Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mahoney_j wrote:
    How dose fantastic sound.....
    Getting warm:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Went to dehorn last few calves this am. Can't find dehorner.

I'm in for sone bolicing if it's not found

Went to dehorn last few calves this am. Can't find dehorner.

I'm in for sone bolicing if it's not found
    Local guy comes here weekly €2/calf We have no hand act or part in the procedure.

Ah for my few it's no big chore do it once a week or every 2 wks and it's easy done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,796 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ah for my few it's no big chore do it once a week or every 2 wks and it's easy done
    ye but its one less job for you to do, lad comes here every few weeks and does mine

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye but its one less job for you to do, lad comes here every few weeks and does mine

Half hour once a week it's done. Only had 40 heifers to do here 12 in autumn and rest between feb and March not as much as yourself or frazz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Half hour once a week it's done. Only had 40 heifers to do here 12 in autumn and rest between feb and March not as much as yourself or frazz
    I got the farm relief for a few years, they always made a pigs arse of it as in half the horns growing back :mad: They just nipped the tip of the bud off and that was it, job done :rolleyes:

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I got the farm relief for a few years, they always made a pigs arse of it as in half the horns growing back :mad: They just nipped the tip of the bud off and that was it, job done :rolleyes:

Have a few with horns here. Hate them. I've heifers made such pets now they would be v dangerous. Walkin ahead of them in fiekd they have no problem giving me a push in the back with there head if your not watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Don't know if this has been posted already. Allocated flexi milk by coop http://m.independent.ie/business/farming/fasttrack-superlevy-deal-ifa-31175576.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,796 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Wonder what will the milk supply for April be compared to last year

whelan2 wrote: »
    Wonder what will the milk supply for April be compared to last year

Article in ifj says it's up 10% on last yr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

A good share of that could be carryover. 10% of my April supply was produced 10 minutes of the month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

The weather is responsible for most of that increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The weather is responsible for most of that increase.

I can't believe it's that low tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I can't believe it's that low tbh.

Neither can I especially with the big carryover at start of month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Neither can I especially with the big carryover at start of month
    we need to feed more meal lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Glanbia up 3.5 mill L a day between Ballyragget and Bellview.

Ballyragget from 3.5 ML to 5.5 at present
    Bellview 1.5 ML day at present

That's allot of extra milk and the foot isn't to the floor yet. Mad amount of trucks on the road bringing that in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

What ever you do don't touch those Danish or American Je. All you'l get is a rat of a brown cow that'll milk herself to death with all the associated problems of the Hol. I'd stay with Hol before I'd touch them again

You're asking about our base herd. At this stage it's a mix and match. If I were xbreeding I'd go direct to Kiwi and let some one in NZ have the small cows.

A lot of my first crosses were to kiwi cross, but I'm constantly getting told I let too much hybrid vigour behind going that route.

Teagasc and the guys racing for the 500 Ebi calf, I,d wager.

Get the same here every Dg that comes yet they're more profitable. Always accused of ignoring EBI which is far from true but we're very wary of Genomics. we do use genomics bur not the blanket approach.

We used a bull Called Lamont a few yrs ago who was top of the NZ bw for fertility, Ebi said we were mad as he didn't convert well yet when his daughters hit the ground he shot back up in EBI.

My observation on hybred vigour is that while the good traits are improved tha bad can be compounded if the bull and cow share them. it's far from a one stop cure all. For some reason there seems to be an agenda against LIC/Eurogene and Kiwi cross championed by teagasc and helped in no small way by a leading semen provider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Get the same here every Dg that comes yet they're more profitable. Always accused of ignoring EBI which is far from true but we're very wary of Genomics. we do use genomics bur not the blanket approach.

We used a bull Called Lamont a few yrs ago who was top of the NZ bw for fertility, Ebi said we were mad as he didn't convert well yet when his daughters hit the ground he shot back up in EBI.

My observation on hybred vigour is that while the good traits are improved tha bad can be compounded if the bull and cow share them. it's far from a one stop cure all. For some reason there seems to be an agenda against LIC/Eurogene and Kiwi cross championed by teagasc and helped in no small way by a leading semen provider

Put some kiwi cross on small heifers over a number of years . All still here . Serious milk out of the resulting 3/4 fr animal with solids and fert.
    Heading for a 7k delivred (550 kgs) herd with some NZ fr in all stock.
    Using lic's genomic bulls is not as big a punt imo as most have calving surveys and stock on ground (some milking) by the time they're over here

Put some kiwi cross on small heifers over a number of years . All still here . Serious milk out of the resulting 3/4 fr animal with solids and fert.
    Heading for a 7k delivred (550 kgs) herd with some NZ fr in all stock.
    Using lic's genomic bulls is not as big a punt imo as most have calving surveys and stock on ground (some milking) by the time they're over here
    impressive solids stretch. What level of meal do they take in the yr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

impressive solids stretch. What level of meal do they take in the yr?

1.2 t in 2014 which is skewed by a summer drought and my winter milkers are on silage and meal only (68 dmd silage) .
    Fed 800kgs odd in 11 ,12 .
    530 kgs MS last year with a balanced age profile but shorter lactations . Top heavy with heifers this year and next so may even drop for this year but would be confident in the genetics for the future.

Alot of the top ebi bulls are sired by NZ fr or their dams are so go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I'm always sceptical of conspiracy theories , but all imported bulls are discounted by 15% through interbull, called home advantage. I share your wariness of genomics especially here as the base is so small,the resulting proof is too unreliable for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Glanbia up 3.5 mill L a day between Ballyragget and Bellview.

Ballyragget from 3.5 ML to 5.5 at present
    Bellview 1.5 ML day at present

That's allot of extra milk and the foot isn't to the floor yet. Mad amount of trucks on the road bringing that in!!

And bellview has just choked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

I see that lamont bulls ebi is up to 313, with some serious producion figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

feckin rain made a route straight to tank in parlour, have to go away and hook up the tanker now. serious rain since yesterday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

And bellview has just choked.

Ya there suppose to be at capacity allready. Wouldnt think supply has peaked yet either.

Milked out wrote:
    I see that lamont bulls ebi is up to 313, with some serious producion figures
    And we have heaps of them haha Nice to get it right occasionally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

And we have heaps of them haha Nice to get it right occasionally

Have you any milking yet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I'm always sceptical of conspiracy theories , but all imported bulls are discounted by 15% through interbull, called home advantage. I share your wariness of genomics especially here as the base is so small,the resulting proof is too unreliable for me.
    The bias is consistent so you are comparing like with like with Irish genomic bulls.

So higher Irish EBI genomic bulls should still be top of the Irish heap (using a bull panel, obviously), shouldn't they?:confused:

At least that's what I'm telling myself:o