Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

menoscemo wrote: »
    Even the race director didn't see to know it ;)
    He's lucky he walked on after he finished or I'd be claiming victory over him

aha! well, that explains why you certain runners were so fixated on that little 10m! ;) We did check the video and it appears that everyone crossed both lines... phew!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

annapr wrote: »
    aha! well, that explains why you certain runners were so fixated on that little 10m! ;) We did check the video and it appears that everyone crossed both lines... phew!

Probably because I painstakingly measured and marked out both lines before the event. Took me all of 20 seconds :P

I only noticed the TRR thing in the video today :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Well done on the PB yesterday Anna and of course the far more important timekeeping at the Beer Mile Challenge! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Well done Mrs! You are making super progress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Well done on your pb, sounds like a great run :) At what point do you join the canal - at Ballybough, Croke Park, Phibsborough? I run past it so much that I'm tempted to actually run ON it. But I'm normally on my own and any time I look across, there's at least one header sitting there and I'm too much of a wuss to chance it :o

racheljev wrote: »
    Well done on your pb, sounds like a great run :) At what point do you join the canal - at Ballybough, Croke Park, Phibsborough? I run past it so much that I'm tempted to actually run ON it. But I'm normally on my own and any time I look across, there's at least one header sitting there and I'm too much of a wuss to chance it :o

Hi Racheljev! thanks. I usually join the canal at Binns bridge in Drumcondra, or even Cross Guns in Phibsborough. Mainly because you if you join in Ballybough you have to come back up at Jones Rd and go back down... also I don't like the segments between Ballybough and Binns Bridge myself (not scenic and a bit icky).

From Drumcondra up it's lovely... there are parts that are quiet but on weekend mornings, especially in nice weather it's busy with walkers, cyclists, runners so while I'm wary myself, it's fine. If you're on a long run, beyond Ashtown is lovely or it's a great off-road route to the PPark... the Ashtown gate is probably less than 500m from the canal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Super 5k Anna I'm sure you're still buzzing :) must say agree with DG, you're catching murph!!

Runchick wrote: »
    Super 5k Anna I'm sure you're still buzzing :) must say agree with DG, you're catching murph!!

Haha, not a hope!

Tuesday, 16 June: 51 min easy
    5:23 Mi @ 9:45; 8.4k @ 6:04

Lunchtime run out the sea front, can’t remember anything else about it :)

Thursday, 18 June: Bit of an impromptu fartlek
    48:04 min; 4.99mi @ 9:38 /8k @ 5:39

Considered doing a 5k pace session, but forgot to load the watch so just timed it myself, which meant that without a beep from the watch, I didn’t have the willpower to continue to the end of the 5 mins :) anyway, did approx 5 mins @ 5k pace and then a couple of other shorter intervals @ approx 5k pace. I felt wrecked after this, legs were wobbly and wanted to nap for the rest of the day…

Friday, 19 June
    Good intentions to get out for a stretch in the evening after driving from Dublin were greeted by squadrons of Donegal midges, so I had to retreat from the vicious wee b*st*rds and open a bottle of wine instead. I know, I’m just not suffering enough for my running.

Saturday, 20 June: 5 miles easy/steady
    46:38 min; 5 mi @ 9:13; 8.1k @ 5:44

A dreary drizzly morning cleared up into a glorious sunny afternoon. Did the local 5 mile hilly loop, I was intending to go easy, but this ended up closer to steady pace with about 3k at HM pace and 1k almost at 10k pace. Needless to say, downhills helped.

Really enjoyed this, a light breeze helped keep us cool, the countryside is so lush and full of wildflowers, blue sky… even the midges are taking a break :D

Hope to get a nice long run in tomorrow to get the weekly mileage up before heading back to ‘civilisation.’ It feels weird not to be working off a specific plan, I’m not good at motivating myself!

Race series numbers arrived the other morning… summer is here! :)

Sunday, 21 June: 1:43, 10.25 mi @ 10:03/mi, 16.5 km @ 6:14/km

The longest day of the year, I was informed this morning by our six year old sage.

Midsummer doesn't quite know what to do with itself in Donegal, every time I was psyched up to go out for my long-ish run, it started to p1ss rain. But then it would blow over and get sunny, I'd get psyched up again... and then... you get the drift.

So I argued with myself... the weather's too bad, there are too many hills, I'll go when I get back to Dublin (the most patent lie ever, I didn't believe this for an instant). I procrastinated by reading reports from Dunshaughlin last night... the heroics there gave me the HTFU I needed and pushed me out the door (thanks Laura, Firedance and Nop in particular!).

