If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[Superthread] Mayweather vs Pacman **NO STREAMING REQUESTS**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

corny wrote: »
    The rules allow Mayweather win fights (probably not an accurate word) like this so good luck to him. But surely throwing single shots and winning rounds by scoring with one or two jabs cannot be categorised as genius.

Wlad Klitschko employs similar tactics albeit he eventually gets a KO, and he's labelled a bore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Had a feeling you would wheel that out going by your other cringey posts.

You do realise how young UFC and MMA is of a company/Sport in comparison to boxing? its only been getting properly recognised for about a decade now and is still only expanding to territories around the world.

Give it 10-15 years when UFC has properly expanded to asia/oceanic, eastern europe and south america and you will see the size of events they will be hosting.

Mcgregor is headlining the same arena as the guys tonight did in the summer. Do you think a boxer from Ireland, barely two years in the "big leagues" could do that? No he couldn't.

UFC deals with fights well. No doubting that. You cant duck in the UFC....the fights get made. Kudos for that.

But this notion that there isn't Mayweather types in the UFC who just win and don't care how it looks is ridiculous. Half the guys in there wrestle to the ground and stay there for the round. And I'm not talking armbars, triangles and side control here. Just ground and pound and they lay on each other in exhaustion. That's not pretty either.

A bit of balance here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

I'm stone sober.
    Mayweather didn't land any major punches

No but more quality punches than pacquiao.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Goodnight and goodbye lads

Froch's admiration for this masterclass of boxing never extended to Andre Ward who employs similar tactics.

No doubt the final fight will be against Cotto where Mayweather will once again run and pot shot his way to the "lineal middleweight championship". At a catch weight of 150llbs of course.

I'd hate to be bitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Is there actually people thinking this was anything other than an easy floyd win on points? Im a manny fan but I saw what I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I had Pacman winning by 2(Hopeful) 1. Draw or Mayweather winning by 1. Will have to rewatch. The scorecard was a joke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭DjembaDjemba

efb wrote: »
    No, because boxing has far more depth

oh jeez...how many sports does mma combine? your little darling boxing is one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Just a little Samba

I had Pacman winning by 2(Hopeful) 1. Draw or Mayweather winning by 1. Will have to rewatch. The scorecard was a joke.

You were way off. It was a pretty wide decision for Mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,565 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Deco99 wrote: »
    Is there actually people thinking this was anything other than an easy floyd win on points? Im a manny fan but I saw what I saw.

No, there isn't any reasonable debate to see the fight any other way. Floyd had his tactics spot on, which unfortunately never makes for a quality spectacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

Out manoeuvre your opponent, maximum reward for minimum effort. He landed some class shots what do ye want- it's not Hollywood

How many? 3? 4? Wouldn't even call them shots. Jabs with a bit of snap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

No he's more like Barcelona. Sizes up his opponent and wins effectively turns on the style when required

Messi's, who is the embodiment of everything Barcelona, closest carbon copy is easily Manny. You're description if Barcelona above is a description of Chelsea or Athletico Madrid. Barcelona are nothing like that. Often they don't win effectively...often they win in the most difficult way possible but that's why they're so lauded. They don't turn on the style when required, it's never turned off. That's Barcelona and that's manny. Floyd us shrewd and tactically a genius. Like Chelsea or Athletico. Barca's tactics often are terrible. It's their freakish talent that gets them by. You really couldnt be more.wrong here

Go back to the pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Don't think so mate. You could give manny rounds 3 and 4. And maybe 6 and 7.

So even if you have manny up 4-3 after 7 rounds......he still loses by virtue of the fact that he only won a single round in the remaining 5 rounds. He lost. Whatever way you look at it.

We can talk about the margin but there is no doubting he lost the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Wasn't a great fight but wasn't as bad as it could have been.

Pac's lack of a jab and inability to cut off escape routes were big factors. He never got anything going with the exception of the straight left and he didn't throw that with the wild abandon that was needed either.

Floyd's jab and accuracy with the straight right was the key for him. Made Manny tentative and allowed Floyd to spend long stretched at centre-ring, where he dominated.

