Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Interestingly, most Limerick people around me felt we were hard done by with the ref's decision; I did think Clare were doing a lot of pulling & dragging which didn't get whistled on. Limerick were probably at the same but the referee really didn't have control of the game.

I would have been very pissed off with that '65 though, that was definitely a wide and Dowling slotted it which proved crucial in the end. I guess whining over little things is seen as small but every score was going to be crucial, and that was a shocking decision by the umpire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

So you can understand why Davy was frustrated and he was right to give out

As a neutral I didn't see any great bias from the ref. There could've been a little more added time at the end but there were no unusual stoppages. Whatever credit Davy had for past achievements must be nearly fully depleted by now. This bunker mentality for each after match interview is getting tiresome. The facts are that Clare still haven't won a championship game since 2013. They might have a few guys to return, but that's no guarantee they'll be the difference next time out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Interestingly, most Limerick people around me felt we were hard done by with the ref's decision; I did think Clare were doing a lot of pulling & dragging which didn't get whistled on. Limerick were probably at the same but the referee really didn't have control of the game.

I would have been very pissed off with that '65 though, that was definitely a wide and Dowling slotted it which proved crucial in the end. I guess whining over little things is seen as small but every score was going to be crucial, and that was a shocking decision by the umpire.

There was also the free in the second half which looked to be clearly wide and the same umpire hadn't a clue and decided to give it as a point.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

niallo27 wrote: »
    There was also the free in the second half which looked to be clearly wide and the same umpire hadn't a clue and decided to give it as a point.

It was a point as the Sunday game showed, but 100% agree that umpire had no idea. The amount of them that don't have the cop on to stand in the optimal position to judge the flight of a ball is absolutely mind boggling. You can move from right beside the post if needs be lads.

Though ref not great overall but not in favour of any team really, I though one or two very soft frees in the first half for Limerick were balanced out by one or two blatent fouls in scorable positions by us in the second half that we got away with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

marco_polo wrote: »
    It was a point as the Sunday game showed, but 100% agree that umpire had no idea. The amount of them that don't have the cop on to stand in the optimal position to judge the flight of a ball is absolutely mind boggling. You can move from right beside the post if needs be lads.

Though ref not great overall but not in favour of any team really, I though one or two very soft frees in the first half for Limerick were balanced out by one or two blatent fouls in scorable positions by us in the second half that we got away with.

This. People remember the dodgy frees given as opposed to blatent ones let go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Dien

The Clare hurlers have been my "second team" for a good while now, but the two most sickening incidents I've seen in hurling this year have come from the same Clare player..There is a s**t storm being kicked up in the football counties at the moment regarding mouthing off to an opponent, and rightly so after some of the things that are said, but in the hurling world we tend to ignore some glaring problems. Hitting the deck like a bag of s***e to get a man sent off is common place in some other sports but it's creeping in to our beloved game. Pat O Conner is a fine hurler but he is letting himself, Clare and hurling itself down by feigning a belt. He's not the only one but after today he's the most consistent one. What would Lohan, Seanie, Lynch etc think of it?

I'd love to know what the Clare supporters think of his antics. Are the old values of hurling going to be lost (hurl hard, hurl fair and may the best team win), or are we going to go the way of soccer where a game loses it's soul and it's all about the dramatics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Carazy

Dien wrote: »
    The Clare hurlers have been my "second team" for a good while now, but the two most sickening incidents I've seen in hurling this year have come from the same Clare player..There is a s**t storm being kicked up in the football counties at the moment regarding mouthing off to an opponent, and rightly so after some of the things that are said, but in the hurling world we tend to ignore some glaring problems. Hitting the deck like a bag of s***e to get a man sent off is common place in some other sports but it's creeping in to our beloved game. Pat O Conner is a fine hurler but he is letting himself, Clare and hurling itself down by feigning a belt. He's not the only one but after today he's the most consistent one. What would Lohan, Seanie, Lynch etc think of it?

I'd love to know what the Clare supporters think of his antics. Are the old values of hurling going to be lost (hurl hard, hurl fair and may the best team win), or are we going to go the way of soccer where a game loses it's soul and it's all about the dramatics?
    Its been around for years, remember Niall Moran rolling around like he was taken out by a sniper in 2008 in the final seconds of the match. I had rated Niall Moran prior to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Pat O Conner is a fine hurler but he is letting himself, Clare and hurling itself down by feigning a belt. He's not the only one but after today he's the most consistent one. What would Lohan, Seanie, Lynch etc think of it?

