Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E07 - The Gift - HAVE NOT READ the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

J. Marston wrote: »
    Tyene might not be able to fight but she has other talents. An amazing pair of talents.

Phenomenal talents...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

NOT READ THE BOOKS SO BELOW IS COMPLETE SPECULATION
    At what stage is The Mountain going to save Cersei?

the scene from the last series where Cersei asks that doctor dude who is helping him "will it weaken him?" to which he replies in a sisnister fashion "Oh no". Surely something has to come of that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Tomfla

Am I the only person who was disappointed with Brienne's exit.

Good hard hitting TV when it was revealed but I thought she might have a bigger say. Also is her squire a gonner as well or did he part ways with the big girl already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

gimmick wrote: »
    NOT READ THE BOOKS SO BELOW IS COMPLETE SPECULATION
    At what stage is The Mountain going to save Cersei?

the scene from the last series where Cersei asks that doctor dude who is helping him "will it weaken him?" to which he replies in a sisnister fashion "Oh no". Surely something has to come of that???

Trial by combat probably if he is ready, be funny if they merge trials into Ser loras vs the Mountain visiting the duel in season one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Tomfla wrote: »

Good hard hitting TV when it was revealed but I thought she might have a bigger say. Also is her squire a gonner as well or did he part ways with the big girl already

What are you talking about? The only shot of Brienne in this episode was of her watching the derelict tower for Sansa's signal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,543 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It wasn't Brienne that Ramsey had flayed, it was the old woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭James74

...Brienne's exit.

eh? Did I miss something? Was that not the auld doll hung up & skinned? Did we not see Brienne watching and waiting for the candle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭dloob

Jon Snow was staring at that boy a lot. I wonder was he confused by the maester's "kill the boy" and thinking hang on did he mean that boy :)

Clear something up for me. Was that not Brienne burned alive last night. Weak took the candle and went straight to his master. They then sent out the heavy lads to deal with her.

What old woman do ye think it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Clear something up for me. Was that not Brienne burned alive last night. Weak took the candle and went straight to his master. They then sent out the heavy lads to deal with her.

No it was the old lady that passed Brienne's message about the candle to Sansa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,543 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It was the old lady who told Sansa to light a candle in the broken tower as she still had friends in the North. And she was flayed, not burnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

it was the old woman who told Sansa to light the candle if she needed help in the last episode

Ramsay went on about "how tough she was" and "we breed 'em tough in the north" etc

Brienne is not from the North

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

There was an old woman who said the north remembers and she still has friends to Sansa, if she ever needed help she should light the candle. Thats the woman who was killed. Brienne is just having a camping trip nearby.

Oaky, fair enough then. I thought it was Brienne.

TBH I reckon the big girl will still have a huge role to play. I also thought it was the only time this season that they carried an unexpected twist. No one seems to be pulling strokes any more.

Other that Cerci getting the hairy chested nutjob to do her dirty work, which was always going to backfire considering the dogs on the street know she bore illegitimate children to her brother

Eh , that was not brienne. His name is Reek and the old woman was the chamber lady that had been talking to sansa who said to light a candle at the old tower if she needed help. Oh and she was not burned she was flayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Who was the guy who appeared at the end of the episode beside the High Sparrow and what does he have on Cersei?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭ashdale5

Chesty08 wrote: »
    Who was the guy who appeared at the end of the episode beside the High Sparrow and what does he have on Cersei?

He's Cercei's cousin and they were getting it on earlier in the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭golfball37

Daario in his pillow talk says to Khaleesi that she is marrying the leader of the Sons of Harpy and she doesn't blink, as though she knows this?

If this turns out to be true it was crucial info very casually arrived at or did I miss something??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

golfball37 wrote: »
    Daario in his pillow talk says to Khaleesi that she is marrying the leader of the Sons of Harpy and she doesn't blink, as though she knows this?

If this turns out to be true it was crucial info very casually arrived at or did I miss something??

It was fairly obvious no? Remember when she threw one of the masters to her dragons, the other masters all knelt at Hizdahrs feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭golfball37

It was fairly obvious no? Remember when she threw one of the masters to her dragons, the other masters all knelt at Hizdahrs feet.

I missed that one I must say, I wouldn't mind I watched that episode twice. Bad form not to mention it however. Surely if Dany had the leader in captivity the whole thing could have been ended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Mormegil

golfball37 wrote: »

He then admits he's speaking out of jealousy, and doesn't know anything for sure.