Floyd getting slammed on twitter by the casual fans but Floyd was Floyd. For it to be a really good fight Manny had to unsettle him throughout and he didn't. Probably not worth a six year wait in the end :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Lads, while I have ye. When's the next big fight there'll be a boards boxing forum hooly thread for?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Kirby wrote: »
    UFC deals with fights well. No doubting that. You cant duck in the UFC....the fights get made. Kudos for that.

But this notion that there isn't Mayweather types in the UFC who just win and don't care how it looks is ridiculous. Half the guys in there wrestle to the ground and stay there for the round. And I'm not talking armbars, triangles and side control here. Just ground and pound and they lay on each other in exhaustion. That's not pretty either.

A bit of balance here.

Sure, there is a few like that such as GSP for example who are not the most exciting, but UFC has been combating that with the ref making them stand up or engage if nothing happens for a period of time. Dana white also makes an example out of fighters if they put on a poor performance by not engaging/ducking during a fight.

Also most dull fights in the UFC are only 3 rounds max, not 10/12 rounds of it dullness. Boxing is just too much effort to watch for a casual fan like myself (also a casual fan of UFC).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Jaysus that's pretty laughable tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,552 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Kirby wrote: »
    It was never going to be a spectacle. Mayweather is too good to let that happen. Box clever, win rounds. That's the name of the game. It was never going to be a classic. Just a demonstration of how good Mayweather is.

Of course this is true but many including myself tuned in regardless hoping to be proved wrong. Can't fault Mayweather after all he won just a shame Pac couldn't be more competitive with him.
    Why, if you don't have to?
    You don't have to sure but its not worth tuning in for that really if theres a rematch they can keep it.

Messi's, who is the embodiment of everything Barcelona, closest carbon copy is easily Manny. You're description if Barcelona above is a description of Chelsea or Athletico Madrid. Barcelona are nothing like that. Often they don't win effectively...often they win in the most difficult way possible but that's why they're so lauded. They don't turn on the style when required, it's never turned off. That's Barcelona and that's manny. Floyd us shrewd and tactically a genius. Like Chelsea or Athletico. Barca's tactics often are terrible. It's their freakish talent that gets them by. You really couldnt be more.wrong here

That's a fair point but I mean that Mayweather had the skill and the guile to win fights he won't be dragged into a war. Maybe he's like arsenal but with a better defence - thr Invincibles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Mayweather made it look easy. Would've loved to have seen Manny really go in and attack him but it never happened. Not a disappointing fight as a FM UD was widely expected. A relatively uneventful meeting with very few surprises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Very dull fight and went the way I thought it would although I haven't watched a boxing match in ages.

Someone needs to bring the war to Mayweather when he tries to evade, Clubber Lang style by pulling him back in to the corner like Lang did to Rocky!!

Mayweather definitely had the more submission attempts. He went for a few guillotines here and there.....:pac:

@KatieTaylor: Mayweather makes it look so easy. Masterful performance.

Maybe ya'll listen to Katie Taylor...

Very dull fight and went the way I thought it would although I haven't watched a boxing match in ages.

Someone needs to bring the war to Mayweather when he tries to evade, Clubber Lang style by pulling him back in to the corner like Lang did to Rocky!!

Mayweather definitely had the more submission attempts. He went for a few guillotines here and there.....:pac:

Rocky was a movie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

This fight was never going to set the world alight, Manny was out boxed by the better boxer and was unable to stamp any sort of authority on the fight, which he needed to do to unsettle Floyd.

It was always going to be an easy points win for Mayweather, the people who thought otherwise really are Manny fan boys or romanticists that believe in fairy tales that do their best to convince themselves that a certain outcome is possible because they've watched Rocky too much.

Mayweather is a prick who beat the nice noble guy that is Manny, get over it and accept it.
    Its reality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

boxing is dead.
    tumblr_nnrc1yd2th1r88u00o1_400.gif

@mattmacklin: Was never gona be a fight of the year candidate but for the purist, u have to appreciate speed, defence, discipline & brain of Mayweather

But-Thats-None-Of-My-Business.jpg

@KatieTaylor: Mayweather makes it look so easy. Masterful performance.

Maybe ya'll listen to Katie Taylor...

efb they won't listen to anyone Tyson said it too but sure who are they ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭The White Feather

@oscardelahoya said "Sorry boxing fans." and "Call me old school but I like the fans getting their money's worth by watching an action packed fight."