Worst Airport You've Been To?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I was there a few years ago, a horrible experience. The queue after security was hilarious, it was just a free for all to get out the door and on board.

Having flown in and out of Beauvais a fee times I'd usually agree it's a **** airport. However, the security did me a favour there a few years back.

Had been at the infamous match with the Thierry Henry handball. Flew alone and met friends there. Heavy night of drowning sorrows after match and I slept through alarm and missed bus to airport. €200 taxi fare and arrived ten minutes before takeoff. Could see passengers boarding from the security point. Guy was saying I was late and tough. At this point I must have looked miserable and pathetic so his supervisor waved me through before I started crying.

No chance Ryanair would have allowed me on back in the days you had to go to their checkin desk at the airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

That one in between Barcelona and Salou. Awful cattleshed.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Definitely JFK.....a crumbling sh1thole of a kip. Plastic seats, stinking Sbarro pizza kiosks, lard-added wanker staff everywhere waddling around exuding "this is how we do it in New York".

Utter slum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭stehyl15

Pisa airport delayed our flight for a airshow come on lads its not bray seafront. I do like most of the Italian airports ryanair fly into small and easy to get through Bergamo is very good airport . Most of them are straight into passport control and baggage reclaim without having to walk a mile like Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

househero wrote: »
    I dont get why people stand up when you have an assigned seat now, was your trip before the new changes?

several reasons:

1. Ryanair only guarantee the first 90 bags in overhead bins. If you're one of the last in the queue, there's a high chance you'll be forced to check in your bag which means potentially slow waiting times at destination because you have to wait on luggage... plus it can be inconvenient if you've got valuables and food / drinks etc... in that bag which you'd planned on keeping in the cabin.

2. Overhead bin space is always at a premium... quite often people boarding later don't get to store their bags in the bins directly above their heads which means the bag needs to go in front / behind you... which makes things awkward when getting off at the other end (when everyone stands up and nobody can move)... if you're sitting at the front but your bag is towards the back, good luck trying to swim against the tide of angry and impatient passengers trying to get out...

3. In most airports, there's very little seating available at departures gates... if people don't get a seat they think "**** it, if i'm gonna stand i may as well stand at the front of a queue and get on board the plane quicker and gain the above advantages".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

I probably fly 25 times a year so I'm pretty blasé about these things. It's only in retrospect that I'd rate Colombo, Sri Lanka, of 15 years ago as the worst.

On the way in all baggage is gone through in front of you and an official bribe needs to be paid to get it back.

The way out was uneventful but the next week Tamil Tigers tried to take over the airport and sprayed tourists with gun fire for a couple of hours. Was surreal watching on the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

Faro in Portugal. Madness all round, just nothing but queues and security. Never again I tells ye.

Old Bangkok airport (Don Mueang) was dirty and grimy, still operational but mostly used for domestic flights now. New one is such an improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Cloudbreak in Western Australia. It's basically two portacabins with a runway used by a mining company. There isn't even a baggage carousel. You take your own luggage off the luggage cart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

aido79 wrote: »
    Cloudbreak in Western Australia. It's basically two portacabins with a runway used by a mining company. There isn't even a baggage carousel. You take your own luggage off the luggage cart

Sounds like the perfect airport to me, except from the portacabins. I'd replace those with picturesque cottages or do without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Sounds like the perfect airport to me, except from the portacabins. I'd replace those with picturesque cottages or do without them

In some ways it is a perfect airport as there is only one flight in or out at any one time but it's definitely not picturesque. The runway is the only piece of tarmac for over 100km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REXER

Teeside airport in the UK. Worst experience ever flying out of the place to get back to Dublin.

The pompous official at the luggage x-ray spent 15 minutes running the conveyor backwards and forwards, backwards and forwards then stopping it to take a closer look on the screen, before starting with the backwards and forwards again. Rinse and repeat numerous times whilst the few passengers for the flight get more and more agitated.

Eventually he was satisfied with the x-ray image of the contents and let it go.
    All that farting around instead of just asking the owner of the luggage to open it for a look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Dulles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

Kansas City "International" Airport. It looks like a rural airport, only one restroom with never ending queue. You can notice that after Sept 11 they just put a wall between the entrance and the gates to fit the security checks. Back in the day you basically walked straight ahead from the front door to the gate, less than 50 meters, now with a wall in the middle it's just a mess of people in line and waiting in small spaces all the time. Most gates don't have shops or food services.

