Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Feed of sausages and coffee then away to knock as much as I can. Got some knocked after milking yesterday will be tedded today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Feed of sausages and coffee then away to knock as much as I can. Got some knocked after milking yesterday will be tedded today

I think I'll poisen myself if I get in a tractor now. The smell coming outa me is not natural :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I think I'll poisen myself if I get in a tractor now. The smell coming outa me is not natural :eek:

Drink?

Contractor got half way through cutting when a big dirty shower hit :mad:
    Another hour and we'd hAve been grand.
    He abandoned it and will finish at lunchtime today

Showers are really localised. Bone dry here all day

Reggie. wrote: »
    Showers are really localised. Bone dry here all day

Mizzle all morning at home, dry as a bone here in KK lovely warm drying wind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Thanks reggae. I feel sooooo much better now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

No rain here in east Wicklow last night
    Not a lot on it (Timmay's quantity would put me to shame) but only want to fill one pit as we have 1 and a half first cut from last year,left over and do ya know what today's stuff is dry and lovely and leafy
    'Twas grazed until March 31st
    Phone won't upload a video,so a pic may do
    Hoping to pick up tomorrow and Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Miname wrote: »
    Still trying to convince the old man to mow here, it's for sucklers so doesn't need to be exceptional stuff but he still wants quantity.

Did you ring the boss man to book yourself in yet!!

Thanks reggae. I feel sooooo much better now!

Hey I'm all about the morale of the troops :D

Not sure wheather to laugh or cry. Guy following Tedder just walked across the fields to me in a panic that a clock had gone high in tractor. He was telling me it was temp, I went to check it was the diesel gauge :):):(:(

Only for H&S I'd send for my 10 yo to do the job

I'm still laughing as he's an absolute cow man hating every minute of tractor work but in fairness he volunteered to get the job done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

Not sure wheather to laugh or cry. Guy following Tedder just walked across the fields to me in a panic that a clock had gone high in tractor. He was telling me it was temp, I went to check it was the diesel gauge :):):(:(

Only for H&S I'd send for my 10 yo to do the job

I'm still laughing as he's an absolute cow man hating every minute of tractor work but in fairness he volunteered to get the job done

Should have gave me a call. At home cutting the lawn and sitting down now for Sunday roast.

dzer2 wrote: »
    Should have gave me a call. At home cutting the lawn and sitting down now for Sunday roast.

2 pits to cover Wed pm, oh you're busy are you?;);)

Where you based? Near KK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

C0N0R wrote: »
    Did you ring the boss man to book yourself in yet!!

Booking with your man can be hit and miss. Is he under pressure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

sean1141 wrote: »
    We usually stack them on the ends just to have a thicker layer of plastic on top. It helps with birds and cats walking across them

I get you. Had a triple whammy of visitors this winter: rats, cats, and starlings. This will hopefully sort 2 is the three out
    8uA4fx.jpg

I've placed 3 of these between bales and 1 on a run route of the rats.

Mowed this stuff last night. Looks great quality. More 18 6 12 and cut in 6 wks
    TXgUsw.png
    BxBrQI.png

Now gg, there's no place for silage porn like that on this thread :D

just do it wrote: »
    Now gg, there's no place for silage porn like that on this thread :D

I beg to differ

Don't bother dzer. I offered myself aswell but looks like he rather get uninterested men so that he can complain about them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

2 pits to cover Wed pm, oh you're busy are you?;);)

Where you based? Near KK?

About 13 miles north of KK.
    Wednesday getting the hair curled

GG, how many bags of 18-6-12 will you put out for next cut in 6 wks?

About 13 miles north of KK.
    Wednesday getting the hair curled

Not far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,808 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cow Porter wrote: »
    picking up later today, not great drying yesterday but escaped any rain last night thank god.

this is our first year in a while getting all ground grazed in spring and cutting before bank holiday weekend. hopefully will test out good. one field was starting to head out but the rest looked good. fellas need to be making at least some best quality forage not just for winter milkers but to milk cows to 305 days, cant see why you'd dry off an april calver in december unless youll only be milking a small number.

frazz, mahoney and stan can ye post up what yer silage ground plans would be from early in the year, ie graze first? closing date, units of n, latest slurry application, sulphur??? ground here got 70 units in early april

As follows
    2/2500 gallons tower slurry soon as possible after slurry window opens,I bag urea early feb graze mid February and further 2500 gallons ,after that I leave myself the option of grazing again.3 bags of 18 6 12 with 5% sulphur out before paddys day .then either graze again or top up with 0.75 bag of urea and close .target cutting either for pit or bales from 15 May to 25 May.2500 to 3k gallons tower slurry then with trailing shoe and 2 bags 18 6 12 as last split of fertiliser in late August no second cut just stay pulling out bales through summer.all silage ground gets 2 tonne ground lime every 3 years .95% of whole farm reseeded in last 6 years and think that by keeping ph and indexes correct I should get 7/10 years out of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

+1 another 10 wagons and done on home farm. Off to knock out farm them, great settled forecast. I recon lads are waiting for rain :)

You should've called were within a few miles of us, you took the scenic route

I was thinking about this since you posted it and I reckon you're wrong about them waiting for rain. The bank holiday weekend is coming and they're aware of their civic duty and they know it's up to them to protect the young fellas of the country from themselves by making sure it's well past dark before the wagons stop on Saturday night and even at that those lads can't really chance tying one on because they'll have to be back in the cab early Sunday morning.

just do it wrote: »
    GG, how many bags of 18-6-12 will you put out for next cut in 6 wks?

Going to go with 3/ 3.5 bags again jdi. That will be my phosphate allowance used up then.
    Whole farm going to get bag if k in fall and silage ground will get 2 bags and then 2 bags of 15 10 10 in spring and fert topped up then

Just had a look at what silage we dropped yesterday has shrunk very little and is very dry even with being in swards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Miname wrote: »
    Booking with your man can be hit and miss. Is he under pressure

Not massive pressure, get the speak in quick if your interested though, early week getting full I'd say

I was thinking about this since you posted it and I reckon you're wrong about them waiting for rain. The bank holiday weekend is coming and they're aware of their civic duty and they know it's up to them to protect the young fellas of the country from themselves by making sure it's well past dark before the wagons stop on Saturday night and even at that those lads can't really chance tying one on because they'll have to be back in the cab early Sunday morning.

Lol, social guardians

Well feck them all, we'll be done and dusted by Wed pm and I'm heading down your country Sat night for Tramore Races and I heard something about a stag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Joining the silage crew here as well. Mowed this evening, tedd tomo rake and bale tues. Fingers crossed for the weather!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭visatorro

wonder is there many lads still using grouper. old contractor just used to fire the rows on top of each other. he had no rake and was abit of a bully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Back at grass yesterday after play was stopped for rain