BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Skid X wrote: »
    Gerry Marsden on that Number Ones programme, he could have a side gig as an Eddie Large double.

Noddy Holder also appears to have morphed into Germaine Greer, whilst Bruno Brookes has transformed into disgraced former Sky Sports pundit Andy Gray! :D

Pointless Saturday afternoon thread quiz: Gerry And His Pacemakers were the first act to reach number one with their first three singles (as Gerry reminded us, quite smugly...again). But who were the second act?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Pointless Saturday afternoon thread quiz: Gerry And His Pacemakers were the first act to reach number one with their first three singles (as Gerry reminded us, quite smugly...again). But who were the second act?

Uh... Frankie Goes to Hollywood? :o:D

Correcta-mundo! :)

Bonus question...who were the third act?

Correcta-mundo! :)

Bonus question...who were the third act?

Jive Bunny and the Mastermixers.

Yes, I looked it up. :o:o:o:D:D;)

Jive Bunny and the Mastermixers.

Yes, I looked it up. :o:o:o:D:D;)

Boo-urns!

Another famous single kept at number 2 was 'Wonderwall' by Oasis. Held off the top spot by Robson and Jerome. *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Boo-urns!

Another famous single kept at number 2 was 'Wonderwall' by Oasis. Held off the top spot by Robson and Jerome. *shudder*

Oh, sad face for that one.

Gah, another big dent in the old faith in humanity.

People: Eejits.

Boo-urns!

And Messrs Green and Flynn were the fourth act to reach #1 with their first three singles. :o:o:o:o:D:D:D:D;);)

Followed soon after by Mel B, Mel C, Emma, Geri and Vicky. Not only were they the first female act to achieve the feat, and the first from outside the north of England (the Mels are from Leeds and Liverpool respectively, of course, but the group was based in London), but they were also the first to achieve the feat and top the Billboard Hot 100 in the US... :D:D:D;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭trashcan

Noddy Holder also appears to have morphed into Germaine Greer, whilst Bruno Brookes has transformed into disgraced former Sky Sports pundit Andy Gray! :D

Spot on. Exactly what I thought.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Hey ho,

the new programme at 9pm (& 1.30am) tomorrow night is Tales From The Tour Bus: Rock n Roll on the Road Here is the blurb ...

"Rock legend and tour bus aficionado Rick Wakeman takes us on a time-travelling trip through the decades in this first-hand account of rockers on the road from the late 1950s to the 80s and beyond.

It's an often bumpy and sometimes sleepless ride down the A roads and motorways of the UK during the golden age of rock 'n' roll touring - a secret history of transport cafes, transit vans, B&Bs, sleepless roadies and of loved ones left at home or, on one occasion, by the roadside. And it's also a secret history of audiences both good and bad, and the gigs themselves - from the early variety package to the head clubs, the stadiums and the pubs.

This is life in the British fast lane as told by Rick and the bands themselves, a film about the very lifeblood of the rock 'n' roll wagon train. With members of Dr Feelgood, Suzi Quatro, the Shadows, the Pretty Things, Fairport Convention, Happy Mondays, Aswad, Girlschool, the Damned and many more"

Sounds decent enough, after that it's a miscellany of musical compilations, beginning with:
    10pm Totally British: 70s Rock 'n' Roll (Part 1)
    A collection of archive performances by artists including David Bowie, Free, Status Quo, Mott the Hoople, the Faces, Humble Pie, Babe Ruth and Thin Lizzy from TV shows such as The Old Grey Whistle Test and Top of the Pops

If you like that so much you can't wait for Part 2, you are in luck ...
    11pm Totally British: 70s Rock 'n' Roll (Part 2)
    A collection of archive performances by artists including Graham Parker and the Rumour, Dr Feelgood, Ducks Deluxe, Elvis Costello, the Motors, Steve Gibbons Band and Dire Straits from TV shows such as The Old Grey Whistle Test and Top of the Pops

Then there's even more old performances, but with more whispering Bob Harris ...

Midnight: The Old Grey Whistle Test: 70s Gold
    Archive performances from the BBC music series, featuring Elton John, David Bowie, Captain Beefheart, Gladys Knight and the Pips, Curtis Mayfield, New York Dolls, Bob Marley and the Wailers, Brinsley Schwarz, Gil Scott-Heron, Blondie, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, the Jam, Talking Heads, Iggy Pop, Cher and Greg Allman, Argent, Steppenwolf, Lindisfarne, Dr Feelgood and Johnny Winter

Then on Saturday, it's another chance to see the recent Kate Bush programmes:

10.55pm: The Kate Bush Story: Running Up That Hill
    Documentary exploring the singer-songwriter's career and music from her 1978 debut single Wuthering Heights to her 2011 album 50 Words for Snow with testimony from collaborators, fellow artists inspired by her work and fans. Featuring David Gilmour, the guitarist who discovered Bush, as well as Peter Gabriel, Elton John, Stephen Fry, Outkast's Big Boi and Steve Coogan

11.55pm Kate Bush at the BBC
    A compilation of the singer's performances at the BBC's studios between 1978 and 1994. Bush appeared on a variety of programmes, including Top of the Pops, Wogan, Ask Aspel, Saturday Night at the Mill and the Leo Sayer Show. Featuring the hits Wuthering Heights, Babooshka, Running Up That Hill and Hounds of Love, as well as intriguing and lesser-known material

After that it's Pops o'clock ...

12.55am Top of The Pops 1980
    Kid Jensen presents an edition first broadcast April 3, 1980. Featuring performances by Madness, Barbara Dickson, Dexys Midnight Runners, the Pretenders, UB40, the Selecter, BA Robertson, the Lambrettas, Prima Donna, and the Jam. Plus, dance sequences by Legs & Co

and then an unusual sounding Doc, which might be worth a tape

2am: Let's Have a Party! The Piano Genius of Mrs Mills
    Julian Rhind-Tutt narrates the story of Gladys Mills, the secretary-turned-pianist who shared a manager with the Rolling Stones and shot to fame in the 1960s alongside her Abbey Road studio-mates the Beatles. With contributions by Rick Wakeman, Rowland Rivron, Pete Murray, Chas Hodges and Bobby Crush

That's about it apart from some repeats on Sunday, if you missed Bez from The Happy Mondays on The Daily Politics on BBC2 during the week, here you go

If you are anti-fracking, anti TTIP, pro renationalisation of water services and you live in Salford, do consider giving Bez a vote

Sky Arts has a bit of a Cream/Eric Clapton weekend while True Entertainment offers the cheesey Birth of the Beatles on Saturday at 11pm. Although I'm not convinced that Nick Cotton from Eastenders was a good choice for George Harrison. If you don't have that channel, you could watch it here ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Rick Wakeman must be making more moola from TV appearances in the 2010s than he did from music in the 1970s!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

I finally caught up with Synth Brittania that I taped last August. As you can see, I don't get much TV time these days.

It was very enjoyable, with lovely stories about the OMD guys buying keyboards via their Mum's catalogue, and others making their own synths from instructions in weekly 'Practical Wireless' magazine.

Lots of OMD, Depeche Mode (splitting to Yazoo), Human League (splitting to British Electric Foundation) and a bit of New Order - very enjoyable

BIRTH OF THE BEATLES!!

Love that film!

Tales From The Tour Bus was very enjoyable even while noting I could write the script for same in my sleep at this stage! :p

Motorheads finest TOTP moment as 35% of Headgirl!

The Walk?

Worse dance (& song) ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭OldRio

Well that 'Totally British Rock and Roll part 1' brought back some memories. Mind you their were taking some liberties with that title.

A mixture of the good, the bad and the damn right ugly. The fashionistas of you might want to give this program a miss. Beauty and style were somewhat missing. This was about the music.

I was living in England during this period and managed to see a number of the bands featured. Humble Pie, Free, Nazareth, Man, Mott the Hoople Thin Lizzy and The Pretty Things. Great concerts and fun times.

Google tells us that
    'Nostalgia is a sentimentality for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.'
    In my case Middlesbrough Town Hall and Redcar Jazz Club 1970-75.

I think I'm going to have a good day.

