Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    we were freezebranding a few weeks ago- later than normal- so heifers where done calved, they where like pets , nearly didnt have to hold their tails, man was saying it was a pleasure to do them compared to last year when they where in calf/maidens

Good to know. Hoping to freeze brand all the cows and heifers here this yr. Used to know all cows just by looking at them. Too many heifers now to know who's who

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

AI man was telling us he has never came across a crazier batch if heifers than thus yrs.
    They just don't like being handled and alot are bonkers in a crush.

Ours were like pets going to out farm this spring and still mainly are but separate them Out into 1s and 2s and there pure wild

It's the one thing lads pay no attention to when picking Bulls is temperment, bought in some right bitches of heifers over the years, a lot to be said for the nice quiet holstien if you go through any of the ai catalogues 95% of bulls are below average for temperment....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Finished the drafting pen in the end......well kinda.
    Served 10 cows one morning and it was no use. Will have it ready for next yr. Had one tramp of a heifer who just jumped over the gates no bother to her

Copy cat

jaymla627 wrote: »
    It's the one thing lads pay no attention to when picking Bulls is temperment, bought in some right bitches of heifers over the years, a lot to be said for the nice quiet holstien if you go through any of the ai catalogues 95% of bulls are below average for temperment....

That's so true. Nothing worse than a bunch of mad bitches putting extra hardship on you.

Happened here a few years ago and the time extra work and is falling out wasn't worth it. Always look at temperament.

This yrs heifers were grand 3/25 were trouble but you'll always have a few.
    running them through parlour for all of jan does wonders for them

Copy cat

Not as glamorous as yours. Does the job though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

That's so true. Nothing worse than a bunch of mad bitches putting extra hardship on you.

Happened here a few years ago and the time extra work and is falling out wasn't worth it. Always look at temperament.

Temperament and health. Any cow that got mastitis here this year was minus for health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Well spring lads and lassies have ye peaked,

keep going wrote: »

Reckon there coming down off peak now. 27l last few collections. Was 28 for s while.

I'm not spring milk though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Im only in my thirtys so i hope not:D

Recon so but holding. Splitting heifers and higher maintenance ladies was some help. Lots of strong heats and heifs in great BCS. Will deffo continue this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

milk fell here this last week with them being in at night, back up this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Yep peaked and holding ,.put a few kg of whole crop in during bad weather to keep dm intakes up and was a good move.cows in great shape and bulling strong,21 days in for cows today and 92% served.clean out of 3 paddocks was ****e over last 10 days and hopefully will wrap these next time round .silage fit to cut but finding 2 suitable dry days proving difficult.good drying but showers most days and not enough dun to bring up sugars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Yep peaked and holding ,.put a few kg of whole crop in during bad weather to keep dm intakes up and was a good move.cows in great shape and bulling strong,21 days in for cows today and 92% served.clean out of 3 paddocks was ****e over last 10 days and hopefully will wrap these next time round .silage fit to cut but finding 2 suitable dry days proving difficult.good drying but showers most days and not enough dun to bring up sugars

Knocking 30 acres of silage today 20 of it is on grazing block so has to come back into the rotation our I'm screwed for next round, same as yourself too have 15 acres that wasn't cleaned out last round so going to try and wrap this next round but that's only going to happen once I get the other 20 acres back in quick, weather for next week is looking brutal too nearly tempted to knock all silage ground and hopefully get a decent quality second cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

GG

Any issue with cow flow coming out seeing as they've to turn 180 degrees and now the space is reduced? Nice work by the way - operated from the pit?

mf240 wrote: »

Still feel like I'm in my twenties until I see and talk to twenty year olds :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Knocking 30 acres of silage today 20 of it is on grazing block so has to come back into the rotation our I'm screwed for next round, same as yourself too have 15 acres that wasn't cleaned out last round so going to try and wrap this next round but that's only going to happen once I get the other 20 acres back in quick, weather for next week is looking brutal too nearly tempted to knock all silage ground and hopefully get a decent quality second cut

Thought about going to day but needs 48 hours down and Tedded twice with sun,cold dull windy morning here with rain promised tomorrow and tomorrow night,no great opportunity next week either but some hope of an improvement next weekend..don't go knocking grass for sake of it,anything knocked now needs sun a wilt and to be Tedded or else you could end up with a pit or bales of crap .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭foleypio

It's god damn hard work being so sexy sometimes

just do it wrote: »
    GG

Any issue with cow flow coming out seeing as they've to turn 180 degrees and now the space is reduced? Nice work by the way - operated from the pit?

