Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

RobertKK wrote: »
    The state are not the only ones involved in marriage, the state only matters for civil marriage.

Yes, which is the type of marriage that is recognised by the state. I can think me and you are married all I want but we cant be taxed as a couple no matter how hard I think it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

The state are not the only ones involved in marriage, the state only matters for civil marriage.

They pretty much are. A church wedding is worthless without the civil part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

This is very well put. But I would not have been able to say this without the usual ridicule from some sections on this site. Personally out of the "telly gay fellas" I think the the likes of Donal Og Cusack there is a fella that talks sense and the general population would listen to.No histrionics.

May the ghost of Danny la Rue infest your closet. :mad:

Gorm and Jack

Drag has been around for thousands of years and has always been a satirical and socially important art form as it holds a mirror up to society and takes the p*ss- every year millions of children are brought along to see men in drag (sadly the Principle Boy is no longer played by a woman) in a centuries old tradition called The Panto - good enough for family entertainment but not suitable to deliver a message about the difficulty of been seen to be different and the fear that some ***** will take it into their head to beat the living crap out of you for being different looking?

Personally I think it takes more balls for a man to wear a frock than a tracksuit. For a man to wear a full length evening dress with matching accessories in the middle of Dublin takes real courage.

but hey - dismiss the message because seeing a man in drag makes you uncomfortable.

Personally, as someone who has checked herself (S*it... do I look like a dyke... ahhhh.:eek: - of course I look like a fecking dyke. I am a dyke. Get over it!).. I thought the message was all the more powerful because Rory delivered it as Panti (which she did because she had to go straight from the Abbey to do her job) and considering the worldwide reaction so did millions of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,119 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Have to check yourself often do you?

I'm not going to turn this thread into a personal pissing contest but I'll just say yes, yes I do. Every time I have to look someone in the eye, and well, let's just say that we don't see eye to eye when they have two and I only have the one, and I have to be conscious of the fact that they're trying to be polite and not look at the eye patch or the crutch.

Sometimes it's a pain in the arse, but I'd be reaching were I to use the word "oppressive". I understand too of course that your mileage, just like Rory's, may vary, depending upon your personal perspective.

My only original point was that I thought Rory, without all the make-up and all the rest of it, I'm able to take him seriously. In drag however - not so much. That was all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Vivisectus

floggg wrote: »
    No - it won't.

Surrogacy will have to be legislated for separately - and whatever rules they develop will be of general application and not dependant on marital status.

The same issue will fall to be determined whether the people involved are single, married or civil partnered (if still around).

The same issues already present themselves in the context of heterosexual relationships - and the issue is to be resolved no matter how the referendum goes.

You are assuming a problem into being without clearly giving it any thought. The issue has zero relevance to the vote - as has been confirmed by the Law Society, the Ministers for Justice and Health and others.

The marriage equality debate is not really an appropriate occasion to start looking into surrogacy. After all - surrogacy arrangements are already here, and they involve both straight and gay couples as well as single people of all creeds, colors and orientations.

Even if you feel we need some serious legislation to govern it, then that should not just apply to gay people, nor should we stop a gay marriage proposal just because it might, conceivably, affect some sort of future surrogacy law. It is discrimination to just worry about surrogacy for gay people, pure and simple.

The honest thing to do, if you are worried about surrogacy, is to give gay people the right to marry, and then to set rules on surrogacy for everyone, gay or straight.

But I think that it is a sentiment that causes this "worry", not any sort of rational concern. The sentiment, the gut feeling, the instinct, that drives this concern is an unease about letting gay people raise children. A sort of low-grade aversion to homosexuality that especially older generations have great difficulty overcoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

smash wrote: »
    They pretty much are. A church wedding is worthless without the civil part.

It is worthless for state benefits of civil marriage.
    But there are a lot of people whom getting married in a religious wedding is the marriage, and the civil bit is just the state recognising what marriage is to them.

I know people who say 'they aren't really married, it is just a registry job.' as in they view marriage as a union joined together by God.
    Please don't slaughter me for saying this, but that is how some view marriage.

Got home to find my first bit of propoganda from Iona in my letter box... I needed more toilet paper though!

I throw everything in the bin, yes, no and by election literature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,119 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    May the ghost of Danny la Rue infest your closet. :mad:

Gorm and Jack

Drag has been around for thousands of years and has always been a satirical and socially important art form as it holds a mirror up to society and takes the p*ss- every year millions of children are brought along to see men in drag (sadly the Principle Boy is no longer played by a woman) in a centuries old tradition called The Panto - good enough for family entertainment but not suitable to deliver a message about the difficulty of been seen to be different and the fear that some ***** will take it into their head to beat the living crap out of you for being different looking?

Personally I think it takes more balls for a man to wear a frock than a tracksuit. For a man to wear a full length evening dress with matching accessories in the middle of Dublin takes real courage.

but hey - dismiss the message because seeing a man in drag makes you uncomfortable.

Personally, as someone who has checked herself (S*it... do I look like a dyke... ahhhh.:eek: - of course I look like a fecking dyke. I am a dyke. Get over it!).. I thought the message was all the more powerful because Rory delivered it as Panti (which she did because she had to go straight from the Abbey to do her job) and considering the worldwide reaction so did millions of others.

Ok, now I see where you're coming from. You're taking me up completely wrong altogether then in that case.

Nothing about drag makes me feel uncomfortable. Hell I've said it before on here that Conchita Wurst was incredible, and gave a cracking Eurovision performance. I'm well aware of the history of drag for both men, and women. I'm also allowed suggest that Panti just ain't my thing, she doesn't do anything for me personally. I don't get her. I don't paint every drag performer in the same light though. I just cannot take Panti seriously when IMO she just looks ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Do religious ministers carrying out wedding ceremonies which are accepted by the State have a state licence to do so? If not, it might be useful to introduce one: it would be helpful to have declarations from Buddhists, Hindus, the various Christian sects, Moslems, Scientologists, Shamans, Mormons, Jehovah's Witnesses etc etc that they accept State law. Good tax opportunity too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Why is it that nobody seems to know the correct title of this referendum?

It's the Marriage Referendum!

Not the SSM Referedum, or the Marriage Equality Referedum, or the Gay Marraige Referendum, or anything else like that.

Everyone seems to be twisting the name of it to suit their personal stance, and makes me not want to vote either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I'm not going to turn this thread into a personal pissing contest but I'll just say yes, yes I do. Every time I have to look someone in the eye, and well, let's just say that we don't see eye to eye when they have two and I only have the one, and I have to be conscious of the fact that they're trying to be polite and not look at the eye patch or the crutch.

Sometimes it's a pain in the arse, but I'd be reaching were I to use the word "oppressive". I understand too of course that your mileage, just like Rory's, may vary, depending upon your personal perspective.

My only original point was that I thought Rory, without all the make-up and all the rest of it, I'm able to take him seriously. In drag however - not so much. That was all.

No pissing contest necessary.

Just consider do you fear you will literally be physically attacked because you look different? For many gay people that fear is a constant. That is the checking yourself Panti was talking about. That moment when you worry the gay is showing too much - when you feel, just for a second or two, shame because that is how for many years you were taught to feel.

It may interest you to know Rory originally did not intend to deliver the speech as Panti but had a show to do straight afterwards and it takes a loooong time to look like a middle aged conservative woman so really had no choice.

It is worthless for state benefits of civil marriage.
    But there are a lot of people whom getting married in a religious wedding is the marriage, and the civil bit is just the state recognising what marriage is to them.

It's worthless full stop. You're not husband and wife. You're nothing. A church marriage without the civil part is about as recognised as a 4yr claiming to be a heart surgeon because he's played doctors and nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

traprunner wrote: »
    surrogacy is not an issue relating to this referendum. It is a much bigger issue that affects both straight and gay couples. For those who forget what the implications of this referendum are here is what the independent Referendum Commission state.

I'm quite certain that a few here don't want to read this.

I was saying "OK that's grand" until the last paragraph about families. My reaction was "ah now that's a bit much"

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Why is it that nobody seems to know the correct title of this referendum?

It's the Marriage Referendum!

Not the SSM Referedum, or the Marriage Equality Referedum, or the Gay Marraige Referendum, or anything else like that.

Everyone seems to be twisting the name of it to suit their personal stance, and makes me not want to vote either way.

Regardless - "SSM ref" is easier to type I am sticking with that one!:D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I was saying "OK that's grand" until the last paragraph about families. My reaction was "ah now that's a bit much"

But that is what's going to happen because that's what happens with straight couples. A married couple is recognised as family because the Constitution doesn't define Family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

It's worthless full stop. You're not husband and wife. You're nothing. A church marriage without the civil part is about as recognised as a 4yr claiming to be a heart surgeon because he's played doctors and nurses.