Just watched the 'tour bus' documentary - Paul Whitehouse already has more than enough material for new characters :pac:

Funny footage of the roadies rocking the car to move it out of the way for the tourbus :D

Jaysus, Rat Scabies has lived life and lived it well :eek:

Hiya,

Friday Night is Rod Stewart Night this week on BBC Four, if you aren't into that the other channels offer a bit of BB King and Nick Cave. And Chas and Dave again on Saturday. A few other bits and bobs too ...

Friday BBC4

7pm Sounds of the Eighties
    Showcasing a selection of musical performances from the BBC archives, featuring Depeche Mode, the Human League, Soft Cell, Yazoo, New Order, Bronski Beat, Pet Shop Boys and Erasure. First shown in February 1996

9pm & 12.15am Imagine: Rod Stewart: Can't Stop Me Now
    The veteran rocker invites Alan Yentob to his LA home to conduct an interview, in which Stewart looks back on a career spanning almost 50 years. He discusses working with acts like the Steampacket and Jeff Beck in the 1960s and his time with the Faces, whose offstage antics became legendary - as did the frontman's affairs with a string of famous women. His solo career propelled him to superstardom with songs such as Maggie May and Sailing, and while the 1980s proved to be less successful, his constant reinvention has given him a lasting career. Having more recently become known as a singer of American standards, he talks about recording Time, his first album of new material in almost 20 years

10.25pm & 1.40am Rod Stewart at the BBC
    A tribute to the singer's career with a selection of his performances and interviews at the BBC. Songs include Sailing, You're in My Heart, I Don't Want to Talk About It and Da Ya Think I'm Sexy? Plus, Handbags and Gladrags from Rod's set at Glastonbury in 2002, his cover of Dorothy Fields' classic I'm in the Mood for Love and a song from his Radio 2 concert in May 2013

11.25pm Top of the Pops: The Story of 1978
    Documentary about the change of musical direction in 1978, when pop singles were slowly ousted by disco, punk and new wave artists. The programme features contributions by members of the Boomtown Rats, Squeeze, Boney M and Sham 69 - among others - and archive performances by the likes of Elvis Costello, the Undertones, Ian Dury and the Blockheads and the Jam

Friday BBC2

11.35pm Later With Jools Holland
    Extended edition of Tuesday night's show. Florence and the Machine perform tracks from forthcoming third album How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful, veteran singer-songwriter James Taylor showcases his 17th studio album Before This World, which is set for release in June. Also appearing are indie band the Charlatans, Los Angeles alt-pop trio Mini Mansions, south-east London soul and jazz singer Andreya Triana and Kansas mother-and-son soul-infused folk duo Madisen Ward and the Mama Bear

Friday TG4

11.25pm BB King: The Life Of Riley
    The American blues singer-songwriter recounts his story of a rise to prominence in the music industry, earning him the title `King of the Blues'. Born into a world of oppression in the cotton plantations outside Berclair, Mississippi, he went on to assemble his own band under the guidance of Millard Lee and found widespread popularity with his Singin' the Blues album in the Elvis-charged swinging zeitgeist of 1956. His talent showed no bounds, and more than half a century later he released his 42nd studio album, One Kind Favor, by which time he was well into his eighties - and showing no sign of giving up. Filmed in locations across the States, as well as the United Kingdom, and featuring contributions by a range of fellow musicians including Eric Clapton, Bono, George Benson and Mick Hucknall. Narrated by Morgan Freeman

Friday Film Four

Friday 11.05pm (and Sunday Night 1am) 20,000 Days on Earth (Nick Cave)
    Premiere. Documentary about Nick Cave, exploring his creative process by following him over the course of one day. The film explores Cave's personal archives and features recordings of his sessions with a psychoanalyst, and includes contributions from friends, family and musical collaborators, including Kylie Minogue and Ray Winstone

Saturday BBC Four

11.45pm Top of The Pops 1980
    Simon Bates presents an edition first broadcast April 10, 1980. Featuring performances by the Undertones, Sky, David Essex, Dr Hook, Saxon, Judas Priest, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Sad Cafe, the Bodysnatchers, the Buggles and the Detroit Spinners. Plus, dance sequences by Legs & Co

