UFC 189 -Chad Mendes v Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

MarkJD wrote: »
    When Conor beats Mendez i really do hope he refuses to give Aldo another fight and only recognise the Interim belt as him being champion. He will have huge sway with things then...

Failing that I see them giving him a truck load of cash and it being McGregor vs Aldo TUF season!

What planet are you living on? Aldo is the champ and pulling out of the fight doesn't change that. If McGregor wants to be the champ, he has to beat Aldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Can a moderator change the thread title to Mendes please? Also the new picture with the breakdown of the fighters can be found at the link below. I'll PM it to a moderator when I get on the computer this afternoon if needed. Cheers :)

http://uk.ufc.com/event/UFC189?f1=Chad-Mendes&f2=Conor-McGregor

I'm not bothered by the pull out, I'd rather a healthy Mendes than an injured Aldo and let's be honest, McGregor didn't deserve the shot in the first place, if he wins, he'll rightfully earn his shot at Aldo next.

I feel sorry for the people going but it should still be a fantastic fight. Mendes is a very solid sub.

Paully D wrote: »
    Can a moderator change the thread title to Mendes please? Also the new picture with the breakdown of the fighters can be found at the link below. I'll PM it to a moderator when I get on the computer this afternoon if needed. Cheers :)

http://uk.ufc.com/event/UFC189?f1=Chad-Mendes&f2=Conor-McGregor

New thread with a new poll imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

That_Guy wrote: »
    As an aside and just for general curiosity, I'd love to know what the results of Jose Aldo's drug test were.

I never even thought of that. But it certainly sounds suspicious when you think about it. Nothing would surprise me to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Fromvert

The retarded comments on this thread is strong.

I want McGregor to fight Aldo as much as the next person but he's injured like he has been many times before, he clearly trains and spars too hard, hardly a shock at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Mendes isn't the favourite though, I've heard that from a few sources, where are people getting that?

http://www.oddschecker.com/ufc-mma/chad-mendes-v-conor-mcgregor/winner

Vegas bookies opened with Mendes as favourite. That was before european bookies had markets.
    Looks like that got hammered as McGregor dropped from 2.10 to 1.77 pretty fast.

That's when the European market picked up the price and open with those odds.

As fair as I can see, McGregor is favorite across the board now.
    This is a graph of the price over time. The peak is when they announced Alos was out, then the land slide over a few hours.
    getIndexGraph.php?fighter=2&fightID=10449&oddsType=1
    He's favourite on the american market, not Irish/British. It's fairly common for bookies in different countries to offer different odds on the same event to cover their potential losses.
    It's common with brick and mortar, trackside bookies etc. But not too common where they are open to internet bets, as they'd be hammered with arbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I never even thought of that. But it certainly sounds suspicious when you think about it.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Wow gearing up for months to fight Aldo and he pulls out. That has to have an affect on McGregor psychology going into the fight .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

Not surprised at all, the writing was on the wall since the rib injury arose. It's a difficult one to fight through, but plenty have. I have a strange feeling Conor is carrying a worse injury, but he won't say until after.

I think there's probably more to it all anyway and it'll come to light eventually. Whatever, it still sucks.

Mendes is a great fight though. But there's now even more pressure on Conor to win and it's a tougher matchup for him for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

magma69 wrote: »
    I'm not bothered by the pull out, I'd rather a healthy Mendes than an injured Aldo and let's be honest, McGregor didn't deserve the shot in the first place, if he wins, he'll rightfully earn his shot at Aldo next.

I feel sorry for the people going but it should still be a fantastic fight. Mendes is a very solid sub.

Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭califano

Paully D will you edit the poll and add an Atari jaguar option please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,892 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I suppose it goes both ways in that Mendes might not have been training to fight McGregor directly but it certainly does McGregor no favours to have to prepare for a completely different style of fighter so close to the event.

Hashtag concerned.

Lads please stop with the Mendes is a tougher fight

Aldo is the undefeated champion and has beaten Mendes twice

There is no disputing who is the tougher opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Lads please stop with the Mendes is a tougher fight

Aldo is the undefeated champion and has beaten Mendes twice

There is no disputing who is the tougher opponent.

