Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi frash, welcome back! You know the score I'm sure :) What was the injury and what caused it? I'm sure you are on top of stretching, foam rolling and strength work? ;)

Thanks!

It was a dropped metatarsal head caused by "chronically tight calf muscles" so yes I'll be doing lots of stretches / foam rolling over the next few months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

BobDylan wrote: »
    Hi Dubgal72. Hope there is room for one more!

What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?

I’ve kept reasonably fit all my life. Long time gym member and played football, and tennis when younger. Took up running about 3 years ago and have been reasonably consistent since averaging around 25 miles per week.

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

Only raced once…Cork Half in June 15:
    Cork Half-Marathon 2015.....2:14 in strong wind and rain……have a training best (Garmin) of 2:06 in late 2014. As this was my first race I took it handy, running at a pace I knew I could sustain easily. (10:15 per mile )

Do still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No

How much training do you currently do? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.

Currently training 5 days per week. Typical week is 5 miles, 4 miles, 5 miles and 8 miles with one day cross training, usually 40 minutes or so on the elipictial. All runs are done at easy pace with the exception on one day when I push it a little.

How many days a week can you train?
    However I am possibly the oldest runner on here at 55 years young. Recovery is key for me to prevent injury and fatigue. So every now and then I will cut back to 4 days.

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    • To start and finish a marathon for the first time.
    • To run the Charleville Half Marathon in Sept as a gauge of my fitness before DCM
    • Sub-4:50 marathon is my goal. Anything less than 5 hours would be great for me to be honest.

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?

Started the Boards Plan this morning

Love this thread, you are all so inspiring. Thank you.

Hi BobDylan, welcome and go straight to the top of the class :D Three years running at a nice solid weekly mileage before tackling a marathon plus he knows how to slow down and the value of recovery. I think you're going to be just grand. We can all learn from you (except the bit about getting PBs in training :mad: :D )....

raddo wrote: »
    Added my name to the google doc finally.
    Still undecided if I am going to do it or not, but will keep going.
    Did the Cork Half Marathon in a PB at the beginning of June and I will be doing the Waterford Half Marathon on Saturday.
    Looking forward to it but motivation after Cork was quite low.
    My running this week and next will be limited due to the race.

Keep in touch and let us know how you get on won't you? A race report or two would be nice :) Best of luck!

I'm one of those not following the boards plan so this week is going to be low mileage from me! Feels like a little holiday though and much needed as I've been training for the last two months. I definitely don't want to burn out! So, going for an easy 3 miler later. It's going to be lovely!

Definitely a sign that you need to step back. The key to all this is enjoyment. Training is going to be hard, yes, but not day in, day out. A lovely 'easy three miler' or similar should be an essential ingredient of every week. Keep an eye on that TFGR, definitely don't want you burning out!

marf wrote: »
    What is your athletic background?
    Running for the last few years but only started doing races and increasing distance for the last year.

Have you raced before?
    5k pb 26 mins
    10k pb 57 mins
    Phoenix Park half marathon 2014 2hrs 18 mins
    Frank Duffy 10 mile 2014 1 hr 38 mins
    Bohermeen half 2015 2 hrs 13 mins

Do you walk at all?
    No

Current training?
    Monday 4-6 miles
    Tues rest
    Wed 2 mile run and 1 hr track incl intervals etc
    Thurs rest
    Fri LSR 10 + miles
    Sat rest
    Sun easy 3-4 miles

Dream marathon finish
    4 hours
    Realistic finish
    4.5 hours

Loosely following Asics plan at the moment. Not really committed to any plan yet due to Clontarf and 4 days is enough running for me #oldlegs!

Thanks Dubgal.
    These are my answers to your reply on my previous post. Hope this helps. Sorry not too familiar with posting on boards 😊

Thanks marf for that and welcome to the thread, officially :) The more information we have the better. As you're doing some intervals, you might find the boards plan suitable? Let us know how you get on in Clontarf won't you and don't forget to taper! Best of luck :)

The actual EFFORT of Aqua jogging. I'm off out now to the pool but not before I make sure I'm entirely hair free ERRYBLOODYWHERE and stand in front of the mirror in my togs for ages looking at all my fatness and wishing I could just RUN :(:(:(

(Sorry boys, I just absolutely hate hate hate swimming :()

/drama queen
    Awwww...it'll be worth it in the end. Career move, a deserter to the dark side an amazing runner has made huge improvements while recovering from injury through swimming.
    Thanks. Grand day for it alright. Getting out on the miserable days will be the tester!
    It certainly will!
    The past few times I've been out running I've been eyeing up other runners and wondering if they're boardsies or not. :D Especially the few I've seen running without earphones in...I always want to ask 'hey are you on the Novice DCM thread?'. :pac:

So hey, if you've been out running and passed a fat girl running in a grey shirt and looking at you oddly, it was probably me! :p
    Heehee don't be rubber necking so much you crash with a lamp post!
    Toulouse wrote: »
    Hah, me too!!

