Road rage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Kind of a realy eye-opener IMO. You never know what another driver may be capable of!

The story with the man from Donegal was a real shocker I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

Im the sorta quiet road rager...You wont know you annoyed me usually but I will be sitting in my car calling you every word Im not allowed to post here :) If you happen to stop at the same shop as me or whatever I will bring it to your attention in a not so friendly manner (depending on the incident) but I wouldnt tail someone and beep after they did something silly. To me you are being just as dangerous as they were if not more so by doing that. Basically Im a road rager who doesnt rage :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭IamNotNumber

Yeah beep the horn ..then accelerate if they look mean..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Yep, it was all over the front page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

Yeah beep the horn ..then accelerate if they look mean..

Dont ever be afraid to use your horn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

Dont ever be afraid to use your horn.
    Have you seen the Onion thread Beetroot???

No

Im not compelled like yourself to post in every thread :pac:

Quite right, I understand. I did for it you. :pac: :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anything I say. What a wonderful philosophy you have. Take him away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It is always when you are in a hurry that you will get delayed by slow car, tractor and silage trailer or team sky.

But when you aren't in a hurry you don't take any notice of them even though they are still there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I've very bad road rage. It's crazy cos I'd never speak to anyone like that or use the language in my daily life that I use when I'm behind the wheel. One time a bus beeped at me and the driver pointed his two fingers to his eyes as in to say "open your eyes"; I misinterpreted this as him giving me the two fingers and I stuck mine up and said "fcuk you too!!!". My bf had to tell me what he actually meant. Oops hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭glynf

I get the rage a lot more here. :(

Last Tuesday; drove 330+ Km in Spain Barca to Valencia. Tipped along at 140 most of the way, witnessed two overtaking lane hoggers on the whole trip-whom the locals weren't long blasting off the road either...ended the journey calm & relaxed.

Today: drove from Wicklow to Belfast & back. By the time I got to Bray north I felt like punching babies. The amount of stupid, petty f**king lane hoggers, people with no spatial awareness, clowns on the phone with no concept about what's actually going on around them is nuts.

Flashed a few and blew the horn at one for a typical sloppy merging tactic-coming on to the motorway behind a lorry so cuts across two lanes into the overtaking lane at 95ish in front of me; doing 120ish...I mean what could possibly go wrong?

No wonder people get the rage with the amount of ignorant and just plain useless drivers on the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭dbit

Well lads , ill drop this little ditty here to see if i can get any comfort or advice.

Last Friday While entering a dual carrigway road via a slip road , I notice a blue civic very close behind me , As i drive along I wait for the traffic island to finish so that i can move right onto the main road , As i do this i notice the blue civic cut the island and dart for the over take lane behind me . I am still progressing into the overtake lane as the left lane has busy queueing traffic. As i complete the maneuver into the over take lane this guy is now up my hole lights flashing and his missus givin me the finger in the rear view. we continue along for about 2 miles with him up my ass and finger flipping me the whole way. The traffic then merges into one lane and in this spot often comes to a complete stop . I then see this nutter running from his car to mine , he gets to my window calls me every kind of name imagineable and then spits in my face. ( I wipe the spit from my face with my jumper sleeve) Car to my left sees what has happend and points me in to pull in , so i did . I got out of may car to go take a pic of the reg and then re-enter my car and call gardai. The Blue civic then pulls infront of me and they get out and hurl abuse at me while on the phone to 999. While i am reporting the incident , they then get in the car and drive off ( Also stated this on the 999 call) . Cops arrive and take my story . For three days they cannot contact the owner. I gave my statement yesterday ( Sunday) and then i get a call to say they drove to the next town and reported me for dangerous driving ????????

I was not able to take picture of them at the front of my car when they pulled in as i was on the phone to An garda Siochana ? They have said that they saw me dangerous driving and drove on to next town to report me and that they did not get out of the car or stop . ( Two pics i took clearly show them stopped and traffic moving on left of them - ie each pic has them in the same spot and diff cars on the left in each image , thus showing them stopped and cars moving on the left of them.)

Will An Garda use my jumper for the DNA evidence to prove this man did actually stop get out and spit on me ? I feel now that i do not have enough evidence and that Garda will not use the sleeve for the evidence ? IS there any way to force this to be checked ? as its my only way to prove what the driver did ?

I did give other registrations of cars in the pics to the gards but im being told by the gard "Ye ye they probably will not go as witness as they dont want to miss work to give evidence" ? The cop also made a haims of tracing down the owner and for three days told me i was the only person complaining then on sunday he tells me no no i got it wrong , I was checking the wrong owner ??? im like WTF something is up here . This cop even tried to dis courage me from pressing ahead road side when logging the incident .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Jesus, spit in the face. What a scumbag. What happened with the car on the left who motioned you to pull in? Did you speak to the driver at all. Maybe they'll give a statement for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

@dbit... to be honest, the gardai will do nothing here. As for being reported for dangerous driving, I wouldnt worry about it.. it wont go any further as the low life will have the burden of proof, of which he has none. Only reason you were reported is because he saw you taking photos and he is attempting to pre-empt any action you may be taking against him. As hard and all as it may seem, just forget about it.