Nope they they always had to turn that direction any way.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Thought about going to day but needs 48 hours down and Tedded twice with sun,cold dull windy morning here with rain promised tomorrow and tomorrow night,no great opportunity next week either but some hope of an improvement next weekend..don't go knocking grass for sake of it,anything knocked now needs sun a wilt and to be Tedded or else you could end up with a pit or bales of crap .
    Tuesday to Friday looks promising fir next week. If it's stays that way we have 30 ac to cut. Will leave last 15 ac till first week of june

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

At 27l here growth improved last 2 days p, blanket spreading all grazing ground and second cut over 3 days. Not at peak yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Knocked 16 acres last night, tedded this morning will rake in at 3 and bale in the evening. Will be for dry cows more than likely as its old grass which if left to go into pit in 2 weeks would deteriorate so chanced it. same story re paddocks not cleaned out in the last round so hopefully we'll get a bit of heat soon to kick on growth and can skip those paddocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

mf240 wrote: »

Ive bad news for you, it aint goimg to get any better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Any sign of silage up your way yet ?

Bit cut last week, the usual suspects but any tests I heard came back with low sugars. Walked mine the other day, most won't take any hurt for another bit, first decent few days will be all go I'd imagine.

Not as glamorous as yours. Does the job though

If it works its 100%

Remember the old days. Cows leaving parlour you miss one you then run out of the pit but think I better walk as she can out run me.

You slow not daring to look her on the eye while widening the arc and speeding slightly. As you increase to a slow jog so does she you get to eye level and decide to go for it.

You know you've one chance as she's almost out of the yard. You go for it and are making ground, thinking I have her. Once you reach eye level you know and she knows there can only be one winner.

She accelerates away but you being the hero give it one more go, with nothing left in the tank and all you can see is her freeze brand you know you're bet.

In one last effort to prove who's master you swing your right leg to land a kick not realising that the yard was scraped yesterday and it hasn't rained for weeks.

You miss and land on your ass in the one pile of scutter the scraper missed.

Sound about right :)

LOL. :D great description

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Timmaay wrote: »
    In the process of building a 6/7ton hopper in the loft to feed the new parlour here! Cost of about 200 quid in materials against 2k for a new bin. I'll probably just put up a bin in the future but for now this will do grand, I've enough money sank into this whole project so far!

Timmay.. how did you get on with this meal bin in the end? Did you fit in augurs / filler pipe etc.? any photos?

Am thinking of doing something similar if I can figure out how to extend my augurs a bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

If it works its 100%

Remember the old days. Cows leaving parlour you miss one you then run out of the pit but think I better walk as she can out run me.

You slow not daring to look her on the eye while widening the arc and speeding slightly. As you increase to a slow jog so does she you get to eye level and decide to go for it.

You know you've one chance as she's almost out of the yard. You go for it and are making ground, thinking I have her. Once you reach eye level you know and she knows there can only be one winner.

She accelerates away but you being the hero give it one more go, with nothing left in the tank and all you can see is her freeze brand you know you're bet.

In one last effort to prove who's master you swing your right leg to land a kick not realising that the yard was scraped yesterday and it hasn't rained for weeks.

Is there a book on the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I'm lucky the old athletics gives me a decent chance of sprinting by them ha. Usually end up with more ****e spattered all over me though.

If it works its 100%

Lol brilliant description usually take a burst across the field and catch on roadway. Get hete into yard and she turns and bolts knowing your bet