Boards Beer Mile 2015, June 13th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Ron Gomall

Chivito550 wrote: »
    I'll probably be getting a lift home from Leixlip first if one of my training partners races IMC too. But best way is to jump on the train. Station is right by the track. Think it goes to Heuston. Red Line to city centre, then green line or bus (145?) out.

Thanks, am doing a "beer agreed " Hell n Back 12km the morning so wont be doing a fast time but still good to get my first Beer mile out of the way... May show up in fancy dress for the craic, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭simonw

Had a warm up session tonight, 3 beers, 30secs recovery, and I learned I will not be breaking any records on Sat and Moosehead isn't the mae west

38secs/41secs/51secs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Well decided to give up the ticket for the same on Saturday and do this race. Haven't run faster than a 10 minute mile for a long time so think this could be an interesting event.
    Need to get a few bottles of moose head today to reacquaint myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Sales of Moosehead must be showing a spike around now - wonder how many beer miles it will take for them to notice the trend :rolleyes:

kit3 wrote: »
    Sales of Moosehead must be showing a spike around now - wonder how many beer miles it will take for them to notice the trend :rolleyes:
    official sponsor and prizes maybe ;)

shels4ever wrote: »
    official sponsor and prizes maybe ;)

Worth a shot :) although you'd better not tell them why most people are choosing it !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

As long as the prizes don't involve more Moosehead I'm fine with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

My local offie has been sold out for the last week :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Just back from Dunnes Stores, was thinking the exact same myself as I was buying 6 bottle of moose piss!

With all the moosehead on the track on Saturday, should we be taking measures to mark our own bottles? What happens if someone drinks one of yours, do you just nick one of someone else's bottles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

H'okay, so I'm thinking about throwing my hat into the ring for this.

How crazy would I be to attempt it with no chug and run practice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭ArtieFufkin

On behalf of all of us (maybe just me) who hate hipster craft beers, may I say feck off! :)
    That's a bit like saying you only like instant coffee and that the real stuff has too much flavour! Now pass me that blueberry, agave, spiced raspberry IPA.

Toulouse wrote: »
    H'okay, so I'm thinking about throwing my hat into the ring for this.

How crazy would I be to attempt it with no chug and run practice?

Only one way to find out :)

I'd imagine very few people do any 'chug and run' training. The few that do any training mostly limit it to chugging.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

So is it going to be all Moosehead on Saturday?

I saw a viable alternative in the offie yesterday, Brooklyn Summer ale, 5% and 355ml, decent beer. Only problem was they only had 2 cans at the time.

I currently have 8 mooseheads so probably just going with those.

adrian522 wrote: »
    So is it going to be all Moosehead on Saturday?

I saw a viable alternative in the offie yesterday, Brooklyn Summer ale, 5% and 355ml, decent beer. Only problem was they only had 2 cans at the time.

I currently have 8 mooseheads so probably just going with those.

Myself and KC had that summerale last year. Lovely beer and just as easy to chug as Moosehead IMO, but it really is an expensive waste of a nice beer. It's more of a beer to sup on.

BTW Brooklyn Lager (cans and bottles available) is also an option. Ditto Sierra Nevada. Cans are slightly easier to open than bottles too which might save you a few seconds.

That's a bit like saying you only like instant coffee and that the real stuff has too much flavour! Now pass me that blueberry, agave, spiced raspberry IPA.

I suppose you like ethically sourced coffee beans, grown on organic Kenyan goats turd from the great Rift valley served in a hand made cup produced by a fixie cycling bearded, tight jeans wearing, ironic hipster bastard?

They really need to reopen that rant thread!

I suppose you like ethically sourced coffee beans, grown on organic Kenyan goats turd from the great Rift valley served in a hand made cup produced by a fixie cycling bearded, tight jeans wearing, ironic hipster bastard?

Ah Jaysus Turd, surely his parentage makes no difference !

+1 for the rant thread ;)

It doesn't need to be ethically sourced. The rest is more or less the way it needs to be though.

bastard!

bastard!

So, who or what rattled your cage this fine day - Moosehead hangover ??

Sounds like the 'training' has started early today. Let me know if you'd like me to recommend an afternoon beer.

So, who or what rattled your cage this fine day - Moosehead hangover ??

hipster bastards, wrecking my head 24/7 for the last 2 years, not just this afternoon
    Sounds like the 'training' has started early today. Let me know if you'd like me to recommend an afternoon beer.

No training today as of yet, but if I was, I would not be asking you for a beer recommendation! They probably wouldn't sell it to me anyway as I don't possess a pair of vibrams or skinny jeans. Just for laughs, have you recently owned a pair of vibrams or a fixie bike?

I have not, but I do know what both of those things are if that helps my cause at all.

I don't want to be a pedant but is Moosehead not 350ml in size making it 5ml too small in volume?

No it's grand, it's 12 Oz, they are just a bit lazy with the labeling I think. It was discussed a few pages back.

A great. Looks like I'll be drinking that too.

hipster bastards, wrecking my head 24/7 for the last 2 years, not just this afternoon

No training today as of yet, but if I was, I would not be asking you for a beer recommendation! They probably wouldn't sell it to me anyway as I don't possess a pair of vibrams or skinny jeans. Just for laughs, have you recently owned a pair of vibrams or a fixie bike?

What's a fixie bike ?? Saw a fella running along the footpath yesterday bare footed - whatever about grass, this path was likely to be covered in all kinds of sh1t - where does he fit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

menoscemo wrote: »
    Myself and KC had that summerale last year. Lovely beer and just as easy to chug as Moosehead IMO, but it really is an expensive waste of a nice beer. It's more of a beer to sup on.

BTW Brooklyn Lager (cans and bottles available) is also an option. Ditto Sierra Nevada. Cans are slightly easier to open than bottles too which might save you a few seconds.

Yea, the Summer Ale is lovely and will be my beer of choice if I can source it. Otherwise it will be back to boring old regular Brooklyn Lager :(. I'd definitely go cans. Easier to open and in my opinion easier to chug too. You're not trying to funnel 350ml of liquid through a narrow neck in a short space of time.

moosehead shortage in Dublin :), Into two places after work that are sold out of moosehead today, Think i need to travel a bit more to get some. But picked up a couple of 330ml bottles for training will do a late night run tomorrow to see how things go.
    It turns out that my last race was actually the last beer mile, I'm a joke of a runner :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

Ladies and Gentlemen- It's that time of year again. The date for the 3rd annual Irish Beer Mile Championships is provisionally Saturday, June 13th at 6pm.

Can we get the time on the first post updated? That said i thought it was 5pm so would have been early but the change to 7.30pm will definitely be my excuse now!