I probably went a bit too fast this evening but it was so nice out and it felt really good! I did concentrate on my form though so one box ticked at least.
    Well done :)
    Singer wrote: »
    Woohoo, first official marathon plan run done! (Ok, I completely didn't do what was on the plan, but still felt good :D )
    It was at the correct pace tho, right?! ;)
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Still catching up on the missed pages following hols just wondering did the strava novices group get set up in the end ?
    Welcome back! How has the running being going? Any holiday runs to report?!
    frash wrote: »
    Thanks!

It was a dropped metatarsal head caused by "chronically tight calf muscles" so yes I'll be doing lots of stretches / foam rolling over the next few months!

Sounds seriously ouch! At least you know how to prevent a recurrence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭tommyh1977

Bit of good news, as already posted was at physio on Friday, he did some shockwave therapy on tendonitis. On Friday he was reckoning one or two further treatments 10 days apart with plenty of strengthening exercises in between would heal the tendon and get me back in around a month. Thing is here I am 5 days after treatment and the very sore spot I had on the tendon is now reduced to a mild ache. Going back for second round of shockwave on Monday and keeping fingers, toes and all other bits crossed that it will be last visit and he'll let me back training at a gradual increase. I hadn't started any plan before injury, so just wondering which would be best to start off with without putting too much stress on my body and risking re-injury. Also I assume to start at the relevant week and let the first few weeks I've missed go? TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Welcome back! How has the running being going? Any holiday runs to report

Yes was away Thursday to Monday went for a run before heading Thursday and got 2 * 7 km runs in Spain at 8 am before it got too hot. Was tough going but kept it slow and was chuffed to get out. Didn't risk the long run in that heat. I'm more concerned about the weeks holiday in July right in the middle of training but Mr Mc in marathon training too so at least I'll have company.!

tommyh1977 wrote: »
    Bit of good news, as already posted was at physio on Friday, he did some shockwave therapy on tendonitis. On Friday he was reckoning one or two further treatments 10 days apart with plenty of strengthening exercises in between would heal the tendon and get me back in around a month. Thing is here I am 5 days after treatment and the very sore spot I had on the tendon is now reduced to a mild ache. Going back for second round of shockwave on Monday and keeping fingers, toes and all other bits crossed that it will be last visit and he'll let me back training at a gradual increase. I hadn't started any plan before injury, so just wondering which would be best to start off with without putting too much stress on my body and risking re-injury. Also I assume to start at the relevant week and let the first few weeks I've missed go? TIA

Hi Tommy, glad to hear you're making progress in the right direction!
    Your training hasn't been consistent since the beginning of May, due to this injury. You're missing a pre-marathon plan base as well as returning to fitness just as the plan starts. This immediately puts stress on the body (and mind) and IMO risks re-injury, no matter which plan you pick. I would strongly advise you to put this year's marathon plan on hold; get yourself and the tendon fit and healthy. Will you consider doing yourself and the distance justice next year? I understand that this is a really hard decision to make. It is so easy to get caught up in 'marathon blindness' but I really feel that the timing is just not right....don't decide right now: have a think for a few days and talk to your coach and other club members. Sorry, I really am, this is not what you want to hear.....

Welcome back! How has the running being going? Any holiday runs to report

Yes was away Thursday to Monday went for a run before heading Thursday and got 2 * 7 km runs in Spain at 8 am before it got too hot. Was tough going but kept it slow and was chuffed to get out. Didn't risk the long run in that heat. I'm more concerned about the weeks holiday in July right in the middle of training but Mr Mc in marathon training too so at least I'll have company.!

Well done :) And I'm sure you'll both be cracking the whip at each other in July, right?! (really hope TbL is not reading this :eek: :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 limoncella

Brian_Dart wrote: »
    I stayed in the Mespil last year for DCM14, and while it is great and close to everything, I asked when checking in what was the possibility of having a shower after the marathon and they said they wouldn't allow it unless I paid an extra €20 for late check out, and made it back to the hotel before 2pm when late check out finished. Parking was a bit limited there too and I had to park a bit away on the road behind the hotel. They did open breakfast very early though and had some good options for breakfast. Wish I had known that before I spent so long the night before looking for that quick Porridge stuff, yuk!

