Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/cork-star-who-remains-a-rebel-45-years-after-crossing-the-enemy-line-to-live-in-the-kingdom-31348201.html

Great read and the point regards Donaghey that often is lost with some Cork management past and present when they put a big man as target full forward is Donaghey actually had the all round skill set to be effective
    It's not just pick a tall lad and bomb high balls in and he gets huge scores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

rvpalldway wrote: »
    Cann the munstaa final gi to extra time/ would it be possible to get the 17.44 train

Stay around for the celebrations !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

A heartbreaking loss there's no point in trying to say otherwise but my heart goes out to the players and management in players have given there all huge huge ask with out talismanic Kingston captain who got one six last day as I said before the game in fact I think I was one of the few urged caution as I said he loss cannot be underestimated and this wasn't a clear cut cork win in beat limerick twice was always huge ask but Kingston in big big moment would got some huge seventeenth wides cork had

Cork dominated some key areas and as Mehapoy said were better team but at end day limerick scored more and only thing Cork couldn't do score need was greatest
    I'm not going to single out lads missed key scores as I'm sure there gutted and my heart goes out them but I said in the post today scoring other games fine but tonight huge pressure beat same team twice and pressure got Cork lads
    That's where Kingston loss was huge
    If Kingston was there cork would won imo

Look at our forwards there immensely talented but bar Healy only three other scored and only got point each so composure and expirencr score pressure on is where Kingston was missed as limerick I said in post Kingston turned previous game and brought cork back last year game with a goal
    He's calm and expirencr and composure would helped rest unit also as there were disciples missing a leader so to speak

Limerick key men were excellent, louhghin grimes and casey good and vital goal and Murphy and flangan and they all had grit expirence and leadership and brilliant hurling and expirence last year team to win a game should lost
    Limerick normally past loose these games but sign very very good team win game should lost in championship and they not good last year but will imo improve as young lads now are gone shadow last year excellent team in got munster final so pressure is off for the tipp game

Tippeary may be favourite but quirks out and limerick huge areas improve will imo have a chance
    I don't think there all Ireland in them but I hope and love if they won it as they deserve one

I doubted daly and o Connor dynamic in two manager no coach but be fair it's working and daly done good but there's still lot work on for Limerick for him to be regarded as great coach but I still think he better manager but time will tell

Caroll again outstanding as sweeper, great player

There's no doubt this is a set back in its best prepared cork team best management in years and yet still fell short unlike previous years Cork lost cork actually were the better team here
    I wouldn't change much from what is being done currently under age as it's working but I'd increase gdo to twenty and keep work going as Cork just didn't have accuracy tonight and no consolation but Cork were definitely up there all other aspects

Out of interest ttm were the wides reallybad shots from all angles or in any other game easy points surprised looney no score must of been held well as was o'mahony. Unfortunately another season passes by and the wait goes on the so called best team in a long time and still we cannot grap the top table at minor level. Few comments on the panel Dunne three years on panel but sub last night cannot remember him even taking the bull by the horns. Powter football captain I know he is a good player drafted in but what does that say about rest of lads who pick hurling first obviously we do not see all training/challenge matches but maybe we do not have the depth we think we have.

A heartbreaking loss there's no point in trying to say otherwise but my heart goes out to the players and management in players have given there all huge huge ask with out talismanic Kingston captain who got one six last day as I said before the game in fact I think I was one of the few urged caution as I said he loss cannot be underestimated and this wasn't a clear cut cork win in beat limerick twice was always huge ask but Kingston in big big moment would got some huge seventeenth wides cork had

Cork dominated some key areas and as Mehapoy said were better team but at end day limerick scored more and only thing Cork couldn't do score need was greatest
    I'm not going to single out lads missed key scores as I'm sure there gutted and my heart goes out them but I said in the post today scoring other games fine but tonight huge pressure beat same team twice and pressure got Cork lads
    That's where Kingston loss was huge
    If Kingston was there cork would won imo

Look at our forwards there immensely talented but bar Healy only three other scored and only got point each so composure and expirencr score pressure on is where Kingston was missed as limerick I said in post Kingston turned previous game and brought cork back last year game with a goal
    He's calm and expirencr and composure would helped rest unit also as there were disciples missing a leader so to speak

Limerick key men were excellent, louhghin grimes and casey good and vital goal and Murphy and flangan and they all had grit expirence and leadership and brilliant hurling and expirence last year team to win a game should lost
    Limerick normally past loose these games but sign very very good team win game should lost in championship and they not good last year but will imo improve as young lads now are gone shadow last year excellent team in got munster final so pressure is off for the tipp game

