Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 17/06/2015 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Sorry I was engrossed in the Bwoston twang, has Damo managed to find an Irish bar owner in Greece? Well, it's good to see Joe left the playbook behind him when he went on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Greece sounds like Ireland so Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Irish people always paid their taxes:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

They know they have to change......... doesn't sound like it to me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,205 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Did they build anything flash in Greece during the good times to blow the money? Seems to be no big property splash out or ghost airports built.

Has Mike been drinking already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I should ring Joe. Three of my Bwoston cousins (male) from the same family all died in their 20s from an incurable disease passed from mother to son (there were no other children). Then their mom died. Their "fadder" when in his 70s remarried a 20something (he's loaded, but she loved him).

All of that, and you never rang Joe?!!:eek: You need some pretext to get on I suppose, but once you are on and start that story, he'll run with it. Respond to a first caller, whatever the subject, and you should get 70 minutes. Do up some notes of details and have them beside the phone with you. As soon as he's back from his holidays, go for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Did they build anything flash in Greece during the good times to blow the money? Seems to be no big property splash out or ghost airports built.
    2000 Olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Brush Sheils on line 2 to tell us, 'Everything is great in Greece.' 'They're all driving Mercs and eating in restraunts, Joe.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

There were , the Athens underground and the airport build for the Olympics were done On cheap German loans .

GDY151

Is the pint cheap in Greece?

GDY151

Social welfare is cut here too after 9 months.

I was in Athens for a week in 2008. It looked like Beiruit.

The Acropolis. Looking at its condition, it looks like a cheap job, badly regulated and inspected.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Brush Sheils on line 2 to tell us, 'Everything is great in Greece.' 'They're all driving Mercs and eating in restraunts, Joe.'

Wasn't it 3 grand for a 5 course wedding reception meal and wine for 70 people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Why are we talking about this on the LL. When we were in deep do do were the Greeks concerned about little ole Ireland :(

GDY151

Flukey wrote: »
    The Acropolis. Looking at its condition, it looks like a cheap job, badly regulated and inspected.

Probably the work of Τομ ΜξΦεελψ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Flukey wrote: »

The Priory Hall of Athens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Why are we talking about this on the LL. When we were in deep do do were the Greeks concerned about little ole Ireland :(

Its on liveline so the irish can pretend the country is not bankrupt and living on borrowed time..."sure look at the greeks..we are doing great"..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

That's cause they shut down their national broadcaster for two years. So sensible. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hellenic_Broadcasting_Corporation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,108 ✭✭✭✭neris

greeks should be hung out on this 1. theyve a ****e tax system and too easy a lifestyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Its on liveline so the irish can pretend the country is not bankrupt and living on borrowed time..."sure look at the greeks..we are doing great"..

I fear your 100% correct

I'm guessing Terri married Nicos on her holidays....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

I fear your 100% correct

All depends on your definition of "recovery" i guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

neris wrote: »
    greeks should be hung out on this 1. theyve a ****e tax system and too easy a lifestyle

Nice stereotyping. All Irish are heavy drinkers I suppose.

Sure they were. It meant less tourists for them. Yep, it's all our fault that their economy went to hell. A wet weekend in Cashel, rather than a warm week in Crete made all the difference.

GDY151

If he's getting €20 a month and that's it he is a lazy ballix, why doesn't he sell stuff on the Greek Donedeal or wash windows etc etc. He should read that fine book Penny Apples from one William Cullen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

pensions at 45, sounds a bit like the Garda deal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

There won't be a run on the banks there till Josephous Duffiopoulos says so, so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

A Greek lady living in Cavan - Lazy and Mean