Ugh sounds like it's gone a bit downhill since I stayed there (I guess it was 4 years ago already :eek:). On the bright side I don't feel as disappointed now haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Well done :) And I'm sure you'll both be cracking the whip at each other in July, right?! (really hope TbL is not reading this :eek: :D )

Or else we will kill each other !!! Yes only asking for trouble with that quote !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Ive been reading these threads for the past 3 years so its time to join in.

What is your athletics background? Have you run before?What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?

Started Couch 2 5k in 2012. Nothing before that.

Have only done 4 races

April 2013 5K Marley Parkrun 26:59
    May 2013 6 Mile GLR 1:01:23
    April 2014 10k GIR 1:02:01
    May 2014 1/2 Marathon GLR 2:15:17

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No

How much training do you currently do ? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    4 days a week. Mon - Wed 5km each. Longer runs on Fri or Sat.

Can increase to 5 days a week.

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Target not picked yet but Id imagine it with will be around 4:30.

Started on the Boards plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭tommyh1977

Hi Tommy, glad to hear you're making progress in the right direction!
    Your training hasn't been consistent since the beginning of May, due to this injury. You're missing a pre-marathon plan base as well as returning to fitness just as the plan starts. This immediately puts stress on the body (and mind) and IMO risks re-injury, no matter which plan you pick. I would strongly advise you to put this year's marathon plan on hold; get yourself and the tendon fit and healthy. Will you consider doing yourself and the distance justice next year? I understand that this is a really hard decision to make. It is so easy to get caught up in 'marathon blindness' but I really feel that the timing is just not right....don't decide right now: have a think for a few days and talk to your coach and other club members. Sorry, I really am, this is not what you want to hear.....

Had a good chat with coach last night, he reckons if I get back out in the next 10 -14 days that I still should be able to get enough training under the belt to complete the distance, given I had a 30 mile week base before injury, a lot of which was speed/tempo work. Obviously I still need to get the physios opinion on this and if given the green light by him will also need to come back at a slower pace than I stopped at. The last thing I'm going to do is risk re-injury for the sake of doing DCM this year. I was going to start a plan at the relevant week and tip along day by day to see how it was treating me, and at the first sign of injury returning if any shape or form. call it a day for this year. I don't know maybe that's still not the best idea in the world?

tommyh1977 wrote: »
    Had a good chat with coach last night, he reckons if I get back out in the next 10 -14 days that I still should be able to get enough training under the belt to complete the distance, given I had a 30 mile week base before injury, a lot of which was speed/tempo work. Obviously I still need to get the physios opinion on this and if given the green light by him will also need to come back at a slower pace than I stopped at. The last thing I'm going to do is risk re-injury for the sake of doing DCM this year. I was going to start a plan at the relevant week and tip along day by day to see how it was treating me, and at the first sign of injury returning if any shape or form. call it a day for this year. I don't know maybe that's still not the best idea in the world?

It's your call tommy...your coach knows you better than a random internet mentor :D What do you want to do though; "complete the distance" or do yourself and the distance justice? If completing the distance is enough for you, go for it but listen to every creak and groan from your body along the way.
    A 30 mile per week speed/tempo base is good, but how is your endurance base? It's your endurance base that counts and if you're starting with an empty reserve, it'll take longer to fill.
    Don't jump into any plan to start with. Gradually get your legs, newly-recovered injury and body used to running again. Go out every second day for two weeks and just see how you feel. Keep it sloooow ;) Think about entering a plan gradually after that, probably Hal Higdon 1 to start with.
    Very best of luck and keep us posted won't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Hi all, looking forward to getting to know you all (virtually) over the next few months. So, I have added myself to the spreadsheet earlier but now can't find the link to get back to it (I think I'm delirious after my interval session) and was wondering if somebody could post it here so that it is really simple for me?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,493 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Thanks, I reread the first post several times and just couldn't find it??? Obviously it was staring at me though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

So i managed to do some strides tonight for the first time, big fan to be honest :) only problem i had was slowing back down and getting a constant slower pace.

Strode past a group of teenagers and one of them shouted "would you look at the head on yer man thinks he's linford christie" :) gave me a good chuckle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

.. a random internet mentor :D ..

