Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irish state now will now accept a trans persons own declaration of their gender

Wibbs wrote: »
    That's a very good point V and I agree with you.

I would agree with some of his points and disagree with others, but the shítstorm visited upon him for a contrary opinion is worrying. To question the new Dogma, is to be branded a heretic of many titles and ultimately if no repentance is seen, excommunicated. Literally in yer man's case.

One thing that strikes a chord with me is the line about a world in which people who went to med school are quacks and lunatics are experts. Some of us - myself included - like to think that society is learning, developing and maturing as it abandons the superstitions and prejudices it once held dear. But I have a feeling we're kidding ourselves. All we're doing is replacing one set of dogmatic thinking with another. Maybe that's all societies can ever do: move from one dominant ethos to the next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

What I find most odd about 'right-wing' libertarian sites like that, and similarly McInnes, is the internal clash of their politics.

What the fcuk gives McInnes a say in this? I'd like to see a little more consistency with these libertarian nutters.

The very same argument can be applied to the left-wing, though. The President Age Referendum, for instance. "I think everyone should be equal, which is why I'm voting for SSM. Presidential Age? Nope, I support ageism and inequality ad hoc."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

nokia69 wrote: »
    I more or less agree with McInnes

This is the second time I've seen right wing troll and Fox News talking head Gavin McInnes being brought up on boards. I'd like to say I'm shocked at that, but considering the way things are going here lately, it's more a sad inevitability that someone who thinks that women shouldn't vote is being held up as someone with an opinion to listen to by a few posters here. But lets pretend for a moment that what he has to say is actually worth considering, rather than being yet another ridiculously offensive thing he says because it makes for good controversy and being anti-PC is a thriving business.

Reminds me of the Iona crowd screaming from their platform on national television and columns in national newspapers about being "silenced" and poor Breda who talked herself hoarse she was silenced so much. Likewise McInnes is so silenced he's a regular guest on Fox News, he's a published author, writes controversy baiting articles for right wing websites. All this silencing is even going on here on boards, so much folks rabbiting on about how silenced they've been, sure I couldn't get a word in edgewise with all the silence. Anyway, lets get to the bones of the slur-filled article you link.

The main thing that he references in support of his opinions is what Paul McHugh has to say on the matter, in fact almost every right wing idealogue who rants against transgender people uses McHugh as support for their claims. Now, something interesting I noticed is that McInnes erronously reports in his ramblings this:
    While explaining why he no longer performs sex-change operations, surgeon Paul R. McHugh...
    He was not a surgeon and never performed 'sex changes', he was a psychiatrist. What he did was shut down the gender identity clinic at Johns Hopskins after becoming head of psychiatry in the 70's. I find it odd that McInnes misreported him as being a surgeon, not just because this is easily fact checked, but because McHugh is a rather infamous and controversial character himself. I'm not saying that McInnes is being deliberately misleading here, just that he's a bad journalist and doesn't know crap about the subject he's ranting about.

Now, a little bit about McHugh because this is important.

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2002/aug/21/20020821-041050-7378r/
    If you found the clergy sex abuse scandal shocking, prepare for another jolt: the Catholic bishops are getting their "expert" advice on pedophilia from people who have covered up or even defended sex between men and children.

The bishops recently chose Dr. Paul McHugh, former chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at John Hopkins University School of Medicine, as chief behavioral scientist for their new clergy sex crimes review board. Yet Dr. McHugh once said Johns Hopkins' Sexual Disorders Clinic, which treats molesters, was justified in concealing multiple incidents of child rape and fondling to police, despite a state law requiring staffers to report them.

"We did what we thought was appropriate," said Dr. McHugh, then director of Hopkins' Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, which oversaw the sex clinic. He agreed with his subordinate, clinic head Fred Berlin, who broke the then-new child sexual abuse law on the grounds that it might keep child molesters from seeking treatment. Dr. Berlin admitted he had covered for the sex criminals, angering legislators, child-advocacy groups and state officials. But his actions were not surprising, because "at least eight men have been convicted of sexually abusing Maryland children while under [Dr. Berlins] treatment there," according to the March 23, 1988, issue of the Capital.
    This is a man who famously said that the child rape commited by members of the clergy was "Homosexual predation on catholic youth", so just take a moment and let the enormity of that quote sink in, because according to Paul McHugh this is something gay people are doing to catholics. The man is deeply anti-gay, calling it an "erronous attraction", he supported Prop 8 in California and filed an amicus brief stating in his professional opinion that sexuality was not an innate characteristic like race and gender. Now, I could give way more examples of just what a piece of work this guy is, but that would take days and I think you get the idea of his character. He's a deeply religious anti-gay bigot.

