Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

ixoy wrote: »
    Can you give examples?
    Irish people tend to keep their opinions to themselves and dislike conflict. This particular discussion has awoken a passion in so many people that I genuinely think many "No" voters have never encountered someone who disagrees with them and says it to their face. So are taken aback and believe they're being bullied and shouted down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Anita Blow wrote: »
    I'd agree with that but I'd imagine that when you factor in the Yes voters who won't turn up to vote I think it'll be much closer to the 50/50 mark

It could well be, we have seen it in other referendums/referenda, the trend is normally towards no.
    The Irish Times said their poll points to a drift rather than a dive to No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

aloyisious wrote: »
    Take a roll back, if you will, to the "Cats fur sale" posting above at 13.36, look and read what's written in it, and then give us your honest opinion on it. Do you think he/she is a person as genuinely committed to the Vote No campaign as you are, or is he/she ripping the arse out of both sides for fun?

Well I am not a mod to judge, but I see a mod has given the person a red card for trolling, so that answers that.
    Trying to avoid back seat modding here, as that is an offense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Cats fur sale

What is to discuss? I'm not gay. Gay people as far as I can make out have lost their minds. Being gay is in itself burden enough to have to carry but being gay and having lost your minds at the same time is a discourse and company I'd rather not get bogged down in.

Vote NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,165 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I don't want to see chung wans and chung fellas drunkly ateing the faces off each other and playing tonsil hockey on a Saturday Night in Pana but no body is giving me the option of voting if it should be allowed...

:mad:

Play safe, report it to your local PP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,084 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

seamus wrote: »
    Irish people tend to keep their opinions to themselves and dislike conflict. This particular discussion has awoken a passion in so many people that I genuinely think many "No" voters have never encountered someone who disagrees with them and says it to their face. So are taken aback and believe they're being bullied and shouted down.

This, they are so used to being at the top of the pile they think this is what being bullied is, when it is a drop in the ocean compared to what homosexuals have put up with in this country

aloyisious wrote: »
    Take a roll back, if you will, to the "Cats fur sale" posting above at 13.36, look and read what's written in it, and then give us your honest opinion on it. Do you think he/she is a person as genuinely committed to the Vote No campaign as you are, or is he/she ripping the arse out of both sides for fun?

Phew that's very deep. You'll survive either way buddy. Take a weight off your shoulders. Relax.

Vote NO.

What is to discuss? I'm not gay. Gay people as far as I can make out have lost their minds. Being gay is in itself burden enough to have to carry but being gay and having lost your minds at the same time is a discourse and company I'd rather not get bogged down in.

Vote NO.

Well its a discussion forum, specifically this thread for discussing the referendum and considering we are on the second thread in after hours and combined they amount to 14,000 posts plus all the other threads in the other sub-forums discussing this very topic it looks like there is actually quite a lot to discuss

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Vote NO.

Wow
    I think being a bigot is a terrible burden to carry.
    Having such intolerance must be incredibly tiring and tough on the mental health.
    I would suggest letting it go.
    Being gay seems to be a burden only as long as there are people out there telling you that you're a mistake, a sinner and filth.
    So that would be you and you're similarly minded peoples fault.
    Well done.

And if you're not interested in debate don't bother commenting here.
    This is a forum for yes, no and I don't know people to talk, think, disagree and agree, not to spout crap like the discussion is worthless have no discussion, as you suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Vote NO.

:confused::confused: Do you think we're living in Russia or something? "Gay people have lost their minds"....just WTF? Have you ANY notion of how inappropriate you're sounding?

Obvious troll is obvious

Isn't it true though that gay people love to chatter away all day. Sure isn't the internet alive with homosexuals? Fair play and all that there's nothing wrong with chatting away and being friendly.

Vote NO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Isn't it true though that gay people love to chatter away all day. Sure isn't the internet alive with homosexuals? Fair play and all that there's nothing wrong with chatting away and being friendly.

Vote NO.

? Can anyone get rid of this clown?

Vote NO.

G'wan, say something else. We're all waiting here....

Keep reporting is all you can do.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Vote NO.
    Jesus Christ - I'm really mindful of the fact that people on the yes side outnumber those on the no side quite substantially in this thread, and have been trying to give some leeway to promote some meaningful discussion and then you come out with this tripe? I mean seriously!

Don't bother posting in this thread again so if you can't engage in an adult discussion. Post in it again and you'll find yourself banged from the forum

VinLieger wrote: »
    Obvious troll is obvious

As obvious as they are, just report and ignore. We'll get to it.

Jeany mac. I'm so sorry if I offended you. You're completely misreading me here. I am most certainly not homophobic. I just have my own instinct on this issue. I believe you're all gone mad. That's just the way I think it doesn't mean I hate you. Some of you guys are very excitable. This mod ciderman needs to back to mod school I think. You just can go around loosing your cool like that. Take it easy lads.