Before having a go at Pat O'Connor, first let me drive the butt of my hurley into your rib cage, and then we can continue the discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Before having a go at Pat O'Connor, first let me drive the butt of my hurley into your rib cage, and then we can continue the discussion

Pretty sure he didn't even make contact, it wasn't as if he led with the Hurley, stupid to get involved but bad form from the Clare player who started the shouldering and then dived to get a lad sent off, Conor Ryan 'celebrating' the red too...classy team in the mould of their manager...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Carazy

Did Donal O'Grady really need to be stretchered off yesterday?

Mehapoy wrote: »
    Pretty sure he didn't even make contact, it wasn't as if he led with the Hurley, stupid to get involved but bad form from the Clare player who started the shouldering and then dived to get a lad sent off, Conor Ryan 'celebrating' the red too...classy team in the mould of their manager...

Certainly looked like contact to me ( and to the referee who didn't hesitate with the red card).

And note there's a difference between shouldering, and striking with the hurley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The referee wasn't biased in favour of either team, but he had no control of the game and some of his decisions were baffling.

There were frees given for nothing while blatant fouls from both teams were ignored.

Sideline cuts and 65s were wrongly awarded and when the fight broke out at the end of the first half, the referee didn't even make any attempt to break it up. There should have been more than just one card given there

There are few things that destroy the fluidity of a game more than inconsistent refereeing.

That said, Clare didn't deserve to win yesterday. We had too many wides, the strategy was all wrong. Fitzy must take the blame for this. In the first 10 minute of the second half, we were playing long balls to the forwards from the puck out and almost scoring at will. When limerick went down to 14 men, they retreated back to 'the system' of short balls to the mid field with nobody playing on the wings or full forward line and we were getting crucified by long range frees from the inevitable fouling in an overcrowded midfield

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Mehapoy wrote: »
    I had a limerick lad sitting behind me roaring good boy Paddy Donnelan every time Limerick got a point in the second half, some class there alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Carazy wrote: »
    Did Donal O'Grady really need to be stretchered off yesterday?

BandageGate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭billo.d86

Ya you have a fair point it was a soft one to go down for. I agree with the sole purpose of hoping the ref would even the score on reds. Which was set-up by Donal O Grady feigning injury, a bandage on the top of his head when he got hit in the chin. And not hard either. But that aside I'm sick of it looking like we are whinging about free's and ref's.

Yes the ref was all over the shop and had a poor game, but what really got me was the line ball was clearly kicked out by the Limerick man, but they got the sideline and got the winning score from it.

Are Clare an overly dirty team, no, do the foul persistently, I think so. But a few things have to looked at for games of these magnitude.

The first real game of the summer championship should not be reffed by a novice.
    Hawkeye needs to be everywhere or no where, it is not good enough that it is not in the big grounds, surely Thurles is considered the second best stadium in the country.

Clare have now got a reputation for fouling and the need to shake it fast or there will be no more bonfires.

Akrasia wrote: »
    The referee wasn't biased in favour of either team, but he had no control of the game and some of his decisions were baffling.

There were frees given for nothing while blatant fouls from both teams were ignored.

Sideline cuts and 65s were wrongly awarded and when the fight broke out at the end of the first half, the referee didn't even make any attempt to break it up. There should have been more than just one card given there

There are few things that destroy the fluidity of a game more than inconsistent refereeing.

That said, Clare didn't deserve to win yesterday. We had too many wides, the strategy was all wrong. Fitzy must take the blame for this. In the first 10 minute of the second half, we were playing long balls to the forwards from the puck out and almost scoring at will. When limerick went down to 14 men, they retreated back to 'the system' of short balls to the mid field with nobody playing on the wings or full forward line and we were getting crucified by long range frees from the inevitable fouling in an overcrowded midfield

Ya have to agree with you on nearly everything there. The was way too green for a game like that, everything he did down to runners instead of boots was odd :) But seriously he was a ll over the place, strange free's for nothing others let go, there was no flow to the game and it eventually spilled over into frustration with the row. He actually blew for half time, which couldn't have been a worse call, forcing em down the tunnel together while rowing. He ruined the game with his constant whistle blowing there was no flow. If this is how hurling is to be reffed i worry for the game.

Davy's biggest mistake was allowing Domhall O Donovan on the pitch for so long when he clearly could not live with Cian Lynch, he was too slow and could not handle him, Lynch was Limerick out ball all game. He could have been shut down with a simple sub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Fairly embarassing for DO'G to be tapped on the chin (red card i agree with) but for them then to put a bandage on his head that wasnt even bleeding? This feigning of injuries has been creeping in for a while but bandaging up false injuries is a new one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Dien

Has happened me plenty of times, and miraculously I'm still alive! Will you also defend him going to ground and holding his face against Tipp when Callanan made no contact with him at all? It's a problem that is creeping into hurling that has the potential to destroy the game. That may sound OTT, but the physical side of hurling is every bit as important as the skills on show, it's the combination of the two that gives us the best sport on earth. Do we want a game where players are afraid to make contact with the opposition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Cu Baire

