Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Mine is flagging too struggled for the Cork half ...can new batteries be put into these to sort it out ..or am I talking nonsense?

Oh no, I thought for sure I'd at least get the half out of it. Will re-evaluate after the 10 mile so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Toulouse wrote: »
    Oh no, I thought for sure I'd at least get the half out of it. Will re-evaluate after the 10 mile so.

You should be grand I'd say! I had mine on before and after for a while so got about 3 or so hours on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Here's a race report copied from my training log, feel free to skip on past it if you like.

I had a 9k run today that I wasn't looking forward to at all, I knew the area but not the exact route and it's all hills around there, it's 10 months ago since I ran on the roads and the same length of time since I was in a race so not really feeling too keen. I figured I'd do a km or two to warm up then do it at LSR pace, I'd most likely finish last but I wasn't that bothered.

I got there and the atmosphere was pretty good, the organiser thanked me for coming and I met in with a guy I used to work with about 10 years ago, my cousins wife was running and one of the marshals was a work mate so I knew enough people to help me relax. It was due to be 9k but the start line moved a bit so they said it was about 9.2k. I did about 1.2k s a warmup then waited at the start line, people were still arriving so we were a little late kicking off. I lined up in the second row, I figured I didn't want to get in anyones way but at the same time there were walkers there for the shorter run and I didn't want to get stuck behind them.

The race started without us really knowing it, the lad just said "go" in a normal tone and we didn't really hear him, one lad took off though so we all followed. An older fella I know to see went out fairly fast, he does a lot of 5k runs and I knew by his number that he was doing the shorter run. My former work buddy took off with him, he seemed to be the favourite for the 9k, he's a very fit lad. I held back and took it handy enough, keeping pace with my cousins wife and her mate. The 1st km was all down hill but even so, about 10 of us had seperated out from the herd, the first two lads already about 50-100m ahead of us.

Bang on 1k we hit the first hill, it was nothing serious, I'd deal with a bigger hill at the Castle lake on about 90% of my runs. It was enough to slow one other 9k fellow down enough for us (me and the two girls were in a little group) to pass him. One of the girls stopped near the top of the hill and walked the rest, we slowed enough for her to catch us and off we went again. The rest of that 2nd km was flat enough and we settled into a nice, handy pace, the two lads out front had about doubled their lead.

km 3 & km 4 were flat enough and on the main road, we could see the two lads ahead and the older guy turned off for the short loop, leaving my buddy up front on his own, he was about 400m ahead and going strong, the girls started to slow slightly, I maintained my pace and moved off ahead of them, I glanced back and there was a good distance to the next group. It was about then that I started thinking of it as a race, rather than a relaxed run, I was in 2nd, feeling good, and it didn't look like anyone was going to catch me.

km 5 and km 6 weren't too bad, the distance between me and 1st place was closing in slowly as I had decided to up the pace a bit, it had crept into my head that if I could catch him at the 7km mark I'd be able to stay with him until the finish line, I know I'm strong on hills compared to a lot of people and the last 2km was supposed to be all hills. We got to the water station at 5k and there was nobody there, we had to keep running (they showed up at it about a minute after we passed) it was a hot morning so that wasn't great.

At 7km there was another water station, he had stopped for a drink but took off once he saw me, I had closed the distance to about 10sec at that stage, I had a quick sip and dumped the rest over my head, I caught him half way up the next hill. This is where the course got tougher but we knew we were 1st and 2nd so we both slowed it back a bit and had a chat.

After 8km a van stopped with us and gave us another drink, again I drank a little and dumped the rest on my head, it was getting very warm. My buddy told me he always does a sprint finish so I told him to work away when the time came, that I was happy enough if I ened up 2nd, he did sprinting in his younger days so there wasn't much hope of me beating him if it came to that.

Coming to the top of the last hill I said we'd push on and upped the pace but he didn't come with me, I slowed back a little and he kept with me, about 20m later, he made a move, I told him I'd see him at the finish line and off he went, I decided to stretch my legs a bit too and kept right with him, I eased past him and really opened up, I heard him saying "maybe not" and I started to pull away over the last 100m or so. I crossed the finish line in first place at a sprint (maybe a generous term but it was my best version of one after those hills) and got a big cheer, it was only a little local run but it felt great. I got a bottle of wine for my troubles and as the 18 week plan for DCM hasn't started yet, I'm going to share it with my wide tonight. My buddy came over the line about 12 sec brhind me, I don't think either of us could believe I'd beaten him.