I had two goals for this run -- get the mileage for the week at least to 25 and keep it slow, above 10 min/mi or 6 mins/km. My leg muscles were feeling the effects of yesterday's hills and today's hills were bigger (approx 600ft elevation gain) so I didn't have to struggle too much to keep it below 6 mins.

I did an out and back... at the highest point, the road goes through one of the strangest caravan parks in Ireland... row after row of caravan, mostly empty most of the time, perched on a hill in the middle of nowhere, at least 5 miles from the nearest anything, including the sea and beaches. It's immaculately kept, with playgrounds (usually empty) and the views from the hill are not bad, but still... usually i'm puffing up to the top of the hill, marvelling at it.

I was hydrated by the occasional shower, legs felt quite tired most of the way... on the way back I decided for the 16th kilometer to try to add some pace, imagining myself running up the Glen Rd at the end of a race series race on tired legs. So I did that Km at 5k pace, but behaved myself the rest of the way.

Now to pack and get in the car... I'll hardly be able to stand up after 3.5 hours in the car!!

I'm glad I lost/won the argument with myself... I always finish up saying, I'm so glad I did that. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

When I'm arguing with myself about whether to go out I remember I have to log it on here! I usually go out and never regret it!

This week: 41 KM/25 Mi
    MTD: 121 KM/ 75 Mi
    YTD: 799 KM/ 496 Mi

Going to start the Meno plan from tomorrow... all the chat on the DCM novice thread of plans kicking off... makes me want to get going. :)

So, all going well should be aiming for over 30 miles next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Will ye get out of Celtic Park next Saturday evening? Herself put up the Donegal flag during the week, next door neighbour said it was great she was supporting Meath at last. Her response, i dare not say......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

This week: 41 KM/25 Mi
    MTD: 121 KM/ 75 Mi
    YTD: 799 KM/ 496 Mi

Going to start the Meno plan from tomorrow... all the chat on the DCM novice thread of plans kicking off... makes me want to get going. :)

So, all going well should be aiming for over 30 miles next week.

Good luck with the plan Anna! Cant wait to see your progress for the next 18 weeks, ill be out cheering on the big day :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Thursday, 18 June: Bit of an impromptu fartlek
    48:04 min; 4.99mi @ 9:38 /8k @ 5:39
    Seriously like, you couldn't have limped a small bit further?

chickey2 wrote: »
    When I'm arguing with myself about whether to go out I remember I have to log it on here! I usually go out and never regret it!

hah, I know, it definitely keeps me honest! I would have been embarrassed not to hit 25 miles for the week...
    Firedance wrote: »
    Good luck with the plan Anna! Cant wait to see your progress for the next 18 weeks, ill be out cheering on the big day :-)

Thanks FD, would you not be tempted yourself? ;)
    aquinn wrote: »
    Seriously like, you couldn't have limped a small bit further?

Whatcha talkin' about, girl? It was a lovely round 8 Km :) (love messing with you imperialists)

tang1 wrote: »
    Will ye get out of Celtic Park next Saturday evening? Herself put up the Donegal flag during the week, next door neighbour said it was great she was supporting Meath at last. Her response, i dare not say......

Fair play to her, she's an exile there :)

We should beat Derry, but you never know... and then Monaghan will be very tough. I'm quietly optimistic (but won't be quiet on Sat evening watching the game).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Me too, Pompoms at the ready !!

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Me too, Pompoms at the ready !!

I expect a Donegal flag :) if my true blue Dub* daughter could hang around Shelbourne road wrapped in a Donegal flag last year for hours waiting for me, then so can you** :)

*BG, I know these are all foreign sports to you :)

**yes, I know you might also be supporting other people too, you can bring pom poms too

I expect a Donegal flag :) if my true blue Dub* daughter could hang around Shelbourne road wrapped in a Donegal flag last year for hours waiting for me, then so can you** :)

*BG, I know these are all foreign sports to you :)

**yes, I know you might also be supporting other people too, you can bring pom poms too

Let's compromise on pompoms in the Donegal colours :D:) :D:) I'll get BG Jr right on to it and they should be ready by October.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: am not standing anywhere near you so! or will bring my DUBS pom poms to even things out make things right again :D

We could just pretend they're Meath colours and not tell Anna ?

