Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will you vote in the Marriage Equality referendum? Mod Note Post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,182 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

marienbad wrote: »
    I wouldn't be so quick with that assumption if I were you . Lots of yes supporters are living in an internet/college bubble .

Visibly loads of people registering to vote this week ...it's a better sign than online polls. Fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

I wouldn't be so quick with that assumption if I were you . Lots of yes supporters are living in an internet/college bubble .

I'm pretty ancient and haven't met anyone who claims a no vote either. My father in law and his cronies are more vocal for yes than any young person I know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,009 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Still haven't heard a decent argument for voting No, or a person doing so. Surely someone is! Older generation I assume

There'll be some who'll claim that voting no is doing the decent thing. Will that do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,708 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Exactly!

Every time I read a post like that saying stuff like "still no valid argument from the no side", I ask (to nobody in particular) -

"Do they actually need one?"

The answer of course, is that they don't! They can spout as much lies and spin as they want, and they don't need to back it up. They don't even have to come up with any justification for voting no. They can simply sit back and do nothing if they want, and on the day of the referendum, toddle up to the voting booth, tick no, and carry on about their business. The Constitution remains the same as far as they're concerned.

The onus is on yes campaigners to come up with valid and convincing arguments among themselves, to convince people to make the effort to get to the voting booth and vote yes. That's actually a much harder job, but it's the job we should be concentrating on, rather than "any more arguments from the no side lads? No? We have this one in the bag so!"

That's the sort of complacency the yes campaign could really, really do without. All the social media coverage and the surveys and all the rest of it are irrelevant, completely meaningless. This referendum isn't going to pass without people putting themselves out there and talking to people face to face, rather than expecting people should, or even will, bother coming to talk to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I have to imagine complacency so to speak, will come from people not turning up to vote. Its all very well to go on and on about why yes is important and equality, its more important to show and bloody vote.

cloud493 wrote: »
    I have to imagine complacency so to speak, will come from people not turning up to vote. Its all very well to go on and on about why yes is important and equality, its more important to show and bloody vote.

I have an awful feeling that people even on the day who support marriage equality will look out their windows at the rain pissing down and think "Ahh feck that, I'm not going out in that!" I know it may only seem like such a petty reason not to bother voting but it's not as though it hasn't been known to happen on previous referendum days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

cloud493 wrote: »

So which would you rather, a low turnout and a Yes win, or a high turnout and a No win?

It's hardly a question of "either/or" though, is it?

I would hope for a 100% turnout of the electorate, and for this referendum to pass 100%. I can aim for that. There's no point in saying "well that won't happen" if I don't at least try to make it happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Well hopefully neither, a high turnout with a yes vote is ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Still haven't heard a decent argument for voting No, or a person doing so. Surely someone is! Older generation I assume

Saw a piece on the news a while back where they were asking people as they came out of mass.
    Most of the people willing to answer on camera were older ladies.

I've seen a few people say it in comments sections online but when pressed for a reason it will either be about children deserving a mother and father or
    a conspiracy theory that there's more to the question than we think.

Other than that the only people declaring they'll vote no are those associated with Iona Institute, Mothers and Fathers Matter and the new First Families First.

The yes side certainly seems to have more public backing / declarations of support. At least they are focused on the question we'll actually be asked on the ballot paper.

There definitely will be some people who say they're voting yes that actually vote no and vice versa.

Probably a few eejits that spoil their vote too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I saw a friend/former friend post on FB last night about how a yes vote will lead to bullying, and that he's voting no.

And he's 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Speaking personally as a gay man I would be quite bitter if my county voted no. I would always wonder whether homophobia was influencing them towards me e.g. not getting jobs etc.

It would also prove that the RCC remains a force in Irish politics, which after all the scandals is quite breathtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,304 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Speaking personally as a gay man I would be quite bitter if my county voted no. I would always wonder whether homophobia was influencing them towards me e.g. not getting jobs etc.

It would also prove that the RCC remains a force in Irish politics, which after all the scandals is quite breathtaking.

What are you on about, nobody is going to ask you are you gay when you apply for a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

What are you on about, nobody is going to ask you are you gay when you apply for a job.
    I'm one of the obvious ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,304 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm one of the obvious ones.

Well any job interviewer who refuses to employ someone because of their sexuality would leave themselves wide open to being sued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Well any job interviewer who refuses to employ someone because of their sexuality would leave themselves wide open to being sued.

Why are you voting "no" might I ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I think it would be quite a metaphorical slap in the face for gay people but also for a lot of people who had been confident that the place is moving forward.