My strava messed up because I had it on for the warmup and just aused it and restarted for the race, rather than resetting it, sorting through it my time was tough to figure out, it has km2 at 26mins. I was timed at 44:50ish by my buddy for the 9.2k, a very very poor winning time but considering the heat and the hills, I figure it was a good enough time for me.

I took a few things from it;

Road running and hills aren't too bad after all,

My 52:13 PB for 10k is very poor, I could knock 3 minutes off that easily now and If DCM doesn't work out, sub 50 is a secondary goal for the year.

I'm a lot fitter than I was last summer, the injury over the winter means I'm way behind where I should be but between swimming, walking and cycling, my fitness levels didn't drop that much. The last 8 weeks or so have pushed me way beyond last years fitness levels.

Back to slow, easy runs from tomorrow now, it was great to get that run under my belt, with a few fairly fast km in the middle, that's out of the system now and distance is the focus from here on in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Yep, I worry about that with my Forerunner 10 too. May have to upgrade before the big day but will wait until after the half.

Amazon do actually have a sale on Garmin's at the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

donglen wrote: »

Don't tell me that, my bank balance has taken a hammering due to new runners, gear, etc. this week!!

I'm not looking on purpose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

donglen wrote:

So do Argos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Well done Ronan, never mind the time, the point is you won the race. You turned up when others didn't so you deserve the win. It's a great feeling, savour it :) enjoy the wine!
    Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Don't tell me that, my bank balance has taken a hammering due to new runners, gear, etc. this week!!

I'm not looking on purpose :)

I hear ha, but Garmin have released upgraded models with lots of bells and whistles which means that the models from a while back seem to be at a great price, (at least, that's what I'm telling myself!!)
    I've my eye on a Forerunner 610......I'm close to caving.

Emsy 1 wrote: »
    Ran a 5k race this evening with no headphones, I felt my breathing was not as hard and fast as it is with the music, surprisingly other people's breathing didn't seem to bother me either but the girl ahead of me spitting every two seconds did... I did miss the music though it pushes me on and helps me forget the pain lol (probably all in my head ). I did'nt have a great race it was a tough oul course 24.58 was very disappointing and I was busted coming in. The spread that was laid on after was fab though 😀

Hi Emsy, well done on a tough race and even better, well done on doing it 'naked' :) You know what to do about that girl next time? Reel her in and pass her out. Any chance of a more detailed race report?

THE FOLLOWING IS NOT FOR THE SQUEAMISH OR LILY-LIVERED:*
    That little conversation about spitting? part of me wants to say geddoverit ...it's what runners do and while it's not the most pleasant thing in the world, it's a necessary part of running and racing. I tune it out and just don't notice it. I've nearly been hawked on and at the time if it had happened, I would have just carried on. Maybe with a filthy look. Ok, definitely ;)

I remember when I was about 16 or 17 and out for a run with my dad. He cleared his throat a couple of times and did his roundabout tune up talk, read: 'I have to discuss something embarrassing with you'...
    'oh feck feck feck' said the teenaged me 'please let it not be about periods just don't let it be about periods anything just not periods....' This was just as excruciating for him as it was for me. 'DG**, I need to tell you about something that's not very ladylike but it's ok for you to do when running...I would never like to see you doing this at any other time but it's something that you'll have to learn how to do....'...he finished off with how to do a proper nose hawk too ;):p
    Real Runners Do :D:D

*if you are either of the above, you may need to reconsider attempting the marathon. We haven't even begun to discuss poo......

**told you that was my real name

I'm in if ye'll have me!

What is your athletics background? Have you run before?What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Running for a year and a half, before that was just a gym bunny. Played basketball when was in school but no real competitive sport after that.

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    5k Dec '13 25:xx, 10k May '14 51:xx; 10mile Feb '14 1:28:xx, Half Marathon Killarney Lakes May'14 1:57:xx, Full Cork City Marathon June'14 4:28:38

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training ? (No problem if you do)
    The odd break every few miles due to mental blocks in order to refresh.

