Overage Kids In Playgrounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Weren't you a cool dude. So you'd rather them break the law than hang out, fairly harmlessly, in a playground?

I'd rather them break laws that don't harm anyone then harm children by destroying their sanctuary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Teenagers aren't physically adults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

DeadHand wrote: »
    I'd rather them break laws that don't harm anyone then harm children by destroying their sanctuary.

You're switching the goal posts now. Your OP never said anything about criminal damage. I doubt anyone would condone that.

If it was between hanging out in the playground and not destroying it(which id wager would be the majority of teens) and teens going knacker drinking I'd pick playground every day.

teens being in the playground is actually good for society

Teens being in a children's playground can never be good for society.

If a physical adult insists on commandeering an amusement meant for an infant at the expense of an infant I will say that is a sign of mental deficiency on the part of the physical adult.

If it was between hanging out in the playground and not destroying it(which id wager would be the majority of teens) and teens going knacker drinking I'd pick playground every day.

Then you've lived a cloistered, childless life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Then you've lived a cloistered, childless life.

I'm not saying it doesn't happen, so I don't see where my life experience is relevant. I think you misunderstood what I was saying, maybe you have a mental deficiency ;)

Joking aside I was saying that I would prefer teens to be playing peacefully in a playground than knacker drinking. Don't know how you could argue otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

Any time I have seen older children in a playground it would be in the evenings when no younger children were around. Although I suppose this means that they have already threatened the children and their parents so they left.

I don't spend much time watching playgrounds though.

prefer teens to be playing peacefully in a playground

I mean spouting foul, sexual language in front of kids, rushing around in an intimidatory fashion, occupying their amusements, spitting and generally being a pest in a space in which they have no business being.

Jesus.

I make a good point but the typical AH assholery has me in a quagmire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭coffeepls

You sound so annoyed - those teens are just kids too. They're perfectly entitled to be in a playground too. Little kiddies don't actually have more entitlement to public playgrounds.
    I think these teens are getting your heckles up. Stop letting them annoy you by their presence. If they're spitting and foulmouthing in front of wee kids, they're probably only doing it to annoy you a bit more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

Aren't you just sick of them?

I mean pubescent teens in playgrounds clearly meant for infants.

Now, it's a natural law that idiocy is part of being a teenager. Yet, all this spitting, screaming of foul language and littering take place in a space that is designed for and should be sacred for small children.

There they are, commandeering facilities meant for infants.

Why?

Has our society become so infantilised that it is now acceptable for persons who were, a generation ago, of the age to start families and run businesses to now compete with four year olds for access to the swings?

There is a clear mental deficiency at play here but who is to blame?

(Note: Me and my behaviour in my teens are not cool and should not be held up as an ideal. Yet, in my teens at the height of my stupidity I never stooped to invading the space of small children, ruining their fun or intimidating them).

I am often in a way an overage kid in a playground :-) I don't invade space I usually am invited. I don't put age limits on when you have to stop doing stuff! :-)

I have a weird innocence!

I would off course let kids play ...it's only when the swings are free ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭incrisis

I have a play park for toddlers just down the road from me ....I think I might go play on the swings.

incrisis wrote: »
    I have a play park for toddlers just down the road from me ....I think I might go play on the swings.

:-) Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I always thought that the public playgrounds were for under 12's.

They don't check for ID. How do you think parents get in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

They don't check for ID. How do you think parents get in?

Come on, i mean to use the equipment. It is more of a common sense law rather than it being actively imposed. i thought there were signs up in some of them stating this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I suppose it depends on the teens. Our local playground apparently had an issue with teenagers pissing on the equipment and generally being intimidating to little kids. I don't accept the argument that they've got nothing to do, they have all sorts of computer games, laptops, tv in their rooms etc. All in all they've a damn sight more to occupy themselves than previous generations had. They don't need to be occupied with something fun every waking hour. Personally, I think they're far too over indulged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I don't accept that.

I didn't even have a playground growing up.

If I had, my mates and I certainly wouldn't be there in our late teens occupying amusements at the expense of children.

We were far too busy at other things.

There's piles of things to do it's just a sign of mental deficiency: adults ruining spaces meant for children.

And kids ruining places meant for adults.

