Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭Blahblah2012

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Are there any exit polls to be expected?

Yes...there's due to be one soon...I heard it's somewhere near Uranus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Why are these eejits wearing red flags pinned with a lion brooch and playing the bagpipes?

The Knights of NoProHomos?

A member of our confraternity (lol) had a leaflet from them with him at our meet on Wed. They were down by the Spire on O'Connell St. They're based in Swords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Merry Prankster

Just read a quote form the Guardian on their front page:

'Polls have opened in Ireland, where voters are making history as the republic becomes the first country to ask its electorate to legalise gay marriage.'

It seems crazy that this headline is from now, this very day. We see ourselves as modern, but very quickly this moment in history is going to seem very 'back in the day,' like the abolition of witchhunts and slavery. Our grandchildren will be amazed that gay people suffered such ridiculous discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Very proud to have voted Yes.
    The amount of 18/19/20's voting also makes me proud.
    I'm 48, always voted but so many don't whether they agree with me I don't care, use your vote.

I fcking hope they turnout everytime, general election, referendum, EU election, local election.

Your vote is powerful, hopefully the young uns realise this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Vivisectus

Come onnn baby get us a big yes. It would be so awesome if we get anywhere near 70%.

Like, not just a scrape-through but a wonderful, welcoming, inclusive, yes-of-course-we've-got-your-back-gay-brethren-and-sistren yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Rumoured 75% turnout in Artane. Took great pleasure in letting my mother know (she's from Artane and reckoned it'd be a piss poor turnout overall :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

Our grandchildren will be amazed that gay people suffered such ridiculous discrimination.
    Of course they will as their parents will all be gay ... if the no side is to be believed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,370 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I just voted spoiled it. I wrote 'Why can the family unit be redefined but the provincial councils cannot restructure the GAA football championship ? Up the dubs."

I left the battle to the rainbow heads and the ultra religious heads Although in saying that there were a fair few young ones floating around caked in unnecessary make up. I think these voters will ensure a yes vote.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Just waiting to pick my brother up from work. Another 2 Yes votes coming shortly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

I just voted spoiled it. I wrote 'Why can the family unit be redefined but the provincial councils cannot restructure the GAA football championship ? Up the dubs."

I left the battle to the rainbow heads and the ultra religious heads Although in saying that there were a fair few young ones floating around caked in unnecessary make up. I think these voters will ensure a yes vote.
    Fair play :) A spoiled vote is still a democratic choice (people seem to think it isn't haha) but any vote that isn't a No is good for the Yes side :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Anita Blow wrote: »
    She expands on it in subsequent tweets. The individual in question was working at the polling station. She insisted the voter was not on the list despite having a polling card and another worker intervened and showed the voter was in fact registered to vote. The woman was removed, an official complaint was filed.

Should also clarify that the women in question was a prominent MFM campaigner in the city

Makes me wonder about some of the counters. Hopefully there are plenty of Tally-people from the Yes side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Well done you, that'll show the gays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

traprunner wrote: »
    Makes me wonder about some of the counters. Hopefully there are plenty of Tally-people from the Yes side.
    That's why they have people wandering around in the counting area, to make sure that people aren't adding or removing votes. The returning officer has the power to expel anyone he feels is taking away from the democratic choice of the people and if they are caught they can face criminal prosecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Play a match out of Croke Park. Then we'll talk. Up Meath.

Vote Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,480 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    For the 4th time the Irish media do not do exit polls. They cost money and the media can't be bothered spending that much money.

What? RTE almost always run an exit poll, and would expect one tomorrow morning from them. Here's some articles referencing previous exit polls

2014 Local Election
    2007 General Election
    2011 General Election
    2009 local and european election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Voted yes earlier in drogheda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

If some of the turnout figures are accurate then things are looking very good.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

He participated in a strike to secure his RIGHTS in work.

He happily states he is refusing to support the RIGHTS of others.

Why the hell would anyone support him and his fight for his rights after he stated that he's voting to deny other people theirs?

