In Honour of English Crustys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I remember when I used to go down to the Willie Clancy Week at Miltown Malbay in Clare, sometimes crusties would gather at Spanish Point and have mental raves. I remember having to crash in some ones caravan when such a mad rave took off, they were playing this mad industrial gabba techno by a bunch of nutters called SpiroTribe.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

All they are is a pack of poll tax dodgers and dole spongers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I remember when I used to go down to the Willie Clancy Week at Miltown Malbay in Clare, sometimes crusties would gather at Spanish Point at have mental raves. I remember having to crash in some ones caravan when such a mad rave took off, they were playing this mad industrial gabba techno by a bunch of nutters called SpiroTribe.

Some horrific police treatment of people in that video,anyways the spiral tribe set up a rave here in the hellfire Dublin I think it was

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spiral_Tribe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

^ Correct, October 92 & what a great fúcking night that was :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Grand bunch a lads.

I do wonder if you can get fibre broadband in the Allihies?

You can yeah, but the hemp fibre will never match the optic fibre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It always amazed me that a group who wanted to be free from societies pressures, restrictions and burdons and live an unregimented simple life, all managed to turn up at the Post Office on a Thursday to collect their dole money.

I think they've all given up their campavans now and have turned to telling the world about the evils of the MMR vaccine, Parabens and dairy products through social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

They did hold great raves !!

biko wrote: »

Went to see Dick Gaughan in Whelans one night it was brillent although I hadn't realised he has such a leftie following and the audience was most male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    That's because wealthy young people with trust funds and rich parents back home in the Home Counties have never understood Ireland.
    Can we call it a crust fund?

(has that joke been made already?)

AH must have a jug of ready-to-pour scorn for every classifiable group of individuals in existence.

Crusties? Really? Of all the inoffensive people in society, peace-loving, tree-hugging crusties are near the top of the list, in between senile old dears and Filipino nurses.

It always amazed me that a group who wanted to be free from societies pressures, restrictions and burdons and live an unregimented simple life, all managed to turn up at the Post Office on a Thursday to collect their dole money.

I think they've all given up their campavans now and have turned to telling the world about the evils of the MMR vaccine, Parabens and dairy products through social media.

Although you have to be wary of stereotyping I had a conversation/debate/argument with a committed anti water protester who was giving out with fury about this government all the while she was receiving the back to education allowance, subsidised child care and attending university all at the courtesy of the same government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

I Hate Filipino Nurses ! They do untold damage to the envirnoment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

AH must have a jug of ready-to-pour scorn for every classifiable group of individuals in existence.

Crusties? Really? Of all the inoffensive people in society, peace-loving, tree-hugging crusties are near the top of the list, in between senile old dears and Filipino nurses.

I'd say it's the "stick it to the man/living off the grid" shtick but still managing to collect their dole that irks most people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

I'd say it's the "stick it to the man/living off the grid" shtick but still managing to collect their dole that irks most people.

That's BS. Most are working.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

6541 wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-33077599

I got reading this and it brought me back to the days when the English Crustys used to come to Ireland. I have many stories about interacting with them.
    They never really understood Ireland.
    They never could understand that if you camped in someones field in Ireland a couple of blokes would move you on with shotguns as opposed to long court cases. I remember talking to one bunch that actually mistook a halting site for a crusty camp, they regaled me with tails of how all there worldly goods were taking off them when they availed of the halting site.

They could never get used to the violent Irish. No such thing as a peace loving Irish Crusty, give the Irish man a couple of beers and all of a sudden its war !
    I think they just gave up on Ireland or grew up and got jobs !
    So any Crusty stories ?

Have you a Crusty story ?

Don't really mind them but one time I was in a hostelry reading the paper and enjoying a pilsner. A crusty came in and sat at the bar a few places away from me. The stink off this guy was repulsive, I mean stomach-churning. The body can naturally clean itself over time. Natural skin oils and hair oils take over the function that we currently rely on soap and water to provide. The problem is the clothing. This guy had on a kind of multi-coloured woolen poncho thing that I'd say hadn't seen water or detergent since he procured the garment and I'd say he most likely slept in it.
    If a guy is homeless and dirty I can forgive that. He's poor, down on his luck and doesn't have access to regular baths/showers. But this crusty CHOSE to be squalid. I didn't want to leave the pub as I was happy there and thankfully El Crust left after two drinks.

Never been a fan of dreadlocks either except on Rastas. Don't like them on girls. Not even black girls.

That's BS. Most are working.

That's true my husband nieces, three sisters work all the festival and shows in the UK doing the car parking, now in the winter they do other work and they live in houses, but they work with a lot of crusty types who travel around working all the festivals doing anything and everything and who live in mobile homes or on boats in the winter they are a genuine tribe of alternative lifestyles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

mariaalice wrote: »
    That's true my husband nieces, three sisters work all the festival and shows in the UK doing the car parking, now in the winter they do other work and they live in houses, but they work with a lot of crusty types who travel around working all the festivals doing anything and everything and who live in mobile homes or on boats in the winter they are a genuine tribe of alternative lifestyles.

That'd be my experience too. Any crusties I've actually known, all worked. Not often, and not hard, but just enough to fund their lifestyles. 'Wanting an easy life' seems to be their main crime. Life is meant to be hard. I've three kids and a 500000 mortgage to pay. And then you've these fvckers just taking it easy and basically enjoying themselves most of the time. Fvck that. Life is hard for me. It should be for everyone else. Bastards!

I'm sure there's the dole scroungy, massively hypocritical, unwashed variety too. Just none I've gotten to know over the years fitted that bill. So just my experience. YMMV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

they loved squat partys and acid techno music and taking loads of hallucinogenic drugs in the mid 90's anyway :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

Most of my friends I guess are 'Crusties' I don't like that term. They are highly intelligent kind people.

They do their own thing and don't want to bother or ask anything of anyone. They work , they are good parents they just do their own thing.

CHECK OUT FOOTSBARN!!! A traveling theatre! I did a workshop with them once!