How much training do you currently do ? Distances, cross training - whatever you think is relevant to your current fitness level.
    2 days crosstraining in the gym - eliptical, hillclimb, bike. 2 days short runs 5-8k during week and long run of 6-8miles on a Saturday. Do pilates / light weights 4-5 days.

How many days a week can you train?
    4/5 at the minute may go to 4 max in August with exam comittments.

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    Dream time - sub 4hrs Realistic 4:10-15. Main aim is to be in full health at the start line, went into Cork with an injury last year (probably due to doing too many races in the lead up and over training ) and slashed my goals. A reason why I need to be as disciplined as possible with my core training.

What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    Hal Higdon Novice 2 with slight rotation of days.
    Hi skittles, welcome of course we'll have you :) You sound very active indeed which will stand to you. However, you will certainly find that you need to prioritise running over your other fitness activities as the weeks tick off. It's good that you are looking ahead to August due to other commitments. You can't really afford to drop any long runs at that stage but at the same time you don't want to slash your mileage during the week either. Let us know here if you'd like help tweaking the plan nearer the time. Your dream goal time will really need five days running and some pacier work which HH2 does to be realistic. This shouldn't bring you into over training territory however you will have to follow the maxim of 'keep the hard days hard and the easy days easy' in order to stay injury free, alongside of course core training. What was the injury btw? Do you stretch and supplement stretching with foam rolling etc? Also what races are you planning to do in this year's build up?
    Interrogation over ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

My latest training log update...hope it's okay to copy and paste this from there to here but here goes.....

Week starting 15th Jun

An odd week to be honest as I was away on holidays with my family and also I had a small issue of a blister to allow clear up following a half marathon last Sunday. I hadn't any days planned out for the week really but had hoped to do 20 miles again this week but given I missed Tuesday and Wednesday I said I'd cut back to probably 18miles.

Day/Goal/Actual/Pace/Notes
    Mon, None, Rest, Blister still being very tetchy so walking was sore even.

Tue, None, Rest but with a quick 20 mins on the exercise bike in the gym in the hotel, hadn't been on an exercise bike (despite having a nice one at home) in a few months so just did a quick cardio go before the place closed up.

Wed, get a run in, 4m in 41:38 @ 10:22 min/mi, run was grand enough now.....did most of it running around the very nice castle grounds in Kilkenny on what is the parkrun course in the town. Very nice for a short run I have to say. Blister was good throughout and had seemed to subside that day to chance it.

Thurs, get a longer run in but slower, 5m in 55:39m @ 10:39min/mi, again was in Kilkenny for the night so this time I ran down by the path down beside the river there and another lovely route I have to say and would recommend it....it basically goes outside the walls of the castle and seems to be widely used by locals....surface good underfoot for the most part. Looped around that a few times and around the castle grounds perimeter to get 5miles done.

Friday, 3m in new runners and no earphones, 3.5m in 33:17m @ 9:30min/mi (last half mile was a warm down), decided to open it up a bit last night on a run in new runners. Got fitted again in Amphibian King yesterday but ended up buying the exact same pair again. I've liked the Saucony Breakthrus a lot so far and they are serving me well. Now I have two pairs to alternate. Have to say I found the second mile tough enough last night...I think a week of being on hols and not eating great starting to catch up on me.

Saturday, rest (travelling back home)....home today and my stomach is in ribbons. I am fully motivated to start eating better to coordinate with the marathon training. The last few months I've not been good to be honest thinking I could eat what I wanted and when I wanted really as burning off so much with training.
    Paying for that today with a reminder of what used to happen previously when overindulging.

Sunday, the plan is do a very easy 5.5 mile or so to bring me up to 18miles for the week.

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Just in from a nice 8k run this am. Strange weather though: 15 degrees and drizzle at 6:15am!

Following the advice on here, this was my first full week of slowing down and trying to maintain a specific pace (I was targeting 5:30, but didn't quite manage it)
    Mon 6K @ 5:28
    Tues 6k @ 5:26
    Wed Core
    Thurs rest (overdid core & decided to skip today's run)
    Fri core
    Sat 8k @ 5:28
    I'll probably do a 20k easy cycle tomorrow.