This attitude is just wrong . We live in a democracy and we are entitled to vote as we please .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Voted earlier, don't feel any gayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Stinicker wrote: »
    Just got back in from voting and feel I did the right thing, the abolsute disgraceful bullyboy tactics I witnessed over the last week drove me from being a Yes to being a No voter.
    Exactly, i voted no as well because of this and know a lot of other people did so as well.
    Ye voted no when this could make the difference between a significant chunk of society having marriage/family rights and not having them... not because you're against them marrying, but just to "get back at" *some* members of the yes campaign? Yet "strangely" enough... the FAR more damaging vitriol of some members of the no campaign (including comparing homosexuality to paedophilia) didn't sway you from voting no?

That's incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,887 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

jamesbere wrote: »
    You will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Takes a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭foozzybear61

I expect the referendum to be passed by a large majority ...But for the record I voted No.

I had started out as a Yes voter because I do believe that 2 adults have the right to determine their futures.

But I also believe that there will be knock on effects from a yes vote ,as there have been in all the referendums that try to regulate the way societies live their lives..I wasn't convinced that childrens rights were best served by a change from a system that has been accepted from the beginning of time
    Yes there is bad parenting and good parenting regardless of the genders involved, I just believe that they should have the opportunity of male/female upbringing. I do know familes where this wasn't possible , but none where this was the ideal at the outset , and who would have liked it to have been different .
    making laws to control human interactions isint always perfect
    I voted for the reduced age for presidential election ..again because adults can decide if a 21 year old or a 34 year old is up to the job ,its a judgement call on the candidate running for election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Generally 3-5 days before onset of symptoms. Typically begins as lad banter on social media/Whatsapp groups with gay undertones such as "not gay but I would", usually in response to pictures of Micheál Martin's son voting. 48 hours post-referendum you can expect aching loins, disco fever and increasing tolerance for Abba. Ultimately culminates in purchase of fitted shirts in non-neutral colours and downloading of Grindr by day 6. At this point there is no cure, it's terminal. Best evidence suggests that patients begin requesting a surrogate child 6 months from onset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

hmmm wrote: »
    Intimidation? You're having a laugh. Intimidation is what black people experienced in the 60s. A poor babuh who doesn't feel loved by his passengers because he's said publicly he wants to deny them the ability to do something as basic as marry the person they love is a gob****e, not intimidated.

Of course it is a form of intimidation . And when yes campaigners used the comparison with American Civil Rights and were disparaged by the no side we disagreed .

It is a continuum and this may be fairly low on the scale but it is still intimidation and it is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I wasn't convinced that childrens rights were best served by a change from a system that has been accepted from the beginning of time
    Yes there is bad parenting and good parenting regardless of the genders involved, I just believe that they should have the opportunity of male/female upbringing. I do know familes where this wasn't possible , but none where this was the ideal at the outset , and who would have liked it to have been different .

Eh, I know it's too late now but you do know that this referendum doesn't change that one little bit so you've essentially just wasted your vote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Voting no because children should have a father and mother doesn't make sense IMO. Not the opinion that children should have a father and mother but the voting against protections for those who are born to a same-sex couple.
    Even if the referendum doesn't pass, there will still be children brought up by same-sex couples - voting yes would improve things for those children; voting no won't change that those children exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Generally 3-5 days before onset of symptoms. Typically begins as lad banter on social media/Whatsapp groups with gay undertones such as "not gay but I would", usually in response to pictures of Micheál Martin's son voting. 48 hours post-referendum you can expect aching loins, disco fever and increasing tolerance for Abba. Ultimately culminates in purchase of fitted shirts in non-neutral colours and downloading of Grindr by day 6. At this point there is no cure, it's terminal. Best evidence suggests that patients begin requesting a surrogate child 6 months from onset.

I took my toddler with me to the polling booth today to vote yes.
    While practicing His ABC's this evening he uttered....... "A, B, B, A.
    Have we time for an antidote?