Tippeary may be favourite but quirks out and limerick huge areas improve will imo have a chance
    I don't think there all Ireland in them but I hope and love if they won it as they deserve one

I doubted daly and o Connor dynamic in two manager no coach but be fair it's working and daly done good but there's still lot work on for Limerick for him to be regarded as great coach but I still think he better manager but time will tell

Caroll again outstanding as sweeper, great player

There's no doubt this is a set back in its best prepared cork team best management in years and yet still fell short unlike previous years Cork lost cork actually were the better team here
    I wouldn't change much from what is being done currently under age as it's working but I'd increase gdo to twenty and keep work going as Cork just didn't have accuracy tonight and no consolation but Cork were definitely up there all other aspects
    Out of interest ttm were the wides really bad shots from all angles or in any other game easy points surprised looney no score must of been held well as was o'mahony. Unfortunately another season passes by and the wait goes on the so called best team in a long time and still we cannot grap the top table at minor level. Few comments on the panel Dunne three years on panel but sub last night cannot remember him even taking the bull by the horns. Powter football captain I know he is a good player drafted in but what does that say about rest of lads who pick hurling first obviously we do not see all training/challenge matches but maybe we do not have the depth we think we have.

Wides were tough enough shots from distance and not overall straight forward
    Cork had goal chance also

Powter is awesome footballer and remember saying poster here before Xmas shouldn't be ahead rest and wouldn't start him but with Kingston out he was added rightly so for experienced and leadership in he played minor football two huge games v kerry last year well and richestoen in both codes in munster final
    So I think he was brought in for leadership and I don't think he was poor

Looney was quiet but form outstanding for aghada and Imokilly but more importantly harty cup this year and Dean Ryan cup year before and limerick as sub last this year

He will have better days
    Cork lacked experience of key players like limerick lads last year had
    Gunning should been a sub
    O mahony was held but again form was outstanding senior club and under twenty one last year and good charville and ist day v limerick

Overall I thought panel picked was correct
    There was always going be close calls as Cork huge options this year
    Going on form it was imo picked correctly and one huge difference cork had loosing was Kingston loss and they could not control that imo

Are the ladies playing this weekend

Hopefully it be dry in Wexford tomorrow night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Are the ladies playing this weekend

U14 All Ireland final v Cavan tomorrow after Galway were thrown out

Next senior game looks to be the Munster final v Kerry in Mallow on the 11th
    http://corkladiesfootball.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/wallace-urges-cork-hurlers-to-get-more-physical-193564.html
    John Meyler was totally correct today but he's another voice saying what said three years ago yet nothing changes
    Daniel kearney said it this year he wants tougher club championship and he's not big man yet no one listens
    You would hope someone with power change club scene would bring in stronger ref guide lines

Last night Cork minors actually were impressive physically and definitely were not soft in hurling
    Probably is these young lads will become soft hurlers playing in soft too nice hurling championship unless things change

Would agree was at a minor match last night and the standard of referee leaves a lot to be desired amazing amount of soft frees given keeper coming out with ball and the slightest touch from a forward free out even the players were baffled by some of the decisions worse think was a player got the butt of the hurley to his ear split it blood pouring from a sloppy pull and he let play go only when he saw the blood and stopped play and booked the other fellow. The Ccb has do to something about this as we are going no where with the current standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

fricatus wrote: »
    What do you think about the scheduling of this match? The 7 p.m. throw-in time surely would have to put off a lot of travelling support, given the journey to Wexford (2 hours minimum there and back... plus the time to get out of Wexford town and through New Ross). Plus there's the football the next day in Kerry.

Not saying it will be decisive, but it certainly stacks the cards further in favour of the home team...

When should it have been held.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Orizio wrote: »
    When should it have been held.

I dunno... maybe 4 p.m. might suit more people better, but ultimately as a neutral, it doesn't affect me. I was just wondering what Cork folk think of having such a late match so far away, and whether it would affect the numbers who would travel.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,016 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I dunno... maybe 4 p.m. might suit more people better, but ultimately as a neutral, it doesn't affect me. I was just wondering what Cork folk think of having such a late match so far away, and whether it would affect the numbers who would travel.