Vote NO.

Mod Edit:

/sigh
    User Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,892 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

you'll find yourself banged
    Simple typo...

or subtle hint?

:cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Jeany mac. I'm so sorry if I offended you. You're completely misreading me here. I am most certainly not homophobic. I just have my own instinct on this issue. I believe you're all gone mad. That's just the way I think it doesn't mean I hate you. Some of you guys are very excitable. This mod ciderman needs to back to mod school I think. You just can go around loosing your cool like that. Take it easy lads.

Vote NO.

Nice
    Very nice

osarusan wrote: »
    Simple typo...

or subtle hint?

:cool:

God damn iPhone! You had one job!

Is it true to say that fringes on both sides have been engaging in poster tampering?
    That's probably bad form, though I struggle to feel bad when I see some of the offensive flase material being zip tied to local lamp posts, particularly by the no side.
    The yes side consistently ask for equality, the no side make it seem like society will fall.
    Seem to remember similar tactics with the Divorce referendum and arguments against the availability of contraception, yet here we all are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Walked past a few No campaigners on the street today. A pair had a Bible in their hands and was running around at people waving it. I ignored them and tried to walk around them. They tried physically blocking me so I ducked around them without saying a word and one of the guys yelled "you're hardly that f*cking busy!". So I went up to the Yes campaigner and got as many stickers and badges as I could. Then I walked to another area (came out of Pennies) and another No campaigner started hurling abuse about how I'm going to hell and how dare I support such Satanic acts... and yet people are giving out about the Yes campaigners? Is it only them that are "bullying" people into a vote?

sup_dude wrote: »
    Walked past a few No campaigners on the street today. A pair had a Bible in their hands and was running around at people waving it. I ignored them and tried to walk around them. They tried physically blocking me so I ducked around them without saying a word and one of the guys yelled "you're hardly that f*cking busy!". So I went up to the Yes campaigner and got as many stickers and badges as I could. Then I walked to another area (came out of Pennies) and another No campaigner started hurling abuse about how I'm going to hell and how dare I support such Satanic acts... and yet people are giving out about the Yes campaigners? Is it only them that are "bullying" people into a vote?

Ive yet to be acosted by either, really want to get a no campaigner on my doorstop or the street though, if they have a bible even better cus ill just go straight to leviticus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,730 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

sup_dude wrote: »

Really ???
    Haven't seen anything like this from either side.
    You're not making it up are you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Really ???
    Haven't seen anything like this from either side.
    You're not making it up are you??

Nope, this was only an hour ago in Limerick so I'm sure they're still about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Is it true to say that fringes on both sides have been engaging in poster tampering?
    That's probably bad form, though I struggle to feel bad when I see some of the offensive flase material being zip tied to local lamp posts, particularly by the no side.
    The yes side consistently ask for equality, the no side make it seem like society will fall.
    Seem to remember similar tactics with the Divorce referendum and arguments against the availability of contraception, yet here we all are.
    What I read on the Examiner was that 3 businessmen were seen taking it down the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭goldencrisp62

I'm voting no for one reason only.

Firstly I don't care what anyone does in their spare time or who they care to sleep with.

There is a big issue with this referendum.

There are a large number of militant yes voters who are simply hosing down anyone who doesn't agree with then. Vote yes or you're evil and a knuckle dragger.

The irony is these people are campaigning for equality but refuse to give equal recognition to the validity or existence of the no vote. People who don't believe the no vote should even exist. Everyone is equal but only if you conform with our way of thinking

There is a big issue in any referendum if one side cannot proclaim their stance without being hosed down and shouted down by the other side. That's not democracy at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Shrap wrote: »
    Ah, it all becomes clear to me now. If you can call the manner I just asked that question to be stroppy, I can see exactly how you think Yes campaigners are "in your face" and "aggressive"! :pac:

Glad you understand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I'm voting no for one reason only.

Firstly I don't care what anyone does in their spare time or who they care to sleep with.

There is a big issue with this referendum.

There are a large number of militant yes voters who are simply hosing down anyone who doesn't agree with then. Vote yes or you're evil and a knuckle dragger.

The irony is these people are campaigning for equality but refuse to give equal recognition to the validity or existence of the no vote. People who don't believe the no vote should even exist. Everyone is equal but only if you conform with our way of thinking

There is a big issue in any referendum if one side cannot proclaim their stance without being hosed down and shouted down by the other side. That's not democracy at all.

And stealing a banner like happened in Cork on Monday is ok?
    Or shouting abuse like sup described happened to him in Limerick today is ok?
    Or standing in someone's front door and calling them a child abuser because they politely said they were a lesbian and voting yes as happened to me is ok?

The irony is that those who claim to be voting No because they disapprove of the 'militant' Yes side seem completely blind to the militant No side.