Hit and run Cyclist death - Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Homer

I sincerely hope that any boards users from the Kerry region that are familiar with him and his family treat them as lepers of the community and shun them in public, and I know if I ran a business there they wouldn't set foot inside the door. Disgusting family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flatty

Was it not Kerry where half the village, including the priest, queued up to shake the hand of a convicted rapist in front of his victim?

flatty wrote: »
    Was it not Kerry where half the village, including the priest, queued up to shake the hand of a convicted rapist in front of his victim?

Just to clarify, the victim is from Kerry, the convicted man is from Cork, their addresses would not be too far apart - I'm guessing 20 minutes or half hour but someone from East Kerry would know more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Sleazy Gonzales

How was he caught?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

simarconi wrote: »
    How was he caught?
    Good detective work by the looks of it. From what I can tell from report, Gardai were able to determine from the scene and the debris left behind what kind of car it was and its colour.

Then from a review of CCTV from businesses and houses, they were able to find the vehicle and step back along the vehicle's journey, ultimately finding CCTV footage of the driver. Then they were able to trace back his movements through CCTV and show him out on the town absolutely hammered before he got in the car.

I imagine they also weren't long having their suspicions raised when they traced all of the local owners of that kind of vehicle and found that one of them fled the country the day after the crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Surely they'd know easily enough if the car went on a Ferry to the UK.

As I understand, it would have been very difficult for them to try and match what they had to every vehicle, particularly when the actual vehicle was now destroyed. It was apparently a friend of the accused who went to a Garda and reported his suspicions and when they knew the vehicle involved they were able to work backwards to what they had found and make the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

seamus wrote: »
    Good detective work by the looks of it. From what I can tell from report, Gardai were able to determine from the scene and the debris left behind what kind of car it was and its colour.

Then from a review of CCTV from businesses and houses, they were able to find the vehicle and step back along the vehicle's journey, ultimately finding CCTV footage of the driver. Then they were able to trace back his movements through CCTV and show him out on the town absolutely hammered before he got in the car.

I imagine they also weren't long having their suspicions raised when they traced all of the local owners of that kind of vehicle and found that one of them fled the country the day after the crash.

If true, that was indeed fantastic work by the gardai and must be applauded... but they too must also be disheartened when such a conviction like this has such a paltry sentence handed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭Sniipe

My mother's car was hit by a drunk driver - a school teacher from Clare speeding along with his friends. So too was my brother's car - a woman trying to commit suicide in Galway. I feel so angry with these stupid ar*eholes but this killer, Shane Fitzgerald, can't seem to but only portray a scumbag persona. I feel so sorry for Margaret, her children and for Paud's circle of family and friends. I'm embarrassed for our justice system that the murdering Shane Fitzgearld got away with a holiday and a lesser sentence than expected.
    Never ever drink and drive! Its not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Fair play to the gardai for finding the scumbag that did it. But there really needs to be stronger penalties for drink driving. And much more check points, set up regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

c_man wrote: »
    And to those who'll be along, "He'll have to live with it for the rest of his life" he will in his bollox.

True and I always laugh when I read or hear that nonsense. The piece of shít clearly doesn't give two fúcks about the victim or his family. Just a pity he hasn't got at least ten years behind bars to stew on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Don't worry there'll be justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Don't worry there'll be justice.

never is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Don't know if there'll be justice - who knows really.
    One doesn't want to accuse his family of any wrongdoing in the legal sense. But there are a lot of rumours and hard questions about them here in Kerry.
    So I've heard too. I'm not from north-west Cork/the Kerry border, but my relations are.
    flatty wrote: »
    Listowel - north Kerry, far from where this man is from. Wondering why you've brought up a separate story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

seamus wrote: »
    It hasn't been recovered, largely believed that it's been buried somewhere by whoever was helping him flee.

He did claim that he sold it in the UK to get himself to Australia, which given that he boarded a ferry the next day is plausible, but I imagine the Gardai would have thoroughly explored that.

If he'd driven a grey land cruiser with the front right wing smashed to bits from Kerry to Dublin port, he would have been spotted.

I think you're greatly overestimating the observational powers of the Gardai.
    Unless you're speeding you can drive backwards with your car on fire and your arse hanging out the window and they don't care.
    Unless maybe they where specifically on the lookout for this particular car, otherworldly just another dinged car to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Reading about this poor lady and what Her beautiful family have been put through by this pond life today, in the indo, I was sickened to my core. Not only should this murdering scumbag be left to rot in jail for eternity, all members of his family that aided and abated his crime/murder should be all hauled before the courts for perversion of justice.
    The only solace I take from this whole episode is the sincere hope Shane Fitzgerald gets what's coming to him in prison Shawshank style.

Also now the scum has been proven guilty, is there no way to press further as to what happened the jeep? To get rid of a large vehicle like that completely would not be all that easy and likely to have involved several accomplices.
    Also well done to the Gardai involved for catching the little cockroche.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

I think you're greatly overestimating the observational powers of the Gardai.
    Unless you're speeding you can drive backwards with your car on fire and your arse hanging out the window and they don't care.
    Unless maybe they where specifically on the lookout for this particular car, otherworldly just another dinged car to them.

Surely the port would have cctv and record of it?

Flood wrote: »
    Surely the port would have cctv and record of it?

And the ferry company on booking.

road_high wrote: »
    And the ferry company on booking.

Exactly but I guess if he did drive a cruiser to the port and on the boat it could be another one with the reg of the one that was in the collision.

Imagine if he "sold it in the UK" like he claimed, then it would be easy to trace via the DVLA. I find it hard to believe anything from a lowlife though left a man to die in a ditch like that. I've seen and read some bad things in my time but this yoke really is the lowest of the lowest of the low, as are his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Satori Rae

Why they didn't throw the book at him is beyond me .....

I wouldn't do it to a dog or a cat. God give strength to Paudies family.

Satori Rae wrote: »

Absolutely. Though would have loved to seen the look on the little weasels face when he was aressted first at Heathrow...

I wouldn't do it to a dog or a cat. God give strength to Paudies family.

Such a lovely, decent family. Heart goes out to them. The direct opposite of Shane Fitzgeralds clearly.

Satori Rae wrote: »

I hear this term alot, what do you mean as in maximum sentence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

IMO max sentence plus would'nt be enough for him:mad:.

I think there should be far more discretion for judges on sentances, so as they fit the crime accordingly. In this case id say at least 15-20 years taking into account the crime and subsequent crimes afterwards.
    Those that aided the killer should be punished severely also. Anything less is just not good enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Satori Rae

Well a lot more then what he got.

I have no idea about the maximum for each crime tbh but that is an insult and a complete joke, he should have just in my opinion at least got as a minimum 10 yrs he hit a guy, he was drunk driving and he fled the scene and country.

By throwing the book at him I mean he should have been charged fully for everything he did wrong.

Also on a more personal level and taking into consideration he broke up a family and left them devastated. It is a scandal.

sugarman wrote: »

Justice system here is an absolute joke

You have summed it up and its very little comfort to the deceased family here.

I'm outraged over it and to be honest I haven't felt this way in a very long time. It's the sheer callousness of that scumbag and his family afterwards and right up to the trial. It's an outrage, right up there with joe Oreilly and his ilk.

I really feel for Mrs OLeary and her beautiful family and I don't know them from Adam.