Other guests behaviour in hotels.

If you see a group of 20 and 30 something year olds in a hotel and hear the Dublin accent, you just know you'll hear it a lot in the corridors outside your room at 4am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

Worst iv had was quite loud sex noises from next door only lasted about 2 min in fairness dunno how she coulda screamed so much with only 2mins but hey fair enough gave us more of a laugh than anyting elese :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

If you see a group of 20 and 30 something year olds in a hotel and hear the Dublin accent, you just know you'll hear it a lot in the corridors outside your room at 4am.

Ignorance is not limited to Dublin people

naughtb4 wrote: »

Oh I agree. It's just that you can hold out some hope. But once you hear the Dublin accent, all hope is lost.

Ficheall wrote: »
    I always find the "HOUSEKEEPING!" people in the morning are much more annoying than any of the other guests...

Ive been told it's lovely waking up to me in the morning. I'll be there are 11, be ready ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭tampopo

magentis wrote: »
    Ha.Just had an image of jesus tied to a lamp post there.

Or a cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭paulbok

magentis wrote: »
    Ha.Just had an image of jesus tied to a lamp post there.

He sort of was the day after the Last Supper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I must admit, I used to be one of those people, but it wasn't intentional. I used to drink too much and had a terrible habit of walking out through the bedroom door, thinking I was entering the bathroom. I've regularly been locked out in the hallway, ball naked, banging on the door trying to wake my girlfriend. One time I couldn't wake her, and couldn't hold me bladder any longer. I had to hop up onto a window sill and piss out the window, four floors up. Absolutely horrendous behaviour.

I pity the anyone who was standing under the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Why wouldn't you call reception to put a stop to the noise and if it continued refuse to pay the bill the next morning?

Some people seem to put up with anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Who's judging now? You might want to practice what you preach. It was January and after snowing yet the pyjama brigade were outside puffing, hard not to notice.

Well, should they just smoke inside the hotel then, would that be better?

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

sjb25 wrote: »
    Worst iv had was quite loud sex noises from next door only lasted about 2 min in fairness dunno how she coulda screamed so much with only 2mins but hey fair enough gave us more of a laugh than anyting elese :)

Quality, not quantity.

like meself:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Quality, not quantity.

like meself:cool:

Quantity has a quality of its own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

As is evident in the post you quoted friend.In my own experience Dubliners have a much better sense of decorum when visiting hotels.The country chaps will be just as noisy as the dubs into the wee hours,but they'll be up at the crack of dawn for breakfast,each and every single one of them,guaranteed.And all of them making noise aplenty.You don't get that from the dubs,we'll either be asleep or screwing.Id rather listen to a party in the next room in the middle of the night when I'm drunk than listen to a bunch of clowns yapping their heads off and knocking each others doors at 9am when I'm hungover.I'm fully aware of course that others use hotels for purposes other than leisure,and need a good nights sleep.But a quick Google will show the places to avoid.In general if its a large hotel and its cheap your going to have horseplay at the weekends.As an aside,back to the culchie/dub thing,I've often heard from people working in the hospitality industry that dubs generally leave tips,culchies don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

I haven't stayed in many hotels but I have never had an issue ever. They seem quiet actually and peaceful. Most people seem to be considerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

the Dublin accent

There's no such thing as "the" Dublin accent, mucksavage. That's as meaningless as someone referring to "the" Irish accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I haven't stayed in many hotels but I have never had an issue ever. They seem quiet actually and peaceful. Most people seem to be considerate.

Decent rule of thumb is if the room costs say from €120 upwards on a normal night (ie no big concerts or sporting events going on)you'll have a pleasant stay.The prices generally weed out the hens/stags.Decent hotels are not too keen on large groups anyways,except if their pensioners on of those PAB coach tours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I remember a couple partying a few doors down. They put their empties in the corridor (?!), which was quite a sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Graham 1324

JustTheOne wrote: »
    So im currently lying in a bed in a hotel basically been awake all night with guests roaring outside whilst making their way back to their rooms.

Finally got asleep around 530, now the early morning breakfast crowd have started. Talking loud while walking by and the most annoying thing ever.

