Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Mass Effect: Andromeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

details slowly leaking out

Nothing official yet, but according to that article, human is the colour of choice and the Mako is to mako a comeback..

Nothing on the bioware blog yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Some actual information was released at San Diego Comic Con.

From the Neogaf forums:
    I'm tried to put non-obvious details/newer stuff near the top of the list.

Details:
    -The Mako is back, they showed video of it, and there are images of it below. It's apparently quite fast now.
    -"Building a game about exploring places, so you need a vehicle for that "
    -"We learned some things about vehicle frustration"
    -They showed off armor renders, viewable below
    -"Sounds like the timeline of #MassEffect will be during Shepard's lifetime but won't involve Shepard...hard to tell @GambleMike being cagey!" [Note: Two other tweeters said it sounds like it takes place in another galaxy, though that's not necessarily mutually exclusive with this.]
    -"Team reiterates that it is not Shepard's story and that this story one is brand new."
    -"no timeline was announced at the panel. Some hints were made but I have to re-listen to the audio."
    -"You will see a bit of old with the new (old characters MAY appear) "
    -"Competition is critical but cooperation is bigger for us" @GambleMike speaking on multiplayer in #MassEffect / "cooperative MP is bigger for us (than competitive)"
    -"Spiritual successor" vibe for the next
    -"It's ingrained in us to give players as much choice as possible" - @GambleMike #MassEffect
    -"The animation team is now doing stuff we couldn't even dream about before" speaking on Frostbite 3 for #MassEffect
    -"it's not called ME 4 damn it! " [I'm going to keep calling it that until they give it a name.]
    -No announcements on player race choice of composers when asked
    -The internet kept dying for the people livetweeting so there are more details that aren't here
    -"I got video of the new #MassEffect Mako in action"

Update:

https://twitter.com/lizwrites/with_replies

-"Seems strongly implied that new Mass Effect will be set in totally different galaxy, but will contain familiar elements. #SDCC"
    -"Not playing as Shepherd, and Shepherd is not important to story - new uncharted areas. #SDCC"
    -"Mako is back in Mass Effect! More agile, no cannon. #SDCC"
    -"New Mass Effect is focused on exploration of planets, Mako is meant to be fast travel on them. #SDCC"
    -[Note]: Nerd Appropriate (one of the original tweeters) also said it sounded like another galaxy but they need to double check their audio recording.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Yay Mako! Much <3 and pretty much turning into a day 1 buy :P

lol after all that Nody!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

lol after all that Nody!
    It got the Mako, that's enough to buy any game and I did state that earlier :P
    Nody wrote: »
    I did and added my comments on it; I'll do say this if they do bring back the buggy (and not the boring jump jet hover ship from the ME2 DLC) I'll seriously consider a day 1 purchase :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,538 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

if its similar to me1 with the shooting mechanics of 3 il buy it, a game like me is all about exploration and story to me (finding new planets to explore, new races to contact, hidden places, secrets, same reason i loved kotor)

me1 was the best in my opinion, the universe felt massive and unexplored, 2 and 3 just felt small to me, i think the mako/planets was the right way to go, the problem was the lack of variety of locations,quests and things of interest on the actual planets

Well, i disagree, but as it is, it's been done to death anyway.

Anyways, rumour control as per comicon 2014 Bioware ME Panel
    KNOWN FEATURES

STORY

The next game will feature a brand new story, that has not to do with Shepard.
    It will however, reference the old trilogy. In fact, old characters may reappear.
    The Main Character will be a human, male or female, sporting N7 gear.
    The character is said to have “something to do with N7”.
    The story will take place in a “whole new region of space”
    Krogan will be featured.
    We will be able to have aliens in our squads.
    Aliens players are familiar with will appear in the game, as well new species players haven’t seen before.
    The theme is “new experiences for the player, but with elements of what you know and love,”

GAMEPLAY

The next game will feature gender selection.
    The galaxy map will remain as a means of interstellar navigation.
    Co-operative MP is preferred to competitive.
    Customization may be refined, allowing more options.
    Combat is “a point of exploration”.
    Playable races are not locked down.

MAKO FEATURES

The Mako is back. She has been described as “speedy”, and is capable to maintain her acceleration while travelling through heavy snow.
    They are building a game about exploring places, thus the Mako will play a role.
    Mako will have new physics, so it can be as responsive as possible. Customizing Mako might be an option. It is sleeker and faster but has no apparent cannon.
    Mako thrusters not confirmed, but vehicle customization is being looked into.

AESTHETICS

The next ME game will use the Frostbite Engine.
    There has been no info on soundtrack composers yet, as it’s too early.
    A variety of environments, from destroyed urban, and arid to grassy and snowy ones will be featured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,226 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

"All new galaxy"? Wut?

Also a massive fan of the Mako in the first one especially when it intersected the story missions, that huge broken sky bridge and a flooded tropical planet spring to mind, but the research stations on barren worlds were also very atmospheric. Looking forward to a full replay of all 3 before I start 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

There's nothing particularly leaping out at me in those releases. I don't want to be the one that says it, but: Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,863 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Being a Krogan in the Krogan rebellions would be fun. Not a hope of that happening from that info

Sarky wrote: »
    There's nothing particularly leaping out at me in those releases. I don't want to be the one that says it, but: Meh.

It's years away yet.

I'd almost be worried if they had too much set in stone at this stage.

We'll have to wait and see.

Thargor wrote: »
    "All new galaxy"? Wut?

Also a massive fan of the Mako in the first one especially when it intersected the story missions, that huge broken sky bridge and a flooded tropical planet spring to mind, but the research stations on barren worlds were also very atmospheric. Looking forward to a full replay of all 3 before I start 4.

