Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Well gone a wall here this morning no water anywhere what ever is wrong with it. Came out to milk tank tripped out again milk at 6° could be worse I suppose. Sooner new one arrives the better looks like we have had a few cows with silent heats
    filled up a 200l.barrel of water from river to get us going this morning ciws going down to graze beside river today so may drop the fence so they can get a drink till we get it sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

All spring with 10% winter calvers. On 2kg 12% nut. I gave double feed for Sat in the rain and cows held.

You are doing very good solids. Hard to keep fat at that level with lush grass

I find it all has to do with cow condition. I feed 2 kg of barley, oats and soya hulls over 30-60 days . I'm up .02 on protein on each of the last 2 months. Finished last year with 7500 litres @3.43 delivered on 1.2- 1.5 tonne of meal plus whole crop silage. My biggest issue is keeping the condition on cows as I haven't feed to yield yet so it's a killer on my big producing cows thus my Ci is 405-410 which isn't good enough because it is fixable, just gonna take me 3/4 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,796 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Well gone a wall here this morning no water anywhere what ever is wrong with it. Came out to milk tank tripped out again milk at 6° could be worse I suppose. Sooner new one arrives the better looks like we have had a few cows with silent heats
    filled up a 200l.barrel of water from river to get us going this morning ciws going down to graze beside river today so may drop the fence so they can get a drink till we get it sorted
    will you be able to get some one to look at the water today? what type of tank did you buy?

whelan2 wrote: »
    will you be able to get some one to look at the water today? what type of tank did you buy?

Dad has it mended for now needs a new switch I think.
    12000l packo. Think when full it holds 12600

Dud it take your tank long to come after ordering?
    Uncle says we could be waiting a good few weeks unless it's a popular tank size and they keep a stock of them

i ordered in june but didnt get it installed til november, bank messed me around though, tank was ready for me in august, might be no harm to get your name on the list for installation though as they only install one or 2 a week- around here anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

dont sign anything unless it says when installed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What do ye guys/girls do with high scc cows this time of the year? Had a reactor last week, and have one thats not fat, factory? Hassle fattening one!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    What do ye guys/girls do with high scc cows this time of the year? Had a reactor last week, and have one thats not fat, factory? Hassle fattening one!
    this last while i just loaded them up out of parlour straight to factory, too much of a risk of mastitis in high scc cows when dry

Probably should cull them but if they're not factory ready and are a decent cow you could tube the quarter with cobactan and give her tylosine but it's a very long withdrawal period for meat. You could also treat her with regular tubes and dry off the quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭visatorro

plenty of lads buy these calves to rear calves aswell.

Dosed autumn born heifers today. Av weight 220 kg.
    biggest 250kg smallest 180kg well on target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Cows have crashed a bit here in the last 2 weeks
    Down to 24l from nearly 27 . Cows are going into quality grass and getting 2kg of meal protien sitting up at 3.8 but milk urea is between 10/18 the last few pick ups . Any ideas ??

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Down to 24l from nearly 27 . Cows are going into quality grass and getting 2kg of meal protien sitting up at 3.8 but milk urea is between 10/18 the last few pick ups . Any ideas ??

Heavy rain crashed a lot of cows who weren't allowed back into the shed. As soon as the weather improves they should go up again unless their condition deteriorates hugely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Protein is too low.
    What kind of meal?
    What BF and Pr?

Dawggone wrote: »
    Protein is too low.
    What kind of meal?
    What BF and Pr?
    meal is a course blend barley, distillers, biscuit meal, sugar beet pulp not a fan but not paying the bill
    bf 4.55
    Pr 3.79

meal is a course blend barley, distillers, biscuit meal, sugar beet pulp not a fan but not paying the bill
    bf 4.55
    Pr 3.79

Jeez, serious solids there Trixi!
    Try adding some soya to the coarse blend.
    Milk urea should be about 28 to 32.

Frazzled seems to be one of the few that consistently hits that target.

Jeez, serious solids there Trixi!
    Try adding some soya to the coarse blend.
    Milk urea should be about 28 to 32.

Frazzled seems to be one of the few that consistently hits that target.

was coincidently at 30 until we changed from a pellet to course blend. :(

The distillers is your only real source of protein there and probably not enough.

In fairness though 12 to 15% protein should be adequate with good grass.
    Any clover in sward?

The distillers is your only real source of protein there and probably not enough.

In fairness though 12 to 15% protein should be adequate with good grass.
    Any clover in sward?
    some swards have it in abundance others none you couldn't really rely on it. id say we are lacking protein herd owner is a bit penny wise and pound foolish always going for the cheapest feed.
    Protien in that mix maybe sub 12% will know tomorrow have asked for an analysis to be sent out but the sugar beet is a third of the the ration so that would bring it well down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Trix what's your midpoint calving

Is herd long calved

Trix what's your midpoint calving

Is herd long calved

middle to late February, very compact caving so were probably over the peak but think they should be capable of another few litres, wether probably not helping either

Never found ration as good as pellets in parlour no issue with TMR. I can't explain it, wondering how others find it. Have you upped meal for the wet weather. We're double feeding during heavy rain

what cp nut are you feeding?

12%

No cows bulling or heifers last 3 days. Vexed. Nearly at 2 wks in and only 35 % done. Have prebreeding done and gone 3/4 days past a few who haven't came around. Missed?

this morning is the first morning i have none, glad in a way as im wrecked. had 8 yesterday morning, ai man said it has quietened down with all the rain

At least I'm not only one si. going to heifers 3/4 tines a say and nothing was 3 thar heifers were interested in but none would stand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Went from 1.5 to 3 kg over weekend and will always do so during long periods of rain, dry and wet grass are two different feeds and especially during breeding season.at least now I can claim the extra milk paid for the ration just about which wasnt the case during the quota years but the economics are the cows milked 70e worth of milk extra and it cost 66e and any time I did this exercise I get similar results, I kow fellas are going to say they would drop more only for ration but I have often got similar results in grass shortage raher than weather situation s but these are our cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

8 here yday also most we've ever had in a day, will make for a very fun day in Feb next year if they all hold ha.

I was feeding double nuts but f"uking ran out yday evening, always on a bank holiday weekend! Picking up a few bags in the local glanbia to throw in front of them at the min!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

jaysus lads its depressing all this rain, cows will be back in by end of this week if the rain thats forecast comes. why people in this country ever look for rain i dont know,think we would have learned by now.