That's the 'joys' of being a dual county and the qualifiers. Every now and again there are situations that don't suit. It happens, you just have to accept it. Sometimes double headers are a possibility other times not. Some other counties get caught out as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

4 p.m. is impossible for people working on Saturdays and families with young lads playing in the morning/afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/cork-star-who-remains-a-rebel-45-years-after-crossing-the-enemy-line-to-live-in-the-kingdom-31348201.html

Great read and the point regards Donaghey that often is lost with some Cork management past and present when they put a big man as target full forward is Donaghey actually had the all round skill set to be effective
    It's not just pick a tall lad and bomb high balls in and he gets huge scores

Yerra Dinny is a Kerryman now from lish-ning to Weeeshie on Terrace Talk.

Very tough game tonight you would expect
    Wexford as John Meyler said correctly will give it timber to cork and tbh I hope they do, I don't want cork win loose fancy hurling game as win is absolutely flawed flawed flawed if Wexford done show and not worth a dime cork hurling going forward

Yes it's won't be easy on the heart or nerves but I'd much rather a war arrition, dog fight, win ugly close close game that leaders cork show the way
    We all know Cork can win beautiful but it's tough ugly stuff we need
    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder so gone days this flash wrist hurling I want, yes it's good but we must have the other stuff

I don't mind if horgan is not scoring much but I don't give a monkey about what he scores frees I want to see hunger want desire and attuide to win dirty ball and performance when need greatest in game like Harnedy not ist ten minutes and last when team is flying
    He's performance in all Ireland two years ago was consistently brilliant in all aspects he's game
    He's no excuse if doesn't do it today
    Last chance saloon imo

Full back line worries me but cahalane is best option for mcdonnell and cahalane not poor as critics say he is playing well for barrs and is suited full-back but like Cronin he's easy target things go wrong as not typical stylish hurling cork have where stylish hurlers show none work rate or hunger Cronin and cahalane get no critsed

If cahalane is full cork have a chance once Ellis plays deep and stays ahead him at all times and allow Wexford score points but no way is goal be conceded
    Wexford won't outscore cork points but will go for goals and goals will give their home crowd huge momentum

Lawton wouldn't be my choice but very good poster said they seen him play half back club and was good so I'll take their word so Lawton should be in half back line role like clare do and fill gap Ellis leaves
    Maybes Lawton play this role he could be cork player
    He's not half forward imo

Walsh should be okay in physics game and so too Murphy should improve also
    Murphy must take chance to long scores as like Walsh cork have the men to break down Wexford blanket sweeper
    Lehane must float at midfield and half forward and drift in from deep to full forward but not stay inside
    He's like all Ireland final goal two years ago impossible mark in that role

Harnedy full forward is good in cork have lethal goal threat but a warrior and has balls steel and ruthless want desire go for goals but problem I worry is he's in full with Walsh half forward I'd worry huge ask rest cork half forward line win ball in horgan imo if he plays half forward and Lawton high ball won't win enough
    Cronin should do okay here and if marks chin rather Lawton should limit he's influence in all he's do is break ball and win some
    He doesn't need to score as cadogan horgan lehane Harnedy can score

Cronin lacks pace v Kilkenny or tippeary to play half forward but in a tight ptich with physics Wexford he'll be suited at half forward

Murphy game under he's belt should hold mcgovern, but Cork at full back and match ups have be right or Cork will loose

Nash, Walsh Ellis, cahalane, Kearney, Harnedy, Horgan on form two years ago Cronin there's huge expirence their so these lads must show leadership and fight like warriors
    They all have it within them

Management have huge responsibility also in cork can show all fire fury and grit but if this teams get full back match up wrong with mcdommell on McDonald and Lawton on Chin and cahalane on mcgovern then you can't blame players you blame management for asking these lads do jobs not akin to their strengths in cahalane will be turned all day long at corner back while mcdommell can't stand and defend tall or catch high ball at full back

But cahalane can catch and be abrasive as a full back while mcdommell is one best corner backs in the game in free role or man mark

People say jbm will be sacked if cork loose
    Have no doubt he won't be sacked absolutely not as ccb don't sack managers and we have had ten times worse jbm both codes and they had nine lives so considering they backed jbm and pleaded him come back and he's iconic legend in cork it's absoultey nonsense think for a second he'll be sacked
    No he won't and correctly so when you see the lack of viable candidates there

However he imo if cork loose he'll despite two year term he'll walk away himself as despite tactics being off modern game jbm is one must humble honest genuinely gaa men you ever meet and if cork loose he knows he has taken team far he can go and don't be surprised if he leaves

