Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day...
    Teach him how to fish and you feed him for life..

A 2 billion entity should have loftier ambitions than the one way street of selling shares to boost milk price .

That said I voted yes because I think all shareholders should benefit from the value thats built up. Alot of hard working people have seen little benefit.

The share buyback should be cost neutral to the coop .
    €5 euro is still good value for any buyers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day...
    Teach him how to fish and you feed him for life..

A 2 billion entity should have loftier ambitions than the one way street of selling shares to boost milk price .

That said I voted yes because I think all shareholders should benefit from the value thats built up. Alot of hard working people have seen little benefit.

The share buyback should be cost neutral to the coop .
    €5 euro is still good value for any buyers

At €5 I'll be in like Flynn

The top up is from your own money though...in that you own the co op
    That's a quare state of affairs isn't it when strathroy etc are paying more without dipping into farmer funds

Fair point, but I must ask why aren't you gone to Strath? I'm not trying to be smart but its an obvious enough question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

we had no plan of buying new shares as we were told in last spin out we wouldnt have to as we made sure gii had a strong balance sheet wit our cash injection and the coop cleared its debt

would like to buy them but hav a superlevy to pay so dnt no what to do there

only half the shareholders turned up surely this is a need to set up on line voting, for all the money spent on it we should have meetings and votes online

the shares seem over priced at 5 a share, spin out worked out bout 3-1, how did they come to this magic number as ur buyin shares in the coop who owns a lot less of the plc now than before

in my view its a method for people to cash in coop shares at the highest value they have ever been at and fair play to them but they bought these for small money and now the young farmers or people staying in business are cashing them out at their highest point in history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

At €5 I'll be in like Flynn

Why should new entrants get priotery is this legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

milkprofit wrote: »

It is now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

milkprofit wrote: »

Why not, they need shares to get full milk price, and giil will have to look after them if they want to hold on to them as suppliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

A very good question and I can't answer it.

However you will agree Kev that the "decision" was to leave Arrabawn and move. That decision must surely have been based on a longer term view than current milk price.

Edit: I think 6 former Glanbia suppliers went to Arrabawn in the last while. As you can see its not all one way traffic. They felt they couldn't sign an MSA and the Arrabawn guys felt they could.

Bang on re long term view,short term strong milk price clouding many .if I was a new entrant and looked at arrabawns society,books and past and likewise glanbias there's only be one winner.cant understand what all the fookin Agro re signing msa is,do lads not think that before long well all have to sign some sort of msa with whoever we supply ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whats wrong with the original suppliers benefit? They built the coop for you.
    They deserve it

No quams with that, holding new suppliers to ransom just so they can get a milk price that all the other co-op are paying without dropping 10k is a piss take, a new supplier to glanbia who doesn't/can't afford to acquire these shares will be receiving the lowest milk price in the country for his April milk.
    They're using this fund to great affect by cutting milk price but still paying the average of the lower paying co-ops, they will probably pull price again for May milk but again support it with the remaining money in this fund.
    So say they pull price another cent and a half for May but support it with a cent from the fund come June when the money will be gone most likely from this fund we are looking at more then likely 27 cent for June milk and I wouldn't be surprised if they dropped another cent in June due to the tough market conditions we will be told about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

mahoney_j wrote:
    Bang on re long term view,short term strong milk price clouding many .if I was a new entrant and looked at arrabawns society,books and past and likewise glanbias there's only be one winner.cant understand what all the fookin Agro re signing msa is,do lads not think that before long well all have to sign some sort of msa with whoever we supply ??

Have to agree. Things might be all rosy in Arrabawn at d mo but history knows that won't last. It's no good to anyone travelling all over the country for milk and coops are going to have come towards some sort of agreement. Delighted though that Arrabawn didn't lie down to so many leaving. We have more suppliers got back now than left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye this was 20 years ago, was a great chance to do it while all the heavy machinery was there.

And is it still holding up? Land has a great want to return to its original state...

i have adblock so dont see any ads at all

I don't think this one is aimed at you whelan ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

just do it wrote: »
    I don't think this one is aimed at you whelan ;)

With the whole marriage referendum coming up ya never know :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I agree with you jerry and if i was a new entrant id consider glanbia, but me and you have built up shares with arrabawn and arra are 2 cent ahead, its madness to go at this stage. A new supplier is gona be hit with 10k of shares and 1-2c a difference at the moment after a superlevy year. I dont think youl get that divident for awhile from glanbia. I for one have no problem with the guys leaving but rallying everyone else to jump ship! Also a takeover is possible in the future so we could be looking at a windfall(wer not that lucky)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,791 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

just do it wrote: »
    And is it still holding up? Land has a great want to return to its original state...
    ye its looking good. we gained a fair bit, opw come around every few years and clean out trench in bog which helps alot, in fairness we dont have much bog,

