing. Glad of thewin though.
    Next up Clare in Thurles, this will show us exactly where Cork hurlers really are. We are capable of winning but it will be tough, pity its on Sky- will have to go to the pub!

Footballers- robbed of a deserving win in Killarney, we just can't get over the line down there. It was great being in Kerry on Sunday. We started like a train. Good defensive setup took our scores well. Gave away a stupid goal. Then the blackcard changed things. Kerrigan had been doing a good job and him going off upset the tactics and we didn't recover from it till half time with Kerry throwing 5 over thebar on the trot at one stage. Fair dues to Donna - great point at the death!!
    While our defence lost its way a bit it did allow us bring on Paddy - a player we really should be starting. He is a fantastic link player.

I heard the worst at ht. Good start, fell away, 4 down at ht having played with the wind, I fully expected Kerry to win the second half by 6 or 7 points. Thankfully we regrouped and ran at them in the second half - which was great to see!!! There was always a big question mark over Kerry's full bvack line and we certainly provided more. A super effort in the second half. O Connor at midfield had a huge game, delighted for him and this gave us an advantage I didn't think we would have. Great attack minded running also caused Kerry so many problems.
    Fukin gutted not to have won. That ridiculous decision for the pen, Christ almighty but you have to think you are not going to win when yet another decision goes against you! O'Brien and Donaghy around the neck tackles, yellow, easily could have been a black. Donaghy in particular was lucky as he really cannot tackle. More often or not he gives a free away , he should be booked more offer for persistent fouling.

Pity about the 45, tired legs I reckon, also poor decision to bring Sheehan off as O O'Donoghue looked about as uncomfortable as possible when he took an important one. Also re really falls down 'easily' and seems to 'hurt' his face lot.

When you get a chance to beat Kerry in Kerry, you simply have to take it, beating them in 2 weeks again in Killarney will be a serious job, one I would love to see happening, but cannot see them being as bad again. Will be change tactics, can we?

Lots to look forward to at least.

We played with far more intensity than Kerry and were better by 6/8 points. Kerry will improve hugely and we've shown our hand wrt Barry O Driscoll and KOH's excellent restarts - they'll lokk to address these matters.

P Power has us as big outsiders again for replay and management will have to harness the lack of respect from bookies and pundits who see our chance gone 'Let's ram it down their throats' - I'd see us having the intensity needed but can we improve in other areas ? We'll need to and I think we can. If we win then we have a reasonable shot at reaching the final and anything can happen then.

We played with far more intensity than Kerry and were better by 6/8 points. Kerry will improve hugely and we've shown our hard wrt Barry O Driscoll and KOH's excellent restarts - they'll lokk to address these matters.

P Power has us as big outsiders again for replay and management will have to harness the lack of respect from bookies and pundits who see our chance gone 'Let's ram it down their throats' - I'd see us having the intensity needed but can we improve in other areas ? We'll need to and I think we can. If we win then we have a reasonable shot at reaching the final and anything can happen then.
    Your unbelievable with your logic in correctly so Cork haven't respect kerry and correctly so like kk don't respect Galway or tipp as they haven't beaten them
    You only truly respect opponent when Cusack said they beat you
    Kerry had every right not respect cork but probably went too far with arrogance that won't happen the next day

People still think cork people hard team
    Yes and correctly so as Sunday gave minimum requirements in passion pride want hunger
    We should not applaud that as unreal
    Every single day that should be expected

Cork jersey had once legacy of only celebration success
    Cork simply have to beat a top top team in important match show were improving
    Drawing and being close is nothing absoultey nothing in the world of elite sport
    Cuthbhertt deserves huge credit for building circle trust in lead up with arm band team we will not surrender

Huge huge admiration for that as like Allen in he's day blood and bandage
    However he must remember do not surrender motto is all well and good but he's be careful like sweeny said in following philosophy mcguimness davy etc unifying teams with key words in my view he's combination tactics with that also

As limerick proved v kk hurling do not surrender isn't much good your beaten tactically
    I'd also worry in of cork beaten team will players be held responsible for breaking this do not surrender when for example miss match with Donough on loughrey etc

People say loughrey had a good game
    No he didn't
    Ist half he was cleaned and turned ist half and gave two points away and donughe created scores
    Simple fact he wasn't cleaned in second half is shown by the statics he only touched ball after twenty six minutes second half
    As good Donough is he needs ball so loughrey didn't improve and if we see that kerry will

Also where was loughrey for the ball in outrageous penalty decision
    He was look at it again ten yards off him so much Collins had pick him off
    I hope the critsim some Cork still have prove themselves drives them to a win as we glorify this moral victory nothing has changed in cork football
    As soon as the team was named I said Cork had to win as kerry were weak by what could have
    Cork had golden chance never took it
    So shows how much cork fell off top when expectations is Cork draw Sunday redeem them
    No it offered some postive and no new doubts emerged but lot concerns remain still primary with a double sweeper system that doesn't actually sounds good when you conceded two fifteen
    Barry Donovan even said echo defence still not great score
    Look at Dublin one sweeper and best defence country
    People say Cork learning takes time and mcguimness terrific pundit said that but I don't buy it as one year shambles hammer armagh he made Donegal best defence around won ulster
    Fitzmaurice last year one year best defence league and good in championship
    Gavin best defence league and this year and went all out attack since November

Cork no excuse about time
    Look at the facts
    We started the sweeper v sligo last year and mayo so it's nearly a year yet were still off

This nonsense you have get to a final and anything can happen
    Like it's any given Sunday
    If cork get final which long way off probably have Dublin and all ireland final step up again in then they days greatest test any team
    So just getting final hoping best doesn't work
    This is elite elite sport whenever margins are absoultey vital in winning now and you need every box ticked to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

TTM - you are losing the plot wrt Cork Footballers.