Letting their hotel room doors slam when they leave their room!

Wtf is wrong with people?

Am i the only one that actually thinks of other guests when I'm staying in hotels, like not been loud or slamming doors?

It's nearly in every hotel too I stay in, i hate people.

Humbug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭rosb

Stayed in hotel room with a connecting door. I put in earplugs. My friend didn't. I woke up refreshed and full of beans. She looked like she gad been dragged through a bush backwards. Next door at been at it all night, it's was like they were in the room. I am sure my snoring did not help either.

There's no such thing as "the" Dublin accent, mucksavage. That's as meaningless as someone referring to "the" Irish accent.

Well I can tell a Dublin accent. And a Cork accent, a Kerry accent and so on. And friends of mine from abroad will talk about an Irish accent. I guess we're just talented. maybe it's a musical ear or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

But once you hear the Dublin accent, all hope is lost.

That's a fairly big tar brush you have there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

That's a fairly big tar brush you have there.

As I Dub myself, I completely agree with him. And we all know which accent he means.

I was helping a mate out at a wedding fair in a Dublin hotel on Saturday and there were a couple of communion dinners going on in the dining room. All the tell tale signs were there, tarty dresses, white drainpipe jeans and clown shoes on the lads, tattoo'ed grandfathers in long tail casual shirts, a lake of fake tan. All started out quiet enough, but by about 3 hours after the lunch the kids were running around feral, the 'grown ups' were hammered, shouting and roaring and arguing. One lot were refused drink and asked to leave, which caused a bigger row.

Newsflash, skangers exist, they are from many places but disproportionately from my own fair City, and they ruin public venues for other people. A lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I must admit, I used to be one of those people, but it wasn't intentional. I used to drink too much and had a terrible habit of walking out through the bedroom door, thinking I was entering the bathroom. I've regularly been locked out in the hallway, ball naked, banging on the door trying to wake my girlfriend. One time I couldn't wake her, and couldn't hold me bladder any longer. I had to hop up onto a window sill and piss out the window, four floors up. Absolutely horrendous behaviour.

I've been that idiot also, walk out the wrong door thinking your going to the loo and find yourself naked in the corridor. Happened one time right as the lift door opened and a group of women from a hen party spilled out - Jesus Christ drunken women can be awful touchy feely when they come across a stark naked gob****e at 5am :eek:
    The following weekend I'm sitting in my friends house, his girlfriends a hair dresser and a woman arrives to get her hair done, walks into the kitchen and says - I know you, you were bolok naked running around my hotel last week - cue some very odd looks from the mates girlfriend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Newsflash, skangers exist, they are from many places but disproportionately from my own fair City, and they ruin public venues for other people. A lot.

Of course they do, but to say all hope is lost when you hear a Dublin accent is at the very least, a bit of a stretch. Jasus where's John Rambo when you need him? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Larbre34 wrote: »
    As I Dub myself, I completely agree with him. And we all know which accent he means.

Its the boorish Rugby accent isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Its the boorish Rugby accent isnt it?

Wat are ye sayinnnnnnnnnnnn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Humbug

Seems from my first post many agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I've learnt to enquire, when booking a hotel, if there's going to be a wedding there the same weekend. Unless the hotel is very big and very well laid out with a completely separate 'function area', the wedding party just end up completely taking over - loud music until all hours, drunken guests outside (and right beneath people's bedroom windows~) smoking and shouting their heads off until 5am, guests sprawled all over the hotel the next day nursing hangovers and hogging all the tables on the terrace/in the residents' lounge. The hotels rarely do anything about it because so many of them depend on weddings to make a decent profit.

My heart sinks if I'm staying in a hotel and next thing I see a red carpet being tacked onto the steps and a load of women in fascinators and men in suits checking in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭crushproof

Seems like an Irish manifestation.....nobody complains "Ah sure, had a great stay thanks" - aka I didn't get a wink of sleep.

Therefore it continues and these toe rags get away with it each and everytime. Until people complain, and on a large scale, it won't change! Hotels will still get a full rate and don't have to give discounted stays / refunds to legit complaints.

Won't change until it hits the wallet of the hotel owners and they'll have to fully implement hotel policy.