Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

What do you mean by a right to get married?

I don't think the question could have been more clear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    Have any of you lot who are complaining about how the yes side is conducting itself paid any heed at all to the behaviour, nastiness and dirty campaigning of the no side? The are deliberately misleading the public, spreading lies and attempting to incite fear of imaginary consequences. You only had to watch Ronan Mullen blatantly lying throughout the interview with Claire Byrne last night to get a good overview.

I really don't understand!

I'm not picking on you Howsoonisnow and I'm glad you have decided to vote yes, but I really am struggling to understand how people can claim to dislike the yes side to the point of changing their vote from yes to no, with the way Mullen & Quinn et al are carrying on.

For me i think what annoyed me mostly was the fact that people had a chance to show the gay community in the right light with this referendum.

It didnt have to be about rights or wanting to be treated equally or embracing being different really all it had to be was people should just do the right thing and give everyone the chance to experience something they shouldn't have to beg for!. Weather where into men women whatever where all the bloody same at the end of the day.

Instead ive seen company's using the yes campaign to sell there **** putting flags outside there doors to make them seem like there ''on the right side''.

People selling things with vote yes on them making money off of an important situation for others.

The same people who where protesting for equality where telling others they had no right to have any other opinion other then what they taught was right and if they where to go against this they where clearly homophobic.

There where other things i noticed as well especially around where i work which i dont want to go into for obvious reasons.

What it all boils down to for me was that society took hold of this whole referendum and it wasn't for the benefit of the gay community but basically to make there own voices even louder.

The no side has always mainly been fronted by fools its very easy to not take it seriously to the point no matter what they do its best to pay no attention. The yes side didnt have to have agendas or play dirty it just had to be real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭GCU Flexible Demeanour

smash wrote: »
    I don't think the question could have been more clear...
    Therein lies the difficulty.

I'll try to bridge the gap, as I'm generous that way.

So to clarify, is the question

a)"Should couples of the same sex be able to contract something called a marriage, but which doesn't include any equivalent idea to the presumption of paternity or any other gender-related marriage concepts that are just silly for SSM, while straight couples will continue to contract marriages which include all those gender-related concepts"?

OR

b)"Should couples of the same sex contract exactly the same marriage as straight couples, eliminating all gender-related concepts even if they have some relevance to straight couples"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Therein lies the difficulty.

There is no difficulty. No more diluting the questions. Do you think gay couples should be allowed get married? Yes or no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭TheChizler

But , you do have the right to marry. ITS THE SAME RIGJTS AS ANOTHER CITIZENS

All citizens, of sound mind, have a right to marry.

The right has restrictions.

All citizens can only marry if their partner is of the opposite sex, over 18 and of sound mind and not related

A man can't marry a woman, despite being of the opposite sex, if she is his third cousin. Does that make him a second class citizen?

Equality is a direct consequence of opening marriage to same sex couples. Currently you could argue that there is equality as any person can marry any person of the opposite gender, and I would agree in a technical sense. I disagree in a practical sense as a gay person in most cases is not going to happily marry someone of the opposite gender as they won't be attracted to them or love them in a romantic sense. Therefore the law is prejudiced against homosexual people as they are prevented from marrying a person they love or are attracted to; a right heterosexual people have. This is discrimination.

The proposal to amend the constitution removes this bar and the law should follow suit, therefore removing this discrimination against homosexual people. Ergo equality is a direct result of changing the constitution to allow allow people to marry without distinction as to their sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Of course, if the gays get the marriage, every second first cousin will be marrying themselves all over the shop. It'll be anarchy.

VOTE NO TO MARRYING LIKE ROYALTY!!!

For me i think what annoyed me mostly was the fact that people had a chance to show the gay community in the right light with this referendum.

It didnt have to be about rights or wanting to be treated equally or embracing being different really all it had to be was people should just do the right thing and give everyone the chance to experience something they shouldn't have to beg for!. Weather where into men women whatever where all the bloody same at the end of the day.

Instead ive seen company's using the yes campaign to sell there **** putting flags outside there doors to make them seem like there ''on the right side''.

People selling things with vote yes on them making money off of an important situation for others.

The same people who where protesting for equality where telling others they had no right to have any other opinion other then what they taught was right and if they where to go against this they where clearly homophobic.

There where other things i noticed as well especially around where i work which i dont want to go into for obvious reasons.

What it all boils down to for me was that society took hold of this whole referendum and it wasn't for the benefit of the gay community but basically to make there own voices even louder.

The no side has always mainly been fronted by fools its very easy to not take it seriously to the point no matter what they do its best to pay no attention. The yes side didnt have to have agendas or play dirty it just had to be real.

How do you think that could have been prevented short of imposing some form of (very large) whip?