I never said that Kerry don't respect Cork. Fitzm said he expected a very tough game and got it - he also admitted that they were fortunate to get a draw.

Loughrey did well on JOD - who was regarded as the country's most dangerous foward and was usuall double marked, in the closing stages, last year. Kerry got on top at MF in the 2nd quarter and we lost our way, a bit. Keane and JOD got good ball and converted a few - Kerry with good possession and space are adept at expert kick passing to their forwards - it's very difficult for defenders in such circumstances.

Kerry were gifted 2 goals but they were worth more than 6 points as they came when Kerry were on the ropes and gave them big momentum.

Cork have excellent players and now that the management has learned from last year and is performing - we are a very good side. We can beat every side apart from Dublin IMO - we'd need huge luck and improvement to match the Dubs.

You need to acknowledge that our management team are doing very well this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Joke of a situation again for our women

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0707/713281-dual-players/

TTM - you are losing the plot wrt Cork Footballers.

I never said that Kerry don't respect Cork. Fitzm said he expected a very tough game and got it - he also admitted that they were fortunate to get a draw.

Loughrey did well on JOD - who was regarded as the country's most dangerous foward and was usuall double marked, in the closing stages, last year. Kerry got on top at MF in the 2nd quarter and we lost our way, a bit. Keane and JOD got good ball and converted a few - Kerry with good possession and space are adept at expert kick passing to their forwards - it's very difficult for defenders in such circumstances.

Kerry were gifted 2 goals but they were worth more than 6 points as they came when Kerry were on the ropes and gave them big momentum.

Cork have excellent players and now that the management has learned from last year and is performing - we are a very good side. We can beat every side apart from Dublin IMO - we'd need huge luck and improvement to match the Dubs.

You need to acknowledge that our management team are doing very well this year.
    To be fair you chop and change your views like the weather at times
    You know that now let's be fair
    One draw and were all ireland contenders
    You still refuse explain some point regards Sunday
    How did loughrey do well
    He still taken ist half two points and turned three times
    Second half donughe didn't touch ball twenty six minutes
    How is that down loughrey defending
    Two week ago you said you didn't rate him corner back and you're right

What have we learned our improvement last year hugely?
    Attack have we
    If so why only four players scored all game
    Defence improved
    Has it
    Why so another huge score conceded

Game management
    No improvement really in best forwards taken off such Fitzgerald got taken cleaners got up level when o Connor went off
    Why cork smallest defender Cronin on their tallest man outside loughrey in keane
    Why didn't kelly start
    If kerrigan hadn't got any card kelly wouldn't came on and no link play be there
    Why did we make only one enforced change to kerry three by the hour mark
    Gould as paper said faded badly so why deane sit he's hole for hour bench

Only way cork were saved by goals and I said half time that
    Sunday game also said it
    Why did cork only score seven points play full game
    We didn't crumble like before so yes improvement but kerry never had forwards blow us away

You say well beat anyone outside Dublin
    We'd beat mayo
    Would we beat Donegal
    We won't score goals against them so have score points
    Please dont say we got four in meaningless league game in spring

Will you stop your nonsense luck win all Ireland
    We need system tactical innovation like any team beat Dublin
    Your talk remind me journalists Martin kiely limerick leader last year saying he was at some holy place last year he prayed divine inspiration limerick win all Ireland after kk
    They believe lady luck deserted them against kk
    Yet they don't realise luck was with them that it rained heavily kk couldn't play fast game to expose the lack of pace

Yes referee was bad Sunday
    But Cork were lucky kerry picked team five starters on bench and trained Portugal month ago no where near full fitness

Let's keep it real as no point having false dawns
    We can beat kerry but we have huge huge work do that you fail realise imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

D'Agger, you have a short memory. Most, if not all of the Kerry people I know were deeply embarrassed by B.J.Ks petulant antics at the end of last years A.Irl final v Donegal. I wont bother going into the details here and if you are a football follower you will know.
    Last Sunday after scoring a point with his hand, he went down like he was shot and played possum for ages seeking attention. This was commented on by the TV commentator when he arose from the dead like Lazarus to join the play when his antics were ignored, even by his own sideline.
    I never saw, Mikey Sheehy, John Egan or The Bomber trying to con refs and they forgot more tricks than BJK will ever know.
    Please don't be giving us Kerry holier than thou stuff. We aren't all colour blind.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/kieran-shannon/killarney-2015-could-be-historical-watershed-for-cork-football-341158.html