He's imo likely unless Cork have successful season gone this year as he's been there four years and he probably things cork need a change
    Jbm won't unlike others before him do bad and still convinced all and sundry their still the men to manage Cork

Huge huge game
    Worry is if we need a defence sub Burke who outstanding corner back has no championship experience, Kearney fine club Player but not senior elite and against Wexford physical team he won't imo be good that game, sullivan no championship experience and imo again fine club Player but this is a different level and aidan Ryan who is the best back of the subs has no league behind him and no championship either and never got run after the league final but while he played well on shanhahan as seen by shanhahan destroyed mcdommell two weeks later he then taken off wrongly so he's confidence is hardly where it needs to be and that isn't Ryan fault but the management

Andy Walsh is a sub and I'd use him here if needed he's ball winner and physical and this game would suit him at midfield
    Cork need warrior tonight as fancy dan, Ronaldo type hurling is no good tonight, we need Roy keane, type players tonight
    Do that and then and only then can cork hurling which is superior come to the fray

I think it will be tough but once we get the match up correct I'd hesitantly say Cork as confidence is low so it's a big game
    If we come through this and we win a tough game it gives us confidence for next week and hopefully it be limerick we face
    We have a chance then
    But Cork reach semi finals need Kilkenny and tippeary win their finals as meeting either in a Q Final is bad for Cork
    No team will beat kk twice this year so even if Galway pull off their trade mark one off big win kk under cody unlikely will loose again in the championship
    Imo only way kk won't win all Ireland Is to be beaten in a straight one off knock out game
    Kk when they loose are the greatest team in the history of the game under cody to evolve and learn and solve their mistakes that makes them almost impossible beat twice in the one year

Must win tonight even if it's extra time all that matters is Cork to win.
    If lorcan was there I'd say Cork with confidence but with o Neill and him to add to Joyce I'll say Cork but I wouldn't say it with any great certainty
    Best of luck to them tonight

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/the-paudie-kissane-column-kerry-have-always-pulled-forwards-back/

Very good read by a coach I rate extremely highly
    Didn't rate him as great playerin was just good imo but outstanding potential as coach and I love see him next coach cork minor football with James McCarthy and possibly ephie Fitzgerald again with Derek javanese as Cork have good potential next year minors

Some excellent points by him but this was written Thursday so be fair didn't know kerry team then as named that night so only thing I disagree is says kerry aren't complacent
    I think they are and warm weather camp just weeks ago proved that

By leaving maher out who outstanding v tipp Gooch Murphy wonderful geaney among others and weak full back line kerry in Enright only starter last seven games I think kerry are complacent in yes want win but they clearly belive there second team point beat Cork in half forward line is one graft hard work not as creative as it could be and seems kerry want contain cork for half then bring on subs

I don't believe kerry are naive to not know like Kisssne said Cork need good start as kerry get lead Cork have huge ask
    So imo kerry not going for the game from the off by trying finish early which many thought they would do imo picking team shows complacency Sunday and if cork get half time have real chance as be fair that kerry team named is not great

As Kisssne said match up have be vital

Kerry belive a team with out probably five starters are still good enough beat Cork and that may be cork saving grace as kerry are not that great just yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Wexford are horrendous. I'd expect Dunne to be done with Wexford after tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭stevensi

Christ Cork are muck. Is there any player on that team that you look at that you could call a great player. What is going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Can't believe how bad wexford were when is the draw being made?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Cork not scoring for 20 minutes is very worrying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Good God, A half decent club team would beat Wexford at their ease.

Tonight proved a couple of things.

Cork have no leaders without Harnedy. They disappeared for the second half when Wexford as bad and all as they were brought it back to 6 points.

Brian Murphy and Cahalane have lost none of their fondness for dispensing ash!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

lim4ev wrote: »
    Can't believe how bad wexford were when is the draw being made?

Monday morning. Cork v Clare or Limerick, first drawn gets home advantage unlike previous years where it was a neutral venue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

To be fair to Lehane those two great scores in the second half showed leadership ....not easy to win in Wexford ....second half poor ...but tonight will bring the team on .....very worrying second half collapse alright ...that's ok because we have lots of work to do....

