own brand vs real brand foods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Tesco's effort at Bounty Bars is embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Buy very little in Aldi or Lidl it dose not taste the same I dont care what anyone says.

Maybe if you had toddlers you could start shopping there because they wouldnt know any difference but not when you have teenagers who looks at the food turns it upside down and inside out and maybe even smells it before they eat it.
    Mot of the time I do all my shopping in supervalu because I find if you get a few things here and then go to aldi and then to lidl you end up spending twice as much

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Lidl's triple chocolate cookies are the best things in the world.

Also fruit, veg, cheese, butter, milk, pasta, tinned tomatoes, nuts, breads, chocolate, all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Tesco's effort at Bounty Bars is embarrassing.

Their Snickers are bloody gorgeous. Haven't tried that, but I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Zhane

lulu1 wrote: »
    Buy very little in Aldi or Lidl it dose not taste the same I dont care what anyone says.

Maybe if you had toddlers you could start shopping there because they wouldnt know any difference but not when you have teenagers who looks at the food turns it upside down and inside out and maybe even smells it before they eat it.
    Mot of the time I do all my shopping in supervalu because I find if you get a few things here and then go to aldi and then to lidl you end up spending twice as much

Honestly, if your teenagers are turning their noses up at the food you make them. Tell them to cop on and to fend for themselves.

If I did that, it would be death by wooden spoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Coca Cola and Durex are two brands I would never compromise on.

Aldi do delicious luxury yoghurts for about 70c that are way nicer than anything like Muller or Cadbury yoghurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

thelad95 wrote: »
    Coca Cola and Durex are two brands I would never compromise on.

Aldi do delicious luxury yoghurts for about 70c that are way nicer than anything like Muller or Cadbury yoghurts.

what are you trying to prove??? :D:D:D

Zhane wrote: »
    Honestly, if your teenagers are turning their noses up at the food you make them. Tell them to cop on and to fend for themselves.

If I did that, it would be death by wooden spoon!
    I was really referring to aldi/lidl food

TBH i wouldnt eat it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Zhane

Each to their own. Aldi is the closest shop to me, been shopping there for years. Nothing wrong with the food at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭desbrook

It's not off the ground your teenagers got their fussiness!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Mostly own brand as I shop in Aldi and Lidl. The only branded stuff or real brand thingy's I buy is tea (Lyons/Barry's) and Mayonnaise, because food really does love Hellmans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tell you what's really nice, the Spar own brand Cola/Diet Cola....and only 49c a can (or 6 pack for 2.50)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Trond wrote: »

Is that sold in Ireland? I was thinking about the Dun Dealgan one (or whatever it is called).

That one was kind of nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

I've often been surprised by the quality and taste of some of the supposedly cheaper brands. So I couldn't careless about a products brand tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

CFlat wrote: »
    If you were unfortunate enough to live around the time of the 'Yellow pack' products in the 70s and 80s, you'll remember that the Corn Flakes tasted like something you'd see nowadays in 5 litre bags used for wood chippings on your flower beds. No amount of milk and sugar would disguise their awfulness.

the Sunblest cornflakes were even worse if thats possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

osarusan wrote: »
    Is that sold in Ireland? I was thinking about the Dun Dealgan one (or whatever it is called).

Not 100% sure tbh. I know they had a good single malt for about €24 recently but it tends to sell out (the name escapes me).

Haven't tried Dun Dealgan though....

desbrook wrote: »
    It's not off the ground your teenagers got their fussiness!!!

