Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

just do it wrote:
    Done and dusted, last 7 bales got a sprinkle of drizzle and light rain set in soon after. Phew!

Out of interest why don't you stack them on the ends?

Picked up 35 acres with a local contractors today.. that trailer work is a young lads game! I'm in bits after it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

sean1141 wrote: »
    Out of interest why don't you stack them on the ends?

Picked up 35 acres with a local contractors today.. that trailer work is a young lads game! I'm in bits after it!

We're you driving a wreck?

99 new Holland 8560

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

mahoney_j wrote: »
    25% many little more ,top will be fine but middle of swarth damp,grass cut this early needs to be Tedded .all conditioner dose is fluff swarth up ,don't see point.contractor here runs 3 butterfly mowers with no conditioners .local dealer here has seen huge demand for 4 and 6 rotor tendders this year and struggled to keep up with demand.big swing to high quality high dm silage here with lads going for less bulk and more quality

Yeh thinking that 25% the most I can expect, looking under the swards tonight it's still quite damp and unlikely to improve much more. But anyways Yeh fully agree, we are stocked too high here to be wasting time on a full 1st cut which takes 2wks at least to recover after cutting, my local contractor is priced reasonable but basic setup, no tedder/rakes etc and charges us per acre (which is part why my dad wants quantity). Moving forward I'll probably be considering a wagon on a per load bases, but we don't have a mower, tedder rake etc, and I ain't a fan of splashing out on machinery, esp if it only gets used for 5 days a year. Plenty of back of the envelope figures to be done. Meanwhile also, I need to ditch the autumn milk because any cow who calves here in the autumn is almost guaranteed to milk 1000l or so less than her equivalent spring comrade, 25dm silage doesn't cut it for a HO on full whack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yeh thinking that 25% the most I can expect, looking under the swards tonight it's still quite damp and unlikely to improve much more. But anyways Yeh fully agree, we are stocked too high here to be wasting time on a full 1st cut which takes 2wks at least to recover after cutting, my local contractor is priced reasonable but basic setup, no tedder/rakes etc and charges us per acre (which is part why my dad wants quantity). Moving forward I'll probably be considering a wagon on a per load bases, but we don't have a mower, tedder rake etc, and I ain't a fan of splashing out on machinery, esp if it only gets used for 5 days a year. Plenty of back of the envelope figures to be done. Meanwhile also, I need to ditch the autumn milk because any cow who calves here in the autumn is almost guaranteed to milk 1000l or so less than her equivalent spring comrade, 25dm silage doesn't cut it for a HO on full whack.

Cut last years receed Thursday night ,not baling until Monday morning ,is this too long ,spread out today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭visatorro

not tedding out here either. getting excited with a Tedder or rake brings clay up into the sward which isn't right either. butterfly conditioner mower, and 30 ft rake then. precision chop. moving away from wagon for a few different reasons. hopefully it will all work out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,809 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

MIKEKC wrote: »
    Cut last years receed Thursday night ,not baling until Monday morning ,is this too long ,spread out today

All my pit silage knocked this afternoon ,Tedded today ,tomorrow and before dinner Monday ,raked and pitted from 3 o click Monday .turn again tomorrow ,it'll be fine ..over 100 bales already in bank from surplus paddocks and Italian cut mid April ..not gettin whole crop this year and will chase highest possible 2/4 bale per acre surplus bales for milkers

visatorro wrote: »
    not tedding out here either. getting excited with a Tedder or rake brings clay up into the sward which isn't right either. butterfly conditioner mower, and 30 ft rake then. precision chop. moving away from wagon for a few different reasons. hopefully it will all work out!

Why move away from wagon,would love to switch but current contractor would throw a hissy fit !!cows much prefer the longer chop of bales or wagon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

visatorro wrote: »

Can't see us returning choppe silage any time soon. Love wagon silage, working well for a few yrs now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

After getting fierce warm out here in cork, wouldn't be surprised if there will be a few thunder showers over nite.

Milked out wrote: »
    After getting fierce warm out here in cork, wouldn't be surprised if there will be a few thunder showers over nite.