Great to win, in any win is good in Wexford park however we must not be like other fans inother counties that at times become they can be naive and get carried away with a win and no there was nothing seen today in my view to show cork will win an all Ireland but I saw some of the old failings still there and a lot of questions still remains that it remains to be seen if we have the answers for them in the bigger tests.
    Now this may seem harsh in the light of victory but we have had plentyof false dawns in cork gaa In the past so we must call it as it is.
    Job done but hardly convincing overall in the second half.

Cork were terrific in the ist half with regards work ethic, hunger, want, and desire but have no doubt the wind with Cork in that half gave cork a huge advantage as once cork had a lead they settled where if Wexford had the wind and got the early lead it would have been a good test for Cork.

I was delighted Wexford came at cork in the second half in one way in it showed a lot of work to be done and up to management to rectify it and it showed our problems.

I lamented cork never had a chance v waterford with Harnedy out many times here.
    Christ above he's importance to cork is like keane to united, mccaw to the all blacks, o connell to munster, maher to tipp, galvin in he's day to kerry, Martin Johnson to England, he's absolutely three hundred ten per cent vital to cork hurling as breathes leadership, hunger and balls I mean balls now real real balls of steel and a want and work ethic,a sheer hunger to block, hook, run, create, take belts, score goals or points,roar on he's team,it was tear jerking it was so so immensely beautiful to watch as these hurlers are a rare breed in cork hurling now.

Roy keane love or hate him, it's irrelevant in he single handedly dragged an average Ireland team to a world cup with a breathtaking performance v Holland in Dublin and like wise done the same with united to a champions league final v juventus by a superb show of leadership.

Harnedy display of leadership tonight single handedly gave this team it's rebirth and was like jesus being resurrected leading he's disciples in he's just back from injury and what a performance.

Lehane deserves the man of the match and played a whole game but Harnedy with he's sheer drive and will to win ball on the ground or the air set the template for cork in the game.

Soon as he went off it was noticeable how cork crumbled and were devoid of leadership in the forwards.
    He was right to be subbed as he only just from injury so you don't risk him for another game.
    If Harnedy misses another game for Cork their beaten before they start in truth.

This legend absoultey a true legend, a warrior of conviction among the great, great, really really great, i mean the great players is the heart beat of Cork like canty was in football and he should be captain next year as yes Nash is good but Christ sweet lord he's inspirational further out the field for cork.

If we had three more player like Harnedy we'd be flying
    Harnedy would walk on the kk team and be better with a better team.

Thank you Harnedy your an absolute credit to cork and you show the true values of cork hurling .
    He took my breath away tonight in a
    Sensational epically magnificent leadership performance.

If cork get lorcan back we will be stronger and while we won't win the all Ireland we could on any day beat Galway, limerick, waterford, but clare would worry me as they had a huge win tonight and now they they have a fully fit team back so they have momentum now and they are going to be as real contenders to kk and tippeary.

The second half showed why cork won't win the all Ireland in they depend on Harnedy too much so kk or tipp will target him and Cork failed to keep the intensity up and Wexford I'm surprised were so poor but kk destroyed them but Cork couldn't do what kk done and put them away.

Nash made a great save and was composed throughout with a good variation and accuracy with he's puck outs overall.
    The full back line was good but it wasn't fully tested but Ellis playing deep was good and offers hope that cork may solve it this year and fair play to management as they kept mcdonnell off McDonald and cahalane had a good game while he's harshly critsed at times imo.

Murphy was good in the corner back position for Cork.
    Mcdonnell was good and when the high ball went in to full back it was good Ellis was there and he's solid and with lorcan back offers cork hope in he can fill the centre back or cahalane also at centre back back and free Ellis for full back.

Cahalane had a fine game, good point but imo needs to be left in a central position not at corner or wing back.

Ellis was outstanding and is a warrior and is abrasive and aggressive and leads well with plenty of hurling.
    He has yurned in to a terrific player and is irreplaceable with Corknow.

Murphy had a good game but is still raw in he's hooked too easily but that's up to landers to spot as coach and erase this
    He was good and will get better.

Walsh used he's height well and was good at half back and should stay there the next day imo.
    He had no pressure to shoot for scores and so relished in the freedom.

Kearney was everywhere and is a leader and warrior.
    Cooper is still raw hurling wise but he's work rate and ability in winning dirty ball means he's deserving of a place.

Cronin had poor wides but like I said didn't need to score tonight but all he had to do was just limit le chin and he did it well.
    Again another player some fans like to question but he was good again and won some good ball in the air.
    Lehane was brilliant and is becoming consistent and when Cork needed a leader with Harnedy off, notice how horgan again when the need was greatest went he missing but with out a score nearly for twenty minutes lehane had the conviction to score a match turning point.
    He got a great goal, hooked, blocked, won ball and created and scored a goal.