I'm gonna go ahead and assume they mean "Part" of the galaxy.

I've seen a lot of suggestions on the ME reddit about going to an actual different galaxy - something like the Omega 4 Relay to Andromeda.

It'd sidestep having to make a canon ending to ME3.

could be, they'd also have to section it off entirely if it's taking place within shepard's timeline. Mass Relay explodes after it sends a single frigate clear across to another galaxy, no way back - and you name your character Captain Janeway :D

Just thinking though, they were pretty specific about saying "Shepard's Timeline" which could mean when humanity first discovered the mass relays - shortly after the find on mars - when the alliance basically started activating them all and started the first contact war. Could easily be one of those relays, possibly destroyed by the Turians shortly after it being opened. One ship escapes..

feck it, i'm gonna copywrite that and sell it bioware :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

could be, they'd also have to section it off entirely if it's taking place within shepard's timeline. Mass Relay explodes after it sends a single frigate clear across to another galaxy, no way back - and you name your character Captain Janeway :D

You could easily have it that here was another relay like Omega 4 that ships could go through but never returned. Lots of ships went through to try their luck and explore, something happens on the other side to prevent return so it's a one way trip.

That way you can have all / some number of the races in the other galaxy, along with new ones and it neatly explains why it's never mentioned in the original trilogy. Bam, new place to explore that is completely unaffected by the original series.

Whatever way it goes i'm looking forward to it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Will this include ass shots of 7of9 during a dialogue wheel conversation? Coz I can get on board with that. :p

Every conversation with Miranda had that, cant see why it'd change in the next one, although they could probably add dramatic closeup's of cleavage and dun-dunn-DUNN music to it for added masseffect :D

Here's the lowdown on Comicon again.. video version :P

some interesting news doing the rounds today, rumours but they sound accurate enough and fit in with what's been revealed - albeit very little

link
    Mass Effect 4 will take place in the Helius Cluster, a melange of solar systems “far removed by time and space from Commander Shepard’s heroic acts.” The game will cast the player as a “pathfinder,” whose task is to travel into the Helius Cluster in search of a new planet where humanity can live.
    It’s said the cluster will be four times the size of the game map from Mass Effect 3, and that there’ll be at least one entirely new alien race, too

news! and an official name for the forth ME game

Mass Effect: Andromeda

Due for release next christmas.. ffs, a year and a half!

http://blog.bioware.com/2015/06/15/introducing-mass-effect-andromeda/

I'm kinda bummed they've left the whole bleedin galaxy behind.

Kinda dug themselves into a hole there though.

Still, it should be class. It's not like they were short of planets to explore in the Milky Way, but there's loads of room to have a completely different set of races, which will be cool.
    So long as there's enough of the old races swanning around for nostalgia's sake, it shouldn't feel so divorced from the previous games to count against it.

And finally a Mass Effect game without the hideously outdated Unreal Engine 3.

Apparently that trailer was in-engine, which is obviously pretty meaningless these days, but hopefully by the time December 2016 rolls around they'll have figured out how to make games on console not look like hot sick and the PC version will be suitably breathtaking.

Those worlds looked too amazing to balls them up with ****ty draw distances.

A very cool trailer that probably showed as much as can be reasonably expected this far from launch.

Gbear wrote: »
    I'm kinda bummed they've left the whole bleedin galaxy behind.

Kinda dug themselves into a hole there though.

Still, it should be class. It's not like they were short of planets to explore in the Milky Way, but there's loads of room to have a completely different set of races, which will be cool.
    So long as there's enough of the old races swanning around for nostalgia's sake, it shouldn't feel so divorced from the previous games to count against it.

And finally a Mass Effect game without the hideously outdated Unreal Engine 3.

Apparently that trailer was in-engine, which is obviously pretty meaningless these days, but hopefully by the time December 2016 rolls around they'll have figured out how to make games on console not look like hot sick and the PC version will be suitably breathtaking.

Those worlds looked too amazing to balls them up with ****ty draw distances.

A very cool trailer that probably showed as much as can be reasonably expected this far from launch.

Yeah i dunno why they've gone all the way to andromeda at all, the milky way was grand and loads of history with all of the different races there. it's probably to do with their decision to cut the Shep story off.

it's going to be a tough act to follow the trilogy with excellent characters like Wrex, Tali, Garrus and Mordin, especially now that they are almost entirely starting from scratch in a whole new universe, to me that's a bit daunting and really hope it works because it's one of the few IP's in the last few years i've really gotten into and actually cared about the characters in it.

That Johnny Cash song was a touch of class, but i did ask myself if i was being trolled right at the start too :D

Edit: Thanks for the thread name change mods! :)

New teaser - happy N7 day!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Interesting that Sheppard narrated that. I assume the mission to Andromeda is a backup plan, in case the Reapers actually won? Would allow for a cameo from Sheppard at the start of it i suppose.

yeah it was a bit weird, and bioware have stated adamantly that sheppard wont be making an appearance in ME4 either

Also, that video has now been made private so this could have been a hoax, not sure :/

ye can see it here again, for the time being.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0Et481TNgE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Nothing more than a signing off message according to this, still a bit odd.
    UPDATE 2.45pm: BioWare Montreal boss Yanick Roy has now confirmed to Eurogamer that Shepard's unexpected appearance in today's trailer is just the Commander signing off - plans have not changed regarding the character's lack of involvement in Mass Effect's future.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2015-11-07-theres-a-new-mass-effect-andromeda-teaser-trailer-and-its-voiced-by-shepard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Good. We need a new character that doesnt have any baggage and decisions from previous games. A clean slate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

New teaser - happy N7 day!

Yay, Femshep!