The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

Kovu wrote: »
    Is there any trick to taking the stone out of olives? I adore them but can't stand biting around the stone *shudder*

At the risk of stating the obvious, I get the stoned olives in brine from Aldi and plough through them. They're fabulous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Joolzie

Bit of a stupid question here folks - can you use regular Flavahans porridge/oats in overnight oats, without cooking?

I am pretty sure you can, however I've a few people (trying) to tell me otherwise and that they need to be cooked?

I rarely eat porridge (can't stand it tbh!) so am looking for other ways to try it so maybe I will like it (or get to like it).

Any help appreciated!

I make bread with it as a wheat free alternative, toasted for breakfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭bigronnie9

Not sure if better to ask here or the slow cooker recipes thread... But made a slow cooker korma last night and it turned out nice...but....watery :confused:

I was expecting a creamy thick korma, not sure if this is just a result of the slow cooker process or the recipe I used?

I used:

5 chicken fillets, diced
    3 peppers, chopped
    1 large onion, chopped
    1 400g tin of chopped tomatoes
    1 and a half tins of Coconut Milk (so 600g)
    2 tbsp. garlic paste from tube
    1 tbsp. ginger paste from tube
    Sachet of Green Saffron Korma spices (said id experiment with this instead of trying to track down all the spices myself)

The flavour was nice, but the consistency was watery... Anybody able to suggest any changes for next time?

bigronnie9 wrote: »
    Not sure if better to ask here or the slow cooker recipes thread... But made a slow cooker korma last night and it turned out nice...but....watery :confused:

I was expecting a creamy thick korma, not sure if this is just a result of the slow cooker process or the recipe I used?

I used:

5 chicken fillets, diced
    3 peppers, chopped
    1 large onion, chopped
    1 400g tin of chopped tomatoes
    1 and a half tins of Coconut Milk (so 600g)
    2 tbsp. garlic paste from tube
    1 tbsp. ginger paste from tube
    Sachet of Green Saffron Korma spices (said id experiment with this instead of trying to track down all the spices myself)

The flavour was nice, but the consistency was watery... Anybody able to suggest any changes for next time?

Quite simply you used too much liquid. There is no evaporation from a slow cooker - none at all.

If I was making the above curry I would have drained the chopped tomatoes and discarded the juice, and used only the thick cream from the top of one can of coconut milk.

You also used a lot of watery vegetables - peppers, onions etc. If you don't want these to release water you need to fry them before adding them to the slow cooker.

It is also possible that your chicken breasts were full of water.

If you want to thicken something up you can also make a smooth paste from a heaped teaspoon of cornflour and a splash of water and stir this through 30 minutes before serving from a slow cooker.

I'm not criticizing your recipe (there is no accounting for taste and I firmly believe in making what you like to eat) but your recipe as listed above doesn't look anything like a korma to me. How about trying something like this? http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/9169/slow-cooked-chicken-korma.aspx

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

A slow cooker doesn't allow for any evaporation so you need to only use a fraction of the liquid that you normally would. A tin of tomatoes alone would be watery, then 600g of coconut milk would make it much worse. Next time, either cook it on the stove, or cut the liquid down substantially.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

The main problem people have with slow cookers is getting the amount of liquid right. Nothing boils off and in fact you end up with more liquid than you start with. As a general rule you should use only half the amount you would if you were cooking in a casserole dish in the oven. So you could cut back on the coconut milk and/or the tomatoes. Or if the recipe calls for frying off the veg first, stirring in a heaped dessertspoon of flour before adding the liquid helps to thicken it too. I'll sometimes leave the lid off the slow cooker for the last hour if I need it to reduce a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭bigronnie9

Quite simply you used too much liquid. There is no evaporation from a slow cooker - none at all.

If I was making the above curry I would have drained the chopped tomatoes and discarded the juice, and used only the thick cream from the top of one can of coconut milk.

You also used a lot of watery vegetables - peppers, onions etc. If you don't want these to release water you need to fry them before adding them to the slow cooker.

It is also possible that your chicken breasts were full of water.

If you want to thicken something up you can also make a smooth paste from a heaped teaspoon of cornflour and a splash of water and stir this through 30 minutes before serving from a slow cooker.

I'm not criticizing your recipe (there is no accounting for taste and I firmly believe in making what you like to eat) but your recipe as listed above doesn't look anything like a korma to me. How about trying something like this? http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/9169/slow-cooked-chicken-korma.aspx

Faith wrote: »
    A slow cooker doesn't allow for any evaporation so you need to only use a fraction of the liquid that you normally would. A tin of tomatoes alone would be watery, then 600g of coconut milk would make it much worse. Next time, either cook it on the stove, or cut the liquid down substantially.