It would certainly leave me feeling a sense of disconnection to Ireland. I'd probably feel like giving up on the place tbh. I'd certainly feel less positive about living here anyway.

Also I think it would send a dismal message out about Ireland it were a no vote.

Frankly, I'd probably feel rather like cringing and a little embarrassed to be Irish if it does happen.

Where as if it passes I'll definitely feel a lot more positivity about being Irish, knowing that we are genuinely putting the old conservative, religious dogmatic days behind us.

It's a big deal and I think it's actually something that extends a lot beyond just same sex marriage. For me it's litmus test of Ireland's society - dogmatic and socially regressive vs empathetic and socially progressive.

It'll say a lot about what kind of people we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

I saw a friend/former friend post on FB last night about how a yes vote will lead to bullying, and that he's voting no.

And he's 30.

Is that his IQ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I would never abuse a gay person in person. And in fairness i never picked on anyone here. I did raise fair points here. It's easy say things online. It's like Bono when he says the backs of doors on toilets are all clean now because all the abuse is online now
    Right ok. You'll just abuse online.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Hellrazer wrote: »
    I'll be voting yes but I'm still amazed at the ratio of almost 4 to 1 in favour.Call it gut feeling or something but I actually think this is going to be a lot closer than the runaway victory expected.

In the last week I've seen very little yes posters around the area I work but loads of no posters up on poles..is there a danger that the yes side are becoming complacent and becoming lazy due to the expected victory?!

Oh I absolutely believe the polls are rubbish and this will be very tight.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I do not know which way to vote to be quite honest.

Do you have any questions?

Terry Pratchet

no.... havent the time or inclination to be bashed about here on Boards for having an opinion in a democratic society. Listen to it yourself.

I think your posting style is fascinating. You don't seem willing to listen to or engage with any opposing views and then claim victimhood when your views are discussed.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,009 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

I listened to Archbishop Martin (the senior one, not the Dublin one) on RTE earlier and he right out lied time after time when answering the interviewers questions. I turned off the radio as I was angered, it's probably one of the few times (outside when Joe Duffy is on) that I did so. Bishop Martin said quite clearly that priests would be forced by law to perform same sex marriages, or be sued for discrimination, on the lines of the baker in the UK. He lied about what is , and is not, written in our constitution about marriage. Archbishop Martin is an outright liar, lying to all practicing Roman Catholics, non-practicing Roman Catholics, to anyone who heard and may hear what he said. I laughed when he said that if there was a yes vote, it would open up the issue of co-operation with the state on marriage for debate within the church. He is a lying despicable deceiver masquerading as an person of respect in priestly robes, and makes me ashamed of being a Catholic and a Christian.

.........................................................................................................................................................

Glad I got that off my chest or it'd be sitting on my mind all day. I heard him again on the Ten news about how the church might withdraw from registering marriages for the state if there was a YES vote. The obvious thing that came to mind was that the priests would, presumably, only be registering marriages performed by them in RC churches, so it would only be the Straight RC just-married couples the church would be inconveniencing, not gay couples married in accordance with Civil law as the priests would NOT be involved by church law, and certainly the priests would not be forced to do so by state law, even though Archbishop Martin clearly said that was what would happen if the YES change came in. He's just interested in using lies and scare tactics to persuade people to vote NO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I think it would be quite a metaphorical slap in the face for gay people but also for a lot of people who had been confident that the place is moving forward.

It would certainly leave me feeling a sense of disconnection to Ireland. I'd probably feel like giving up on the place tbh. I'd certainly feel less positive about living here anyway.

Also I think it would send a dismal message out about Ireland it were a no vote.

Frankly, I'd probably feel rather like cringing and a little embarrassed to be Irish if it does happen.

Where as if it passes I'll definitely feel a lot more positivity about being Irish, knowing that we are genuinely putting the old conservative, religious dogmatic days behind us.

It's a big deal and I think it's actually something that extends a lot beyond just same sex marriage. For me it's litmus test of Ireland's society - dogmatic and socially regressive vs empathetic and socially progressive.

It'll say a lot about what kind of people we are.

this attitude , and in fairness you are not alone in saying this, intrigues me.
    given a very small minority of states allow same sex marriage how does this really send a poor message out?