Careful! You're insulting our coach! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Just wanted to say a huge thanks to Dubsgal and everyone who is participating in this. This thread has given me so many tips. I've been lurking!

I'd love to join this as the motivation and help is fantastic but I'm not doing the DCM this year, I'm aiming for the Clon marathon on Dec 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

So third day down, was supposed to be 4miles, incorporating 5 x 50m strides. I did the strides but short of the 4 miles - my legs felt very heavy which I'm putting down to the Boot Camp session last night. I have a rest day tomorrow and 11 miles Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Loved that there Betty...

I did four miles tonight, after 2 miles I started doing the strides. Ran for 15 seconds and then walked slowly for a minute to recover and then went again for the 5 times in total (0.3-0.4 of mile or so). Went back into the rest of the four miles then at an easier pace to start but then back to the same pace as the first 2 miles. Legs certainly felt a bit off after it and took a bit of time to settle into normal even pace.
    Literally was in the back arse of nowhere down a road doing it, I'm sure the farmer in the tractor in the field was wondering what the dope out sprinting the roads was doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

diego_b wrote: »
    Loved that there Betty...

I did four miles tonight, after 2 miles I started doing the strides. Ran for 15 seconds and then walked slowly for a minute to recover and then went again for the 5 times in total (0.3-0.4 of mile or so). Went back into the rest of the four miles then at an easier pace to start but then back to the same pace as the first 2 miles. Legs certainly felt a bit off after it and took a bit of time to settle into normal even pace.
    Literally was in the back arse of nowhere down a road doing it, I'm sure the farmer in the tractor in the field was wondering what the dope out sprinting the roads was doing.

Haha, runners are a bit odd!

I could be wrong here but I always left the strides until just after a run just before the cooldown. Seems much easier on the legs while getting the same benefit, all you want to do is get the legs turning over with good form as it's not a workout. Might be something to try and see how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Haha, runners are a bit odd!

I could be wrong here but I always left the strides until just after a run just before the cooldown. Seems much easier on the legs while getting the same benefit, all you want to do is get the legs turning over with good form as it's not a workout. Might be something to try and see how you get on.

+1 I would always do them in the last mile with jog recovery equal to stride distant i.e. 100m stride followed by 100m jog recovery. They shouldn't be run at a pace that you need to walk afterwards. They are just about leg turnover and form not about busting a gut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

FBOT01 wrote: »
    +1 I would always do them in the last mile with jog recovery equal to stride distant i.e. 100m stride followed by 100m jog recovery. They shouldn't be run at a pace that you need to walk afterwards. They are just about leg turnover and form not about busting a gut.

makes sense might give that a go, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Thanks guys, I wasn't sure to be honest with them and my detailed post was to the fish for direction from you!! Next time I'll leave them towards the end of the run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

diego_b wrote: »
    Thanks guys, I wasn't sure to be honest with them and my detailed post was to the fish for direction from you!! Next time I'll leave them towards the end of the run.

Neither was I but thanks to your question I now know!

I've never done them before so will try to incorporate some next week. Don't want to start messing around seeing as the 5 miler is on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I did my second run this morning at 6 o'clock, 5.1k with 4x100m strides. I could do them at the end of the run because it's all hills, I had to do them at the end of km 3 / beginning of km 4.

I might switch them to my Friday run from now on, it'll be at the lake and I can end on a flat section. Thursday runs are on the roads around home.

Omeceron wrote: »
    Ive been reading these threads for the past 3 years so its time to join in.

What is your athletics background? Have you run before?What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?

Started Couch 2 5k in 2012. Nothing before that.

Have only done 4 races

April 2013 5K Marley Parkrun 26:59
    May 2013 6 Mile GLR 1:01:23
    April 2014 10k GIR 1:02:01
    May 2014 1/2 Marathon GLR 2:15:17

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    No

How much training do you currently do ? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    4 days a week. Mon - Wed 5km each. Longer runs on Fri or Sat.

Can increase to 5 days a week.

Target not picked yet but Id imagine it with will be around 4:30.

Started on the Boards plan.

Hi Omeceron, welcome to the thread! Good to see you have a few year's running under your belt, it will stand to you over the next four months. Have you signed up to any races over the training cycle? I'd really recommend it, you'll be able to track your progress and a 10 mile and HM race in August and September will allow you to reassess your marathon target time. You're right not to fix on a target time right now but it's useful to have an idea so you can set your training paces in the interim. You may have noticed a theme from a flick through this thread....sloooooow down :D