Genuine question - I know I have read posts on the Yes side that made me go ... Nooooooo!!! Don't call them that! Not Now.. just think it k!! THINK IT!!! but I have also had more then one encounter with a No voter where I lost my cool and I may need dental reconstruction due to the sheer amount of teeth grinding I am doing in an effort to not go through them for a short cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭TheChizler

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    That is such a strawman it isn't even funny. You can't marry your cousin due to the fact that if you had a child it could have serious mental and/or physical complications, not to mention the fact one could have groomed the other from an early age to only want them.
    Actually I think we should be consistent here, as a show of good faith with our No-side brethren. We can't say marriage has nothing to do with children on one hand then it does on the other. There's possibly an argument that if a woman marries her male cousin then they're probably going to be having sex and pregnancy is always a risk of sex, but then what's to stop them having sex anyway regardless of marriage? As outlined below there's no legal bar on it anyway so the question is redundant. I think there's a better argument for banning sex with family than marriage (it's one of the times that maybe eew is a legitimate argument!) but this is wayyyy off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    How do you think that could have been prevented short of imposing some form of (very large) whip?

Ive no idea because unfortunatly the world we live in is arseways in so many ways!!.

There is no difficulty. No more diluting the questions. Do you think gay couples should be allowed get married? Yes or no.
    I've diluted no question. I'm simply clarifying what question I'm be asked.

I can answer either of the questions I've set out. Which one do you mean?

I'll give a straight yes or no, and a brief explanation of why.

You mean, after pursuing me for a couple of days with this witch-hunt "Yes or No" question, no-one is willing to ask whichever question you mean to get your answer?

That's your choice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

I've diluted no question. I'm simply clarifying what question I'm be asked.

I can answer either of the questions I've set out. Which one do you mean?

I'll give a straight yes or no, and a brief explanation of why.
    Um, you could answer both of them. It would be immensely faster for everybody than whatever it is you're currently doing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

No. They dont have an opinion. They have an extension of their religious delusions. And as such are beyond reasoned opinions on the matter, or participating in rational debate on it. And so by definition are bigots :
    n.One who is strongly partial to one's own group, religion, race, or politics and is intolerant of those who differ.

Totally unbiased opinion of course

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Um, you could answer both of them. It would be immensely faster for everybody than whatever it is you're currently doing.
    I could, but suddenly find I don't want to.

So pick your question, and get your answer.

If you want an answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Because if you answer honestly, you know that all your bullshit over the two threads has all been to mask the one simple truth that everyone else here already knows?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Lt J.R. Bell

iDave wrote: »
    How I see this is simple. 2 tier societies don't work. They are doomed to failure either in a cataclysmic manner or gradually dismantled. Either way societies with different sets of rules are doomed.
    In South Africa the apartheid regime lasted so long before it came crumbling down. The same can be said of segregation in the United States. In Northern Ireland the Unionist apartheid state was a complete failure and top to bottom reform was needed, a process still to be completed.
    In the Middle East Israel continues to struggle keeping together its 2 tier society.
    Islamic states continue to struggle keeping together their conservative discrimination policies as external inclusive notions begin to influence the population.
    Discrimination is harmful, its creates social unrest, resentment, murder, bullying etc.
    Every state that has extended the franchise and employment opportunities to women has been enriched.
    The sexuality apartheid state needs to be dismantled.
    A society can only function at its best when you bring as many as possible into the fold instead of leaving them out in the cold. Be it the voting, civil, marriage or economic rights.

So, comparing gay people, who have pretty much the majority of the civil rights every other individual enjoys , in the free world, to Apartheid , because they , like many hetro's, who can't marry certain fellow hetro's. ....

Right.

Another made up term, eh "sexuality apartheid"

I can see why the Jews get very precious of how the term "holocaust" gets bandied about

What do you call the refusal of the Court of Human Rights , to recognise gay marriage as a human right so? I know they must respect the sovereign rights of other countries, but if the right was so obvious and so universal, they would have ignored that , right?

Oh right on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

What do you mean by a right to get married?

I mean it in the way that heterosexual couples have the right to marry in the eyes of the state.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

So pick your question, and get your answer.

If you want an answer.

I wouldnt bother asking you anything. I know what you are. You have illustrated it perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

What do you call the refusal of the Court of Human Rights , to recognise gay marriage as a human right so? I know they must respect the sovereign rights of other countries, but if the right was so obvious and so universal, they would have ignored that , right?
    For the very same reason that we're voting on our own constitution- Article 12 of the ECHR makes no reference to gender but the courts have interpreted it as a heterosexual union because the concept of homosexual unions in the 1950s, when it was written (or in 1930s in the case of our constitution), did not exist.

This is why we have referendums on constitutions, because they are living documents that change with society. Many amendments to our constitution would've been unthinkable in the 1930s when it was originally written.

You put nothing to me. Your posts are generally aggressive and mostly incoherent. Therefore, not worth replying to

They don't need to be explained. They're there, and as such civil partnership is not equal to marriage.

How is stating that the 160 argument is flawed, aggressive ? Or that it is a lie to say equality means, treat everyone equally?

