Big Brother UK 2015 **Use spoiler tags, mod warning post #1 & 3037**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

jodaw wrote: »
    Them comments are been blown way out of proportion. In a heated argument, when Brians face was twitching and his eyes looked bat**** crazy. She said he was "looked" * and *.

If i throw on a hulk rules vest and a pair of yellow jocks people might say i "looked" like Hulk Hogan. Doesn't mean i am him.

Mountain out of a mole hill

Saying you look like Hulk Hogan and saying you look like a rapist are two completely different things. It's possibly the worst thing you can say to a man and she was right to get a warning over it.

Aaron was thrown out for cavorting around Joel naked, yet there are people defending Helen for saying that to Brian? If you like the woman, that's fine, but you can't defend calling someone that imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭mapaco

I feel like i'm watching a different show to the BBBOTS crowd? They're so so biased to Brian and Nicky.
    They literally do not see that Brian was a complete liar and awful to Marc for no reason..... or maybe i'm missing something?
    Havent seen BB for a few years -it used to be quirky loud people i thought-bunch of boring over sensitive sheep in there. I feel sorry for Helen, shes no worse than Aisleyne was in her day from what i've seen of her.
    fair enough the words she used for Brian were wrong but who hasn't said something horrible in a heated argument and he did look crazed and violent-which is what she meant.
    Marc is prob gone next week and thats me done with it.
    gosh i was so lookin forward to seeing big bro again and its a total disappointment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,310 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

We should start a Helen Wood fan club I reckon.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Thoughts on tonight:
    Gutted Jack wasn't kicked out. This was the publics chance to get rid and now he'll be there till the final week. Well done Britain! Not bothered that Simon was evicted, but was given a horrid time by Emma Willis. Shocking presenter and shame on BB for allowing the public to ruin not one but two interviews.
    Agree with what everyone's saying. Part of giving Helen that airtime is to allow her to air her side. Dismissing her point of view and brushing over insults that were thrown at her that led to that situation is a cop out, and I hope that she pays for her sins with her job after this series.
    The interview with Nikki was the typical lovefest we knew it would be then. BB have their agenda to push and Helen is the villain, while Nikki and Brian are saints and Aisleyne is the knight in shining armour (minus the knickers).
    Rylan to be fair gave her a chance but insisted on dragging an apology out of her for her comments, while again ignoring the insults thrown her way.

John McCririck? Sweet Jesus if Helen is Satan spawn, he must have provided the seed that produced her. A vile sexist pig who never was, has or ever will be interesting. This season is turning into a shambles, I imagine we'll see contrived noms by the 'celeb' guests this coming week as otherwise they may as well just put Sam and Marc up now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Wicklow Brave

Saying you look like Hulk Hogan and saying you look like a rapist are two completely different things. It's possibly the worst thing you can say to a man and she was right to get a warning over it.

Aaron was thrown out for cavorting around Joel naked, yet there are people defending Helen for saying that to Brian? If you like the woman, that's fine, but you can't defend calling someone that imo.

She is absolutely well within her right to say she thought Brian looked like a rapist and murderer. I'd eat s*** before allowing people to control freedom of expression. There cannot be a filter. It includes the good and the bad whether you like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

People calling Helen a whore, whilst nicky also did the same job but never mentioned..

She is absolutely well within her right to say she thought Brian looked like a rapist and murderer. I'd eat s*** before allowing people to control freedom of expression. There cannot be a filter. It includes the good and the bad whether you like it or not.

With freedom of expression comes responsibility. If she called him a ni**er would you be defending her freedom to do so too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

There are some things that shouldn't be said & she likes to use most of them unfortunately

Being a slur imo, is one of the worst traits that anyone can have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

mdwexford wrote: »
    We should start a Helen Wood fan club I reckon.

I'm glad to see the back of her.

People calling Helen a whore, whilst nicky also did the same job but never mentioned..

Helen was one. Brian as far as we know wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Oh com'on that's not the same thing at all. She antagonised him to the point of being extremely emotional and agitated and then ridiculed his response to that by saying it made him look like a rapist and murderer. She also made lots of references to him being mentally ill.

That's highly offensive. If you heard people at work were saying you looked like a pedophile would you consider it equally neutral to them saying you bore a passing resemblance to a celebrity? I don't think so.
    The proof is in the pudding, had she felt in anyway physically intimidated by him she would not have sat there continually goading him, she said it just to undermine his opinion and try to ruin him in the eyes of the public.

With freedom of expression comes responsibility. If she called him a ni**er would you be defending her freedom to do so too?

Well that would be hate speech and racism. That is not the same as saying someone acting very aggressive looks like a rapist and a murderer.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

That's like asking, if the cameras weren't there do you think Brian would have assaulted her? Because I do.
    If ifs and ands were pots and pans....

Well that would be hate speech and racism. That is not the same as saying someone acting very aggressive looks like a rapist and a murderer.

Wow! You have to be delusional to state that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It will be interesting to see what direction Marc takes now he's lost two of his biggest supporters. I think he is going to find himself a bit lost. He knows he's facing nomination unless BB find some way to save him again.

You said there should be no filter. If that's the case, anything is fair game right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

saying you look like a rapist. It's possibly the worst thing you can say to a man and she was right to get a warning over it.
    If you like the woman, that's fine, but you can't defend calling someone that imo.

I've highlighted the bit of your post that contradicts itself.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Necrominus wrote: »
    That's like asking, if the cameras weren't there do you think Brian would have assaulted her? Because I do.

Why would you think that? What's he done to make you think he's violent?

Are you a school teacher?

Does Brian have a history of assaulting people? That's a mad assumption to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Ah sure you should be an editor on bb :)

eviltwin wrote:
    Why would you think that? What's he done to make you think he's violent?

Someone posed a hypothetical question about Helen making a racist comment. I was merely making a comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Someone posed a hypothetical question about Helen making a racist comment. I was merely making a comparison.

That wasn't a comparison, that was a statement

Does Brian have a history of assaulting people? That's a mad assumption to make.

Does Helen have a history of using racist language? That's also a mad assumption to make.

You said there should be no filter. If that's the case, anything is fair game right?

Ah I'm playing Devil's advocate, I don't have all the answers!

But imo there is a difference between saying someone looks like a rapist when that person is acting very aggressive and then calling someone a n*****. If Helen had called Brian a n***** she would have been booted off the show quicker than you can say Wayne Rooney.

My comparison was in response to a poster saying there should be no filters when it came to freedom of expression when that's clearly BS. Of course there are filters and saying on national TV that a man looks like a rapist is crossing that line.

deco nate wrote:
    That wasn't a comparison, that was a statement

Nope, you might want to read it again.

Look I think its pretty clear that Helen offended too many people and C5 couldn't be seen to lick up to her.

I don't agree that she was 100% a fault, but when you label or accuse someone as bad as she did, surely we can all agree she has done herself no favors?

My comparison was in response to a poster saying there should be no filters when it came to freedom of expression when that's clearly BS. Of course there are filters and saying on national TV that a man looks like a rapist is crossing that line.

My point is that you can make wild assumptions about either side following that argument. Nothing more, nothing less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Ah lads can we stop talking about Helen Wood, she is gone now from BB.