Timmaay wrote: »
    With the whole marriage referendum coming up ya never know :p
    sick of hearing of it now, everyone has their own opinion and dont see why other people think they should be able to change it, it will be a long week util voting day at this rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I have more interest in the glanbia vote

what turnout was there today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Fair point, but I must ask why aren't you gone to Strath? I'm not trying to be smart but its an obvious enough question

I guess I'm not pissed off enough with glanbia and am getting a benefit from strathroy because make no mistake about it if they weren't there,Glanbia might be only paying 25c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

what turnout was there today?

Nearly 3000
    A2 voted too because quite a few strathroy and one Arrabawn that I know were there

ye its looking good. we gained a fair bit, opw come around every few years and clean out trench in bog which helps alot, in fairness we dont have much bog,

Jeez whelan not only did you get the bog reclaimed you've the State clearing your drains for you! What's your secret? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I agree with you jerry and if i was a new entrant id consider glanbia, but me and you have built up shares with arrabawn and arra are 2 cent ahead, its madness to go at this stage. A new supplier is gona be hit with 10k of shares and 1-2c a difference at the moment after a superlevy year. I dont think youl get that divident for awhile from glanbia. I for one have no problem with the guys leaving but rallying everyone else to jump ship! Also a takeover is possible in the future so we could be looking at a windfall(wer not that lucky)

Were actually 3.5 cent us ahead of Glanbia 28.5 v 32 plus .think we held price again today for April .fair statement if true by our head man and board.id be a tad concerned though at the way we're going after dairy gold and Glanbia suppliers ,we risk pissing off 2 relatively cash rich organisations and could find them
    Under cutting us next time big contracts come up to be renewed.things are all Rosy with us at moment ,strong milk price and little discontent since lads left a few weeks ago.this can and will change and I remember through the years when we paid a crap price and how bitter things got between suppliers and board /management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

I think relations have soured so can't see any takeovers happening for a while. Only possibility is in the liquid milk end of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Heard a scary story that spot milk is 10 cent a litre up north and it came from a good source

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

whats spot milk? on the glanbia thing whats the story now with spin out offer?

keep going wrote: »
    Heard a scary story that spot milk is 10 cent a litre up north and it came from a good source

Where are the guys advocating a 3 mth contract now?

jaymla627 wrote: »
    New entrants will only receive it once they have 2,000 shares bought by year end was originally ment to be circa 6,500 to get shared up but they decided to up it to a fiver a share, basically funding a nice chunk of the spin out through making new entrants having to share up to avail of milk support price.
    Love their line about the spin out helping glanbia dairy farmers in expanding it sure will once you have a ball of shares any new entrants with them not shared up are getting a very raw deal myself included....

You clearly aren't informing yourself properly. As stated in a previous post the €5 is to entice people who want to sell.

Unless they sell where do you think the shares will come from. It has been clearly signalled that shares while not necessary would be very important for any coop payouts and that includes an 8% dividend that you've conveniently forgot ton to mention. Where else can this return be gotten

Mulumpy wrote: »
    I think relations have soured so can't see any takeovers happening for a while. Only possibility is in the liquid milk end of things.

Mal, aren't Arrabawn trucks delivering to Ballyragget? I could be wrong but I thought I met them on the roads around Ballyragget. Is this me getting timing wrong and thinking of last year?

whats spot milk? on the glanbia thing whats the story now with spin out offer?

Spot market is where you go with product that you have no forward contract for akin to going to the mart with milk

On Glanbia thing for every 1000 co op shares held you'll get approx 240 plc shares.

Your co op shareholding will drop by 7.6% leaving you aprox 930 co op shares.

You can now decide to sell or keep the Plc shares that have been allocated

Based on a plc share price of €17.03 as of 13/3/15 that'd give you an aprox value of €4050

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 montiman

jaymla627 wrote: »
    New entrants will only receive it once they have 2,000 shares bought by year end was originally ment to be circa 6,500 to get shared up but they decided to up it to a fiver a share, basically funding a nice chunk of the spin out through making new entrants having to share up to avail of milk support price.
    Love their line about the spin out helping glanbia dairy farmers in expanding it sure will once you have a ball of shares any new entrants with them not shared up are getting a very raw deal myself included....

couldnt agree with you more can anyone tell me what have those that signed the agreemen t with glanbia/gii contributed to it more than those who havent its discrimination and bullying also took full super levy bill in one go no milk chq for april some b
    s