Have also been running on grass wherever possible.

Really looking forward to starting the official 18 week plan next week.

ZV Yoda, well done on slowing down! Think of those fatigue resistant mitochondria you'll have recruited by M-Day :) What on earth did that core session involve? Hard core indeed :eek:

Enjoy the party!!

So this week I have done:

Monday - 4 miles @ 10.34/mi
    Tuesday - 3 miles @ 10.35/mi + core
    Wednesday - 4 miles @ 10.33/mi
    Thursday - Rest
    Friday - TRX was cancelled so took another rest day
    Saturday - 2 mile dog walk and 7 miles @ 10.57/mi
    Sunday - 2 mile dog walk (hey, it all counts! ;) )

Feeling good. Got fitted for new trainers last Sunday and they seem to be doing the job. The task for next week is to find a physio so I can start getting monthly sports massages. I was a bit lax with the cross-training and core this week but won't be from next week on. Really focussed on slowing down and relaxing my shoulders and hands and using my core because I tend to hunch and clench.

Have the 5 miler in the Park next Saturday so with that in mind, what's the plan for this week boss?

Sounds like a good week's work :)
    This is a really good time to start focusing on relaxing etc so well done. In 18 weeks, it will be second nature. You'll need strong core too to support those tired drooping shoulders :eek:

Plan for this week is just to follow the plan really. Your tue-Thur runs will be done at an easy pace.
    Rest on Friday and you are scheduled for six miles on Saturday. Five of that will be race, the rest use for warm up and warm down. You can divide that whichever way you like. A half mile will be enough warm down. No harm if you tack a little extra .25 mile or so on in the warm up. (Do this by time if you want ie 8-10 min shuffle jog. Its purpose is literally just to get the muscles awake and blood flowing so the race is not a shock to the system)
    If it's a warm day, you generally don't need as thorough a warm up as a chillier day so play it by ear on the day.

PJD wrote: »
    The concept of relaxing is more challenging than I thought. I tend to go with the principle of brute force and ignorance! Bad form! So during today's parkrun I really tried to relax but could only sustain it for about 400metres before realising I had tightened up again! Sorting my poor form will be a key goal in the weeks ahead.
    Ah good, brute force and ignorance uses up a helluva lot of energy :eek: Try deeper breathing too, nothing fancy just slightly deeper and longer breaths: in through the nose and out through the mouth. Now is the time to start so in 18weeks, it will be second nature. Parkrun??? Race report please :) (oops not a race, 'timed event report' please :pac:
    I ditched the headphones last year and prefer it now. I know it is useful to motivate yourself but it is good to hear your footfall and breathing. Find a running buddy and the long miles go much quicker.
    Yes, definitely. Running buddies rock. My clubmates helped soooo much last year.
    One more thought for the day. I know we don't want to lapse into tech discussions here but I have the basic Garmin forerunner 10. Its a bit old now and the battery runs dangerously close to empty during my long runs. There is no way it will last my 4hour 30 planned marathon pace. If you are buying please bear this in mind. Check the battery capacity when you are buying!
    Absolutely. Nothing worse than running out of juice. Check out the GARMIN mega thread in this forum too for everything you need to know about yawn Garmins.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

RonanP77 wrote: »
    I'm not long back from my 9k race, it was tough enough, lots and lots of hills. I'll stick up a race report later, I'm off out to buy a Garmin watch now. I won the race so I'm happy enough.[/quote

Very well done on winning the 9k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ah good, brute force and ignorance uses up a helluva lot of energy :eek: Try deeper breathing too, nothing fancy just slightly deeper and longer breaths: in through the nose and out through the mouth. Now is the time to start so in 18weeks, it will be second nature. Parkrun??? Race report please :) (oops not a race, 'timed event report' please :pac:

Ha! I wouldn't insult this thread by giving my timed event report. St annes 5km parkrun. 24.17... Consistent pace and good experience to hang on to the faster people even for a short while. Long run tmrw. Got some good advice from another boardsie and will be switching programme to the Irish runner programme by David Carrie. More suited to my 9km run commute home from work.