I mean like 14-15-16-17 year olds guffawing and galloping around kid's playgrounds.

At those ages I was frequenting nightclubs, fornicating and driving illegally.

Why is it now acceptable practice to at those advanced ages to be intimidating toddlers by invading their space?

If it bothers you so much then just tell them to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I suppose it depends on the teens. Our local playground apparently had an issue with teenagers pissing on the equipment and generally being intimidating to little kids. I don't accept the argument that they've got nothing to do, they have all sorts of computer games, laptops, tv in their rooms etc. All in all they've a damn sight more to occupy themselves than previous generations had. They don't need to be occupied with something fun every waking hour. Personally, I think they're far too over indulged.

Yeah

Because locking themselves in their rooms 24/7 is healthier for them than being outside in the fresh air :rolleyes:

The next AH beers should be in a playground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

*Oldmanyellsatcloudjpeg*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

I'm with the OP on this.

I've brought kids (relatives and friends kids) down to my local playground more than a few times and have had to challenge teenagers on their behaviour.
    spitting, smoking , talking (or shouting) about riding all in the presence of younger kids.
    once I'd to break up an organised fight between two kids about 7 that was arranged by teenagers.

some of them can be scum - They backed off cos I'm a big lad but i'd imagine a smaller man or a woman would have been told where to go.

They really should feck off and go drinking or hang out in a field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭irishlad12345

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Weren't you a cool dude. So you'd rather them break the law than hang out, fairly harmlessly, in a playground?

It's rarely harmless though. The playground near our house is 90% teenagers. They litter everywhere, they smoke, they drink, curse, spit on the ground, graffiti on the swings and slides. It's horrible.

We bring our 5 year old and there's usually 20 teenagers there, just sitting on the things and not using them. There's never any children in the playground because parents don't want them near all the antisocial behaviour.

It's a real shame.

The op has a point event if it is badly made, phone the Guards, playgrounds are and the equipment in them is not meant for teenagers and its a form of anti social behaviour.

The Guards are usually very helpful and will explain to them that the playground and equipment is for small children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'm 36 and by god do I love playgrounds. Swinging and sliding and spinning in circles is aces, there is no age limit on finding that fun. I'm so glad I'm a mother as it means I get to do all this stuff again with my son. I also made sure when buying his trampoline and swingset that it was suitable for my weight. We've just spent a great morning jumping on the trampoline and swinging side by side. His seesaw sucks though, as he's so light I'm the one doing all the work on that. It's like doing squats while I get dizzy and he squeals in delight. And his slides are too narrow for me. :(

Tbh, most adults I know still love all this stuff. There was sheer delight among many of my mum friends when we realised that going to the toddler group at softplay meant we could use the slides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Flabangav

Come on, i mean to use the equipment. It is more of a common sense law rather than it being actively imposed. i thought there were signs up in some of them stating this.

There are, and there are signs up in skateparks stating that little children should not be in them, however they don't listen either :'(

iguana wrote: »
    I'm 36 and by god do I love playgrounds. Swinging and sliding and spinning in circles is aces, there is no age limit on finding that fun. I'm so glad I'm a mother as it means I get to do all this stuff again with my son. I also made sure when buying his trampoline and swingset that it was suitable for my weight. We've just spent a great morning jumping on the trampoline and swinging side by side. His seesaw sucks though, as he's so light I'm the one doing all the work on that. It's like doing squats while I get dizzy and he squeals in delight. And his slides are too narrow for me. :(

Tbh, most adults I know still love all this stuff. There was sheer delight among many of my mum friends when we realised that going to the toddler group at softplay meant we could use the slides.

That true I love going on a swing, thats not what the op is talking about the teenagers often just sit on the equipment and don't like being asked to move, there are often huge groups of them and they can be intimidating.

There needs to be more organised activates for young teens 3 months off is long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Yeah

Because locking themselves in their rooms 24/7 is healthier for them than being outside in the fresh air :rolleyes:

I never said they should stay indoors 24/7. Are you saying that hanging around playgrounds pissing on the equipment is a healthier alternative? I'm a 70's kid and we'd bugger all to do in our spare time, yet we didn't go around pissing on things and harassing little kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

I stand there with my hands down my trousers and I get kicked out. I'm not even on a ride!