Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Robson99 wrote: »
    Totally agree Will. Often get charlaois x heifers into 420kg + carcass at 24months. Best heifer this year was ch x ba. 470kg carcass at 24 mths. Graded E-3=. Went from €1100 Feb 2014 to €2180 in March 2015. And everyone said I was mad paying €1100 fir her

Serious goin what weight was she at purchase.what treatment,feeding did she get since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Robson99

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    Serious goin what weight was she at purchase.what treatment,feeding did she get since

400kg. On grass till 1st nov. 3kg/day in Nov, 5kg Dec, 7kg Jan and 10kg in Feb.Maize, Barley and Beef Nut mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

400kg. On grass till 1st nov. 3kg/day in Nov, 5kg Dec, 7kg Jan and 10kg in Feb.Maize, Barley and Beef Nut mix.

What brand meal u feeding?

its hard get heifers into such high weights

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    What brand meal u feeding?

its hard get heifers into such high weights

Buffalo beef nut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Totally agree Will. Often get charlaois x heifers into 420kg + carcass at 24months. Best heifer this year was ch x ba. 470kg carcass at 24 mths. Graded E-3=. Went from €1100 Feb 2014 to €2180 in March 2015. And everyone said I was mad paying €1100 fir her

feckin mad paying E1100 for 400kg animal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

get rid of them heifers :pac:

had chx bb bulls killing 510 kg dead at 14 months

the only problem with him was his legs would give up soon with the weight of him so had to kill him before it became a problem

id hate to think what weight he would be if kept any longer:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

My bullock that died 490 grossed 2150. u-2+. Was bought last April 460 kg. € 1090 group of 4. Other 3 won't be going for a fortnight or so and wouldn't be near as big and one is unlikely to get beyond r+ but they will gross 1900. Looked very dear a month later when I bought 600+ kilo lads for €1150ish but they be working ok. Hard to beat the friesians for bang for your buck tho. Pot of money stretches to a lot of heads.

Willfarman wrote: »
    My bullock that died 490 grossed 2150. u-2+. Was bought last April 460 kg. € 1090 group of 4. Other 3 won't be going for a fortnight or so and wouldn't be near as big and one is unlikely to get beyond r+ but they will gross 1900. Looked very dear a month later when I bought 600+ kilo lads for €1150ish but they be working ok. Hard to beat the friesians for bang for your buck tho. Pot of money stretches to a lot of heads.

Great twist. That heifer above was also from a group a four. The others were gone approx 4 weeks before her. But she was one you could just keep feeding on. They averaged 430 kg carcass one with the other.
    All heifers fattened here as quicker turnaround. They suit my system. The fresians blocks are like the horny lambs. You can get a lot of them for relatively small outlay. They just need time to fatten compared to the lowland lamb

Great twist. That heifer above was also from a group a four. The others were gone approx 4 weeks before her. But she was one you could just keep feeding on. They averaged 430 kg carcass one with the other.
    All heifers fattened here as quicker turnaround. They suit my system. The fresians blocks are like the horny lambs. You can get a lot of them for relatively small outlay. They just need time to fatten compared to the lowland lamb

Ah there's friesians and there are friesians! But yes the upland lamb is good comparison. Lower feed conversion. Grade and kill out but everything works at a price.

4.05 slaney this week. Bolox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

God l'd love to have seen a pic of her but sure suppose can't now shes dead!

What to you guesstimate she was liveweight? +850kg ? She'd be a fine size agey cow let alone a 24mth heifer

Muckit wrote: »
    God l'd love to have seen a pic of her but sure suppose can't now shes dead!

What to you guesstimate she was liveweight? +850kg ? She'd be a fine size agey cow let alone a 24mth heifer

She was 800kg -810 kgs approx muckit. Ill see if I can get pic. She had great length as well as conformation. You cant beat length when they are hanging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

She was 800kg -810 kgs approx muckit. Ill see if I can get pic. She had great length as well as conformation. You cant beat length when they are hanging

don't forget width ! ;)
    and depth

and a big mouth:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Muckit wrote: »
    IThe charolais x is the best all round beef breed in my book by a country mile. Docility, conformation and if you get right ones, a great rack to hang meat off. A good topline, the ones you could nearly get up and lye on their backs and fall asleep.

The problem is getting them out alive when you have sucklers. Difficult calvings mean cow slow to go back in calf. Calf also slow to get up and suck. It all adds up as cost for the suckler man. That's why they are not as popular as you'd expect.