Very balanced view by shannon

He's right the summer will tell if cork managment turned a corner and kerry have start maher next day

Key like he said like harte said replay new game you must add new dimension
    That's my worry in can cork do it
    If management do they deserve huge huge huge credit

As for Cork all ireland he's right we came back brilliant from Dublin but brolly was right we struggled beat poor poor down team and limerick in extra time and kerry beat us game should won so doubts will remain that all ireland great cork winning ist twenty years Cork due style labour play one dimension slow build up will be regarded as Cork team struggle stumbled all ireland when in truth we should steam rolled it and post all ireland years when game evolved further showed Hayes brolly were right to critse cork style play

Heart character never in doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

D'Agger, you have a short memory. Most, if not all of the Kerry people I know were deeply embarrassed by B.J.Ks petulant antics at the end of last years A.Irl final v Donegal. I wont bother going into the details here and if you are a football follower you will know.
    Last Sunday after scoring a point with his hand, he went down like he was shot and played possum for ages seeking attention. This was commented on by the TV commentator when he arose from the dead like Lazarus to join the play when his antics were ignored, even by his own sideline.
    I never saw, Mikey Sheehy, John Egan or The Bomber trying to con refs and they forgot more tricks than BJK will ever know.
    Please don't be giving us Kerry holier than thou stuff. We aren't all colour blind.
    Honestly don't know what you're talking about, from what I recall he was in tears, although that could be the Mayo match I'm mixing up with. I'll certainly give a look into it, a search on this forum etc. though

As for the colour blindness - yourself with the red tinted glasses, bashing other posters for going over the top, then launching repeated attacks on Kerry players rather than giving any real insight to the match or the upcoming replay. Like I said, it was the irony of your keyboard warrior masterclass that had me replying.

Also, not enough lols for the 'Kerry holier than thou stuff' from the fella harking back to the days of John Egan to make a poorly constructed point - chuck on the Golden Years next Saturday altogether I'd say

Finally, just so this post doesn't seem like a complete tirade - I expect another tight match next week, I expected one this weekend despite Cork being written off but I didn't expect Kerry to be barely hanging on. The timing of Corks goals were perfect on Sunday, I don't think they'll be lucky enough to get them next week & have them give such a momentum swing. That said, Kerrys goals were both largely fortuitous.

I do think they'll learn from the experience - particularly in closing out a game - the 45 was a gigantic mistake, play it short, make Kerry work for posession instead of giving them a 50/50 by taking a 45 against the wind. Maher should be back to full fitness so I expect himself & Moran to have more of an impact, you'd imagine Sheehan will go to 11 with Buckley on the wing instead of O'Brien but Cork can carry at pace so his pace could come against him like it did in the league in Pairc Ui Rinn

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/how-cork-can-beat-kerry-and-vice-versa-341098.html

I respect fogarty article some not all and he's right to opinion that's he's job
    Wouldn't be seen by many Cork fans as always cork favourite towards them but at times he's good stuff imo

However here naming team you be inclined think wants kerry win
    Is he seriously having a laugh in fairness kelly was involved every single attack nearly dictated play and lack pace he has more made up by he's brilliant absolutely awesome footballer mind with absoultey awestruck epically outstanding magnificent football passing like pirlo alonso soccer sees things before other think them

He drops kelly and says kerrigan starts defend
    No he's imo done it wrong in you pick clancy as holding defender stop runners that kelly can't track over Barry driscoll as kerry won't allow cork running them and you allow kelly there as kick passing only way beat kerry and kerrigan can kick pass but decison making and ability isn't good kelly and he's ist instinct is to run kelly is to kick

Also Murphy hugely strengthen kerry defence and kerry have creative influence at centre forward to test he's cork half back line that three out out attackers

He's basically saying same cork team good enough beat kerry with making two changes improved kerry fifty per cent yet that same cork team couldn't beat kerry ist day conceded huge score and even kelly cork didn't get enough ball to hurley etc o Neill
    Take kelly out cork won't score at all

If cork start that team imo they will loose
    Has to be something new and changes

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/the-paudie-kissane-column/

Terrific read
    Kisssne has be involved cork team hopefully minors if not he's be ideal as defence coach senior in he's played blanket defence clyda learned under English and he's huge student rugby defence by all accounts
    He pointed about kelly are key why kelly has to start imo

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/another-cruel-defeat-has-left-cork-hurling-on-its-knees/

The very last part Murphy is bang on the money
    And Cork still need more money invested help outstanding work rebel og

Also cork are out of the minor football for a good few weeks now so why not appointment minor set up next year in rather wait October appointment now would mean management set up plans next year go watch players and see who's on radar and by players knowing now who manager seen games gives them encouragement play good

Kerry were fast by improving way do things saying next under twenty manager is jack and he's already put s and c plan in place under twenty one team

Minors kerry understand will wait as kerry still in minor all ireland and another outstanding success again second minor two years under jack in munster before announced he's successor

Rumours has it if true tommy griffin will be involved who good coach
    Cork have to get the minor management right as the talent is there

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/reds-win-all-cork-decider-340947.html
    Congratulations great work

That's why it's essential cork get minor management right