Most embarrassing Irish sporting moment?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Aldo v McGregor won't break the UFC ppv record ffs. Also what stadium has he sold out? Never mind stadiums.

Isn't it sold out for 11th July

No doubt I'll be called a begrudger, seems to be a popular word spun whenever someone is anti-McGregor.

Popular because it's true. Were embarrassed by just about everything we do it seems.

And I was talking about record breaking ppv buys from Ireland which he is set to. We are talking about Ireland here not worldwide!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

ComfortKid wrote: »
    Isn't it sold out for 11th July

I repeat the question to you, what stadium has he sold out?

He is officially fighting Chad Mendes now by the way, not Aldo.

And I was talking about record breaking ppv buys from Ireland which he is set to. We are talking about Ireland here not worldwide!

It's not on PPV in Ireland.

I'd like you to tell me whose record of PPVs he is beating?

I repeat the question to you, what stadium has he sold out?

I wont repeat my answer. Ignore all my other points so?

MGM grand is not a stadium.

What points have I ignored?

MGM grand is not a stadium.

Stadium or arena what's the difference? You pulling me on that proves you just want an argument!

Yeah your right, sorry. Record number if views so. I haven't got the numbers but I'd say he'll double the previous record. Not many people here watch ufc until this fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

The GAA,

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

uch wrote: »
    The GAA,

I'll never forget that moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭il gatto

Yea and if my aunt had balls.

Would she donate them to a needy league of Ireland club? Your point? I'm just surmising what someone else suggested.

feargale wrote: »
    If I pay good money to travel to Poland, and more to get into a game, I'll sing " Pop goes the weasel" if I feel like. The customer is boss. Must we go into mourning if we lose a game? I'm proud of those supporters in Poland. Most of the world may live a lie in proclaiming that it's not the winning that matters most. Our supporters in Poland stayed true to the ideal.
    **** the begrudgers.

I don't live that particular lie. Sport is competitive. You play to win. Being there for the sing-song is not an ideal I subscribe to. Of course it's up to you if you want to sing. And it's up to others if they think it's inappropriate. And cringing a little is hardly mourning. Play to win but if you lose, life goes on. Rare that I'm not over it within the hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Irish fans of a Premiership team booing Eircom League players in a recent exhibition match at the Aviva Stadium.

Eircom are marketing geniuses :D

They haven't sponsored the league since 2008

Shemale wrote: »
    Pathetic anti Traveller part. :rolleyes:

So Nevin won't be convicted, is that your assertion? Nevin was previously done for being aggressive to a Garda and involved in a brawl at a house where he ended up with a broken leg, you are absolutely right this is the exact type of person to represent Ireland!!

I never said I agreed with Connolly and Horgan, they have a duty as does John Joe to conduct themselves properly and be a good example to the kids in the country. The Dublin and Ireland/ Leinster selectors are wrong for picking them. Is your proposition to punish the entire team because of an individual being involved in a once off incident on a night out.

Nevin is in control of his own destiny and and is constantly involved in public order ****e, this is the issue I have. A scumbag is a scumbag no matter what their ethnicity.

I would much rather they gave all the money they give Nevin to Taylor, arguably the best Irish sports person ever who conducts herself as she should.

I don't know where to start really!

So much gibberish, something about punishing a team and being rude to Garda being worse, apparently, than breaking bones in violent assaults because the latter was "once off" and "on a night out", and predicting the outcome of the Nevin case thus dismissing the whole concept of innocent until proven guilty and so on.
    You should learn to read, but let me explain...

Nobody said rather sent a dog than a Traveller, that is a lovely little lie you made up so you could show the world just how pro Traveller you are.

Nobody said Travellers have to be held to a higher than others, care to clarify what you mean by "others" Mr Equality as I find that comment offensive to settled people.

I see you're rather cross.

I've offended "settled people"? I didn't even know you were their spokesperson! I might reply when I finish laughing at your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

'Irish by birth munster by the grace of god'

And that whole bandwagon that rolled from 2000 to 2009. Cant fill Thomand at all now. Where have all those loyal fans from Kildare, Longford, Sligo, Wexford etc go?
    And the bizarre affinity they had to Limerick dockers.

iDave wrote: »

And that whole bandwagon that rolled from 2000 to 2009. Cant fill Thomand at all now. Where have all those loyal fans from Kildare, Longford, Sligo, Wexford etc go?

Little flags on people carriers - "Stand Up and Fight"

Substitute Manchester United or Liverpool in there and it's just as bizarre but people won't agree with that. There's almost a universal acceptance of it in this country. In my job, there was a Clare lad getting dogs abuse for wearing a Dublin jersey from a load of fellas. The main instigator was a Tipperary lad with a huge Liverpool FC tattoo right across his shoulder blades. Absolutely blinkered.

Sligo? Leave us out of it. People followed Leinster and Ulster just as much as Munster here. You get used to living vicariously as Connacht fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Omackeral wrote: »
    The main instigator was a Tipperary lad with a huge Liverpool FC tattoo right across his shoulder blades. Absolutely blinkered.

Does he carry a roll of "Don't buy the S*n, Justice for the 96" stickers as well? Funny as hell when you see grown men from here sticking them in the toilets in Dublin airport and giving them out to people reading that paper.

Berserker wrote: »
    Does he carry a roll of "Don't buy the S*n, Justice for the 96" stickers as well? Funny as hell when you see grown men from here sticking them in the toilets in Dublin airport and giving them out to people reading that paper.

No but another fella from here gets the Sun and he wears a Pool jersey every other day and calls them 'us'. I couldn't give a toss about who follows who etc in England but even that one was a bit of a shocker on me. I said it to him and he was kind of bewildered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭brian_7070

Little flags on people carriers - "Stand Up and Fight"

Wear your Munster jersey to work Friday seemed to replace casual Friday in very office in Munster around that time too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Lucena wrote: »
    I could be misremembering this, but I seem to remember that 'part of the takings' were to go to the Omagh bombing victims, but without any mention of how much. Do you have any info, links or the like?

Incidentally, the whole Offaly - Clare thing was a shambles in retrospect. I was in Croke Park for the replay (as an Offaly fan) and we were absolutely furious when the ref blew for full time, and I was part of the pitch invasion. Clare were robbed as in all likelihood they would have won being 3 points ahead with 5 minutes to go.
    I was at the replay in Semple Stadium and it was a magical day out for Offaly fans, was ecstatic when we won. At the time it felt like justice was done, but looking back, Clare were the victims.

IIRC tickets were very much reduced for the re-replay in Thurles, something like a fiver. Some money was donated to charity , you're right.

Jimmy Cooney blew the game up 2 mins early. Clare were 3 points up with Barry Murphy (Clare forward) in possession about 30 yards from the Offaly goal looking like he was about to shoot for a point.

Clare definitely ran out of steam in the 3rd game and we were missing Brian Lohan and Colin Lynch since the Munster final debacle against Waterford and eventually a good Offaly side won the series.

I was at all 3 games and was disappointed by the sit - in and Loughnane agreeing to the replay. He said afterwards that the GAA promised him that Lynch would be back but I doubt this happened. Clare were hated countrywide as we were seen to get uppedy after winning a couple of All irelands and 3 Munster titles in 4 years.

I think Loughnane and Clare were trying to soften peoples attitudes to us by readily agreeing a replay, look where it got us! Gracious of you to say that Clare were the victims. We never won anything again until 2013.

Why do we have mental managers in Clare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

I don't know where to start really!

You really shouldn't have started seeing as you don't read/ comprehend anything and post utter rubbish.

You roll in with your pro Traveller bollox when I never said anything about him being a Traveller but it's ludicrous to suggest you are anti settled people because you are so pro Traveller, your brain needs examining mate.
    predicting the outcome of the Nevin case thus dismissing the whole concept of innocent until proven guilty and so on.

He is in court for at least the third time, I have never been in court because I am not a scumbag, it's very simple. You should become a lawman in America, get rid of their stupid three strikes rules and lock up anyone that has even been convicted of any crime for life.

You are absolutely correct, why don't we send John Gilligan to the Olympics, he is meant to be a decent boxer and only has one conviction.
    I see you're rather cross.

I've offended "settled people"? I didn't even know you were their spokesperson! I might reply when I finish laughing at your post.

Have a laugh at yourself, accusing someone in print of discrimination against an ethnic group without any evidence is so far past stupid, we need a new word for you.

You really shouldn't have started seeing as you don't read/ comprehend anything and post utter rubbish.
    ...your brain needs examining mate.

You are absolutely correct, why don't we send John Gilligan to the Olympics, he is meant to be a decent boxer and only has one conviction.

You seem to be getting angrier and angrier!

Look I'll agree with you. Sending John Gilligan to the Olympics was exactly what I said, your comprehension is bang on and you don't post rubbish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Has Gilligan really only got one conviction? I assumed he hd a rap sheet as long as your arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

uch wrote: »
    The GAA,

Care to elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Care to elaborate?

I'll try...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

osarusan wrote: »

That's RTE not the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Care to elaborate?

I wouldn't waste your time with that if I were you.