4.05 and they are going to get them back under 4eur. Very disheartening. How many thousand cattle would they have in their feedlots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

got 4.08 today for a small few cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Where are prices going to be in a year and a half to two years when all the 2015 born calves are coming fit when we cant keep pressure on the factories to hold prices now. A few posts back there was talk of >500kg cattle and the money they made. The factories will have some craic with those cattle in a year or two unless we start exporting in earnest to the US and China. Yet every man that bought calves this spring must be confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,714 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

the deduction for clipping is a joke , sent 3 cows last week , these had been outside , no dirt on them at all and i was charged 3 euro each for clippping!

DMAXMAN wrote: »
    got 4.08 today for a small few cattle

Where'd you go?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

4.05 and they are going to get them back under 4eur. Very disheartening. How many thousand cattle would they have in their feedlots?

Jeezas I was lucky for once, everyone thought I was mad grazing yearling bulls last summer.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

Where'd you go?
    ABP Waterford, not gone yet .Friday hopefullly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

whelan2 wrote: »
    the deduction for clipping is a joke , sent 3 cows last week , these had been outside , no dirt on them at all and i was charged 3 euro each for clippping!

Was it up near you that you were deducted for clipping. Virtually no factory charge for clipping at present. I be giving the agent an earful. Have not being charged clipping in over two years.

A good few did not get my point about too many now trying to get cattle finished out of sheds. It may be more profitable to store over winter and carry to grass in March and finish in July. Was reading in the Indo that there are over 180K less cattle in the 12-36 month age group that this time last year. These are cattle that will make the bulk of the kill for the next 15-18 months.

Another figure I came across is that is that so far this year the steer kill is up 165 and heifers are up 3%. The overall kill is down 3% however this is made up with cows being down 12% and young bulls are down 33%. Over the last few years a lot of dairy farmers may have culled hard and are going forward with young herds. Kill may be a lot tighter than we think for rest of year

http://www.bordbia.ie/industry/farmers/pricetracking/cattle/pages/supplies.aspx

2017 will be a tricky year as lots of HE and AA calves this year or so we are lead to believe. If factory get over 30K /week the heavy bullocks and bulls will be persona non grata again along with overage cattle cattle with horns, pink red and blue cattle and anything else they can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Hershall

Was it up near you that you were deducted for clipping. Virtually no factory charge for clipping at present. I be giving the agent an earful. Have not being charged clipping in over two years.

A good few did not get my point about too many now trying to get cattle finished out of sheds. It may be more profitable to store over winter and carry to grass in March and finish in July. Was reading in the Indo that there are over 180K less cattle in the 12-36 month age group that this time last year. These are cattle that will make the bulk of the kill for the next 15-18 months.

Another figure I came across is that is that so far this year the steer kill is up 165 and heifers are up 3%. The overall kill is down 3% however this is made up with cows being down 12% and young bulls are down 33%. Over the last few years a lot of dairy farmers may have culled hard and are going forward with young herds. Kill may be a lot tighter than we think for rest of year

http://www.bordbia.ie/industry/farmers/pricetracking/cattle/pages/supplies.aspx

2017 will be a tricky year as lots of HE and AA calves this year or so we are lead to believe. If factory get over 30K /week the heavy bullocks and bulls will be persona non grata again along with overage cattle cattle with horns, pink red and blue cattle and anything else they can think of.

And don't forget the big steaks from the heavy cattle that won't fit in the supermarket trays! !!!!!!€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Where are prices going to be in a year and a half to two years when all the 2015 born calves are coming fit when we cant keep pressure on the factories to hold prices now. A few posts back there was talk of >500kg cattle and the money they made. The factories will have some craic with those cattle in a year or two unless we start exporting in earnest to the US and China. Yet every man that bought calves this spring must be confident.

Damn you CavanJack and your cold hearted logic! :-)
    Here's a mug who bought 25 suck calves....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

locky76 wrote: »

If trade is still good in autumn or early next spring you could still make a few quid selling as stores

locky76 wrote: »

I might be a mug myself, bought a similar number in October but was afraid to chance any this spring when I heard the numbers registered and prices being paid. First year we never bought calves in the spring.
    I am hoping to Maybe buy in the autumn or next spring when some of these 2015 born calves will hit the marts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Well lads was reading the agriland website and just a little confused is all, is there a grant of 60% on a new slurry tank or am I wrong? Thanks

simx wrote: »
    Well lads was reading the agriland website and just a little confused is all, is there a grant of 60% on a new slurry tank or am I wrong? Thanks

Afaik If you qualify as a young farmer you can get a 60% grant on the following.
    Scroll down to annex c on this link for a list. http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/farmingschemesandpayments/farmbuildings/tams/TAMSIIYFCISTC140515.pdf

Any quotes?

Any quotes?

I hear €3.20 up these parts for heifers 3.10 for steers more for aa's. I've a few fr Bulls coming fit in a couple of weeks hoping things will tighten up a bit by then.