Yer welcome to them,don't want any till Tuesday !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭visatorro

mahoney_j wrote:
    Why move away from wagon,would love to switch but current contractor would throw a hissy fit !!cows much prefer the longer chop of bales or wagon

silage pits are too small for the volume I need. the wagon silage takes up more space. so the last few loads don't get a proper tramping. it also takes half the time, which means I can start at seven Monday morning and have pit covered at seven that evening. I personally don't see the cows having a preference, but I take your point. precision is easier on the diet feeder aswell ( although that thing could be sold this summer too). my contractor does both. his customers mostly going back to precision.
    saying that in 2012 when fields were wet the wagon was the only way to travel in fields so they could be back here again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mahoney_j wrote: »
    25% many little more ,top will be fine but middle of swarth damp,grass cut this early needs to be Tedded .all conditioner dose is fluff swarth up ,don't see point.contractor here runs 3 butterfly mowers with no conditioners .local dealer here has seen huge demand for 4 and 6 rotor tendders this year and struggled to keep up with demand.big swing to high quality high dm silage here with lads going for less bulk and more quality

Well mj all I can tell you is we made alot of 40 dm and 36 dm silage last yr apart from one piece that got rained on

Wtf did you do? Did you rupture the bed?

Ye hit a stone which bent a blade and sliced the bed. Dad managed to build it back it. She lost some amount of oil I'd have said the bed lost very little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Out of interest why don't you stack them on the ends
    Can't see how it would affect quality and this way is easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Glanbia are offering €16 a litre guaranteed for liquid milk contract
    No winter bonus on it for anyone buying

just do it wrote:
    Can't see how it would affect quality and this way is easier.

We usually stack them on the ends just to have a thicker layer of plastic on top. It helps with birds and cats walking across them

Jeez dout well be buying any so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

99 new Holland 8560

Not to worst to be driving, handy gears and a reasonable seat, slow as a funeral on the road though.

I feel your pain just about getting our man to rake it, last year it went wet into 20ft swards. Some Craic trying to milk over winter with it. Going to try get someone to Ted it this year, guy I work for probably going to be to busy to do it but seems to be a few about with tedders. Plan is mow Monday lift Tuesday or so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,985 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

hope to cut towards the end of the week , will also do some bales, grass flying here now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

Jez the weather for the next 7 days isn't lookin too hot

whelan2 wrote: »
    hope to cut towards the end of the week , will also do some bales, grass flying here now:)

Sorry to bust your bubble whelan but rain is back Wednesday night and rest of week not looking good,I'd go early in week,especially as your supplying winter milk and need quality feed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

But you can't sell any for 3yrs afterwards. I'm hoping to have no autumn calvers well before then. I'd take a June calver over an autumn calver now ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

picking up later today, not great drying yesterday but escaped any rain last night thank god.

this is our first year in a while getting all ground grazed in spring and cutting before bank holiday weekend. hopefully will test out good. one field was starting to head out but the rest looked good. fellas need to be making at least some best quality forage not just for winter milkers but to milk cows to 305 days, cant see why you'd dry off an april calver in december unless youll only be milking a small number.

frazz, mahoney and stan can ye post up what yer silage ground plans would be from early in the year, ie graze first? closing date, units of n, latest slurry application, sulphur??? ground here got 70 units in early april

Mowed this stuff last night. Looks great quality. More 18 6 12 and cut in 6 wks
    TXgUsw.png
    BxBrQI.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Robson99

Is that IRG gg?

Robson99 wrote: »
    Is that IRG gg?

It is in its 3rd yr now. Will be grazing this ground in 2 yrs time with milkers I hope. Going to stitch hybrid into in after 3rd cut. Be great Craic trying to keep it grazed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Serious grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Contractor got half way through cutting when a big dirty shower hit :mad:
    Another hour and we'd hAve been grand.
    He abandoned it and will finish at lunchtime today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Still trying to convince the old man to mow here, it's for sucklers so doesn't need to be exceptional stuff but he still wants quantity.