So now, lets get to what McHugh has been saying about transgender people, he's who people refer to when they say that trans related healthcare actually increases suicide rates. What does he have in way of proof? Well, he cites a report from the Karolinska Institute in Sweden, but grossly misrepresents it. You can read it for yourself here.

What the study does, is compare post operative trans people to non-trans people, it does not however compare post-op with pre-op trans people. The authors even go as far as saying this:
    It is therefore important to note that the current study is only informative with respect to transsexuals persons health after sex reassignment; no inferences can be drawn as to the effectiveness of sex reassignment as a treatment for transsexualism. In other words, the results should not be interpreted such as sex reassignment per se increases morbidity and mortality. Things might have been even worse without sex reassignment. As an analogy, similar studies have found increased somatic morbidity, suicide rate, and overall mortality for patients treated for bipolar disorder and schizophrenia. This is important information, but it does not follow that mood stabilizing treatment or antipsychotic treatment is the culprit.

It is good science, and they are calling for better care for trans people after surgery. But it couldn't be further from what McHugh is claiming the study says, he's utterly misrepresenting it. If you want to see pure agenda pushing and pseudo-science, there you have it, it's McHugh and the folks who quote him to bolster their own bigoted viewpoints.

On the other hand, if you want to know what the actual science says, look to what the American Psychological Association has to say on the matter, or the American Psychiatric Association. Or here is a study on the impact of hormone treatment on the mental health of trans people:
    Psychiatric distress and functional impairment were present in a significantly higher percentage of patients before starting the hormonal treatment than after 12 months (50% vs. 17% for anxiety; 42% vs. 23% for depression; 24% vs. 11% for psychological symptoms; 23% vs. 10% for functional impairment). The results revealed that the majority of transsexual patients have no psychiatric comorbidity, suggesting that transsexualism is not necessarily associated with severe comorbid psychiatric findings.

The amount that medical science knows about transgender people just in the past decade has increased exponentially, there are absolutely loads of studies showing good outcomes for trans people, there are more and more studies showing that being trans is biological and something that someone is born with. It is no longer considered a disorder since 'gender identity disorder' has been removed from the DSM, and the APA has stated that being trans fails to meet the criteria of a mental disorder. This is where we are because this is where the science has lead us, if there was validity in what right wing anti-LGBT idealogues have been saying then that would be reflected in medical science and the outcomes of trans people, but it isn't.

**** me, I need a chill out and a hot chocolate after that, that was downright exhausting! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Links234 wrote: »
    **** me, I need a chill out and a hot chocolate after that, that was downright exhausting! :o

Question, since nobody seems to actually be answering the issues raised with these revisions (not the bill itself).
    Why are "we" going with solely self identification?AFAIK no other country in europe does this including many that are traditionally considered more liberal?

Actually, that's not the case at all, Denmark and Malta had both passed a similar law. The reason other countries that might be considered more liberal don't have similar rules is because their gender recognition laws were brought in many years ago. Sweden for example was in 1972, but their laws look downright draconian today because it required sterilization before gender recognition, and that included destroying any stored materials eg sperm or eggs. Sweden and Norway are proposing changes to bring their gender recognition laws more inline with ours, Denmark and Malta's. So I imagine the why is that we're doing it now, instead of 4 decades ago, so take that Sweden you gorgeous scandinavian bastards! Hope that helps ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

I wasn't fully following the discussion that introduced McInnes article, so didn't do my usual source-checking for credibility there, but yea - it took no time at all to verify some of Links234's above-mentioned issues with the guy, and more:
    https://twitter.com/gavin_mcinnes/status/497398850634915841

Massively transphobic article, which got him kicked out of the online magazine he founded:
    http://web.archive.org/web/00000000000000/http://thoughtcatalog.com/gavin-mcinnes/2014/08/transphobia-is-perfectly-natural

This is what is worrying about people linking guys like McInnes, and other questionably right-leaning folk on gender topics:
    Nobody ever does a background check first, before taking such sources credibly/seriously - so I have been directly seeing otherwise very smart posters, trip up into taking on highly questionable views, because they don't check if the people/organization promoting such views are dubious first.

Actually, that's not the case at all, Denmark and Malta had both passed a similar law.