The only pro is that you go through security pretty quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Dulles

Washington Dulles was pretty state of the art for its time back in the 60s and 70s. I guess it hasn't aged well. In fact a lot of American airports, cool 30 or 40 or 50 years ago are crumbling apart. An exception is San Francisco. Great airport as it kept up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Carrickfinn airport in Donegal, smallest airport I've seen, basically a hut of a sort and tiny noisy aircraft.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

Knock, held to ransom for €10 development fee! Pure rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,542 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

May I ask what's Atlanta airport like? Largest in the world by passengers, I'd say it'd be a busy place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Abu Dhabi departure lounge. Dear oh dear. A crammed building site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

Ask them the simplest of questions and prepare for a rant about how busy the airport is and how shouting at people is the least they should expect. If they spent less time berating and arguing with anyone that dares ask them something they might get some work done.

You'd think they'd be proud of working for one of the world's best known and busiest airports like.. instead of resenting the fact that they do.

I was blown away by the ignorance when I first flew there.. and I'm not the politest of people myself. I just ignore it now and try not to interact with staff.

Honestly, they'd make AH seem more like the UN.

It definitely doesn't help to dispel the stereotype, but not all stereotypes are wrong anyway. The French aren't the most endearing of people at the best of times.

Been in France plenty and never had this issue. My one time in CDG I had to ask for directions or for information a few times. I only speak a very small bit of french so asked in french "excuse me, do you speak english ?" and got all the help I needed.

Same out and about in France. If I can't ask for something in French I just ask if they have english. Always tried first in french. Usually when they realise i'm crap at it they switch to english. Never had the slightest problem with rudeness.

I find if you make an effort to speak it they appreciate it rather than just wandering up and starting off in english.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Thankfully not bad luck at airports. Düsseldorf (Weeze) was a bit small and not really anywhere near the city at all. Ryanair. :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Can't believe nobody's mentioned Malaga airport yet; more specifically the staff in Malaga airport. It's like they're paid extra depending on how hellish they manage to make the whole airport experience for the passengers. We go on hols down near Nerja, and I'd actually prefer to fly to Madrid and just have a couple of extra hours drive just to avoid Malaga airport. A pox on the whole stupid place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Bologna. Queues out the door and two gates open at security. Loads of staff standing around chatting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,842 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Carrickfinn airport in Donegal, smallest airport I've seen, basically a hut of a sort and tiny noisy aircraft.

And a tractor to carry the luggage to the plane!
    Beautiful view landing there though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,542 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

That's all grand, but how many tourists don't have a word of French? My knowledge is limited to a -"Comman tu tappel" (clearly spelt wrong) that I learned in my 1x weekly French class while in 6th class in primary school!

I couldn't ask for anything at all in French and there are many like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭DB83

Carnacalla wrote: »
    May I ask what's Atlanta airport like? Largest in the world by passengers, I'd say it'd be a busy place!

Been through Atlanta a few times - always found it ok, huge airport but well serviced by rail between terminals, plenty of restaurants / shops etc to pass the time. Suffers from same issues as all US airports in terms of security queues / passport control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I agree Charles De Gaulle's staff take sheer rudeness to new levels even if you do have basic French (which I do). But IMO that's Parisians for you. :rolleyes: The original 1970s terminal, while it seemed great at the time, is a real hassle having to go up levels and then down again. The more modern Terminals Deux and Trois are much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

That's all grand, but how many tourists don't have a word of French? My knowledge is limited to a -"Comman tu tappel" (clearly spelt wrong) that I learned in my 1x weekly French class while in 6th class in primary school!

I couldn't ask for anything at all in French and there are many like me.

Is it that hard to find out before you go to a foreign country how to ask "excuse me do you speak english" or how to say in the language "sorry I don't speak french/spanish/italian" or whatever ? I've been in more rural places in france where the locals had no english and a bit of pointing and charades usually got the job done without any rudeness or ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Kansas City "International" Airport. It looks like a rural airport, only one restroom with never ending queue. You can notice that after Sept 11 they just put a wall between the entrance and the gates to fit the security checks. Back in the day you basically walked straight ahead from the front door to the gate, less than 50 meters, now with a wall in the middle it's just a mess of people in line and waiting in small spaces all the time. Most gates don't have shops or food services.

The only pro is that you go through security pretty quick.

The wall isn't even connected to anything at the top. You could just throw something over the wall, lol. Never had any issues queueing there though, just a dumb kinda layout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Nice. It was terribly organised and the staff were awful.

Awfully Nice you mean.....

Been there for transfers, it's huge! Uses a metro to get between terminals.