Ah no, do, go on! Race reports are great. They work on loads of levels. Firstly, they help you think about the race and organise your thoughts. This can often help nudge you to a 'eureka' moment or at least an 'ah-ha' conclusion. You might spot a pattern emerging after a few race reports too.
    They also work for us readers too. There is lots to be learned from other runners' experiences, good and bad. I have learned about different types of warm up, meal prep the night before, pain management :eek: things you tell yourself in the last mile to keep going, pace strategy etc. Time is the last thing I want to read about, all the other stuff is waaaay more interesting. You should check out. Hannibal Smith's training log. Her race reports are the best in the world :)

Good time btw :)

I wld'nt be great at doing a report maybe next time. I will however report back on my first 'proper hawk' lol ... Is it wise to be considering a 5k race on Tuesday? Apparently it's a good course to get a pb on..?

Hi skittles, welcome of course we'll have you :) You sound very active indeed which will stand to you. However, you will certainly find that you need to prioritise running over your other fitness activities as the weeks tick off. It's good that you are looking ahead to August due to other commitments. You can't really afford to drop any long runs at that stage but at the same time you don't want to slash your mileage during the week either. Let us know here if you'd like help tweaking the plan nearer the time. Your dream goal time will really need five days running and some pacier work which HH2 does to be realistic. This shouldn't bring you into over training territory however you will have to follow the maxim of 'keep the hard days hard and the easy days easy' in order to stay injury free, alongside of course core training. What was the injury btw? Do you stretch and supplement stretching with foam rolling etc? Also what races are you planning to do in this year's build up?
    Interrogation over ;)

Thanks so much Dubgal always great to get advice. Understand what you mean completely going to start focusing on the runs and speed work midweek as the plan says.

Injury was calf and hamstring strain which the physio said was due to a weak back and core. Mri showed wear and tear on discs in my lower back. NOW I do 10-15mins stretching on the mat everyday and foam rolling every second say. Wasn't the case last year I did stretch now and then but wasn't disciplined with it and I didn't foam roll.

Racewise I'd like to do Run Killarney half mid July but it's probably too soon? No races lined up just yet to be honest so any suggestions there are welcome too. .

Thanks again! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

RonanP77 wrote: »
    I crossed the finish line in first place at a sprint (maybe a generous term but it was my best version of one after those hills) and got a big cheer, it was only a little local run but it felt great

That's brilliant! :) Well done Ronan - must be a nice confidence boost going into the 18 weeks which, ehmm, start tomorrow! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

THE FOLLOWING IS NOT FOR THE SQUEAMISH OR LILY-LIVERED:*

*if you are either of the above, you may need to reconsider attempting the marathon. We haven't even begun to discuss poo......

So far, the body fluid count on this thread is much higher than last year, can't wait til it really gets going :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Ah no, do, go on! Race reports are great. They work on loads of levels. Firstly, they help you think about the race and organise your thoughts. This can often help nudge you to a 'eureka' moment or at least an 'ah-ha' conclusion. You might spot a pattern emerging after a few race reports too.
    They also work for us readers too. There is lots to be learned from other runners' experiences, good and bad. I have learned about different types of warm up, meal prep the night before, pain management :eek: things you tell yourself in the last mile to keep going, pace strategy etc. Time is the last thing I want to read about, all the other stuff is waaaay more interesting. You should check out. Hannibal Smith's training log. Her race reports are the best in the world :)

Good time btw :)

Completely agree... the other thing about knowing you're going to do a race report is that it makes you more conscious during the race of how you're feeling, what's going well, etc... and tips from other people's reports come to mind just when you need them most!

annapr wrote: »
    So far, the body fluid count on this thread is much higher than last year, can't wait til it really gets going :eek:

Hehe when it really gets going, I'll call Runchick in as our in-house puke expert :D:D

Thanks so much Dubgal always great to get advice. Understand what you mean completely going to start focusing on the runs and speed work midweek as the plan says.

Injury was calf and hamstring strain which the physio said was due to a weak back and core. Mri showed wear and tear on discs in my lower back. NOW I do 10-15mins stretching on the mat everyday and foam rolling every second say. Wasn't the case last year I did stretch now and then but wasn't disciplined with it and I didn't foam roll.