Malta's law seems the same as ours but Denmark seems to require a 6 month "reflection period"

http://www.advocate.com/politics/transgender/2014/09/03/denmark-passes-groundbreaking-gender-self-determination-law

I do think there should be at least some check in the system to make sure that people without gender dysphoria aren't abusing it but I don't think that Denmarks waiting period is right. If you're over 18 and are gender dysphoric, you will have had plenty of time to reflect on it already

The thing about McInnes is you get the sense that he doesn't even believe half the **** he comes out with, that he says outrageous and offensive things just to be controversial because it pays, and people buy into it because he un-PC and gives it to the liberals. I've said before, he's the journalistic equivalent of the Human Centipede 3's marketing campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

It will be grand, water always seeks its own level.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sweden for example was in 1972, but their laws look downright draconian today because it required sterilization before gender recognition, and that included destroying any stored materials eg sperm or eggs.
    Not a shock considering you're talking about Sweden. Sweden was sterilising its disabled citizens and those it deemed "deviant" and "drains on society" until the mid 1970's. They really bought into that whole eugenics vibe that kicked off all sorts of horrors elsewhere. They just did it more quietly.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

What I find most odd about 'right-wing' libertarian sites like that, and similarly McInnes, is the internal clash of their politics.

These guys want to be 'let alone'. Their individualistic outlook demands low taxation, a small state, and nobody sticking their nose across the garden gate (PRIVATE PROPERTY).

But when it comes to other the most private property of all, our own bodies, everything gets turned on its head.

In matters of personal liberty - abortion, transgender identity, or simply men who want to wear dresses - they suddenly have permission to stick their oar in? Suddenly they are interventionists?

stop being so hysterical, McInnes is not trying to ban or stop anyone getting what ever kind of surgery or body modification they want, he's just pointing out that there are down sides, is it not possible to do that and still be a libertarian

having an opinion on something does NOT mean they are interventionists
    What the fcuk gives McInnes a say in this?

what the hell is wrong with people like you, is your mind and world view so fragile that you can't stand someone having a different opinion, cop yourself on

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

But I have a feeling we're kidding ourselves. All we're doing is replacing one set of dogmatic thinking with another. Maybe that's all societies can ever do: move from one dominant ethos to the next.
    I'd broadly agree there U and every time we do move from one to the next science will usually be quoted to back it up. Science is by far the best method we have for working out the world, but it is remarkably vulnerable to politics, fashion and "expectation" driving results and that includes medical science. There was a recent article on the matter(PDF) in the medical Journal The Lancet on the very real issues around much of the current so called medical research and conclusions coming from them and worse it's getting not better.

It's a short article but here's a flavour of what they're discussing(and this is among seriously heavy hitters in the scientific community)

"The case against science is straightforward: much of the scientific literature, perhaps half, may simply be untrue. Afflicted by studies with small sample sizes, tiny effects, invalid exploratory analyses, and flagrant conflicts of interest, together with an obsession for pursuing fashionable trends of dubious importance, science has taken a turn towards darkness. As one participant put it, “poor methods get results”. "

How is this relevant to the subject at hand? Basically and for me, I have a hard time putting much store in any research on the matter, regardless of conclusion. EG Ten years ago the Guardian sponsored research into transgender and outcomes of transition going through "more than a 100 international medical studies" and found "There is no conclusive evidence that sex change operations improve the lives of transsexuals, with many people remaining severely distressed and even suicidal after the operation, according to a medical review conducted exclusively for Guardian Weekend tomorrow." and this is the Guardian we're talking about here. Ten years on and that's apparently entirely reversed in the science. That's some volte face. Was all that research bogus a decade ago and all the research since not? And given how small a minority transgender folks are and how small a sample size the science is dealing with I'd not be surprised to find much of the original 100 medical studies results are included in the new conclusion.

About the only consistent findings in these small sample sizes down the years is that trans individuals suffer far higher mental health concerns than the general population. As for it being taken off the DSM list? The DSM has quite the number of dubious inclusions as well as exclusions going on. If anything there are more of the former in a rush to medicalise some examples of human experience. So "Major Depressive Disorder" which includes grief after a bereavement is a medical disorder according to the APA's DSM classification, yet a fully biologically male or female seeing themselves as the opposite gender is not? Eh… Wut? That's before we get into the APA and conflicts of interest and other dubious "science" going on.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

stop being so hysterical, McInnes is not trying to ban or stop anyone getting what ever kind of surgery or body modification they want, he's just pointing out that there are down sides, is it not possible to do that and still be a libertarian

having an opinion on something does NOT mean they are interventionists

what the hell is wrong with people like you, is your mind and world view so fragile that you can't stand someone having a different opinion, cop yourself on

Maybe some people are totally fine with different views, but choose to rubbish any opinion from a man so bigoted that he's been booted from a magazine he founded (see Links' post for sources) and believes women are undeserving of voting in elections.