Wow, here comes mr Lawyer to break up the happy couple -
    "You're not husband and wife!"
    "But we just got married!"
    "No, You're Nothing!!"

Some don't need a state body to sanction their feeling of marriage. Other's regard anything without legal contracts to be utterly pointless.
    You see it here too, people saying "we should be allowed to be happy together!" A legal contract wont make a relationship any more or less happy.

Some don't need a state body to sanction their feeling of marriage. Other's regard anything without legal contracts to be utterly pointless.
    You see it here too, people saying "we should be allowed to be happy together!" A legal contract wont make a relationship any more or less happy.

But it will grant the couple more rights.

Wrong, worthless only in the state.
    If you believe in God it is a union joined together by God and the state bit is the least important bit.

It will be as worthless as a same sex marriage in a country that doesn't recognise same sex marriage.
    Will the same sex married couple say 'oh same sex marriage not recognised here, we are no longer married now, our marriage is worthless?'

Yes. And we're back to the "160 differences."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Wow, here comes mr Lawyer to break up the happy couple -
    "You're not husband and wife!"
    "But we just got married!"
    "No, You're Nothing!!"

Of course it will, as it provides more legal rights as a couple, safety, security and peace of mind.

Wrong, worthless only in the state.
    If you believe in God it is a union joined together by God and the state bit is the least important bit.

It will be as worthless as a same sex marriage in a country that doesn't recognise same sex marriage.
    Will the same sex married couple say 'oh same sex marriage not recognised here, we are no longer married now, our marriage is worthless?'
    No, it's worthless full stop, it means nothing. You can't be classified as husband and wife, no matter how much you push it.

Wish the state would get out of personal lives...

No, it's worthless full stop, it means nothing. You can't be classified as husband and wife, no matter how much you push it.

So you are saying a same sex marriage is worthless if a couple marry here (presuming referendum is passed) and move abroad to a country that doesn't recognise it.
    The couple can't say they are married?

DareGod wrote: »
    Of course it will, as it provides more legal rights as a couple, safety, security and peace of mind.

Hmmm, My lover and I are Much happier since we signed the Civil Marriage Contract...

Can't say I ever heard anyone say this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭tigger123

Wish the state would get out of personal lives...

It would be more beneficial if the Church did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

tigger123 wrote: »

Wish I could thank that twice

So you are saying a same sex marriage is worthless if a couple marry here (presuming referendum is passed) and move abroad to a country that doesn't recognise it.
    The couple can't say they are married?

What? No I'm saying a church wedding is worthless with out the civil marriage.

tigger123 wrote: »

People are free to be involved with the church or not.
    The church is free to speak its position on things, just like Google, twitter and ebay have...but yes welcome what suits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Surrogacy has nothing to do the SSM ref according the Irish Times:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/why-surrogacy-has-nothing-to-do-with-same-sex-marriage-1.2189717

But then this leads to ask the question what is the situation where a SS female couple have a baby?
    For example
    http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/dil-wickremasinghe-pregnant-online-bullying-1983965-Mar2015/ (She was the victim of bullying in this article I do not agree with the harrasment she recieved by the way)

What if following the passing of the SSM ref Dil Wickremasinghe decides to marry her partner?

What are the legal implications for the child? What if the father turns up looking for his say? Or vice versa where there are two male partners what rights will the surrogate mother have if they the SS couple marry?

I will admit that the picture of Dil Wickremasinghe pregnant with her female partner shocked me.

But if this is the way of the future following (a likely yes vote) in the SSM ref what will it mean for a SSM couple and the child in this situation.

I know it has been said that surrogacy has nothing to with the same sex marriage ref. But surely there are implications if a SS couple get married in this situation? Sucession rights and god knows what else?

This is what I meant by surrogacy minefield in a previous post. Surrogacy will have something to with the SSM ref if a SS couple who have availed of surrogacy get married legally following the referendum.

And what would make that situation any different if a heterosexual married couple had a child by surrogacy..............?

What? No I'm saying a church wedding is worthless with out the civil marriage.

But we are talking about worthless marriages, you are talking about a marriage being recognised.
    Same sex marriages will be worthless in most countries.
    You can't argue a difference to your argument.