Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Reggie. wrote: »
    Out with the tedders

Grand day here now. Getting the itch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Reggie. wrote: »
    Out with the tedders

Give local contractors a shout your available, get the missus to the cash n carry for a slab of redbull crack on :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Grand day here now. Getting the itch

What did I tell ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Give local contractors a shout your available, get the missus to the cash n carry for a slab of redbull crack on :D.

Ah it takes the lads around here a few years to warm up to fancy machines like tedders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Cow Porter wrote: »

Have the weatherpro app on my phone, and it's pretty accurate. Anyone else using this?

Tested grass for Nitrogen today.
    hybrid at 27. Thats grand
    two paddocks that got a bag of urea first week of March up at 357 needs to be less than 200 to cut.
    how can that be??
    Cover of 5k on paddocks that got urea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,809 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Tested grass for Nitrogen today.
    hybrid at 27. Thats grand
    two paddocks that got a bag of urea first week of March up at 357 needs to be less than 200 to cut.
    how can that be??
    Cover of 5k on paddocks that got urea

No need to test,sun sorts sugars and tedding nitrogen with a good wilt.dont panic cutting opportunities will come.anyone local to ted grass for you,grass at this stage very green and needs spreading out to increase dm content and flush out n

mahoney_j wrote: »
    No need to test,sun sorts sugars and tedding nitrogen with a good wilt.dont panic cutting opportunities will come.anyone local to ted grass for you,grass at this stage very green and needs spreading out to increase dm content and flush out n

Thing is boss won't cut it now.
    hybrid got 3.5 bags of 18 6 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,809 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Thing is boss won't cut it now.
    hybrid got 3.5 bags of 18 6 12

Unless weather is suitable I wouldn't cut either ,cold windy day here with heavy showers .looking like I've a good window Wednesday/Friday .will knock surplus paddocks first and take it from there,grass racing ahead here

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Unless weather is suitable I wouldn't cut either ,cold windy day here with heavy showers .looking like I've a good window Wednesday/Friday .will knock surplus paddocks first and take it from there,grass racing ahead here

Ah to wet here now will leave it till Wednesday /Thursday too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

Have the weatherpro app on my phone, and it's pretty accurate. Anyone else using this?

Forgot I had that, 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭visatorro

seen a couple of field mowed looking fairly damp today. we got about ten nice heavy showers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Was going to knock Thursday but a full fine week ahead from Saturday so knocking Sunday maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Was going to knock Thursday but a full fine week ahead from Saturday so knocking Sunday maybe?
    I wouldn't be relying on those very long range forecasts anything after 4-5 days is crystal ball gazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Its like march here today. Bitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Your right. It's not a tedder you need for silage, it's weather!!

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I wouldn't be relying on those very long range forecasts anything after 4-5 days is crystal ball gazing.
    I used mod the weather forum here,in fact I set it up back in 2003,I'd put chances of fine from Saturday for most away from west/north coasts at 80% + going on model trends,regardless will be near enough on Thursday to decide if you get me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I used mod the weather forum here,in fact I set it up back in 2003,I'd put chances of fine from Saturday for most away from west/north coasts at 80% + going on model trends,regardless will be near enough on Thursday to decide if you get me?

And what about us poor misfortunates on the west coast? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Saw a couple of paddocks baled yesterday evening and it wasnt pretty.some desperate showers around

just do it wrote: »
    And what about us poor misfortunates on the west coast? ;)

Hey,if I was a miracle worker,I'd still be farming :D
    But yeah keep an eye on the forecast, there's a high lurking to the south and that building north would warm things up and dry it out by Sunday
    It could be a dryer pattern for a few weeks then with some interruptions if you get me?
    Opportunities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Hey,if I was a miracle worker,I'd still be farming :D
    But yeah keep an eye on the forecast, there's a high lurking to the south and that building north would warm things up and dry it out by Sunday
    It could be a dryer pattern for a few weeks then with some interruptions if you get me?
    Opportunities

Be Jaysus, you're for the block if it goes tits up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Mowing first split on Thurs Fri pitting in Mon. Next week ditto as we have a stag on long weekend and it'd a hoor yo miss it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭votuvant

Yeah. I use it too.

Its pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Ameila

Got the results back from lab nitro 80 sugar 2.5 , are those figures ok or what do ye ladies and gents think lad in lab said they are good .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Ameila wrote: »
    Got the results back from lab nitro 80 sugar 2.5 , are those figures ok or what do ye ladies and gents think lad in lab said they are good .

2+ for sugar if you can get it closer to 3 all the better .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Ameila

td5man wrote: »
    2+ for sugar if you can get it closer to 3 all the better .

What about the nitro ? .

Ameila wrote: »
    What about the nitro ? .

A1. Needs to be below 200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭stanflt

As frazzled would say I panicked last Thursday and knocked the grass

Had wagons self propelled harvester and balers in on Saturday

Tedded twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

stanflt wrote: »
    As frazzled would say I panicked last Thursday and knocked the grass

Had wagons self propelled harvester and balers in on Saturday

Tedded twice

Foot slipped off the clutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Thinking of panicking myself tomorrow! Mow at lunch, 2 shakes, rake and bale Thursday tea time. Hopefully the only moisture will be my sweat on the rosary beads :)