Won't argue with that If I wouldn't eat it myself I wouldn't force it on someone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

The aldi range of Turkey slices ( the specialty packs) are made by hogan meats in Meath, the Lidl bread used to be made by spicers in Navan until it closed, the fruit and veg offers every week are not subsidised by the producers, aldi and lidl take the hit as opposed to tesco dunnes and supervalu who make the supplier take the hit on product price.
    I used to be a brand snob until financial reasons made me cop on to the amount of money I was spending on food.
    I find a lot of the own brand stuff far nicer than the brand products.
    The red tub of vanilla icecream in lidl.
    The lidl extra mature cheese
    Supervalu own brand spaghetti hoops and beans.
    The aldi weetabix doesn't need as much milk as the kelloggs ones, and the rice crispies are nicer to.
    Aldi also do lovely gluten free sausages for 99c as opposed to E1.89 for the cheapest branded ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,541 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Cant shop in Dunnes or Tesco anymore since Aldi opened across the road from our house, everything is twice as dear for the same or less quality. Id say I feed myself on €3 a day or less overall now compared to €5-6 or often a lot worse in the Tesco days.
    Trond wrote: »
    osarusan wrote: »

Same for Lidls vodka, nearly the cheapest on the market and the best vodka money can buy imo, Smirnoff tastes of chemicals to me now:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/lidl-own-brand-vodka-beats-market-leaders-141897.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

The only branded stuff I buy is beer, I'm a beer geek :eek:

Aldi/Lidl all the way otherwise ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

I'm struggling to think of any brand name grocery products we have in the house apart from tea and coffee (and they're both down to mrsTeal as I don't really drink either).

It's been a gradual transition from shopping mainly in Tesco and Asda 4 years ago to now getting everything we need (and some treats too!) in Aldi - I'd shop in Lidl as well but the one beside us is a bit grubby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

cbyrd wrote: »
    The aldi range of Turkey slices ( the specialty packs) are made by hogan meats in Meath, the Lidl bread used to be made by spicers in Navan until it closed, the fruit and veg offers every week are not subsidised by the producers, aldi and lidl take the hit as opposed to tesco dunnes and supervalu who make the supplier take the hit on product price.
    I used to be a brand snob until financial reasons made me cop on to the amount of money I was spending on food.
    I find a lot of the own brand stuff far nicer than the brand products.
    The red tub of vanilla icecream in lidl.
    The lidl extra mature cheese
    Supervalu own brand spaghetti hoops and beans.
    The aldi weetabix doesn't need as much milk as the kelloggs ones, and the rice crispies are nicer to.
    Aldi also do lovely gluten free sausages for 99c as opposed to E1.89 for the cheapest branded ones.
    We use that sometimes in work if we run out of the premium stuff we buy off our supplier:o, people often compliment it. Its amazing for the price

Won't argue with that If I wouldn't eat it myself I wouldn't force it on someone else

I just want better for my kids than wasting five grand a year just because they are used to something. Ability to change is a life skill.

Wetherspoons is opening up a pub near me. When people say " you won't get Heineken / Carlsberg / Guinness etc there " I piss myself. Jesus you'd swear they were serving rat poison. Can't wait to try their range.

We use that sometimes in work if we run out of the premium stuff we buy off our supplier:o, people often compliment it. Its amazing for the price

3.5 litres of Premium ice cream for 3.99 . My lads love it ( so do I)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I actually think Lidl's cooking chocolate tastes better than a lot of brand chocolates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,560 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I would buy Premier Dairies low fat milk, often have to get the own brand when the premier is not available, or the date only has 2-3 days left on it, Tesco own brand low fat milk is fine, Supervalu low fat milk tastes terrible.

Would also usually get the Kellogs Fruit n Fibre, and once had to get the Tesco own brand fruit n fibre and in my opinion it was nicer than the Kellogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Smoked salmon.

I love it but some of the cheaper brands are horrific and would put you off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Fairy washing up liquid is pretty much the only product I won't compromise on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Uncle_moe

Generally find nearly all brand products taste better than knock offs. Some more obvious than others.

Cereal own brand is muck. Low cost cheese has zero flavour. Real mature cheddar, for example, will never cost less than about €18 per kilo.
    Ketchup, mayo, mustard etc own brands I've tried are poor also.

Like anything you get what you pay for.