Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The all new, revised and easier quiz! (mod note posts 1 and 2042)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,736 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Scrambled eggs!

Not doing the Beatles clue as I dont - gasp - like gurrcake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Scrambled eggs
    Oh my baby how I love your legs
    Not as much as I love scrambled eggs
    Oh we should eat some scrambled eggs

Otherwise known as "Yesterday". Or later known as Yesterday. :D But that's looksee's one!

Dare I ask what a gurrcake is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

looksee wrote: »
    Scrambled eggs!
    Not doing the Beatles clue as I dont - gasp - like gurrcake!

Well, never has my gob been so smacked! Minutes, not hours or days, mere minutes and we have an answer.

But.....you don't like.....gurrcake????? Face buries itself in hands.

Anyway, the gurrcake clue would have been: It was the working title of Mr. McCartney's well known ditty, "Yesterday", before he got the lyrics right.

Look out, folks. Looksee is about to hit us with a whopper.

Samaris wrote: »

WHOHHHH???

Gurrcake is the pinnacle of Dublin cuisine, a world-famous delicacy, which took millions of years to perfect, only available from selected emporia within the smell of the Liffey.
    No, I'm too shocked! I can't go on. (Back of hand on forehead, eyes fluttering) Someone.....explain what gurrcake is, please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

.....Dare I ask what a gurrcake is?[/QUOTE]

You ain't from round these here parts, are ya? :D Gurcake is a local delicacy :D, which some of us love, some of us don't, some of us remember, and like yourself some of us don't remember. A traybake from olden times, very thin layer of pastry on the bottom, a conglomeration (messed up mixture) of stale cake trimmings and dried fruit, sometimes a little booze added, in the middle, and a very thin pastry layer on the top, cut into squares. And there you have it, Gurcakes. (Oh, I hope that wasn't a Quiz Question! :eek:) They would have looked like this: http://www.yourlivingcity.com/stockholm/community/recipe-week-traditional-dublin-gur-cake/

BrensBenz wrote: »
    WHOHHHH???

Ack! I have committed a forum faux pas! :D

And aha! Thanks Jellybaby, I have seen those about come to think of it! Have just never heard of them by that name.

You might know them as Chester Cakes, and other less classy titles than the traditional Gurcakes! :) If you ate one of those, you would be advised never to go swimming as they would weigh you down to the bottom like a rock!

Well I didn't know that about scrambled eggs and the Beatles!

I used to do a lot of cryptic crosswords Brens, the Daily Mail used to have a very good one, I would buy the paper just for the crossword. That clue was a doddle!

Ok, historical one! (that's 'historical-type question', not a form of address for Brens)

'Power' is a very common surname in the south-east of Ireland. What was the origin of it, and the original version?

South-east AND NCD! We had three Powers in my class and I can remember the teacher going through some of the Norman roots of names in our class - White, Burke, Savage and Power. Power comes from "Pauvres" / "Poer" or "poor". Therefore, one of our Power lads become (and still is) "Bocht" Power.

I dont - gasp - like gurrcake!
    Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    ... which some of us love, some of us don't, ... a conglomeration (messed up mixture) of stale cake trimmings and dried fruit
    Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    You might know them as Chester Cakes, and other less classy titles than the traditional Gurcakes! :) If you ate one of those, you would be advised never to go swimming as they would weigh you down to the bottom like a rock!

Reading between the lines here, I'm still not entirely certain that gurrcake is being treated with the respect it deserves. You forgot the bit about the ingredients in the bakery assembly line falling into a "gutter" and being recycled. Because Dubs refuse to pronounce "T", guttercake became "guhhercake" and then "gurrcake" and a legend was born. As for Chester cake, I'm still recruiting a task force to sail over there and give them Chesteronians a good smite or two for attempting to hijack our gurrcake.

Don't like gurrcake! What's gurrcake! Hrrummmffff....