The main problem people have with slow cookers is getting the amount of liquid right. Nothing boils off and in fact you end up with more liquid than you start with. As a general rule you should use only half the amount you would if you were cooking in a casserole dish in the oven. So you could cut back on the coconut milk and/or the tomatoes. Or if the recipe calls for frying off the veg first, stirring in a heaped dessertspoon of flour before adding the liquid helps to thicken it too. I'll sometimes leave the lid off the slow cooker for the last hour if I need it to reduce a bit.

All sound advice lads cheers, will give it another go soon and report back!
    Mystery Egg I was hoping the green saffron packet korma spices would do it but guess next time ill have to buy all the individual spices:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Coconut milks usually have a large percentage of water added. You can get coconut cream or coconut flour or other substitutes which are not watered down, and usually better value for the amount of actual coconut you get.

With watery dishes I have heard of people removing the meat and any large veg and boiling/reducing down the main sauce on its own, so you are not toughening up the meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭KoA-Ollie

Hi does anyone have any good chicken and pasta recipes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭KoA-Ollie

Hi does anyone have any good chicken and pasta recipes? I just love chicken. Thanks everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Lidl are selling their own version of the philips air fryer. You can get €10 off €50 vouchers in many papers these days (tesco take these too).

lidl fryer thread here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057445017

with discussion of which papers will have vouchers and when.

The sun tomorrow will have an aldi one €10 off €50, and tesco accept these, so you can double up on tesco deals, they currently have carlsberg €26 per tray of 24 cans, so you would get €10 off. The sun is the cheapest paper with vouchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

KoA-Ollie wrote: »

If I'm in a hurry I do a chicken with a simple Arrabbiata sauce.

First I cut a couple chicken breasts into cubes, season and fry in a pan until slightly underdone. I then put them aside.

Then I make the sauce.

Tin of Tomatoes
    Dried Chilli Flakes
    Garlic
    Fresh Basil
    Tomato Puree
    Olive Oil
    Pinch of Sugar
    Salt & Pepper

Heat some oil, add the crushed Garlic, Basil leaves, and Chilli flakes, and fry for a minute or two.
    Add the Tomatoes*
    Add a squeeze or two of Tomato Puree
    Add about a teaspoon of Sugar
    Cook at a light simmer for about 10 mins
    Season with Salt & Pepper to taste

Then just add the cooked chicken to the sauce and simmer for a few minutes and then add pasta.

So simple to do and just as easy, and cheaper than a ready made jar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

This chicken & pesto recipe is delicious

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64474564

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Minder

Hi does anyone have any good chicken and pasta recipes? I just love chicken. Thanks everyone.

I first posted this eight years ago on this forum!

I used to buy Tesco Pasta Chicken Alfredo ready meals for lunch at work, but it is quite an expensive meal. So I read the ingredients on the packet and now buy the basics to make it myself. I can enjoy all the flavours without the additional salt, E-numbers, colours etc.

Pasta chicken alfredo - pieces of spicy chicken in a creamy sauce with spinach, mushrooms and fuisili pasts.

Ingredients

Chicken breasts
    Piri piri spice (Schwartz) dry
    Half an onion
    Garlic
    Mushrooms
    Spinach
    Splash of white wine
    Cream
    Fuisili pasta
    Parmaesan cheese

Place chicken breasts on a baking tray and sprinkle with piri piri spice
    Cook in the oven for approx 20 mins at 200 degrees
    Slice and cook mushrooms in a non stick frying pan - set aside
    Cook spinach in the same pan - don't add any water.
    Spinach is cooked when all the leaves have wilted - squeeze between two plates to remove excess water, then slice.
    Cook the pasta in plenty of salted water
    Gently fry the onion and garlic until soft
    Turn up the heat and add the white wine
    Once the wine has cooked down a little add the cream
    Drain the pasta and add the cooked mushrooms and spinach
    Slice the chicken and add to the pasta
    Then add the cream sauce.
    The sauce should be enough to coat everything - if not, add more cream.
    The sauce will be a little thin - now add some finely grated parmaesan to thicken the sauce.

Piri piri is chilli based - so use according to taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

I bought an airfryer during the week, and used it for the first time today. Perfectly cooked oven chips in about 12 mins, and none of those nasty burnt ones I'd get from the oven based on where on the chip tray they were. I do have a question for the experienced airfryers though: if I'm cooking something for 12 mins, and have to shake halfway through, is it better to set the timer to 6 mins and go off and do stuff, or set the timer for 12, but set my kitchen timer for 6? I'm thinking if I don't react quickly enough to the 6 minute timer, I'll lose all the benefit of pre heating and all that, but setting 2 timers feels a bit OCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,859 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Set your timers however you think it would work best for yourself.

