What's a good level of savings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Chucken wrote: »
    I'm going to admit to having about 700 euro in savings.

I don't owe anyone anything and as my granny used to say....I haven't died a wet day yet.
    Nobody has been dug up yet for not paying the undertaker.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Nobody has been dug up yet for not paying the undertaker.:)

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

25 male single.been working since im 16 but havent a penny to show,stopped partying recently and have about 500 saved.its a good feeling,but im not saving for anything in particular.just because i feel i should

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Aka Ishur

29 married and 2k saved. Just bought a house so that sucked all the savings up. Save a similar amount to OP 1k per month. Will build up emergency fund that will pay all bills for 6 months. (6k) Anything more than that will be invested. Having 20k liquid sitting in your bank account is silly unless you expect you might need to use it at short notice. Well done on saving that much tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

In my 30's about 12k saved but i could easily have that gone by Christmas. I save when I've nothing on and when I've a good bit gathered as i have now ill probably head to one of the racing festivals for a week or visit pals in Australia for a fortnight and blow a few grand easily enough and Xmas i tend to get my parents something pretty big and the same anytl Xmas I've a missus. Hence why i try get rid of them before December :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Aka Ishur wrote: »
    29 married and 2k saved. Just bought a house so that sucked all the savings up. Save a similar amount to OP 1k per month. Will build up emergency fund that will pay all bills for 6 months. (6k) Anything more than that will be invested. Having 20k liquid sitting in your bank account is silly unless you expect you might need to use it at short notice. Well done on saving that much tho!

Invested in what though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

kfallon wrote: »
    No point being the richest person in the cemetery OP
    Ooooohhhhhh look at me, i've 20 grand
    Begrudgers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

<100k in the hole is grand.

Whch is a waste of time because it isn't guaranteed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

How the heck can you save a 1000 a month Op?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

20k isn't bad but at least you're able to save €1k/m now.

What's your plan for the savings?

If you're tech savvy you could do a lot with that disposable income by starting an online business, lots of people do this nowadays for some side income on top of their full time job, it's amazing what's possible with 3G and 4G connections with a smartphone or tablet nowadays. The ideal option being affiliate marketing for this kind of option since I'm sure you wouldn't be able to get away with constantly being on your phone/internet at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

This is what I was thinking. Do you live with your parents OP?

I'm 31, I've no savings but I go on at least two holidays a year and spend lots on doing social stuff at the weekends. My girlfriend is in the same boat as me.

We keep saying we'll start but there's always something on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Aka Ishur

Invested in what though?

Leaning towards AVC's but may split with Vanguard funds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

These people saving 1k a month...have kids and a mortgage do ye? I'm guessing not. :pac: fair play if you do and still can, it's just that I don't know many people who can save €100 a month, never mind a grand with a few kids to clothe, feed and educate and mortgaged up to the gills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I think if you're debt-less with a decent roof over your head, can afford private healthcare and to eat well, entertain a hobby, travel and drive and are contributing to a hearty pension, you're in pretty good nick.

On top of that enough to live without any income for six months would probably be a decent figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

At thirty I had about 12k
    You should have a safety net but there's no need to go crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Greentopia wrote: »
    These people saving 1k a month...have kids and a mortgage do ye? I'm guessing not. :pac: fair play if you do and still can, it's just that I don't know many people who can save €100 a month, never mind a grand with a few kids to clothe, feed and educate and mortgaged up to the gills.

I would say they have no mortgage. But they would want to be able to demonstrate to any prospective lender that they can save €1000 a month. If they can't do that how could they repay a mortgage?

Back in another lifetime people had to save a set amount each month for two years with the building society (banks did not offer mortgages back then) in order to be even considered for a mortgage. And they had to have 20% of the value of the house saved. It was necessary in a world where mortgage interest rates were typically 15%.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Greentopia wrote: »

They're their priorities. If saving and making money were their priorities I'm sure they'd be doing that provided they're hard, or more importantly smart, workers. A lot of people who think they can't save money really could but they just have bad spending habits which are easy to fix with a bit of will power. A good example is people who go out for lunch everyday and spend at least €5, that all adds up and right there is an extra €100/m needlessly spent when they could prepare much better food and for cheaper at home and bring it in with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

We had about 45k saved up last summer.
    Then we got approved for a mortgage so most of the money went on deposits, fees and furnishings.
    Once that was finished we started again and are up to roughly 15k.
    We save about 1k a month as well.
    Just became parents as well so the savings will be called upon at some point.
    Have a few holidays a year, 2 cars and all bills paid on time.
    Sense of security always feels nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭bilbot79

20k is great. I used to save 1300 per month. It's amazing what you can do if you put your mind to it. Key is to keep outgoings low and identify the little things hat are siphoning your cash like a bag of crisps and can of coke each day. That's 720e a year!

