Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

P_1 wrote: »
    I'm sorry but for the likes of a referendum those forced to leave this jurisdiction due to economic circumstances on a temporary basis have as much right as anyone else to vote on this.

Exactly. They'll be back here some day so they should be allowed shape the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Cork NW looking like a Yes!...Wow that would have been one of the most conservative boroughs...Cool hearing this

RobertKK wrote: »
    According to a poll, around 90% of people coming back to vote were yes voters, 10% no voters, so voter fraud would be in that percentage range per group most likely if some of them were committing voter fraud.

Have you stats on how many committed fraud?

We can discount them and there will still be a yes I'd bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Do you want integrity and security in the ballot boxes? A lot of the same people who count would have done a 17 hour day yesterday, id rather they were on the ball.

My OH worked at one of the polling stations yesterday from about 5am till well after midnight. They need rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,428 ✭✭✭naughto

I'm legit welling up a bit here, and I'm straight, so I can only imagine how my gay friends are feeling.

Each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

P_1 wrote: »
    I'm sorry but for the likes of a referendum those forced to leave this jurisdiction due to economic circumstances on a temporary basis have as much right as anyone else to vote on this.

Are we a nation of law or what? Those non resident that left for 18 months or more or who intend to be gone for 18 months, have no right to vote in Ireland. It's an offence to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

Those that engaged in voter fraud need to be punished. It's a fecking shambles. The media praising them to the high heavens as they were coming home to make a mockery of the electoral system.

trust me when i say that you are trolling the wrong thread

you made your point a few messages ago ,its gone into the "i dont care bin"

the beauty of your message is that we live in a democracy and i would urge you to contact your local td and complain and follow it through

meanwhile its a rainbow day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

El Inho wrote: »
    Exactly. They'll be back here some day so they should be allowed shape the country.

But if living abroad for 18 months or over they don't have a right, whether yes or no.

trust me when i say that you are trolling the wrong thread

you made your point a few messages ago ,its gone into the "i dont care bin"

the beauty of your message is that we live in a democracy and i would urge you to contact your local td and complain and follow it through

meanwhile its a rainbow day

Pointing out the large scale electoral fraud that took place yesterday and that was cheerleaded by the media is not trolling. Quite the opposite in fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

naughto wrote: »
    Each other

Hilarious. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Independent's poll last week was an outlier on the underline figures of 53% yes. The headline figure may have been more accurate at 70% Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭Ficheall

When will all this nonsense finally die down?
    This was never not going to pass by a large margin. Social media full of the "OH I'M SO NERVOUS!!" posts and minutely updates on counts.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Voter fraud?

Lol, sounds like bitter lemons to me.

Did any from the No side commit the same voter fraud? Or is it just not being mentioned :)

I first mentioned it on Thursday night and I voted yes. Now they are bragging about it on the radio.

"It's my right to come home and vote so I got my mam to put me on the register."

Eh, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Are we a nation of law or what? Those non resident that left for 18 months or more or who intend to be gone for 18 months, have no right to vote in Ireland. It's an offence to do so.

It might be the kick up the arse that those in charge need to change our laws regarding postal votes somewhat akin to those of a 21st century liberal democracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭SummerSummit

Pointing out the large scale electoral fraud that took place yesterday and that was cheerleaded by the media is not trolling. Quite the opposite in fact.

Call the guards and make a complaint. Stop whinging about it on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ronivek

You're taking a few liberties with the definition of "large scale" there I would suggest.

You also have no idea of their circumstances or whether they were voting illegally at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I first mentioned it on Thursday night and I voted yes. Now they are bragging about it on the radio.

"It's my right to come home and vote so I got my mam to put me on the register."

Eh, no.

Oh build a bloody bridge..,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

mikemac1 wrote: »
    They work from 7am - 10pm and there will be time before for setting up and time after for waiting for the local garda to collect the box

Maybe the junior doctors should run the elections as they already work 36 hours shifts ;)
    Larbre34 wrote: »
    Do you want integrity and security in the ballot boxes? A lot of the same people who count would have done a 17 hour day yesterday, id rather they were on the ball.

They seemed to manage just fine in the UK GE. Im sure there are enough people willing to take a days wages to come in at 10 when the polls close just to do the count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Eh, no.

Then the correct thing to do is to get onto the TD for all your whinging needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

Newstalk just said that there hasn't been a constituency found yet that has voted no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

They seemed to manage just fine in the UK GE. Im sure there are enough people willing to take a days wages to come in at 10 when the polls close just to do the count.

Would you? Rather than whinging on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Lisdoonvarna, Clare a resounding Yes according to RTE. Think I may have underestimated the Yes vote from rural areas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

RTE have called it a landslide:D

Dublin 70percent yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Would you? Rather than whinging on here?

Yes,I'd gladly get a days pay to work overnight,I wouldnt have thought it would be that hard to find people that like money, but I dont think the decision is solely mine. Probably a bit late now for this referendum too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

RobertKK wrote: »
    According to a poll, around 90% of people coming back to vote were yes voters, 10% no voters, so voter fraud would be in that percentage range per group most likely if some of them were committing voter fraud.

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Word coming in that Yes vote in Donegal is >50%.

What is going on in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭wazzoraybelle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Paddy Power had the 'Yes' line on 61.5%

So I put my remaining €15 there on the 'over'.

Easy money.
    €15 to BoJack..... Drinks on me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,829 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

My OH worked at one of the polling stations yesterday from about 5am till well after midnight. They need rest

Isnt that what i said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Lisdoonvarna, Clare a resounding Yes according to RTE. Think I may have underestimated the Yes vote from rural areas!

Yeah, I thought urban areas would probably get it passed, but I honestly had serious doubts about more rural/conservative areas. Delighted they've proved me wrong.

I wonder will any constituency come out with a 'No' majority at this stage?