I'd be a two 6-minute kinda guy, but sit & watch it. But my darling wife would probably go for the 12-minute & 6-minute approach with separate timers while she goes & does stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Minder

Was hugely privileged to go to Hakkasan - Mayfair this week for lunch. Food was exquisite. But the biggest surprise for me was the secrecy that surrounds that extensive menu. I know that not every high end restaurant will publish a cookbook but I guess that in my limited experience I'm used to finding that those who seek to impress with their cooking are more than willing to share their knowledge.

It's largely irrevelant that I may or may not be able to replicate the dishes at home; I don't own a turbo wok or a combi steam oven. Regardless, I want to know how its done. Recipes from Hakkasan and Tong Chee Hwee are incredibly rare, even more so given the length of time that the restaurant has been trading. Half a dozen online recipes in 14 years. I would settle for their chilli sauce recipe. Frustrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I love smoked salmon and often have it for lunch with a big salad. Forgot to buy my usual cheapy Tesco smoked salmon (I think it's €1.74 per 100g) so picked this up in Supervalu on a whim http://www.burrensmokehouse.ie/burren-smoked-irish-salmon-1/burren-smoked-irish-organic-salmon/honey-glazed-hot-smoked-organic-salmon-with-lemon-dill.html - it's much, much more expensive but it's sooo worth it! Absolutely delicious. I will be splurging again :) Going to try the honey, whiskey and fennel one next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Taboola

dee_mc wrote: »
    I love smoked salmon and often have it for lunch with a big salad. Forgot to buy my usual cheapy Tesco smoked salmon (I think it's €1.74 per 100g) so picked this up in Supervalu on a whim http://www.burrensmokehouse.ie/burren-smoked-irish-salmon-1/burren-smoked-irish-organic-salmon/honey-glazed-hot-smoked-organic-salmon-with-lemon-dill.html - it's much, much more expensive but it's sooo worth it! Absolutely delicious. I will be splurging again :) Going to try the honey, whiskey and fennel one next.

I'm a big fan of the slices of smoked salmon from Aldi. There's one with a lemon and mustard dressing that's really tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,202 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

First world problem alert.

I'm cooking surf-n-turf tonight, fillet of beef with tail of lobster.

I am torn - do I serve it with red or white wine? :eek: :D

Whatever tickles your fancy.

Serve both. Have a mouthful of white with each bite of lobster & likewise with red for every chunk of steak.

Sorted! :pac:

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    First world problem alert.

I'm cooking surf-n-turf tonight, fillet of beef with tail of lobster.

I am torn - do I serve it with red or white wine? :eek: :D

Red. There are very few excuses for white wine. :pac:

More seriously, serve whatever you think will go well with it. The traditional food pairings are a wee bit passé.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,202 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I drink red, herself drinks white, so we were debating the merits of both. The real issue is do we want to open two bottles of wine for just the two of us.

I've a lovely St. Emillion Grand Cru in the winerack that's just begging for an outing.

Tonight could be it's night.

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    The real issue is do we want to open two bottles of wine for just the two of us.

I'm inclined to card you for trolling for this. :pac:

2/10 - Must try harder, Mr Dunne. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Cook the lobster as a starter and have with white - ( barely) cook the beef and have a nice red-
    And if there's more than 2 of ye, better have an aperitif - weathers right for rose-
    Just saying like -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Just heard the FIL, who lives in the U.S., may be coming here for Christmas.

Is it too early to start the Christmas thread? I'm planning the menu already. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Mrs Fox

Is it too early to start the Christmas thread? I'm planning the menu already. :rolleyes:

Ah go away now, it's not even July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Mrs Fox wrote: »
    Ah go away now, it's not even July.

So we can start it in 10 days, great! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Bit of a stupid question here folks - can you use regular Flavahans porridge/oats in overnight oats, without cooking?

I am pretty sure you can, however I've a few people (trying) to tell me otherwise and that they need to be cooked?

I rarely eat porridge (can't stand it tbh!) so am looking for other ways to try it so maybe I will like it (or get to like it).

Any help appreciated!

TBH I had to google the "overnight oats" there!

But I love oats, both cooked as porridge, and uncooked.

If uncooked, look away now.... it's usually Weetabix with a fistful of oats on top. I scrunch the whole lot down and stir the dried mix together. Then pour a half mug of ice cold water and let it sink in. Then top it all up with milk, and stir. Then add the honey, fruit, maple syrup whatever. Or just have it as it is without anything.

Easy breakfast or anytime food. Love it. And keeps me full for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

It's not even midsummer til next week!
    Of course, you could argue then that the nights are drawing in and shift the subject to Christmas.
    But seriously, Christmas talk at this time of year is strictly reserved for threatening bold children.