Connorzee wrote: »
    Fairly embarassing for DO'G to be tapped on the chin (red card i agree with) but for them then to put a bandage on his head that wasnt even bleeding? This feigning of injuries has been creeping in for a while but bandaging up false injuries is a new one...
    Are you saying that the paramedics on duty were in on some conspiracy by Limerick to feign injury even though the Clare player was already sent off before the bandage was applied? Anyway the linesman had a good view of the incident and Donnellan was going to be sent off even if O Grady stayed standing which would have been difficult after an uppercut under the chin.
    There was a cut, there was bleeding but it was not major and was sorted at half time in the dressing room.
    Clare have been let down by indiscipline in their last 3 championship games so the camp have enough embarrassment from their own without pointing fingers across the river.

Has happened me plenty of times, and miraculously I'm still alive! Will you also defend him going to ground and holding his face against Tipp when Callanan made no contact with him at all? It's a problem that is creeping into hurling that has the potential to destroy the game. That may sound OTT, but the physical side of hurling is every bit as important as the skills on show, it's the combination of the two that gives us the best sport on earth. Do we want a game where players are afraid to make contact with the opposition?

Well POC is still alive too. But at the time he felt it.

Are you referring to the league game when Callanan hit him in the face ?

Listen, I'm not trying to defend diving, or your Aidan O'Mahony types pretending to be hit when not even touched.

But when a lad genuinely takes a heavy blow, they feel it.

Hurling is a physical game with lots of contact, but some contact is legal, some isn't.

POC took a clothesline early on as well from Lynch. However there was no red card as Lynch was just over vigorous in contesting the ball. A clear foul, but just one of those things that happens in a physical sport.

From a Clare point of view it's irrelevant, it was a clear red card offence.

What the hell was Donnellan thinking

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I'd be thinking that when the helmet was pushed up that it did the damage to the top of the head, not that hard to happen considering most players would be wearing modified Cooper helmets and wouldn't be fitting right.

Cu Baire wrote: »
    Are you saying that the paramedics on duty were in on some conspiracy by Limerick to feign injury even though the Clare player was already sent off before the bandage was applied? Anyway the linesman had a good view of the incident and Donnellan was going to be sent off even if O Grady stayed standing which would have been difficult after an uppercut under the chin.
    There was a cut, there was bleeding but it was not major and was sorted at half time in the dressing room.
    Clare have been let down by indiscipline in their last 3 championship games so the camp have enough embarrassment from their own without pointing fingers across the river.

Nah not having that. He went down like a sack of spuds it was embarassing, without a doubt he was hit in the face. Not the top of the head, he looked like Christy Ring with the bandage, one of the oldest tricks in the book. Put the bandage on make it look like he's kilt! :)

POC went down looking to get Tobin send off, no doubt in my mind. But as someone said earlier, Lynch planted POC in the first 2mins and ref just gave a free out.

The fact is hurling is a contact sport, people get hit and people get hurt, the best hurling matches are the ones let to flow. 5mins of mayhem and it then is about the skill. Hurling is not a cynical as football and if we start letting diving into it we are in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

billo.d86 wrote: »
    Nah not having that. He went down like a sack of spuds it was embarassing, without a doubt he was hit in the face. Not the top of the head, he looked like Christy Ring with the bandage, one of the oldest tricks in the book. Put the bandage on make it look like he's kilt! :)

POC went down looking to get Tobin send off, no doubt in my mind. But as someone said earlier, Lynch planted POC in the first 2mins and ref just gave a free out.

The fact is hurling is a contact sport, people get hit and people get hurt, the best hurling matches are the ones let to flow. 5mins of mayhem and it then is about the skill. Hurling is not a cynical as football and if we start letting diving into it we are in trouble.

The player was already sent off before the bandage went on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Vanolder wrote: »

Absolutely he had to go it' was a dangerous tackle and anything to the face or head has to get red as it must be stamped out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

Did you conduct the medical examination yourself to ascertain that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Anyone know how is Tony Kelly after hobbling off yesterday? Lets hope its nothing serious

marco_polo wrote: »

Mulcahy even admitted that it was wide after the game so i dont what the hell you were looking at

We need to stop playing the sweeper system all the time, we are good enough to let go

Vanolder wrote: »

I'm not saying the bandage got him sent off Donnellan deserved to go it was wild and reckless swinging like he did. I'm saying going down like a sack of spuds like DO'G did when he wasn't hit as bad as he made out, he was feigning injury IMO. There was contact but it wasn't as bad as was made out.

It was the limerick medical staff who the bandages on, not the paramedics. St.Johns ambulance come on to the field when asked by the teams medical staff.