12.15am Chas & Dave: Last Orders
    Documentary offering an insight into Chas Hodges and Dave Peacock's successful five decades in the music industry, which has seen them share the same bill as Led Zeppelin and make a big impact on London's cultural landscape. The film blends archive performances with more recent tour footage and features contributions by Pete Doherty, Jools Holland and Phill Jupitus. Narrated by Arthur Smith

Sky Arts offers David Bowie - A Reality Tour, a 1993 concert from The Point on Friday at 10.50pm, followed by Classic Albums: Lou Reed - Transformer

Rod Stewart's First Cut is The Deepest featured on a Radio 4 series called Soul Music this week. It is a series which looks at a different song each week, talking to the writers, producers, performers etc and people whose lives were impacted by the song.

You can stream or download most of the 30 minute long episodes at their website. Despite the name of the series, it covers all genres of songs from Rock to Musicals to Classical and all points in between . A few of interest might be

Tainted Love (Series 6 Ep 3) http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b008pygx

Wichita Lineman (Series 12 Ep 2) http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b013f96w

Shipbuilding (Series 15 Ep 5) http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01r0g4h

There is a Light that never goes out (Series 19 Ep 4) http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04sv2gz

Hallelujah (Series 20 Ep 1) http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b008mj7p/episodes/guide

The Podcast links are here http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/soulmusic

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b008mj7p

That's about it, enjoy the Bank Holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭evilivor

The Nick Cave film is very good.

Can't think of Rod now without thinking of...

http://youtu.be/i9H34SWkCPA

Agreed on the Nick Cave film, evilivor. Great film :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Nick Cave....***swoons***

Looking forward to Friday/weekend, will be home alone and can play loud, loud music!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Nick Cave....***swoons***

Looking forward to Friday/weekend, will be home alone and can play loud, loud music!! :)

Currently reading Hammer of the Gods. I have no problems with my neighbours. I plan on developing some.

For a bald bastard my inner rock god is very violent, hairy and loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Currently reading Hammer of the Gods. I have no problems with my neighbours. I plan on developing some.

For a bald bastard my inner rock god is very violent, hairy and loud.

The apartment living in me hates loud noises but when I go West!!!......

It's.....LOUD!!.......

Sheep never complain!!...:D:D:D

Skid X wrote: »
    9pm & 12.15am Imagine: Rod Stewart: Can't Stop Me Now
    The veteran rocker invites Alan Yentob to his LA home to conduct an interview, in which Stewart looks back on a career spanning almost 50 years. He discusses working with acts like the Steampacket and Jeff Beck in the 1960s and his time with the Faces, whose offstage antics became legendary - as did the frontman's affairs with a string of famous women. His solo career propelled him to superstardom with songs such as Maggie May and Sailing, and while the 1980s proved to be less successful, his constant reinvention has given him a lasting career. Having more recently become known as a singer of American standards, he talks about recording Time, his first album of new material in almost 20 years

Enjoying this, its wrong that I like Do Ya Think I'm Sexy but what the hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭OldRio

Heyday TV at the moment. Pink Floyd and the making of Piper at the gates of Dawn. Very good.

To date, The Beautiful South have only had one UK number one (A Little Time).

The post BS The South are on Vintage TV now with Hugh Cornwall, Petula Clarke and Ralph McTell plus others! Now That's What Call Eclectic Vol 1

I've said it on here before, I call my car Lucille after BB's guitar.

Sky Arts last night had David Bowie Live - from Dublin in 2003 on the 'Reality' tour.

Were YOU there?

*points to no one in particular*

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I've said it on here before, I call my car Lucille after BB's guitar.

Nice :)

Sad news about BB King today, he is receiving hospice care at his home after a suspected heart attack

http://edition.cnn.com/2015/05/01/us/bb-king-in-home-hospice-care/index.html

Sky Arts last night had David Bowie Live - from Dublin in 2003 on the 'Reality' tour.

Were YOU there?

*points to no one in particular*

I'm trying to think why on earth I wasn't there :( I must have been broke or doing exams or some nonsense like that.