Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

It makes a farce of marriage if same sex couples can get married the whole institution might as well be scrapped.

Lets be honest with the amount of one parent families/divorce is there any point to it anymore?

It is like the straw that breaks the camels back redefining what the family is so it can be shoe-horned into marriage.

A family to me is a mother/father and kids. Anything else is a group of people who live together/a family that lost a member of the previous family unit.

Oh dear, myself and my husband wont be having kids so are we not a family? Is our marriage a farce?

Can you show me in the Constitution where family is defined please, just so we are all clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,928 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I know there is the argument that families come in all shapes but to me a family mammy + daddy + kid

Anything else is not a family to me but a collection of people who were a full family or wish to be a full family.
    Do you think constitutional protection of the family should be removed from the 'no-longer-family' upon the death of a parent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

MrWalsh wrote: »
    So who becomes the gay paedophile, the straight person who got looked at or the gay person who looked at him?

Im worried about this because I looked at a fella today and he was wearing a pink scarf and now Im afraid he turned me into a gay paedophile.

Could the gay people not just wear some kind of head gear that prevents them from making eye contact to avoid the magic gay paedophile thing?

I'm not sure. I was listening to the 'no' side and I'm all confused now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,504 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    May I ask why you bothered asking for information when it appears your mind is made up?

Here was me thanking your thoughtful participation like an eejit when all along you think if I marry my long-term partner is it a 'farce' and having Constitutional protection for my family is the straw that breaks the camels back.

I can't even being to describe how disappointed I am that I wasted time with a cogent argument for you. :(

Well I always like to make an informed decision and to get all viewpoints whether I agree with them or disagree with them.

I figure this referendum will pass along the lines similar to the good friday agreement so I doubt no matter what I vote will make any difference.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭SireOfSeth

I know someone posted a study that same sex couples have no effect on a families upbringing in comparison to hetrosexual couples but I find this incredulous if I am honest.

I think that the referendum should be re written and civil partnership be given the same constitutional protection as marriage instead. But don't call a civil partnership marraige it can and never should be the same thing. Biology dictates as much.

Fixed that for you. Bigotry dictates as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 lak

When SSM is introduced,will members of the LGBT community be looking to get married in church(catholic or otherwise).I've just finished reading the past 15 pages or so and haven't been able to find any mention of weather or not anyone will even be interested in such a scenario let alone weather it is expected that the church must accommadate SSM on equality grounds.

I have read a lot about potatoes though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,928 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

lak wrote: »
    When SSM is introduced,will members of the LGBT community be looking to get married in church(catholic or otherwise).I've just finished reading the past 15 pages(69 is a lot to ask) and haven't been able to find any mention of weather or not anyone will even be interested in such a scenario let alone weather it is expected that the church must accommadate SSM on equality grounds.

No - this referendum is only about civil marriage.

Religious organisations will still have the power to marry who they want to, and not marry those they don't want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,060 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

When SSM is introduced,will members of the LGBT community be looking to get married in church(catholic or otherwise).I've just finished reading the past 15 pages or so and haven't been able to find any mention of weather or not anyone will even be interested in such a scenario let alone weather it is expected that the church must accommadate SSM on equality grounds.

The weather is bad for the poor spud.

osarusan wrote: »
    Do you think constitutional protection of the family should be removed from the 'no-longer-family' upon the death of a parent?
    No because it once was a family therefore still deserves constitutional protection.

traprunner wrote: »
    I'm not sure. I was listening to the 'no' side and I'm all confused now!!

Well can you find out please?!! If its me who has turned into the gay paedophile Ill be wanting to make an immediate application to have a baby taken off a heterosexual couple!

No because it once was a family therefore still deserves constitutional protection.

What about my family, no children?

The weather is bad for the poor spud.

Will spuds be able to get married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Magenta wrote: »
    David Quinn/Iona now saying that a Yes vote would mean straight people marrying their own gender for tax evasion/a laugh therefore vote No.

http://www.mediahq.com/ionainstitute/107618/press-release-from-the-iona-institute-ref-com-confirms-that-two-heterosexual-male-or-female-friends-can-marry-under-proposed-new-marriage-law

As if straight couples never marry for technical conveniences...

Any religious solemnisers are free to marry or not marry whoever they wish. That is protected in law. So a gay couple could look to get married in a Catholic church but they wouldn't have much luck there. Other faiths/churches might accommodate religious services for them though if they want to. Religious and civil marriage are separate matters, and this referendum only pertains to civil marriage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

No this referendum is solely concerned with civil secular marriage. No Church will be compelled to offer same-sex marriages. In the same way the Catholic Church are not forced to recognise divorce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Dimithy

Well can you find out please?!! If its me who has turned into the gay paedophile Ill be wanting to make an immediate application to have a baby taken off a heterosexual couple!

Make sure you get the application in soon, so you can get your government issued baby. If you wait too long the baby for gays service is going to be privatized.