Racewise I'd like to do Run Killarney half mid July but it's probably too soon? No races lined up just yet to be honest so any suggestions there are welcome too. .

Thanks again! :)

Morning skittles. Sounds like you're on the right track this year :) I wouldn't recommend racing it so early in the schedule, even for a training run. HHN2 plan only has an 11 and 12 miles in weeks 4 and 5 and a HM in week 9. If you read Ronan's race report, you'll see that it is very easy to get carried away in a race situation and ditch all your good intentions to run it at a restrained or training pace. However, if it's the *only* option, we can work around it. You're based in Munster?

Try these links, they might suggest something. A progression along the lines of the Race Series would be ideal (5m in June, 10k in July, 10m in August and HM in September)

http://munsterrunning.blogspot.ie/p/calendar.html

http://www.runireland.com/news/races-cork-munster

Morning skittles. Sounds like you're on the right track this year :) I wouldn't recommend racing it so early in the schedule, even for a training run. HHN2 plan only has an 11 and 12 miles in weeks 4 and 5 and a HM in week 9. If you read Ronan's race report, you'll see that it is very easy to get carried away in a race situation and ditch all your good intentions to run it at a restrained or training pace. However, if it's the *only* option, we can work around it. You're based in Munster?

Try these links, they might suggest something. A progression along the lines of the Race Series would be ideal (5m in June, 10k in July, 10m in August and HM in September)

http://munsterrunning.blogspot.ie/p/calendar.html

http://www.runireland.com/news/races-cork-munster

I know what you mean, doing a race much earlier than the plan will probably do me no good just one I wanted to do because the scenery is fantastic.
    I'm from Kerry living in Cork so will definitely look at those links again to see what will suit better!

Emsy 1 wrote: »
    I wld'nt be great at doing a report maybe next time. I will however report back on my first 'proper hawk' lol ... Is it wise to be considering a 5k race on Tuesday? Apparently it's a good course to get a pb on..?

Hehe that's the spirit :D
    Are you doing the Race Series 5 mile on Saturday? If so, definitely not a 5k on Tuesday. If you really want to - it's not ideal - but go for it.* Make sure you warm up well (a 5k needs a thorough warm up) and cool down and stretch after. Foam roll too when you get home if you have really gone all out. Definitely easy day on Wednesday: shuffle jog.

*on condition you practice hawking etc on condition you give us a detailed race report ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

That little conversation about spitting? part of me wants to say geddoverit ...it's what runners do and while it's not the most pleasant thing in the world, it's a necessary part of running and racing. I tune it out and just don't notice it. I've nearly been hawked on and at the time if it had happened, I would have just carried on. Maybe with a filthy look. Ok, definitely ;)

I was in the zoo yesterday with my hands very full keeping the nippers under control, and my nose was clogged from a cold. I absent mindedly / instinctively did a nose hawk to quickly clear things up, and got a very withering look from a respectable looking lady passing at the time (she was in no danger at being hit). I felt like saying "It's ok for me to do this, I'm a runner" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I think I'm just going to go back to my regular, no custom insole, shoes! I just don't think they suit me, and have definitely not helped shin pain. If anything, they are the cause. I'll have had 6 days off before I start on Tuesday, and it's feeling fine now, so hopefully, it will stay that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Posted this week's mileage on my training log and uploaded to strava. Should I put the details here too? I had a really good week running, total of 19 miles not counting warmup/cool down miles.

Next week, lots of rest before the IR 5 mile!

Hehe that's the spirit :D
    Are you doing the Race Series 5 mile on Saturday? If so, definitely not a 5k on Tuesday. If you really want to - it's not ideal - but go for it.* Make sure you warm up well (a 5k needs a thorough warm up) and cool down and stretch after. Foam roll too when you get home if you have really gone all out. Definitely easy day on Wednesday: shuffle jog.

*on condition you practice hawking etc on condition you give us a detailed race report ;)
    Thanks for the great advice, I won't be doing the 5 mile race series best of luck to those doing it. I think I will give the 5k a miss and just focus on the plan (anything to get out of doing a report). Had a nice 6mile run this morning without the headphones I could get used to this. Have a nice Sunday y'all.