I've listened to, for example, Wibbs' views, and yours, without saying a bad word, but don't expect people to do anything other than rubbish a very very obvious troll and bigot.

Also, this is the first time I've used the word bigot in this thread, before anyone cries about the word being thrown about. I'm using it because that idiot IS one.

Maybe some people are totally fine with different views, but choose to rubbish any opinion from a man so bigoted that he's been booted from a magazine he founded (see Links' post for sources) and believes women are undeserving of voting in elections.

I've listened to, for example, Wibbs' views, and yours, without saying a bad word, but don't expect people to do anything other than rubbish a very very obvious troll and bigot.

Also, this is the first time I've used the word bigot in this thread, before anyone cries about the word being thrown about. I'm using it because that idiot IS one.

I'd be willing to bet he was "booted" from the magazine he founded because if he stayed they would all lose money, we can be pretty sure plenty of other people at the magazine hold similar views but in the future they will keep quiet, in the modern world unless you hold the correct opinions you need to be careful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I'd be willing to bet he was "booted" from the magazine he founded because if he stayed they would all lose money, we can be pretty sure plenty of other people at the magazine hold similar views but in the future they will keep quiet, in the modern world unless you hold the correct opinions you need to be careful

That's what you read into from my post?

You've chastised someone for not listening to that cretin's opinions, I explain why they're totally within their rights to discount the opinion of that man, and all you can say is 'if you're not pc, you must keep your mouth shut?' Alright so.

That's what you read into from my post?

yeah

sorry about that, try harder the next time

To be fair, the original article he penned and was hounded for was a clickbait rant that set out to be as insulting as possible. One can hold a different opinion, even a radically different one, without going nearly as over the top as he did.

On this subject and other similarly divisive subjects, one "tactic" of the "progressive" side* is to seek out what they see are the lowest possible motives behind those holding a "different opinion" and conclude they must be the only possible motive for holding that opinion. IE calls of phobias and isms and the like by way of what passes for an argument.

In the case of Innes they wouldn't have far to seek. Indeed he fully admits he's transphobic and a few other phobias and isms thrown in and suggests we all should be and does the exact same thing outlined above as the lower end progressive types and suggests if we're not we're deluded liberals or whatever.

*it's a common tactic of much online debate and not limited to any side, though Progressives tend to be quicker to rely on it.

in the modern world unless you hold the correct opinions you need to be careful
    It depends entirely on how one frames the opinion one holds. If you come outa the gate like a raging bull ranting on any side of any subject, you're going to look like an idiot and would/should be rightfully pilloried for it.
    Links234 wrote:
    The thing about McInnes is you get the sense that he doesn't even believe half the **** he comes out with, that he says outrageous and offensive things just to be controversial because it pays, and people buy into it because he un-PC and gives it to the liberals. I've said before, he's the journalistic equivalent of the Human Centipede 3's marketing campaign.
    +1. Clickbait fodder and in that particular instance it badly backfired on him. You see the same with "the other side" too. The opinion pieces in the Indo and Guardian for example. QV the Una Mallaly's of the world, who can write near farcical articles that cause raised eyebrows, but most importantly sell papers and get views. These type of Daily Mail rants have always been with us. Littlejohn et al have been around for decades. It was mostly the right and conservatives pulling this stuff, but increasingly with the interwebs the left, especially the "looney left" have been playing the same game. An arms race of daft. The publishers cynically love the controversial as you say "because it pays".

Though I would slightly disagree with you on one point Links. IMHO he does believe what he says, he just amps it up for clicks and exposure. Just like I think someone like [insert right/left/feminist//little englander/progressive "journalist" here] believes what they write. IMHO the medium and those who profit from it positively encourages them to believe it more deeply and become more radical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

As soon as you let people redefine their gender, you negate any benefit to having genders. The natural (and really, only logically end) to this, is to either have unchangeable genders or no genders.

There is zero point in having a separate shower room for the ladies, when I, a man, can declare myself a lady and go in there.

In theory, a genderless society makes some sense. Except, in practice, we have all these biological differences. There isn't a single sport where women dominate the field. On the other hand, men dominate just about every sport (with a tiny select few with men and women on nearly equal footing).

If we treat everyone equally, the sad and unfortunate truth is that (those formerly known as) men will have an unfair advantage. Or maybe we shouldn't call it unfair, but men will have an inherent advantage.