Incoherent? Ya, good one;)

Eh, sorry , sugar, they (160 differences argument) do need to be explained. The Gay campaigners are the ones making the allegations (see previous posts) after all..... (And ye whinge about the nonsense from Iona, lol)

I wager that the people putting up the comments about 160 differences, couldn't even cite 60 of them (hence, the down right refusal to discuss that point) .

And, if they knew what the differences where, they would know that as of May 2015, a fair proportion of that 160 are no longer valid. Also, they would know what some of them have no relevancy to gay people.

Come now, cite 60, and explain it in a way that we know that you haven't copied and paste them, that you understand their relevancy .

This is a non argument. It's akin to when blacks could not use the seats on a bus. People said "Well they're allowed on the bus, that's good enough"

You have no qualification to make that statement

The argument was there is 160 differences between CP and Marriage. One fellow poster and myself have called on ye to explain them. It was put to those who rely on that argument, that it's a flawed argument. No rebuttal , so far . No actual effort to address it. Apparently, it is not worth

Comparing to the Black Civil Rights Movement? Oh dear oh dear, the desperation. Martin Luther, a good baptist , would be turning in his grave . I think the black lads had more to worry about than being allowed to marry white folk.....

The bus analogy. Oh dear. Well, the bus is for transporting people ; which means everyone should get a seat. That is what a bus service is suppose to be for, it shouldn't discriminate on colour. However, marriage, in this part of the world,always for only one select group, heterosexuals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

So, comparing gay people, who have pretty much the majority of the civil rights every other individual enjoys , in the free world, to Apartheid , because they , like many hetro's, who can't marry certain fellow hetro's. ....
    If you had any sense you would be primarily voting YES for yourself as a straight person, and secondly for the lgbt couples who are in actuality being discriminated against. You're too busy thinking up ways to justify the way it is, without opening your mind to the way it ought to be in a fair and equal society, for yourself and for gay people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Peist2007 wrote: »
    I wouldnt bother asking you anything. I know what you are. You have illustrated it perfectly.

He's one of them, isn't he? A homosexual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Oh dear oh dear, the desperation. Martin Luther, a good baptist , would be turning in his grave .

You mean like his dear wife Coretta?

Anita Blow wrote: »
    For the very same reason that we're voting on our own constitution- Article 12 of the ECHR makes no reference to gender but the courts have interpreted it as a heterosexual union because the concept of homosexual unions in the 1950s, when it was written (or in 1930s in the case of our constitution), did not exist.

This is why we have referendums on constitutions, because they are living documents that change with society. Many amendments to our constitution would've been unthinkable in the 1930s when it was originally written.

Correct.

But, both the Constitution and the ECHR have the ability to recongise new rights. After all, it is patiently clear that contraceptives were a no no in 1930 Ireland (well, officially) but by 1973 they were accepted amongst married women (Judges used the Catholic Preamble, to make the living document idea, to do this by the way!!!!!)

You mean like his dear wife Coretta?

Nice find , by the way

Wife, or "wives and mistresses" ?

Since when did a woman ever speak for a man?

Nice you ignored the fact that you are comparing Black Rights , which was a wee bit more than a right to sit on a bus without hassle compared to one civil right that wasn't open to gays (at this time)

Correct.

But, both the Constitution and the ECHR have the ability to recongise new rights. After all, it is patiently clear that contraceptives were a no no in 1930 Ireland (well, officially) but by 1973 they were accepted amongst married women (Judges used the Catholic Preamble, to make the living document idea, to do this by the way!!!!!)

And then they used the rights of the family to directly undermine Catholic fascist theology. Pitty bout it.

So now your slurring the Kings... charming.

Since when did a woman ever speak for a man?

K4t wrote: »
    If you had any sense you would be primarily voting YES for yourself as a straight person, and secondly for the lgbt couples who are in actuality being discriminated against. You're too busy thinking up ways to justify the way it is, without opening your mind to the way it ought to be in a fair and equal society, for yourself and for gay people.

Not all "discrimination" is unfair or unlawful or unacceptable.

You are too busy trying to get round the fact that wishy washy stuff like "I wanna be loved" just isn't always enough to change the laws.

De Facto couples are being "discriminated" against too, I don't see any war cries

People have still to really try and convince anyone as to how Civil Partnership Act has failed to close the gap in so called discrimination , in areas involving property, children etc. Nor have they dealt with how , no matter how many future amendments, such gaps would be closed . Once those rights are there, how would marriage improve things, bar being a vanity show?

How come they can't understand the role of marriage, and it's position in society and the different functions various groups have in society ?

How does being gay in anyway, stop you from a career (well, it does in schools ran by religious groups) in most areas one desires, or to vote, or to stand for a position of importance, or other every day chores

Comparing this right to vote to the black struggle in America or what went on in South Africa, is frankly moronic and a cheap sound bite

Bannasidhe wrote: »

Roll eyes , all you want, you know it's true, and you know Luther King was a bit of a playa

And then they used the rights of the family to directly undermine Catholic fascist theology. Pitty bout it.

Pick up a dictionary, and educate yourself on the term "fascist" , like a good chap.