Occupy Parliament Square 1-10 May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

OSI wrote: »
    Expect a Russel Brand rant about you any day now.

The thing is... There are major corporate governance issues around Site Serve and Irish Water... I see that and while I do not share Claire Daly's politics, I respect her ability to uncover these things...

But sitting on the street occupying a square... I'll use the poll booth myself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

If I had a euro for everytime I heard someone stating they'd "almost" join if this that or the other thing, they're all excuses my friend, never ending excuses. Why don't you start an occupy and put a fight against USC at the top of the agenda and we'll all town in behind ya

Because I work 50 hours a week and have better things to be doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The OP wants Irish people to book flights to attend a protest in London to complain about the handling of the UK economy? Good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

diomed wrote: »
    The OP wants Irish people to book flights to attend a protest in London to complain about the handling of the UK economy? Good idea.

What about the environment?and giving money to corporate entities like airlines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kneemos wrote: »
    What about the environment?and giving money to corporate entities like airlines?

Boards is a corporate entity, the OP should avoid it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Yep... This is the part that amuses me as well... I worked next to the Occupy Same Street crew... It all started lovely... They had a sing song and a commitee for who would wash the pots and pans... Then it seemed there was disagreement on what they were protesting and "leaders" were telling the rest what to say and think...

The most hilarious was the day the Troika staff walked by and the lads were too busy teaching each other to juggle (honestly!!!) that they didn't see their "enemy" walk by...

The problem with anarchists trying to get anything done is that they must organise themselves to do it, which of course goes against the idea of being an anarchist.
    you can believe what ya like but going by the sharp rise in support for the SNP afterwards I reckon the real result of that election was 55% yes and 45% no

No, the real result was the same as the result you posted in the op. Only 45% wanted independence. 55% realised they were better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

No, the real result was the same as the result you posted in the op. Only 45% wanted independence. 55% realised they were better off.

The real result was 38% yes , 47% no , 15% didn't bother to vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

And what do you suggest the Occupy Dame Street people should have done to the "enemy" as they walked by? Take them out is it?

A spontaneous guerrilla drum clinic with elements of Brechtian theatre would have shown them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So... decry an attempt at changing the political landscape - Ireland must have become a Nirvana since I left? **** - knew that would happen...

Not for one second saying this is a good idea, but it has the bones of being one, if used wisely (which it's not) but then very few of you on either side of the fence actual has an idea what the Occupy movement is, what it stands for or what it's hopes are.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

anncoates wrote: »
    A spontaneous guerrilla drum clinic with elements of Brechtian theatre would have shown them.

And there was that aggressive leaflet campaign where they explained their actions through the medium of interpretive dance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

So... decry an attempt ant changing the political landscape - Ireland must have become a Nirvana since I left? **** - knew that would happen...

Me hole.Shower of crusties making a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

That's.., kind of agrees with my point and misses it toally at the same time...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

They could have noticed that the people they were "protesting" against were there, that would have been a start... Instead they juggled, tap danced and smoked away their days until it was time to collect their sole so they could buy some more juggling balls and tap dancing shoes!

There was a rag tag collection of posters away their shanty town protesting:
    Oil prices
    Gold prices
    Fracking
    Dog licenses
    Medical cards

Last time I checked the Central Bank of Ireland had no influence on such items... But our juggling friends couldn't get beyond their trendy name of "Occupy Dame Street" sounding like Occupy Wall Street"...

So according to you they should have been some sort of all seeing eye and how dare they setup camp somewhere that had "street" in its name. Major facepalm for you

OSI wrote: »
    I won't be protesting. My salary has doubled in the last 5 years, I'm in a stable housing situation, I'm about to get married and life has never been better. And all I keep being told is that I'm "an ignorant fook" for not "waking up" to the situation and not being out on the streets sticking it to the man.

So let's see, in the last 5 years I knuckled down and got on with life and worked hard to put myself and my future family in a great and stable financial and personal position, and have achieved exactly that. Meanwhile you've spent 5 years shouting and hollering and juggling balls outside the Central Bank, and achieved nothing. Bravo.

First off, nobody has spent 5 years outside the central bank, never mind doing so while juggling balls!! What the hell are you on about there?

Secondly your I'm alright, your fcuk you jack attitude stinks to high heavens ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

First off, nobody has spent 5 years outside the central bank, never mind doing so while juggling balls!! What the hell are you on about there?

Secondly your I'm alright, so fcuk you jack attitude stinks to high heavens ;)

I'm having trouble deciphering this. Can you punctuate it?

... And you think there was election fraud in the Scottish Referendum... May we see some proof?

If you google vote fraud Scotland you'll get a lot of links but seeing as how you seem unable to do it yourself you can click the link below to get you started. Also did you fail to notice the imperialists HUGE anti-yes campaign that went on with media, big business and too big to jail banking all rallying behind in the run up to the election??