As someone with a mother, sisters and wife, I think it's a terrible idea. I'm sorry, I believe in equality, in so much as we *are* equal. All of my sisters and my wife enjoy sports and they competed against women (because they wouldn't have enjoyed, or had a chance, against men). You can't have that in a genderless society. Any average level guy could declare a gender swap and dominate the girls sports. And remember, sports aren't just for fun, how many 'formerly female' athletes do you think would be awarded scholarships if they were evaluated by the same standards as all the candidates? Basically none.

A genderless society sucks for women. Allowing people to change genders defeats the purpose of segregating the genders. Since I like women, it follows that I can't support policies and laws that would allow me to declare myself a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I'm sorry but that's a horseshít opinion. It's fine if you don't understand an issue, educate yourself on it, ask questions. Just don't blindly assume

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Darpa

As an employer, I have no problem employing a person who has had a sex change.
    However, I do have one concern, I do a background check on all employees.
    How do I establish a persons former identity / record, if I don't get to see their original birth cert, how can I tell I'm researching the correct person ? How can I tell the birth cert being presented to me is not their original one ?

P_1 wrote: »
    I'm sorry but that's a horseshít opinion. It's fine if you don't understand an issue, educate yourself on it, ask questions. Just don't blindly assume

its not horse**** I understand the issue and I blindly assume nothing

http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/brendan-oneill/2015/06/call-me-caitlyn-or-else-the-rise-of-authoritarian-transgender-politics/

Darpa wrote: »
    However, I do have one concern, I do a background check on all employees.

A "background check". Who are you - the CIA?

No, I'm someone who takes my customers money, safety and privacy seriously.
    Lots of businesses do the same, and carry out checks on employees before employing them.
    I don't think my customers would appreciate me giving access to anyone previously convicted of fraud or criminal behavior to their personal finances and details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

FWIW - I consented to a background search as part of a conditional job offer made by my current employer. I think it's pretty common in my industry (and lots of others).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Darpa wrote: »
    No, I'm someone who takes my customers money, safety and privacy seriously.
    Lots of businesses do the same, and carry out checks on employees before employing them.
    I don't think my customers would appreciate me giving access to anyone previously convicted of fraud or criminal behavior to their personal finances and details.

A banking and employment history check are usually sufficient for a background check. Quite why you'd need a birth cert for it is a but of a mystery.

UCDVet wrote: »
    There is zero point in having a separate shower room for the ladies, when I, a man, can declare myself a lady and go in there.

[...]

There isn't a single sport where women dominate the field. On the other hand, men dominate just about every sport (with a tiny select few with men and women on nearly equal footing).

[...]

Any average level guy could declare a gender swap and dominate the girls sports.

I think you might be kinda missing the point here.

Or apologies if I've got that wrong and maybe I'm kinda missing the point here.

As I understand the argument, gender is not the same as sex. Therefore allowing people to change their gender identity does not affect the things you refer to (in the extracts from your post as quoted above).

If I own a restaurant or boozer with separate toilet facilities for men and women, I can choose to make that distinction on the basis of sex or gender. If I choose to distinguish those separate facilities on the basis of sex rather than gender, that is my business and there is no law to say I can't do that. What I can't do is unreasonably deny access to someone to the facility on the basis of their sex (e.g. by not having a toilet for one sex or the other).

Likewise, if the IAAF, Athletics Ireland, the FAI or the GAA hold competitions where eligibility to take part is determined by sex rather than gender, that is their business and there is no law to say they can't do that.

Going back to the toilet facilities question, one thing I've noticed in the last couple of years in Ireland (particularly Dublin), is an increase in the number of self-contained "unisex" toilets, especially in small bars and restaurants. Do we need sex-differentiated loos at all, or are they a product of Victorian-era thinking?

Here's another question: If a premises has separate toilet facilities for men and women, is the premises legally entitled to insist that the distinction is based solely on sex, and not on gender - and is it legally entitled to insist that its patrons comply with that distinction?

UCDVet wrote: »
    FWIW - I consented to a background search as part of a conditional job offer made by my current employer. I think it's pretty common in my industry (and lots of others).

I believe the Data Protection Commissioner is considering going after employers who carry out "background checks" to an intrusive extent - but maybe that's a whole other debate.

P_1 wrote: »
    A banking and employment history check are usually sufficient for a background check. Quite why you'd need a birth cert for it is a but of a mystery.

Because I need to confirm someones current and past identity.
    The brand new Pauline Smith might have a clean record, but the old Paul Smith might have a record as long as her arm. And before anyone starts I have no issue with Trans, I do have an issue with being able to accurately check someones criminal record etc. That's why I'm asking how can I tell this is a new cert, because I need to check any old name as well.