Do you kill insects in your house? Which ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭lizzyman

MadDog76 wrote: »
    I kill any living thing I find in my house that I haven't personally brought in or invited in .......... which I consider reasonable.

Only good bug is a dead one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Catch and release is my policy, usually with an hysterical teenage girl peeking around the door frame screaming blue murder (she can spot the tiniest of spiders at 20m). Mainly so I don't leave unsightly stains all over the walls.

Always feel guilt if I kill anything. They have much more right to be around than I do IMO.

This weekend I'm going into the loft with the hoover though, need to reinsulate and rewire so I will be cleaning it of all and sundry, probably a nation of spiders up there, some big, fast bar stewards too. (I've seen them)
    Not looking forward to it. I'm having visions of hundreds of angry spiders erupting from the hoover hose bent on revenge the minute I switch it off! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Bluebottles, dirty/annoying things and therefore must be destroyed!:mad: Though sometimes I shoo them out the window. Bees are sent out the window, woodlouse are left alone or put gently outside and spiders are either left alone or sent outside :) Wasps are killed but not by me as I go run and hide until they are dead :pac:

they are so easy to shoo out the window! they are annoying but thats not a reason to kill

only thing I kill are mosquitoes, they bite and its itchy for days, if Im falling asleep sometimes Ill hear 1 buzzing and Ill get up to kill it and every other one thats in my room before I go back to bed. tennis ball works great for hard to reach places near ceiling

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I never kill any living thing. It could be a person reincarnated as a fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    I never like killing or harming Spiders but sometimes it is necessary, Moths though are another story.

Moths in my part of the country can reach bird-like proportions and nothing short of anti-aircraft fire is needed to take them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 OiL RiG

eternal wrote: »
    I never kill any living thing. It could be a person reincarnated as a fly.

If they got reincarnated as a fly, they probably weren't a very nice person in a previous life.

I used to live by a 'catch and release' policy. Now, however, I feel that by squishing anything that gets too close, I am selecting for smarter insects who don't bother me. That way, we can exist in understanding and mutual respect.

OiL RiG wrote: »
    If they got reincarnated as a fly, they probably weren't a very nice person in a previous life.

I used to live by a 'catch and release' policy. Now, however, I feel that by squishing anything that gets too close, I am selecting for smarter insects who don't bother me. That way, we can exist in understanding and mutual respect.

By killing that fly, you are too becoming a fly in your future life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I kill moths and flies. Spiders are ok as long as they are behaving themselves. If they pick out a corner and stay there they are fine. If they start moving about they get whacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Spider-baby.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I got lots of spiders in my gaff and a few are clearly well fed, nay obese in the arachnid world. I never kill my eight legged mates, everything else? They take care of them. A few years back I had a pretty big spider living behind my bedroom mirror. She'd pop her head out from time to time, but mostly we respected each other's space maaan. Though one night, more like early morning, I awoke apropos of nothing and turned over and there she was about a foot(30 Cms for the younger folks) away from my face on the pillow. And she froze solid. No wonder, there she was doing her nocturnal thing, hardly expecting the statue of liberty sized monkey boy would disturb her evening walkabout. Never mind that she had eight eyes watching me and at that hour in the morning the state of me means two eyes are two too many for comfort. I froze too and we both looked at each other like statues for well over a minute. She broke the stalemate - and god I'd have loved to have had a camera at the time - by slowly, ever so slowly backing away in a most elegant way. Nothing to see here monkey boy, go back to sleep FFS. :D Some say spiders walk across our faces when we sleep, I say go for it lads and lasses, ye're hunting stuff I don't want around me. Just avoid my nasal area for future ref as that will likely waken me. Otherwise go mad. With my arachnid mates I fear no bedbugs and the like.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

By killing that fly, you are too becoming a fly in your future life.

But by killing that fly, am I not releasing him from his life of penance, so that it may be reincarnated as something nicer? If so, I'd be happy to squish and be squished. It's the circle of life.

