If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,347 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bullocks wrote: »
    Will there be consequences for shooting a drone on your own land I wonder ?
    Will they easily tracked after one was shot down ?
    had a lad here a few months ago he lost his drone, had a vague idea where it was, he was offering a reward, he thought it might be up our fields somewhere, never heard any more from him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,380 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Have to say the drone thing looks like bit of fun and if it had any decent recording equipment it would be an interesting view of your own farm..

Oh, and I think the recording is on the drone, on basic one's anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Saw this car the other day

fine lookin blonde driving it too ;)

reg ORG 69 ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Here's my bit on Drones............. There was talk of gettin them in work, infact there was one on trial. But my understanding of the situation is that the legislation has changed and a pilots lic is required to fly a drone over a particular weight. I'm told if there's a camera on board, the drone will be over this weight. So this has tightened up big time on they're use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭Base price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

The thoughts of going fencing now !

any idea how to stop birds-the flying kind- from hitting off house windows, they keep setting off my parents house alarm, frightening the bejaysus out of them in the early morning, was 4.30 am yesterday and 5.320 am this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Ameila

whelan2 wrote: »
    any idea how to stop birds-the flying kind- from hitting off house windows, they keep setting off my parents house alarm, frightening the bejaysus out of them in the early morning, was 4.30 am yesterday and 5.320 am this morning

Maybe some dangly type things !?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Put a sticker on the window,we used to have this problem with kamikazie black birds!

they put a picture on 2 of the windows and feckers are still hitting off one of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

davidk1394 wrote: »
    The thoughts of going fencing now !

It's not so bad once you get at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Last year for about three weeks I had a fcuker of a blackbird that would peck at the glass panel beside the back door and as are bedrooms are downstairs the frigger would wake me about half four, i'd go out and chase him away and then five minutes later he'd re-appear at the front door and peck at the glass panel there. Every morning for three weeks this pantomime went on...:rolleyes:

they had the alarm crowd out last week, they said nearly all the calls they are getting are due to birds. Parents also had a bird that would crap on the patio door every day, my mother was going mad, my dad set a rat trap and it caught the bird's tail feathers , it never came back:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Kovu wrote: »
    What the actual fúck :mad:
    There are some sick people out there.

Quote:
    POLICE IN ARMAGH are investigating after a number of lambs died following an attack near the Battleford Road.
    The animals suffered heart attacks after their right ears were cut off in an incident at the weekend.
    In a post on their Facebook page, the PSNI in Armagh appealed for information and said they have increased patrols in the area.
    Anyone with information into this act of animal cruelty has been asked to call the emergency number 101, quoting the reference number 1323 9/5/15.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/lambs-ears-...facebook_short

another attack

Latest News / Ewes and lambs bludgeoned to death in West Wicklow
    garda
    Ewes and lambs bludgeoned to death in West Wicklow
    Posted by: WicklowNews.net in Latest News May 5, 2015

Gardai in Blessington are investigating the death of 5 ewes and 12 lambs that were bludgeoned to death close to the village of Hollywood.
    The animals were struck in the head with what was described as a heavy blunt instrument.
    The dead ewes were left where they died but the lambs were taken from the field and dumped in a number of gardens in the area.
    Gardai are appealing to anyone who may have information to the incident which took place 10 days ago to call Blessington Garda station at (045) 865 202

orm0nd wrote: »
    Quote:
    POLICE IN ARMAGH are investigating after a number of lambs died following an attack near the Battleford Road.
    The animals suffered heart attacks after their right ears were cut off in an incident at the weekend.
    In a post on their Facebook page, the PSNI in Armagh appealed for information and said they have increased patrols in the area.
    Anyone with information into this act of animal cruelty has been asked to call the emergency number 101, quoting the reference number 1323 9/5/15.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/lambs-ears-...facebook_short

another attack

Latest News / Ewes and lambs bludgeoned to death in West Wicklow
    garda
    Ewes and lambs bludgeoned to death in West Wicklow
    Posted by: WicklowNews.net in Latest News May 5, 2015

Gardai in Blessington are investigating the death of 5 ewes and 12 lambs that were bludgeoned to death close to the village of Hollywood.
    The animals were struck in the head with what was described as a heavy blunt instrument.
    The dead ewes were left where they died but the lambs were taken from the field and dumped in a number of gardens in the area.
    Gardai are appealing to anyone who may have information to the incident which took place 10 days ago to call Blessington Garda station at (045) 865 202

Its beyond words and explanation how these cowards can do this.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Anyone heading up to balmoral show? Hoping to head up tomorrow as it's looking the best day weather wise.

C0N0R wrote: »
    Anyone heading up to balmoral show? Hoping to head up tomorrow as it's looking the best day weather wise.

Nope.. I'll keep my kitchen pass for the Ploughing

_Brian wrote: »
    Nope.. I'll keep my kitchen pass for the Ploughing

It's easier to beg for forgiveness than ask permission!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,678 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

It's easier to beg for forgiveness than ask permission!

Amen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Going on Thursday - first year I don't have to man a stand at it so the wife and kids are coming too. It's her first time and i can't say i'm looking forward to nipping the heels off folk with a double buggy and trying to keep the young fella off the tractors.
    I think he's got a worse heavy metal disease than Reggie!!:eek:

Going on Thursday - first year I don't have to man a stand at it so the wife and kids are coming too. It's her first time and i can't say i'm looking forward to nipping the heels off folk with a double buggy and trying to keep the young fella off the tractors.

My parents used to have a harness they attached to me for those occasions so I couldn't get to faraway! Thursday would be a better day to go but I'd rather a bit of a dry day! I'd say it has to be the guts of ten years since I went!

If there's one thing worse than a buggy at an agricultural show... its a double buggy, condolances :(

Some very witty responses to this Rural related thread over in AH :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Ah in fairness a good wake of a venerable old person that's lived out their life well is better than a wedding in the country

If there's one thing worse than a buggy at an agricultural show... its a double buggy, condolances :(
    brought buggy to the ploughing about 6 years ago, never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Army bomb robot examines suspect ‘flower pot’ outside Dublin barracks
    http://jrnl.ie/2097852

Reggie been taking up gardening? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

ganmo wrote: »

Now if you had a post driver on that robot, it would be the doggies danglies!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Now if you had a post driver on that robot, it would be the doggies danglies!
    if there's a window on that robot i hope its not open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

ganmo wrote: »

brings a whole new meaning to the phrase to "plant" a bomb :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

The shell suit and flashing runners :pac: