Adam Sandler - is he dreadful or what ?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

He's currently filming his new movie and it's so bad and offensive that several Native American actors and extras have walked off the set and refuse to have anything to do with it. I've seen some extracts from the script and its embarrassing.

http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2015/04/27/dear-adam-sandler-ive-picked-your-indian-name-160163 is a great read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

One of the funniest clips ever ..
    (No cats where actually harmed..I presume)

Ya I love that film, so funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

mdwexford wrote: »
    They are both hilarious.
    If you don't think that then you are wrong.

The Big Lebowski is one of the most over rated films ever.

Really don't agree.

Do you really think that the 2nd half of Tropic Thunder where they rescue the people was good? It was awful.

Zoolander is totally over-rated in my opinion and also by critics. 64% approval on Rotten Tomatoes is not exactly brilliant.

The Big Lebowski is streets ahead of it as its script/dialogue driven which is not what Ben Stiller films are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

noway12345 wrote: »
    Who's worse? Sandler or Stiller?

Sandler. He's the worst thing since Pauly Shore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Zoolander is 14 years old. Christ that'd make you feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

murpho999 wrote: »
    Really don't agree.

Do you really think that the 2nd half of Tropic Thunder where they rescue the people was good? It was awful.

Zoolander is totally over-rated in my opinion and also by critics. 64% approval on Rotten Tomatoes is not exactly brilliant.

The Big Lebowski is streets ahead of it as its script/dialogue driven which is not what Ben Stiller films are.

I thought Ben Stiller going crazy and wanting to stay on the island with the kid was brilliant.
    The film as a whole was very funny.

Zoolander is gold.
    I don't care about critics or rotten tomatoes, I watch and make up my own mind whether I like a film or not.

It was very average I thought.
    After hearing so much about it when I finally got around to it I was disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Jesus christ, Family Guy has really gone to the dogs. I'd rather watch an Adam Sandler mover that that shíte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Yes, he is dreadful.

Dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I take Stiller every time. Zoolander, Meet the Parents (just the first one) and Tropic Thunder were all hilarious and The Secret Life of Walter Mitty was also a terrific film. Even those Night at The Museum films have done alright, and certainly haven't been critically panned.

Sandler hasn't had a good movie in a very long time. Click was decent, but that was 9 years ago. The Waterboy and Happy Gilmore are the only ones worth mentioning IMO, and that's going back a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Tabnabs wrote: »
    He's currently filming his new movie and it's so bad and offensive that several Native American actors and extras have walked off the set and refuse to have anything to do with it. I've seen some extracts from the script and its embarrassing.

http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2015/04/27/dear-adam-sandler-ive-picked-your-indian-name-160163 is a great read

My God ... can you imagine this tripe ??

His other ****e is bad enough but this ****e will make the waterboy look good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

THe Big Lebowski, that's more like it.

Go read the reviews of both films. They're not exactly brilliant.

Well, put it this way. No.
    When I like a film I don't care what other people think about it and I'm not worried what other people might think when I say I like it. I don't watch a film (like so many people) and say "hhmmh, I don't think the juxtaposition between the main protagonists motives vs his surroundings in a context of a critique of modern society quite add up, I will therefore give this move an F, everyone look at me and how brilliant I am, I am trashing other people's work! Not that I've done anything with my life"
    I like a huge variety of films without a care in the world.
    Zoolander is a light hearted and quite affectionate pisstake of the fashion world. The one thing it manages to pull off is to make me actually care about the characters and I am most definitely not a rabid fashionista. Will Ferrel made the movie and it's funny to see how Stiller doesn't seem to mind how his co stars completely steal the movie from under his nose and run with it.
    Which brings me to Tropic Thunder. It takes a secure ego from Stiller to share the screen with all his co-stars, most who could act quite a bit better than him and most of which are even funnier and when Tom Cruise steals your funny, it's quite something.
    Those two films definitely stand up. I could watch them again and again, especially Tropic Thunder.
    If you want a bad movie, I would point at Failure to Launch, Friends with benefits and a million other turds like that that are lazy, formulaic, pandering to our base emotions, basically movies for the drooling masses.
    I don't expect Casablanca and Citizen Kane when I watch tropic Thunder and Zoolander (because then I would watch Citicen Kane and Casablanca), but both movies definitely managed to create something that was unique and entertaining. I have long given up reading reviews of movies. Most reviewers or kids on message boards are only interested in sound smart, putting other people's work down and showing off their "intellect".

Actually, if you want really bad movies, try these:
    Any Highlander other than the first one, any Robocop other than the first one, any Matrix, other than the first one, Zardos (actually brilliant, but bad, SO bad), the 1960's Casino Royale, I could go on... :D:p
    Is there a thread about movies so bad they're good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

He's won a few razzies hasn't he...painful actor,a Republican too. Dodgy politics, dodgy actor.

Unfortunately my missus loves him. Thus, his sh1tty movies are a cross I have to bear in the name of marital harmony which of course makes me hate him even more.

Did anyone ever see jack n jill? I will be forced to dynamite my tv if i every stumble upon it in the presence of herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm just amazed how studios keep on commisioning his holiday jaunts every two years or so. Shows how creatively bankrupt Hollywood is. And how stupid the people who keep on going to see his films are.

In fairness to him he owns his own production company and funds his own stuff to a large extent. That's more than can be said about a lot of other actors and producers who would never dream of putting their own money behind the shite they create.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

His newest film, The Cobbler, isn't as bad as his more recent crap. Irish release date is 22nd May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

He's pretty awful, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Well, put it this way. No.
    When I like a film I don't care what other people think about it and I'm not worried what other people might think when I say I like it. I don't watch a film (like so many people) and say "hhmmh, I don't think the juxtaposition between the main ..... ?

I agree with you totally about 'arty farty' reviews but if consensus among many of them is that a film is not so good then I often find that to be the case.

Tropic Thunder is a good example , it started off great, Robert Downey Jr was fantastic, it pushed to he edge with 'playing full retard'. Tom Cruise was also great but in the second half the film was let down by poor action/rescue rubbish and I blame Stiller for that.

Zoolander, is an average film with some funny moments but is by no means a classic.
    Personally, I found most films, with Will Ferrell in it not to be funny, apart from Elf.

Of course it's all about opinions, but I just don't feel that anything that Ben Stiller has been in could be called a 'classic.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Stiller is a ****e actor, he overacts and it never looks natural. He's almost as bad as Nicholas Cage.

If you ever fcuking dare put me in the same grade as that bottom-feeding piece of crap, I'll put yer head through the wall :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

I thought Mr. Deeds was great... when I was 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

In fairness to him he owns his own production company and funds his own stuff to a large extent. That's more than can be said about a lot of other actors and producers who would never dream of putting their own money behind the shite they create.

Fair enough but that's an awfully expensive way of getting your family/friends holiday films funded. But if people happily go to them, then let it be I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

He's won a few razzies hasn't he...painful actor,a Republican too. Dodgy politics, dodgy actor.

What have his politics got to do with it?

Potatoeman wrote: »
    What have his politics got to do with it?

I don't like em. What of it?

You don't have to like his politics but it's nothing to do with his acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Liked Spanglish, but his role wasn't too big. Tia Leoni, and the kid who played his daughter were excellent.

Potatoeman wrote: »
    You don't have to like his politics but it's nothing to do with his acting.

It's comforting for me to know that his objectionable politics don't provoke any sympathy in me for his rotten acting.

I'd be awfully conflicted if he was a decent sort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

He's a multi millionaire, I doubt he gives a fcuk what most people think of him or his filums

It's comforting for me to know that his objectionable politics don't provoke any sympathy in me for his rotten acting.

I'd be awfully conflicted if he was a decent sort.

Fair enough, I though you were implying that someone with politics you didn't like was a bad actor rather than a bad actor and you don't like his politics either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Dr.MickKiller

If you ever fcuking dare put me in the same grade as that bottom-feeding piece of crap, I'll put yer head through the wall :mad:

He didn't put you in the same grade, he said you were worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,094 ✭✭✭✭briany

tallus wrote: »
    Liked Spanglish, but his role wasn't too big. Tia Leoni, and the kid who played his daughter were excellent.

Yeah, absolutely. Sandler's dramedies tend to be pretty good, it's only his new comedies that suck. Then again, Sandler himself will tell you that he's not trying to outdo Peter Sellers. He's made his money and making movies seems to be something that he just works at to occupy his time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Really don't agree.

You are aware that other people like different stuff to you, right? And sometimes people don't need reviews to tell them what to like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Adamantium wrote: »
    Zoolander is 14 years old. Christ that'd make you feel old.

Nah, seems about right.