You might argue that it shows ireland as a non progressive place but is really gay rights the fulcrum of this matter?
    In response to your reply - south africa has been very liberal on the point of gay marriage and gay rights yet cannot be held up as a progressive state.
    It may be a tick on a list of progressive liberal things but it's hardly the be all and end all.
    This crap from Enda Kenny about a Yes vote and foreign business investment is horse**** - businesses follow the profit.
    Those same American business are investing in China , Russia and the middle east regardless of human rights issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

arayess wrote: »
    given a very small minority of states allow same sex marriage how does this really send a poor message out?

Because we're the first to vote on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭jimdublin15

You might argue that it shows ireland as a non progressive place but is really gay rights the fulcrum of this matter?
    In response to your reply - south africa has been very liberal on the point of gay marriage and gay rights yet cannot be held up as a progressive state.
    It may be a tick on a list of progressive liberal things but it's hardly the be all and end all.
    This crap from Enda Kenny about a Yes vote and foreign business investment is horse**** - businesses follow the profit.
    Those same American business are investing in China , Russia and the middle east regardless of human rights issues.

Well I'll be honest I think Enda Kenny is boasting this a bit much to the extreme. Governments tend to do that recall the Lisbon posters . Vote yes for jobs - lol.

But he does have a point, it's becoming a selling/image point for companies and an image item that is becoming more important. Take as an example the US state of Indianan the governor wanted to put in place a protection act for religion however the way it was worded meant when it was signed into power shops could outright refuse service to gay people (How do you know for sure someone’s gay when they enter your shop anyway - lol) and gay rights such as protection under the employment laws no longer applied meaning you could be fired for being gay. Know he is fixing this law as we speak as US corporate backlash hit his pocket.

Companies to name a few : Apple, GE, Walmart spoke out openly against he situation and Saleforce.com went as far as stopping any further investment in the state. That's a pretty damning financial hit for the governor and the state.

I would not call it a small amount of states and same sex marriage is being allowed more and more thankfully, but were the first to vote in a referendum.
    To name a few: Argentina. Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Luxembourg, (Mexico limited), Netherlands, New Zealand ,Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, England and Wales, Scotland, United States: (21 states last time i checked) Slovenia (4th March 2015) & Finland (20 February 2015) were more recent to sign in same sex marriage into the law.

But to be honest all of this does not really matter, the posters all over town on the lamppost and the politicians on both sides are just noise and a distraction from the subject at the end of day.
    This is really just about a group of our society, a group of people (Our fellow countrymen and women, siblings, our children to come, and our friends) wanting the same legal definition of marriage. They don’t wish to change marriage, or take away from it, they just want to have the right of choice and freedom to marry (civil marriage) the people they love and hold dear.

Can't see the harm in that, and I would like to think my kids when they grow up will have the same chances for happiness and marriage (if they are gay) then anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

It will make us look backwards in relation to the western world, hardly comparing ourselves to saudi arabia or the like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Well I'll be honest I think Enda Kenny is boasting this a bit much to the extreme. Governments tend to do that recall the Lisbon posters . Vote yes for jobs - lol.
    Can't see the harm in that, and I would like to think my kids when they grow up will have the same chances for happiness and marriage (if they are gay) then anyone else.

fair points - I just don't believe it'll have such an impact (or any) that people make out.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    It will make us look backwards in relation to the western world, hardly comparing ourselves to saudi arabia or the like

why not?they have the wealth and the resources?

I seem to recall in ireland we'd sell our kids for jobs and money i.e lisbon referendum which was rejected and then passed cos we were promised jobs.
    sup_dude wrote: »
    Because we're the first to vote on it.

This I kinda accept as a point alright.

However it's kind of the spotlight on us by default as if (like a lot of other things) or constitution wasn't so written we'd be stuck sucking up whatever the dail imposed on us.
    Although I'm not overly sure it'll be news for long after the result.
    The world moves on and business follows the money or the potential to make money - it rarely follows morality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭jimdublin15

fair points - I just don't believe it'll have such an impact (or any) that people make out.

It might not for you directly or the vast majority of the land.
    However it has the huge potential for a group of fellow countrymen and women to feel included under the civil code today. It has the potential to affect our generations to come when our children and even their children will have the same chances for happiness and civil marriage (if they are gay) then anyone else. We have an opportunity to gain all that with whilst it does not take away from or change our current rights. Such an opportunity is rare and we have it on our doorstep today.

It sends a message and would go a long way in confirming that we have reached a stage in development in society and as a nation that under the civil code/laws we tolerant, we are one and we support each others right to live in peace and equality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,453 ✭✭✭✭endacl

This thread moves fast! Just checking in. Any rational reason to vote no yet?