You can only be reincarnated as something worse or as a lower being. Unless he redeemed himself through the act of death maybe. Why kill though when you can just put them outside?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭greenfrogs

Today I've killed a spider and an earwig. I absolutely hate creepy crawlies. I genuinely don't know where they come from. There's a fly buzzing around the room at the moment. He may too get an early grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Flies, Cockroaches and Scorpians. I've grown more tolerant of Black Widows in the graden unless they are on the outdoor furniture - any other spiders in the house get a pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭bogwalrus

If I have to move a spider I'll put it out with the tomato plants cause it will eat all the green fly.

You can only be reincarnated as something worse or as a lower being. Unless he redeemed himself through the act of death maybe. Why kill though when you can just put them outside?

Flies I do tend to shoo outside the nearest open window. It's the ones that flaunt our agreement to respect each other's space that must, unfortunately, be put to death. Silverfish in my favourite book, those earwig-looking things with the gall to scuttle across the bathroom floor next to my bare feet, etc. must be made an example of. It helps maintain the status quo, and from an evolutionary perspective selects for insects smart enough to let me poop and read in peace.

How can they flaunt an agreement? They are insects with no capable means of understanding things. I usually move toward them and they scuttle off. Slugs I just scoop up and put outside. How would you like to be living on the edges of society hated by humans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Anything that moves, eats and aint payin rent gets dead

How can they flaunt an agreement? They are insects with no capable means of understanding things. I usually move toward them and they scuttle off. Slugs I just scoop up and put outside. How would you like to be living on the edges of society hated by humans?

Surely even insects can understand that it's wise to stay away from the enormous predator? The insects you deal with sound very co-operative, but in my experience, after they 'scuttle off,' they tend to return straight away. Besides that, not everything is as easy to catch and relocate as a slug. Sometimes, squishing is just easiest and most effective.

As for your final question, I sympathise with the insects, I really do. I'll play the 'some of my best friends are insects' card and say that I happily share my bedroom with a considerable number of daddy-long-legs. They don't bother me; I don't bother them. The system works, and if I am ever to be reincarnated as an insect as punishment for my sins, I hope I will possess enough insect brains to recognise this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Bees and spiders are given a free pass; they're good guys.

Moths and wasps are shooed out (though if the wasp comes for me he's a goner!)

Flies of all kinds are killed with extreme prejudice. Disgusting, shìte ridden, maggot laying bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

MadDog76 wrote: »
    I kill any living thing I find in my house that I haven't personally brought in or invited in .......... which I consider reasonable.

Those that you kill are only the tip of the iceberg. You and your house are literally crawling with living things that you can't even see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I will hunt, stalk and kill a mosquito or a horsefly, because the little buggers have a particular regard for my blood and I tend to get scars.

Anything else gets gently shooed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Every insect, flying or not gets the heel of a shoe in my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ants. Poxy poxy ants. :mad:

Surely even insects can understand that it's wise to stay away from the enormous predator? The insects you deal with sound very co-operative, but in my experience, after they 'scuttle off,' they tend to return straight away. Besides that, not everything is as easy to catch and relocate as a slug. Sometimes, squishing is just easiest and most effective.

As for your final question, I sympathise with the insects, I really do. I'll play the 'some of my best friends are insects' card and say that I happily share my bedroom with a considerable number of daddy-long-legs. They don't bother me; I don't bother them. The system works, and if I am ever to be reincarnated as an insect as punishment for my sins, I hope I will possess enough insect brains to recognise this.

With only four posts to you name, you have outwitted me. The end is nigh.

endacl wrote: »
    Ants. Poxy poxy ants. :mad:

Vinegar. Get a spray bottle and it gets rid of them, it's the most effective method.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

I'm petrified of spiders but alas I must appear manly for potential suitors so I have began to let those little 8 legged yokes live.

Just as long as they don't intrude on my personal space, the wall is grand but come near me and you'll meet a grisly end Mr Spider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

For every silverfish you see, there are a hundred you doo not. Awful basterds to get rid of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Fúcking woodlice. My conservatory is always full of dead ones. It must be like trying to cross the Sahara desert for them on a hot day I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 glassdaisies

Honestly, no insects that enter my house last very long. The cats find them and either eat them or play with them to death. But should I find it first, anything that would bite or sting me shall die immediately.