Cadogan was busyand worked hard but never really broke free but he's day will come.
    Horgan again like I say was absolutely brilliant and wonderfully performed when cork had a run and went ahead and had control.
    Flawless in the ist half he was.

But when Cork cried for leadership when Harnedy was off, horgan never stood up like the great great really really great i mean great players do and he's eight years now on the senior panel and an all star player.
    He had a glorious chance to goal and again as seen if you look at he's record in missed goal chances down the years when he missed there awful wides and that was a poor wide again tonight.Now fair enough he got a late challenge that should be punished by the referee but I thought he could went for the shot earlier

At Half forward imo he didn't show any real improvement in the second half and again he's fading in and out of games at crucial times.

It Won't do v kk and tippeary so he must improve.

Lawton now I never thought he is a forward or midfield player for senior inter county.
    But I said today,a poster here who I admire said he played well at half back for club before and would be good there and that poster was spot on.

Credit due he played the deep role working in the half back line and I thought hes work rate and hunger, he' blocked and hooked three times vitally to prevent scores and moved forward to get two points and always made himself available for the free pass, i was hugely impressed by him and I would hope he is not started half forward or midfield but name him there but play him in this deep role around half back the next game.

Wexford is not the ultimate test but he to be fair showed well in this role tonight.
    It was a terrific display in the basics of the game that are often are unappreciated in games of hurling nowdays imo.

The good news is Cork won tonight and got two goals and none were conceded. The bad news is Cork had the wind so had a good start in the ist half but we're outscored in the second half and went off the boil and the full back wasn't fully tested either and horgan still is unconvincing when needed and the lack of depth in defence subs wise is a huge huge worry.
    Even when lorchan mcloughlin is fit cork still have no real cover in defence.

We must be realistic after this win.
    Wexford I must admit I was wrong were poorer than thought but the wind with Cork in the ist half gave cork momentum so no cork are not all ireland contenders after this one win but if we play limerick who won't learn a thing from westmeath, we with their orthodox styles suiting cork type of hurling, we would have a good chance to win And there's goals in limerick defence and at last cork showed a desire to go for goals tonight.
    Limerick won't fear Cork either and understandably so.

At least JBM last game in charge wasn't in Wexford and if it's to be he's last game in charge at least hopefully it will be a top team that ends it and not team outside the top four.

They got the tactics right with a sweeper but in fairness it's been long overdue so while credit due to management tonight to be fair now we can't laud them with too much credit yet, as he as manager done what you expect a cork manager to do in to devise a game plan accordingly to your opponent's.

You would not thank your posts man for delivery of the the post as Roy keane would say.
    Job done tonight but a lot of huge work ahead but it's great to be still in the championship tonight.
    But going a long spell with out scoring is a huge worry as against the kk and tippeary and Clare's of this world they will blitz you scoring wise and the game would be over in a blink of an eye truth be told.

Christy o Connor statics tonight is Cork had 228 to wexford 222 plays and Cork shaded possession fifty two per cent so there's lot work on

Kk tipp and clare work rate epically even with bother in camp has always been phenomsl this year as proven two league games v kk and limerick championship so Cork play Clare huge huge improvement needed as clare are team go toe toe cork scoring wise and prevail as huge score tonight and I think bar one league game clare scoring total of twenty point or more and bulger Donnellan cunningjham galvin and McGrath all likely be available i hope cork avoid clare

If cork get clare or home advantage with pairc out of action they should ask for Thurles as playing pairc rinm won't suit this cork team who thrive on space

Any where bar the gaelic grounds hopefully as most cork team football hurling have poor record there recent times
    Murphy according to o Connor stats had second most plays game and most for Cork with twenty five
    He was always going to improve after waterford and he will get better and better and imo there's more way more in him

Good to see rob o shea come on and Cork have three options for sweeper in mcloughlin o shea and Lawton as pick starting defence six but drop man back

Cork should play sweeper if play limerick as limerick don't like one and Cork imo have play sweeper rest championship as man for man I doubt they go toe toe Kk or tipp and Cork need system get best panel available to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

Does anyone have a blue terrace ticket? Urgent enough I know but Id buy it and collect it before the game near the stadium! Cheers if anyone does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

We will be beaten in Killarney today,the question is by how much?