I would say they have no mortgage. But they would want to be able to demonstrate to any prospective lender that they can save €1000 a month. If they can't do that how could they repay a mortgage?

Back in another lifetime people had to save a set amount each month for two years with the building society (banks did not offer mortgages back then) in order to be even considered for a mortgage. And they had to have 20% of the value of the house saved. It was necessary in a world where mortgage interest rates were typically 15%.

I think you're right. Depends on the house price and where it is of course but I guess you'd be looking at figures like 1k a month for anywhere half decent in Dublin.

Yes, hard to believe now that 15% interest rates were a reality at one time here.
    I own my little house outright but if I was getting a mortgage today I'd still aim for having at least 20% savings to put down on a house. My parents instilled in me the value of saving my money not spending it and I'm very glad they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,846 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I started this year and while its hard if you commit you could do it.
    My breakdown is:

Rent: €500
    Bills: €120
    Petrol/tolls: €120
    Food: €150
    Savings: €1000
    = €1890

Tying to save for a deposit so I've stuck to it for the last 5 months. Biggest expense I found was food. I bring my lunch in to work and stopped ordering takeaways. Saves a fortune.

They're their priorities. If saving and making money were their priorities I'm sure they'd be doing that provided they're hard, or more importantly smart, workers. A lot of people who think they can't save money really could but they just have bad spending habits which are easy to fix with a bit of will power. A good example is people who go out for lunch everyday and spend at least €5, that all adds up and right there is an extra €100/m needlessly spent when they could prepare much better food and for cheaper at home and bring it in with them.

I take your point about small things adding up, but being a hard or smart or however you want to phrase it... worker doesn't always equate to riches no matter how frugal or canny a saver you are or how much you prioritise savings. Some jobs are great but just don't pay that well. The arts for example...ask me how I know :roll eyes: not in that area full time any more now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Single at 30, no commitments ,Very Bad!

Or maybe just wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭lcwill

You should check out Mr Money Mustache - a great blog about personal finance and financial independence. It is based in US but makes sense anywhere.

Saving 1000e a month is great - saving more than 50% of your income (as you seem to be doing) is even better. Very impressive.

Keep building your money pile but also get some targets. What do you want to do with your money - saving for a deposit, building a rainy day fund, pension? Depending what your plans are you can then decide whether you can invest it long term/forever (stocks)or short term/a few years (high interest savings account).

KBC do an instant access account offering 3.5% interest on regular savings of up to E1000 a month until you reach E50,000. Keep piling your E1000 a month into that and you might actually have some DIRT worth claiming back if you eventually buy a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Or maybe just wise.

Agreed.Whats with the world and people having to be tied downand married with kids before they turn 30,or ever for that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Emsloe

A couple of years older than you with around double your balance. Living with family at the moment and about to go back to work after caring for a sick relative for a few months. When I live by myself I can manage to save €1k -€1.5k a month with minimal misery.

No mortgage or kiddos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

retalivity wrote: »
    I am older than you and have less savings.

Rents a bitch.

Maybe rent a cheaper bitch. Or just have a **** instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭bilbot79

lcwill wrote: »
    You should check out Mr Money Mustache - a great blog about personal finance and financial independence. It is based in US but makes sense anywhere.

Saving 1000e a month is great - saving more than 50% of your income (as you seem to be doing) is even better. Very impressive.

Keep building your money pile but also get some targets. What do you want to do with your money - saving for a deposit, building a rainy day fund, pension? Depending what your plans are you can then decide whether you can invest it long term/forever (stocks)or short term/a few years (high interest savings account).

KBC do an instant access account offering 3.5% interest on regular savings of up to E1000 a month until you reach E50,000. Keep piling your E1000 a month into that and you might actually have some DIRT worth claiming back if you eventually buy a house.

dirt? Claim back? Wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Back in another lifetime people had to save a set amount each month for two years with the building society (banks did not offer mortgages back then) in order to be even considered for a mortgage.

If banks didn't do mortgages, how did they pay the bills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I have always been a saver, bit up and down. Really made a go at it this year started in Jan saving 1000€ per month. Have at this moment 5,000€ but my current account is 25€ so will be dipping in and with payday 3/4 weeks away. Basically savings went out the window, have a holiday this month so 500€ gone, then will try my hardest to budget really don't want to dip below 4,000€.

I'm 25, pay no rent at home, just have a car and me and the GF do things together. Would say two problems, need to give cash up at home and cut back on this unlimited socializing budget I seem to have.

I got paid last Tuesday and have spent 500€ so far on College deposit 100€, NCT 28€, Pizza/Food 50€, Ticket for GAA 15€, Car repairs 130€, Top up 20€.

Leaving 157€ spend on mainly drink and taxis I am guessing.

Think I will be sitting in till the holidays !