The attacks have stopped since she agreed to marry Hizdar but they have also therefore stopped since she threatened all the heads of the powerful families with being eaten by Dragons.

Hizdar (if he is the leader) may have stopped the attacks as he has got what he wants but it could just as easily be that one of the other heads of Families is the Leader and he's stopped the attacks cause he's scared of being roasted and eaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Very good episode, Cerci isn't finished yet by any stretch of the imagination I feel, she has been caught but I wouldn't count her out, and no I don't know for sure I wouldn't have time to read the books.

Stannis has a serious question to ask himself there, that is an intriguing plot, she really could have told him earlier of that requirement of blood to win the battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I thought that Dornish girl was pretty hot before last night's episode, but holy christ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Mormegil wrote: »
    Olyvar is the young man he gave to Cersei though and I think (without rewatching) that he says he has a different young man as a gift for Olenna.

A lot of people think it is Lancel that Littlefinger is talking about but if that is the case he's taking credit for something he had nothing to do with (not the first time) as Lancel had confesssed his sins to the High Sparrow long before.

Another possibility for the young man Littlefinger is offering to Olenna is Gendry. Olenna could offer the High Sparrow Gendry to crown as the new King. A son of a previous King but still a common man who would in theory have the interests of the small folk in mind.

Marge once freed would not doubt get a quick divorce (If Tommen hasn't been executed for being a child of Incest) and Marry newly crowned King Gendry the First. :D

I'm not sure when Littlefinger had the time to acquire Gendry so quietly, what with all the travelling, scheming and self-widowing he had been up to.You couldn't put it past him, though. It's be foolish to put anything past Littlefinger. It'd be a welcome return to the show.

Problem with the King Gendry theory is that if Cersei's children are widely accepted as the products of incest this makes Stannis the undeniably rightful king and could send a lot of support his way. It could cause havoc to try and crowbar an illegitimate and unknown bastard like Gendry onto the throne. Stannis has a long, bloody history with the Tyrells, he is unlikely to be positively disposed to them considering his nature. The Tyrells would still be a lot better off with Tommen on the throne than giving Stannis a massive legitimacy boost.

I think there may be a third possibility as regards the "young man". It could be Robin Arryn. Littlefinger may be offering him in marriage to house Tyrell to form an alliance with the Vale that could threaten the Lannisters. Or, being Littlefinger, it could be a double cross as part of some wider plan.

Who knows with Littlefinger? It's fascinating watching his power and influence
    grow in every season as he skillfully plays every side against each other. Varys had him nailed when he described him as "the most dangerous man in Westeros".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

One of my favourite lines of the entire show was Varys saying about Littlefinger (I'm paraphrasing) "He would gladly see The Seven Kingdoms burn if it meant he could be ruler of the ashes." We got a taste of that last season but this year Littlefinger really has been lighting a lot of matches.

So many scenarios running through my head of the saga in kings landing , first time this series thats happened. I have this hunch there is going to be a play on tommen where is going to have to choose between his mum or margery and at least the threat of being "legally" put of the throne comes into.

I would be some craic if he was ousted, with the "rightful" heir about to lay seige way up north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

One of my favourite lines of the entire show was Varys saying about Littlefinger (I'm paraphrasing) "He would gladly see The Seven Kingdoms burn if it meant he could be ruler of the ashes." We got a taste of that last season but this year Littlefinger really has been lighting a lot of matches.
    Speaking of which, what's happened to Varys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

seligehgit wrote: »
    Speaking of which, what's happened to Varys?

or thorys of myr, or gendry, or bran and hodor, or rickon and aysha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

duploelabs wrote: »
    or thorys of myr, or gendry, or bran and hodor, or rickon and aysha

Thoros of Myr: Missing in action.
    Gendry: Row, row, row your boat.
    Bran: In a tree with the man/tree hybrid very far north.
    Hodor: Hodor?
    Rickon & Asha: With the Umbers.

I'm actually convinced that Rickon has a big part to play still. He's being hidden by the Umbers and he's male so he would rank ahead of Sansa in terms of being the heir to Winterfell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

J. Marston wrote: »
    Thoros of Myr: Missing in action.
    Gendry: Row, row, row your boat.
    Bran: In a tree with the man/tree hybrid very far north.
    Hodor: Hodor?
    Rickon & Asha: With the Umbers.

I'm actually convinced that Rickon has a big part to play still. He's being hidden by the Umbers and he's male so he would rank ahead of Sansa in terms of being the heir to Winterfell.

Surely Bran makes him somewhat irrelevant? I'm assuming Bran has a large part to play yet.