In terms of style, there's absolutely a discussion to be had about it, why can't you see that? Jon Jones refused to fight chael sonnen on the same amount of notice from Dan Henderson because of the difference in styles

Absolutely devastated

dulux99 wrote: »
    In terms of style, there's absolutely a discussion to be had about it, why can't you see that? Jon Jones refused to fight chael sonnen on the same amount of notice from Dan Henderson because of the difference in styles

Absolutely devastated

No I see that aldo is the champion and has beaten Mendes twice

On paper

"styles make fights"

Are you also a big proponent of MMA math? Because it doesn't make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Now what's the chances of Jose retiring undefeated (ufc)? Would be a shnakey move but can see it happening.

And miss a final payday that is worth 10 times his normal payday? Doubt it. Plus I'd imagine he'd get a rematch. The guy would be set for life. I'd say he is injured but he's being hyper sensitive about it.

On paper

"styles make fights"

Are you also a big proponent of MMA math? Because it doesn't make sense.

But aldo as wiped the floor with many good wrestlers

Who's to say conor won't do the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Devastated that im heading over and it wont be Aldo.

I dont think Mendes will be near ready for the fight either.

He would of needed at least a 6 week training camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,341 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I'm sick that it's not on and I'm only a casual fan. Can't imagine what it's like who were travelling to it, especially on such short notice. I guess at least there will be some fight on for a title.

This probably rules out the defense fight in Croke Park in 2015 then.

Is this the 5th title fight Aldo has pulled out of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I be surprised if Aldo turns down 4m+ unless he is properly injured. Its a strange one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Absolutely gutted. Only last night I was watching Dana White say he was nearly sure it would be Aldo and that lots of fighters fought with the same injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,804 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Bummed that Aldo pulled out :(.
    On the other hand I think McGregor vs Mendes may actually be a better fight stylistically.
    If Conor wins then he deserves the big pay day in Dublin vs Aldo and a chance to prove himself as the No1.
    Should be great fights on the card also and really looking forward to Lawlor vs MacDonald
    Roll on the 11th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Awful news to get, saw it coming a mile away though. Aldo clearly has no issue pulling out of fights. Cerrone went in to his fight at UFC 187 with an extremely similar injury and destroyed. Didn't let the news get out and didnt bitch out of the fight. Pulling out of 5 fights is shocking.

As much as many of you will say its shite talk i reckon Mcgregor might be right, maybe he did get into Aldo's head. Maybe Aldo is more afraid of Conor than he tries to let on.

An interim belt is a bit of a joke but i can see why they are doing it what with all the money they pumped into promoting this and having McGregor as the main event. Hopefully the new Embedded series can create a bit of a buzz for this fight now. I definitely think Mendes will be a tougher match up for Conor but time will tell i guess. Either way it should still be a quality fight but it loses a bit of its appeal now the real title isn't on the line.

But aldo as wiped the floor with many good wrestlers

Who's to say conor won't do the same?

Because conor mcgregor and jose aldo are two different people, and mcgregor is untested in the ufc at least against a top wrestler. I can't see why that is hard to fathom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Pulse8

Youtube mirror of last nights ESPN interview, is geo locked on ESPN site.....Dana sounds pissed, esp with the mention of the 5 pullouts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTjX-o-tzDk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Just listened to Mendez on Ariel Helwani's podcast, now I know our Conor is no shrinking violet but Chad comes across as a grade A douchebag, really Hope McGregor puts him down quick, if there was ever a guy who deserves it!

Because conor mcgregor and jose aldo are two different people, and mcgregor is untested in the ufc at least against a top wrestler. I can't see why that is hard to fathom.

So aldo isn't a top class wrestler?

For all Mendes wrestling he couldn't stop him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭akelly02

magma69 wrote: »

It might be a healthy Mendes, but its a two week camp Mendes which isnt fair on him. Still a downer for me.