England fans in Temple Bar Tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Last night was disgraceful in Templebar.. Despite a huge Garda presence English visitors were subjected to terrible abuse, and a few really savage assaults.

At one stage we'd to shelter two English lads behind us on the door (I work in Templebar) to save them from a further beating.

The Guards done great last night and were on top of trouble very quick, its just a pity we'd a pack of knuckle dragging bastards (Irish) out looking for nothing but trouble.

A new tactic I've seen AGS use at this years Paddy's Day 'celebrations', and used again last night, is moving trouble makers out of the Templebar area and away from our visitors and it works a treat.

I seen one lad give the cops some guff, he got a boot up the hole for his efforts and got pushed along the quay towards the He'Penny Bridge, he limped up rubbing his arse, stopped and gave more lip and got another kick in the hole which sent him on his way over the northside and out of Templebar.

Its a great tactic, very effective and hilarious to watch.

I seen some terribly shameful scenes last night, and without fail all caused by Irish lads taking a go at British visitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Worked in Temple bar for many years and it's sad to say the only trouble i ever had was from Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Darpa

I seen one lad give the cops some guff, he got a boot up the hole for his efforts and got pushed along the quay towards the He'Penny Bridge, he limped up rubbing his arse, stopped and gave more lip and got another kick in the hole which sent him on his way over the northside and out of Templebar.

I'm delighted the Gardai are allowed to do this.
    Wait for the bleeding heart scum to come on here complaining about Gardai brutality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Last night was disgraceful in Templebar.. Despite a huge Garda presence English visitors were subjected to terrible abuse, and a few really savage assaults.

At one stage we'd to shelter two English lads behind us on the door (I work in Templebar) to save them from a further beating.

The Guards done great last night and were on top of trouble very quick, its just a pity we'd a pack of knuckle dragging bastards (Irish) out looking for nothing but trouble.

A new tactic I've seen AGS use at this years Paddy's Day 'celebrations', and used again last night, is moving trouble makers out of the Templebar area and away from our visitors and it works a treat.

I seen some terribly shameful scenes last night, and without fail all caused by Irish lads taking a go at British visitors.

Reading this reminds me of the day Linfield played Shels in Tolka. Everyone at the game was there with the best of intentions but some scrotes just had to show up in the surrounding areas to cause trouble. Better atmosphere in the ground that day than there was today mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Remember we came very close to actually winning Euro 88'. Considering the quality of teams in that tournament and the fact it was our first major tournament... that's just incredible! :)

No we didn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

I'm hearing lots of sirens wailing. Anything kicking off round about now in D4 area?

Or is it just the teams getting a motorbike escort home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,093 ✭✭✭✭briany

kfallon wrote: »
    No we didn't!

Came within a hair's breadth of the semis. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

dan1895 wrote: »
    Reading this reminds me of the day Linfield played Shels in Tolka. Everyone at the game was there with the best of intentions but some scrotes just had to show up in the surrounding areas to cause trouble. Better atmosphere in the ground that day than there was today mind.

To be honest without googling Linfield and Shels I wouldn't have much of a clue about soccer.. In fact I couldn't even tell you the name of our manager or one player on the team :o

But I get you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'm hearing lots of sirens wailing. Anything kicking off round about now in D4 area?

Maybe Gerald Keane, Barry Egan and Lisa Murphy have been spotted at the Four Seasons hotel.

Or is it just the teams getting a motorbike escort home?

Probably enda going for a 'snachk box'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

briany wrote: »

Yeah, hardly coming close to winning it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

And what's worse is that those same knuckledragers presumably support an English football team, shop in English shops, read English newspapers (if they can indeed read) and watch English television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Paul Scholes described the match as a waste of space. He could have been describing a lot more than the match.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

P_1 wrote: »
    And what's worse is that those same knuckledragers presumably support an English football team, shop in English shops, read English newspapers (if they can indeed read) and watch English television.

You spelt knuckledragger wrong!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Black Menorca

English and Irish fans left the ground, side by side today. Not a hint of trouble. Great to see. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

By the sounds of it, everybody was probably too sleepy to fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

It's almost like people were hoping that the English fans would wreck the place to you know say "See I told you so".

Personally, I just want to see the Guards getting to hammer scum, I don't care if the are English scum or Irish scum, I'm non discriminatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Totally. I was in the East stand and I came out with England fans and walked back to the city centre alongside them. No problems at all. Had more of an issue with Irish fans and the ridiculous booing of GSTQ than anything England fans did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Darpa wrote: »
    Personally, I just want to see the Guards getting to hammer scum, I don't care if the are English scum or Irish scum, I'm non discriminatory.

Fair point, Why are they not policing Dublin like that normally has a terrible problem on the boardwalk and all that. Not asking for horses but at least a visible presence to get rid of all the smack heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Berserker wrote: »
    Totally. I was in the East stand and I came out with England fans and walked back to the city centre alongside them. No problems at all. Had more of an issue with Irish fans and the ridiculous booing of GSTQ than anything England fans did.

Again another example of how rugby fans are just have better sportsmanship no matter what country they are from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

briany wrote: »

And the team that beat us went on to lift the cup!

We were a genuine threat in that tournament. That Dutch side was one of the best in history, and we gave then a very close game...

Same in USA 94 - we beat Italy, they made the final.

Jack was a very clever manager. Could and should have managed England IMO.

VinLieger wrote: »
    Again another example of how rugby fans are just have better sportsmanship no matter what country they are from

As was said earlier, soccer is a gentleman's game enjoyed by thugs. Rugby is a thugs game enjoyed by gentlemen. Though I have come across some real scumbags in Rugby, there are not as many, and the ones that are, hide it better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Jack was a very clever manager..

There should be a whole separate thread to debate that line in the Soccer forum....

As was said earlier, soccer is a gentleman's game enjoyed by thugs. Rugby is a thugs game enjoyed by gentlemen. Though I have come across some real scumbags in Rugby, there are not as many, and the ones that are, hide it better.

This stupid quote gets thrown around far too much and really is not as clever as those who use it like to think it is, also last time you used it you limited it to england when it really applies to football fans in europe if not worldwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Has it kicked off yet ? (i mean the fighting lol )

VinLieger wrote: »
    This stupid quote gets thrown around far too much and really is not as clever as those who use it like to think it is, also last time you used it you limited it to england when it really applies to football fans in europe if not worldwide

If you think you can mind read as you have claimed, you're the one that's not too clever I'm afraid.

Emmmm..... where did i claim i could read minds:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭redandwhite

I'm delighted the Gardai are allowed to do this.
    Wait for the bleeding heart scum to come on here complaining about Gardai brutality.

Bleeding heart scum?

As opposed to the scum who get a kick out of a good ole bit of police brutality?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Nearly 60 post in one day. You need to get out into the fresh air!