Right, de Poer in this corner of the country, go for it Brens.

South-east AND NCD! We had three Powers in my class and I can remember the teacher going through some of the Norman roots of names in our class - White, Burke, Savage and Power. Power comes from "Pauvres" / "Poer" or "poor". Therefore, one of our Power lads become (and still is) "Bocht" Power.

Huh! That's interesting, especially as the de Poers became such a powerful (no pun intended) family. Not to mention that their name became something with almost the opposite meaning. All very Game of Thrones-ish.

This may be too obscure or too personal interest but let's see how it goes:

In 1988, Michael Palin, using a nom de plume, wrote the sleeve notes for the debut album / CD from a fictional family band, including members Lefty, Nelson (Spike), Lucky, Otis and Charlie T. Jr. The album became enormously successful so perhaps you can name the band?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

That would be The Traveling Wilburys

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    That would be The Traveling Wilburys

Correct! What gave it away? The makey-uppie names or Palin writing the sleeve notes?

Over to you.

The names and the date, and your description. I enjoyed the sleeve notes but didn't know about Palin.

So. Who had a habit of chaining his mug to a radiator ?

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    The names and the date, and your description. I enjoyed the sleeve notes but didn't know about Palin.

So. Who had a habit of chaining his mug to a radiator ?

Wasn't that one of the strange eccentricities of codebreaker Alan Turin. Whatever, isn't it good to see that he and other gay people are being recognised now for their work and not just for their sexual orientation?

Yes, Alan Turing

Right, a question to keep yiz busy for a while. Where did Mrs. BrensBenz hide the teabags this time?

Mr. Google just loves this so no peeking: What is the biggest herb in the world?

Banana?

Banana?

Forget minutes, you got that in seconds! Have you seen the list of things that banana peel can cure? Never tried any but it looks amayyyyzing.

Over to you.

We were after having banana plants (not trees!) of several varieties growing in our garden in Kenya, so I kinda know a little bit about bananas. The nicest ones were the very tiny ones that had a slightly pinkish tinge to the flesh. Trouble was they all came ripe (on a bunch) at the same time so whoever had a bunch ripening distributed them to all the neighbours. Did you know that the kind of fan arrangements that the bunch was made up of were called hands.

This has just been mentioned in another thread, but do you know the link between the aforementioned Beatles and Waterford?

The very first record I ever saw was by Billy J. Kramer and the Dakotas. The second was by the Beatles. Both on Parlophone and both said "Made in Ireland". Was the record factory in Waterford?

Oh flippin 'eck Brens, you are so right. Thought that would baffle ye for a bit, but no!

Your go again!

Looksee and Brens.......have yiz no homes to go to? (That's not a quiz question by the way)

I always wondered where the record plant was. I hadn't even seen a record player before but my buddy's big sister got one for her birthday and I was mesmerised by the machinery and the records, but not yet by the sister. "Just how does the music come off that shiny disc?" Then I saw "Made in Ireland" on the labels and "Wow, we're involved with this magic new music."

Did I tell you that the single-handed racing boat I wrote of elsewhere was built in Waterford?

Anyway, we all know that wood floats. Well, there are some types that don't!

1 to 3 species?
    4 to 6 species?
    7 to 9 species?
    10 or more species?

JB you are dead right, and yes, but (random excuse)

I always wondered where the record plant was. I hadn't even seen a record player before but my buddy's big sister got one for her birthday and I was mesmerised by the machinery and the records, but not yet by the sister. "Just how does the music come off that shiny disc?" Then I saw "Made in Ireland" on the labels and "Wow, we're involved with this magic new music."

Did I tell you that the single-handed racing boat I wrote of elsewhere was built in Waterford?

Anyway, we all know that wood floats. Well, there are some types that don't!

1 to 3 species?
    4 to 6 species?
    7 to 9 species?
    10 or more species?

Well if its soggy enough, none of it will. Sorry, am leaving now.