Spitting isnt exactly assault.. its in same catagory as verbal abuse. The amount paperwork a garda would have to do wouldnt be worth the efforts here.

dbit wrote: »
    Will An Garda use my jumper for the DNA evidence to prove this man did actually stop get out and spit on me ? I feel now that i do not have enough evidence and that Garda will not use the sleeve for the evidence ? IS there any way to force this to be checked ? as its my only way to prove what the driver did ?

I did give other registrations of cars in the pics to the gards but im being told by the gard "Ye ye they probably will not go as witness as they dont want to miss work to give evidence" ? The cop also made a haims of tracing down the owner and for three days told me i was the only person complaining then on sunday he tells me no no i got it wrong , I was checking the wrong owner ??? im like WTF something is up here . This cop even tried to dis courage me from pressing ahead road side when logging the incident .

No one can tell you how it will go, but think the DNA testing a little unlikely.

Much will depend on the weight of evidence, so far it seems like 2 of them v 1 of you. Of course their story may fall apart when tested. I don't think the Gardai will trawl other car owners on the off chance they may have spotted something as they whizzed by, the one you should focus on is the fellow who was on your left and who saw it. As an independent witness, they could make all the difference.

Tracing car owners can be difficult, sometimes the address on the ownership information is not updated etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Do follow it up that advice to just let it go is terrible.

Push the Gardai to enforce action.

In my work this happens quite a lot and come across plenty of aggressive drivers.

Keep your jumper in a bag and don't touch it.
    Give the guard a chance and see if he will pursue and if not a nice letter to a higher ranking officer and ask why can this sort of assault go unpunished.

Do follow it up that advice to just let it go is terrible.

Push the Gardai to enforce action.

In my work this happens quite a lot and come across plenty of aggressive drivers.

Keep your jumper in a bag and don't touch it.
    Give the guard a chance and see if he will pursue and if not a nice letter to a higher ranking officer and ask why can this sort of assault go unpunished.

With all due respect, the chances of dna testing over a road rage incident that didnt involve a collision or injury would be zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭PolaroidPizza

I beeped at a car last week that flew up the bus lane. Turned out it was an unmarked garda car and he got out to give me an earful...I thought I was well within my rights for beepin at a car using a bus lane?
    Was too in shock to have argued the point there and then with him

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

I beeped at a car last week that flew up the bus lane. Turned out it was an unmarked garda car and he got out to give me an earful...I thought I was well within my rights for beepin at a car using a bus lane?

It's not your job to enforce the laws.......nothing to see here...move along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

With all due respect, the chances of dna testing over a road rage incident that didnt involve a collision or injury would be zero.

The other driver assaulted another.

He and the passenger are not a pair others would want to come across.

I would keep on top of the guard.

I had an incident no spitting but was followed by 2 woman and verbally abused also told they would have my job and have me arrested.

Now in my situation the Gardai followed it up and the 2 woman received a fine.

So was a good result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

was it an emergency? if not then you have no reason, or right, to sound your horn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

I used to get quite worked up on two wheels. Now that I'm in a car the whole experience is less death defying and I very rarely get excited.

The other driver assaulted another.

He and the passenger are not a pair others would want to come across.

I would keep on top of the guard.

I had an incident no spitting but was followed by 2 woman and verbally abused also told they would have my job and have me arrested.

Now in my situation the Gardai followed it up and the 2 woman received a fine.

So was a good result.

Myself and an off-duty garda who is a friend of mine, were in the Temple Bar one night when a couple of guriers tried to raise a row with him, in the end one of them turned and spat at him, landing on the side of his face. They got the land of their life when he produced the garda badge. My friend rang the local gardai who arrived and took the two guys away in the squad car. They were held for a few hours then released without charge after apologising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

was it an emergency? if not then you have no reason, or right, to sound your horn.

High horse brigade have arrived :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

fullstop wrote: »
    High horse brigade have arrived :rolleyes:

yeah i hate those people that obey the rules of the road, dont you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭bronn

Now and again I get road rage caused by one particular thing. You're driving along a dual carriageway / motorway late at night. I'm always in the left lane / "slow" lane, watchful of the speed and usually have cruise control on. Typically, I'm doing 100kph (maybe 120 on a motorway) and there's hardly any traffic around. Then I see it. Way off behind me, comes the glare of a tosser with the full beams on and they're getting closer at one hell of lick. Closer. And closer. I just know what's coming next. Yep, they drive right up my arse, overtake, and then pull in about two car lengths in front of me and hit the brakes. :mad:DIE IN HELL.:mad:

To counteract road rage around the city, I'm trying the "pay it forward" philosophy and much to my surprise... it works. I'll let someone out into traffic when I can, give someone the lights to cross in front of me, I even give buses the lights to pull out and give the wave back to the driver who always put their hand out to say thanks. I know! Then, when someone does the same for me, I acknowledge with a wave, flash of the lights or a quick blink of the hazards. I'm just trying it calm it down and for the most part, I find it a lot less stressful. I also have given up being an amateur traffic cop. If someone wants to be an ignorant gobsheen, have at it. I also keep this video in mind because you just never know what's coming down the road. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭dbit

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Jesus, spit in the face. What a scumbag. What happened with the car on the left who motioned you to pull in? Did you speak to the driver at all. Maybe they'll give a statement for you.

they moved on as traffic was slow but heavey , I did provide a reg number visible in the image of another car behind him he should have seen him leave his car and return and the gard said " Agh sure they probably wont give evidence as no one wants to miss work with court appearances"