If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How do ye think Roscommon will vote in the Marriage Equality referendum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Pique

fair play to is, were the only crowd with a back bone to stand up to them

Next thing they'll be asking for women to have the vote :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,441 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Seriously though, I feel sorry for young LGBT Roscommon people.

Imagine walking down the street in your town/village knowing over half the people you pass (work with, go to college with, are related to) do not consider you worth treating equally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Roscommon should add "The Nasty County" to all their signs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭cuculainn

spurious wrote: »

Imagine walking down the street in your town/village knowing over half the people you pass (work with, go to college with, are related to) do not consider you worth treating equally?

Or imagine walking down any street in Ireland and knowing that on average over 38% of the people you pass (work with, go to college with, are related to) do not consider you worth treating equally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭gebbel

I must admit, as a Roscommon man who only visits the odd time, it's a bit mortifying to be the only county in Ireland to vote no. Looking at the graphic on the TV with the county in a red colour and all others green. You wouldn't want to care what others think about you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Quazzie wrote: »
    Roscommon showing themselves up being the only county to vote no.
    if you break Sligo-north Leitrim down, north Leitrim had a 51.3% NO vote not sure what about the percentage in the south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Suckler wrote: »
    As a side note - it just go to show that a persons vote does matter and can change outcomes. What was the turnout % in SW donegal?

Well.... no one vote changed the outcome in the above or any constituency. Still worth voting though.
    Invincible wrote: »
    51.4%
    South West Donegal only lost the vote by 33 votes!!

Eh, they won the vote.

Showing your colours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Patww79 wrote: »

No but I expect those voting to have the basics of what they were voting for or against.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

So Roscommon is now united with Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,521 ✭✭✭munster87

No but I expect those voting to have the basics of what they were voting for or against.

Why do you think he didn't have the basics? Because he voted differently to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

You do realise over 730k nationwide voted no

munster87 wrote: »
    Why do you think he didn't have the basics? Because he voted differently to you?

Simplifying the referedum to "fellas ridin other fellas" and "having the back bone to stand up to them" is enough stupidity shown for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

Pique wrote: »
    Are we going to be the bigoted county of Connacht?

I guess the answer to that is pretty clear....... :(

fair play to is, were the only crowd with a back bone to stand up to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

each to themselfs

Except clearly not. Clearly you want to decide for everyone else what they can or cannot do.

Glad it's passed nationwide. A proud day for our country, it's quite amazing to see how well received it is around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Addle

Addle wrote: »

That's pretty much how I see it. Everyone I've been speaking to was voting yes. I guess we're just outnumbered by old fogies that come out of the woodwork at times like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,037 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

each to themselfs but fellas riding other fellas is not my cup of tea

Are you still riding toys Tom, or have you managed to find someone that would ride you?

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056696339/1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Have any no voters from Roscommon publicly voiced their pride about the county voting no? Or is there a slight feeling of shame over it all now?

As I already said, 730k people voted no nationwide, do they feel shame? 17k if us here in Roscommon/Leitrim voted yes and are very happy with the outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Always wanted to see Roscommon put on the map, but not like this.
    I find it a great pity.

It is testimony to the tolerance, decency, and generosity of people in the county and 17,615 reasons to be proud where Yes Rossies are concerned. Of which I am one
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/it-s-not-easy-being-a-yes-roscommon-voter-post-referendum-1.2224140

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's an awful pity there aren't basic intelligence tests at polling stations.
    Not on, use a more civil tone henceforth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Lets not forget the hundreds of thousands who didn't bother their arse either way to vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Richard Bingham

You don't think you're being a little extreme?

I was socialising with gay people in the mid 90's at a time when most of the new liberals who voted Yes on Friday were still referring to them in terms which I found hard to listen to and won't repeat here, and I voted No on Friday. I treated gay people as equals before it was cool to do so. I have always felt that in a country which has such a high rate of suicide we should be more tolerant and more Christian towards everyone. Being homosexual has been a hard path and thankfully it should be a lot easier from now on.

The truth is that the behaviour of some of the Yes side has been disgraceful. The issue wasn't debated because any debate was guillotined by the Yes side who labelled anyone with a view which differed from theirs, as a bigot. This would be funny if it wasn't tragic. The ignorance of it is stupifying.

People can be accepting of something without being in favour of every decision which has to be made in relation to it. I'm in favour of more realistic speed limits on some of our roads, it doesn't mean I want speed limits abolished.

Marriage isn't the only thing gay people need, they need acceptance too. I know several people who voted Yes but who feel the need to point out that "such a one is gay" at any opportunity. Do you think that they are really on the side of gay people?

The main reason the referendum result was so one sided is because it is now cool to be liberal and because any discussion of possible negative consequences was guillotined.

I think that there is other legislation which needed to be introduced before gay marriage is. If everyone is sure that our government will do this in a proper and timely fashion then fine, but I doubt it. I believe that they are already long fingering it.

I think it's likely that a significant number of those who voted No on Friday would have been happy to vote Yes if their concerns had been addressed instead of them effectively being told to shut up. That's how a democracy should work.

There's nothing more illiberal than an illiberal liberal.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,686 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Patww79 wrote: »
    I thought it was a democratic vote? Did you want the options on the card to be Yes and Yes?

Right and Wrong would have been acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I think we need to remember that we voted in one big national constituency on this in reality.

I'm disappointed it wasn't a clean sweep of all the constituencies, but this wasn't voted for on a constituency-by-constituency basis so those more than 17,000 Yes votes counted towards the final national total.

The tide has turned and hopefully Roscommon and South Leitrim won't be left behind.

It's not really the nicest message to have sent the local LGBT community though.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,686 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I think we need to remember that we voted in one big national constituency on this in reality.

I'm disappointed it wasn't a clean sweep of all the constituencies, but this wasn't voted for on a constituency-by-constituency basis so those more than 17,000 Yes votes counted towards the final national total.

The tide has turned and hopefully Roscommon and South Leitrim won't be left behind.

It's not really the nicest message to have sent the local LGBT community though.

In fairness, it was a tight margin in plenty of constituencies and Roscommon/South Leitrim were just unlucky to fall the wrong side of it. It's pretty meaningless in the grand scheme of things and bar the odd joke it will be most likely forgotten soon enough.

SpaceTime wrote: »

The same message that most other constituencies send out - it was only decided by a narrow margin in many other places. You'd swear it was a clean sweep countrywide and an utter defeat in Roscommon alone the way people are banging on about it. If some of the "Yes" supporters had their way they'd want a Lisbon treaty style re-run in Roscommon so the voters could have another go. It's a nasty and dangerous precedent being set whereby people are being vilified en masse.