No this referendum is solely concerned with civil secular marriage. No Church will be compelled to offer same-sex marriages. In the same way the Catholic Church are not forced to recognise divorce.

Actually the Catholic Church do not recognise civil marriage. If you were civilly married, then divorced you can get married in a Catholic Church afterwards.

Great bunch of lads. Law of the land doesnt apply.

Dimithy wrote: »
    Make sure you get the application in soon, so you can get your government issued baby. If you wait too long the baby for gays service is going to be privatized.

Will there be tax breaks?

I am all for this equality craic but
    when giving equality to one crowd which results in the re-defining of the word family, for some reason I find this very difficult to re-reconcile.

I am just glad that I have found the nub of the decision I have to decide. A poster asked me to search my heart and find the reasons that I think it is a difficult decision and I have.

So I have to decide on equality or re-defining the family as a result of re-defining marriage.

All of you all may laugh at me but I am finding it a tough choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,060 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Actually the Catholic Church do not recognise civil marriage. If you were civilly married, then divorced you can get married in a Catholic Church afterwards.

Great bunch of lads. Law of the land doesnt apply.

Is that true?
    Have you a link please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

In the same way the Catholic Church are not forced to recognise divorce.

They do recognise divorce. They basically cast you aside. You can not get married in a church more than once unless the first marriage is annulled by a priest, which isn't going to happen very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

This is a speech by a conservative New Zealand politician on the day equal marriage was legalised. No voters should definately watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭SireOfSeth

Nope. It will be up to the religious faiths whether they want to allow gay couples to get married or not. The referendum is only about civil marriages (as opposed to the religious ceremonies).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

when giving equality to one crowd which results in the re-defining of the word family, for some reason I find this very difficult to re-reconcile.

I am just glad that I have found the nub of the decision I have to decide. A poster asked me to search my heart and find the reasons that I think it is a difficult decision and I have.

So I have to decide on equality or re-defining the family as a result of re-defining marriage.

How is any family going to be re-defined or affected in anyway by a yes vote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

You are a no voter regardless. We know that. I'd be much more respectful of someone who was genuinely in the 'unknown' group and decided to toss a coin for direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Dimithy

Will there be tax breaks?

Only if you plan on installing solar panels in your baby.
    Or in the case of the upkeep on a listed baby.

What about my family, no children?

Well in my head that is not a family either that is just two people living together.Regardless of sexual persuasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

It makes a farce of marriage if same sex couples can get married the whole institution might as well be scrapped.

Lets be honest with the amount of one parent families/divorce is there any point to it anymore?

It is like the straw that breaks the camels back redefining what the family is so it can be shoe-horned into marriage.

A family to me is a mother/father and kids. Anything else is a group of people who live together/a family that lost a member of the previous family unit.

You have ignored everything I said though about marriage not being about children.

A married straight couple can have no kids and still be validly married.

Moreover, if it is about children then why exclude gay couples who are in fact raising kids? If marriage serves some child related purpose wouldn't those kids be better of being raised within a family based on marriage than outside it?

And lastly, if civil partnership and marriage were to be equal in everything but name, what tangible benefit would result for anybody from precluding a same sex couple using the term marriage - gay, straight, adult or child.

I don't mean in terms of people's feara or attachments to a word - setting measurable, verifiable and objectively determinable.

Also it's oretty disnissive of the many wonderful alternative families we have today - be it adoptive, step parents, single parents or same sex.

They will all feel very much like a family to those within it, and can be more close knit, loving and supporting than some "traditional" families which fit your mould.

Do you give any consideration to them and how they feel about things when ioi dismiss them as a group of people who live together?

Why do you think they should be seen as different, lesser, unequal or what ever else it is you are implying by dismissing them in that regard?

I'm not attacking you for the sake of it btw - I'm genuinely interested to see if you have considered the import of your above statements and whether they hold any weight when critically assessed.

Is that true?
    Have you a link please.

Sure:
    http://www.catholicweddinghelp.com/questions/civil-ceremony-first.htm
    The Church does not recognize a civil wedding ceremony as valid when one or both people are Catholic. If a couple are married in a civil ceremony, the Catholic person(s) are asked to refrain from receiving the Eucharist until the marriage is recognized as valid by the Church. The reason for this, in a nutshell, is that the Church recognizes marriage as a spiritual reality, not just a piece of paper or a legal formality.

traprunner wrote: »
    You are a no voter regardless. We know that. I'd be much more respectful of someone who was genuinely in the 'unknown' group and decided to toss a coin for direction.

It is no or abstain/spoil vote for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I know there is the argument that families come in all shapes but to me a family mammy + daddy + kid

You'd need a referendum to get the Constitution to agree with that, since a married couple with no kids is a family, per the Constitution today.

So you are wrong now, and you are going to be even wronger when the Referendum passes.