Public sector pay increase

• Administrators Posts: 56,574 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

iba wrote: »
    Wealth is created in the PS sector too. Fees are charged for services, eg passports.

Just because every service isn't free doesn't mean it's creating wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

JillyQ wrote: »
    The Employers PRSI is not paid by the public sector, they pay employees PRSI only.

Are you 100% sure about this?

Because the many PS payslips that I have seen include an amount for employers PRSI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Geuze wrote: »
    Acc = 3yr degree + 3.5yrs apprentice

Teacher = 5 yrs in college + probationary period

Not that different.

How many professional exams do teachers have to pass?

klark_kent wrote: »
    if the goverment pays a guard 50 k but the guard then pays 12 k in taxes , the NET cost to the tax payer is 38 k but the guard still didnt create any wealth for the goverment to spend on wages and services etc

Please clarify what you mean by "wealth" here?

If a nurse in a hosp produces 100k of output, then national income increases by 100k.

If the nurse is PS or private sector, it doesn't matter.

Both contribute 100k to national income.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    How many professional exams do teachers have to pass?

5-6 years of exams.

Hard to say, maybe 32 exams approx.

Please clarify what you mean by "wealth" here?

If a nurse in a hosp produces 100k of output, then national income increases by 100k.

If the nurse is PS or private sector, it doesn't matter.

Both contribute 100k to national income.

How would a nurse in a hospital produce 100k of output?

5-6 years of exams.

Hard to say, maybe 32 exams approx.

lol a BA is not a professional qualification and the h dip has very few exams.

People are getting bogged down with the phrase "wealth creation".

Note that a euro spent on a hosp has equal value to a euro of profits.

Here is the key national income equation:

Y = C + I + G+ X - M

Y = national income
    C = household consumption
    I = investment
    G = Govt purchases
    X = exports
    M = imports

100m spent by the State on paying nurses or building a bypass has the same impact on national income as 100m spent by households on consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Are you 100% sure about this?

Because the many PS payslips that I have seen include an amount for employers PRSI.

It cetainly wasnt up until a couple of years ago Employees PRSI was paid but not Employers it may have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭iba

On another point for all your PS bashers and haters, do none of you recognise the sterling work that Enterprise Ireland, Tourism Island, Bord Bia etc do to attract firms to Ireland, to create investment in Ireland, to attract tourists to Ireland, to sell Irish produce abroad. PS groups like this have played no small part in assisting in the recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Employer PRSI is definitely there

awec wrote: »
    How would a nurse in a hospital produce 100k of output?

Given that average output per worker is 90,000 approx in Ireland, and given that nurses tend to work in an middle to above average productivity sector, then it's reasonable to say that they produce 100,000 worth of output.

You would need to know more about the costs of procedures, but it seems reasonable to me.

My point is this:

Bank official produces 100k of output vs nurse produces 100k of output

They both contribute equally to national income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭relax carry on

It cetainly wasnt up until a couple of years ago Employees PRSI was paid but not Employers it may have changed.

Not to doubt you but can you provide any evidence of that at all? I can't recall ever hearing that before or seeing any evidence of it. It's a pretty odd exemption to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭iba

Sorry but you are wrong.

In the past, prior to about 1995 or something, some PS paid a lower PRSI contribution. But these meant that they were entitled to less benefits from the social welfare system. Since 1995 or whatever all PS pay full PRSI.

In addition, PS employer's all pay PRSI.

PRSI btw as implied by the name is an insurance that an employee pays into in case they fall on hard times and then can get help i.e. social welfare. That is what insurance is all about.

PRSI does not go towards paying wages of PS employees, it goes towards social welfare. Taxes and other Government income pays PS wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Not to doubt you but can you provide any evidence of that at all? I can't recall ever hearing that before or seeing any evidence of it. It's a pretty odd exemption to have.

I just took a quick look on citizens information and cant find it. But i know for certain was there as i said it may have changed in the last couple of years.

On another point for all your PS bashers and haters, do none of you recognise the sterling work that Enterprise Ireland, Tourism Island, Bord Bia etc do to attract firms to Ireland, to create investment in Ireland, to attract tourists to Ireland, to sell Irish produce abroad. PS groups like this have played no small part in assisting in the recovery.

Can we all agree to stop using ps as an acronym? I can't be the only one getting confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,014 ✭✭✭✭kippy

that never happened , their was no talk of " laughing at public sector workers " during the boom until the crash happened

its a union concocted lie and one which was then spread by the faithful

public servants done better during the boom than the private sector , guards were earning sixty grand per year on average which was equal to what those on the building sites were pulling in but the brickies had no pension

Speaking of concocted lies, you seem eager enough to spread them yourself.
    Where exactly did you get the figure of 60 grand a year as the average salary for a Guard, at any time in the past decade?
    http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml
    Theres the pay scales, hard to see how, the average pay of a member of the gardai would average 60K, then or now for that matter.

my sister is a solicitor nearly ten years , she earns a good deal less than 50 k

She mustn't be doing it right so. You will look long and hard before you will find a working solicitor with 10 years experience only earning 50k never mind less. I have a number of friends in IT earning 50 to 70k and only in their late 20's with around 6 years experience.

Employers prsi is definitely paid in the public sector, I see it on my payslip every month.

that GRA site doesnt highlight the countless allowances which guards receive

And where exactly are these allowances set out.
    I'd be skeptical as to thei impact of these allowances brining the average salary up to 60K per annum.

You've obviously got a reputable source for your 60K a year figure, please tell me where it is or have you worked it out yourself?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

kippy wrote: »
    And where exactly are these allowances set out.
    I'd be skeptical as to thei impact of these allowances brining the average salary up to 60K per annum.

You've obviously got a reputable source for your 60K a year figure, please tell me where it is or have you worked it out yourself?

Salary scales and allowances

I'd add, I know these allowances exist and thanks for providing the link Quin Dub.
    Now if only Klark can provide their source for 60K a year.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/prison-officers-and-gardai-rank-as-highest-paid-88525.html
    Average figures outlined there.
    Garda Average 1158 per week as of December 08 at the end of the Celtic Tiger.
    December 07 works our at 950 per week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Wealth is created in the PS sector too. Fees are charged for services, eg passports.

This would merely offset some of the cost of provision of such services, it does not create wealth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

At the organisation's annual conference, INMO President Claire Mahon said the extra beds were needed to deal with rising waiting lists and the increasing demand for services.

One nurse working in Dublin, Louise Devlin, told delegates how she and colleagues raised money to buy a hospital bed, such were the pressures.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0507/699269-hospital-waiting-lists/

Goodness nurses have to buy the beds themselves

bjork wrote: »
    At the organisation's annual conference, INMO President Claire Mahon said the extra beds were needed to deal with rising waiting lists and the increasing demand for services.

One nurse working in Dublin, Louise Devlin, told delegates how she and colleagues raised money to buy a hospital bed, such were the pressures.

Imagine how many beds that 2% public sector pay increase could have bought.

bjork wrote: »

All this proves is that the public sector is not fit for purpose and this payrise isn't going to have any effect on that.

Any attempts to properly fix the public sector would be blocked by the unions who have no interest in reform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

What increase is that now ?

22/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

uch wrote: »
    What increase is that now ?

Would if be preferable to call it a winfall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

our problem isn't beds, its the people in them