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/scottish-independence/scottish-referendum-results-10-counts-of-electoral-fraud-alleged-in-glasgow-9742672.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

(megaphone voice) What do we want?

(crowd voice) WE DON'T KNOW!

(megaphone voice) When do we want it?

(crowd voice) NOW!

Secondly your I'm alright, so fcuk you jack attitude stinks to high heavens ;)

No because they were (rightfully) removed, Hopefully they will not even get the chance to get settled in this time, made the place look terrible.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

More democracy would be terrible, too many muppets in the electorate.

Representative democracy is as good as it gets really. Generally reduces tyranny of the majority and people "protest voting" on important policy decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

If you google vote fraud Scotland you'll get a lot of links but seeing as how you seem unable to do it yourself you can click the link below to get you started. Also did you fail to notice the imperialists HUGE anti-yes campaign that went on with media, big business and too big to jail banking all rallying behind in the run up to the election??

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/scottish-independence/scottish-referendum-results-10-counts-of-electoral-fraud-alleged-in-glasgow-9742672.html

So these 10 people could have changed the vote... I'd keep arguing but I have some work to get done so I can pay taxes... You get on with suggesting people fly to London for the week to protest against their elections... Why don't you either do something productive like help those poor people in Nepal...

486,219 registered voters and you cite a report of 10 counts of ALLEGED fraud, here we are almost a year later and there is no proof of any fraud. How about showing actual proof of the alleged fraud.

Ya I mean like the state the banks left the country in still to this day, these "crusties" mess is still clearly visible today when ya pass Dame Street, the messy ba$tards!!

So these 10 people could have changed the vote... I'd keep arguing but I have some work to get done so I can pay taxes... You get on with suggesting people fly to London for the week to protest against their elections... Why don't you either do something productive like help those poor people in Nepal...

If you had bothered to look at the link when this news broke or heaven forbid when I linked it there for you a few minutes ago you'd have seen it wasn't about 10 individuals investigated for voting fraud, you've enough time to come on trolling yet too busy to even glance over the proof you asked for!! ;)

How do you know if I have of haven't done anything for Nepal already? I gave a donation the other day, what have you done for the poor people over there yourself?

486,219 registered voters and you cite a report of 10 counts of ALLEGED fraud, here we are almost a year later and there is no proof of any fraud. How about showing actual proof of the alleged fraud.

Jaysus, you don't half put it up to a lad living in the west of Ireland, demanding proof or it didn't happen lol

As I said in the post you're quoting google vote fraud Scotland for many more links to the voting fraud, there's even videos of no counts in the yes sections but then again you've probably seen them as well as other links but just prefer to troll away ignoring the info provided allowing you to view the fraud in talking about, oh and I'm not alone in believing the Scots were robbed of their independence ;)

Jaysus, you don't half put it up to a lad living in the west of Ireland, demanding proof or it didn't happen lol

Well you bought up claims of fraud in the Scottish referendum, you posted links to suspected fraud but like most conspiracy theorists you lack any sort of substantial proof to back up your claims.

Just keep screaming REVOLUTION, I'm sure it impresses the youngsters.

Well you bought up claims of fraud in the Scottish referendum, you posted links to suspected fraud but like most conspiracy theorists you lack any sort of substantial proof to back up your claims.

It's not a case of fraud, it's corruption and manipilation.

Case in point: The Fianna Fail era up until 2008.
    Murdoch trying to manipulate the UK eelction for the Torires as he did the Australian one for Abbott a few years ago.

so if you click the link below please come back to me about the BBC/Independent/Newsweek/Guardian/Telegraph and many more main stream media outlets conspiracy theory stories ;)

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=voting+fraud+scotland

It's not a case of fraud, it's corruption and manipilation.

Case in point: The Fianna Fail era up until 2008.
    Murdoch trying to manipulate the UK eelction for the Torires as he did the Australian one for Abbott a few years ago.

No sign of corruption in his links.

As for manipulation, name a political party who doesn't try manipulate the people.

so if you click the link below please come back to me about the BBC/Independent/Newsweek/Guardian/Telegraph and many more main stream media outlets conspiracy theory stories ;)

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=voting+fraud+scotland

You made the accusation it's up to you to provide the evidence, if you are not capable of backing up your accusations with real evidence then don't be surprised when people don't take you serious.

The thing is... There are major corporate governance issues around Site Serve and Irish Water... I see that and while I do not share Claire Daly's politics, I respect her ability to uncover these things...

But sitting on the street occupying a square... I'll use the poll booth myself...

ya cos voting has changed so much, here, in the US, the UK and pretty much everywhere else on the planet ;)
    Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Because I work 50 hours a week and have better things to be doing

just lol
    No because they were (rightfully) removed, Hopefully they will not even get the chance to get settled in this time, made the place look terrible.

what are you on about? have you actually read the thread or even the op?