:o I realise that this is a tad contradictory given that I currently live there, and run for a Meath club but nooooooooooooooooo that's worse :D:D I'm a Dub :cool:

p.s. Anna am just messing, the year before last myself and a friend dressed in Mayo colours to support someone doing DCM :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

p.s. Anna am just messing, the year before last myself and a friend dressed in Mayo colours to support someone doing DCM :-)

Deadly!:D

Tuesday, June 23
    6.2 mi @ 9:43; 10Km @ 6:02

So the Meno plan starts officially next week, but I'm making it an 18 week plan. When I looked at it again, I thought there's a lot of rest days... then realised that all but 3 days are "rest/easy"... the plan only prescribes 3 runs a week (weds session, thurs recovery and weekend LSR) and a target mileage, so it requires some actual thought about how to get to the target... what's up with that?! :p

Decided 6 miles/10k would be a good start so headed out the sea front, lovely cooling wind on the way out, roasting on the way back. The grass on the sea front is starting to get scorched looking, must be time for rain.

In Fairview Park later, some of the locals were bbq-ing and doing their best to scorch the whole park... clueless!

On the way home from the park, passed BG on her way out for her evening run, looking very sprightly... that list of scary therapies must be working :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Hi Anna, when you say you are making it an 18 week plan are you adding in an initial week or going to the plan & giving yourself a week's grace for unexpected happenings ?

In Fairview Park later, some of the locals were bbq-ing and doing their best to scorch the whole park... clueless!

On the way home from the park, passed BG on her way out for her evening run, looking very sprightly... that list of scary therapies must be working :D

It's nuts - I went there for a couple of laps and was dodging beer cans, hoping they'd have the sense to extinguish their BBQs before they staggered out of the park :rolleyes:. The smell of sausages was mouthwatering though :D

kit3 wrote: »
    Hi Anna, when you say you are making it an 18 week plan are you adding in an initial week or going to the plan & giving yourself a week's grace for unexpected happenings ?

Hi Kit... basically, I'm starting it a week early and will probably repeat the first week... week 1 calls for 35-40 miles, I'll probably do 30ish this week and 35 next week... so yes, the extra week allows for some slippage. I just need to feel like I'm getting back into a plan!

Edit: I will probably repeat a week later in the plan, rather than the first week for flexibility (the resident expert advises this)

It's nuts - I went there for a couple of laps and was dodging beer cans, hoping they'd have the sense to extinguish their BBQs before they staggered out of the park :rolleyes:. The smell of sausages was mouthwatering though :D

7pm on a sunny evening is not the best time to visit Fairview Park ! at least the fire station is nearby!

Wednesday, June 24: 6 x 800m @ 5k pace, with 3 min recoveries

The first session of the plan, which thankfully had been reduced from the original 10 x 800m :eek:

Headed out to St Anne's for this, found a nice quiet corner of football fields. During the warmup, I realised how bloody hot and humid it was and decided I would be very happy with 3 or 4 intervals at 5k pace. A full lap of the football pitches was almost 800m so it was a good spot.

I had a bottle of water with me and fretted about where to leave it to be safe from dogs... figured beside a goal post was not ideal, but would do. Next time I went past it, the bottle was being closely investigated by a nosy crow... I was thirsty enough doing this session that I didn't care if I caught bird flu or some other strange crow disease.

The goals was to do 800m in just under 4 minutes, based on a 5k pace of 5:00/km. Such lovely round numbers to work off.

After about 15 min warmup, i hit the lap button for the first 800m... this one felt fairly comfortable and not too hard. Well it was the first one. Second one was tougher and I was starting to boil. I decided I would do 3 at 5k pace and the last 3 at more like HMP. My breathing was heavy and laboured... it was so humid the air felt thick. Reminded me of DCM 14. It almost started to rain, which I would have welcomed, but not quite. I consciously slowed down for the 4th and 5th, and for the 6th aimed for steady HMP.

Cooled down and got back to the car dripping with sweat... did I mention the humidity? :eek:

Turned out the times weren't bad, even for the slower reps, all but the last one at 5k ish pace:

Rep|Time|Pace
    1|3:47|4:44 (7:37)
    2|3:52|4:50 (7:46)
    3|3:50|4:48 (7:440
    4|4:00|5:01 (8:04)
    5|3:57|4:57 (7:58)
    6|4:21|5:27 (8:46)

Happy with the effort on this, even happier that I didn't have to attempt 10 reps!!