Jamelia: 'High street shops shouldn't sell plus size clothing'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

*Pocket goes in favourite pair of jeans* Never mind, I'll use the other pocket *Zip immediately breaks*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I mainly wear dresses also, because of the hassle of buying jeans. I've three pairs of jeans, that's it.

I've more dresses and skirts than I can count. They suit me better than jeans anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

kylith wrote: »
    A guy can, generally, measure his waist, walk into a shop and buy a size 32 inch waist trousers and they will fit grand, there's nothing like that for women..

Women always think this, that guys just need to buy their whichever size they are in jeans and shirts and off they go. I blame Beyonce, with her roll out bed and throw on what I wanted dream of being a man bollox. I must write a song called If I Was A Rich Bitch and she how she likes it.

Seriously though, I have 34 waist jeans that I can't squeeze into and 32 jeans that fit like a glove. Leg length is often nowhere near what they claim. I always buy 32 inside leg but when my jeans are all laid out side by side, they are far from being the same. Often measured the inside leg after buying online and it wouldn't be uncommon for them to be an inch or two out.

Don't get me started on shirts, sure the neck might be my size but the shoulders and chest would be for some hunk they imagined would buy the damn thing and the sides taper down to facilitate a toned stomach I ain't got either! Honestly, women haven no idea of the pressure us men are under when it comes to clothes shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

*Pocket goes in favourite pair of jeans* Never mind, I'll use the other pocket *Zip immediately breaks*

Patches on the worn out crotch of my fave jeans - cool as fook :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I wear jeans all the time in spite of being an absolute demon to fit properly - I only have about 2-3 styles that actually suit me and fit well though! Unfortunately I'm also running up against the "every other fcuker is the same size as me" problem - bought a pair in-store at Gap about a month ago, went online a week later to try and get another pair, and there wasn't a single pair in a 28 regular in that style across about five different colours in stock. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Jon Stark wrote: »
    I wouldn't even call them has beens as to call them that would suggest they've actually achieved anything of note.

Bitter never weres might be a more apt description.

But that Thank You song is amazing. Never shall forget it.

Women always think this, that guys just need to buy their whichever size they are in jeans and shirts and off they go. I blame Beyonce, with her roll out bed and throw on what I wanted dream of being a man bollox. I must write a song called If I Was A Rich Bitch and she how she likes it.

Seriously though, I have 34 waist jeans that I can't squeeze into and 32 jeans that fit like a glove. Leg length is often nowhere near what they claim. I always buy 32 inside leg but when my jeans are all laid out side by side, they are far from being the same. Often measured the inside leg after buying online and it wouldn't be uncommon for them to be an inch or two out.

Don't get me started on shirts, sure the neck might be my size but the shoulders and chest would be for some hunk they imagined would buy the damn thing and the sides taper down to facilitate a toned stomach I ain't got either! Honestly, women haven no idea of the pressure us men are under when it comes to clothes shopping.

I was with you right up to that last sentence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Jon Stark wrote: »
    I wouldn't even call them has beens as to call them that would suggest they've actually achieved anything of note.

Bitter never weres might be a more apt description.

But that Thank You song is amazing. Never shall forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Honestly, women haven no idea of the pressure us men are under when it comes to clothes shopping.
    I know, I give myself 10 minutes total to go in, find something plain to wear pay, and get out again. Then I go home to see if I got the right sizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I don't know how the ladies put up with it, this clothes-size malarkey. It seems to depend largely on sunspot activity, what actual size a particular given size is this week in any given shop. I'd no more tolerate discovering that a pair of trousers in My Size was suddenly a different size than I would discovering a new torque-wrench was an order of magnitude inaccurate.

Oh and, that Pop-Tart one going on about the larger clothes is a simpleton, as you'd expect. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

jimgoose wrote: »
    I don't know how the ladies put up with it, this clothes-size malarkey. It seems to depend largely on sunspot activity, what actual size a particular given size is this week in any given shop. I'd no more tolerate discovering that a pair of trousers in My Size was suddenly a different size than I would discovering a new torque-wrench was an order of magnitude inaccurate.

Oh and, that Pop-Tart one going on about the larger clothes is a simpleton, as you'd expect. :pac:

You get used to it but it's bloody annoying. I recently bought two pairs of shorts in a certain high street shop, different styles but both size 12. One pair is slightly too big, the other I can't even close. And they are from the same shop!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

jimgoose wrote: »

I don't know if you're saying that based on her comment but watched an episode of Nevermind the Buzzcocks with her as a guest and she really didn't come across as the sharpest knife in the drawer at all - I remember thinking that then even before she made the comment in the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I've a grand pair of Celtic child-bearing hips on me, and fairly lean legs. I can occasionally find a pair of jeans in Topshop that fit (still have to try a few on), the rest of the time I have to wear ones that fit across the hips and are hanging off the legs. Hopefully it looks like I'm doing it on purpose. Because fashion or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Well, I have the contours of a goddess so sadly nothing in Irish shops fit me.

:pac::D:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I've a grand pair of Celtic child-bearing hips on me, and fairly lean legs. I can occasionally find a pair of jeans in Topshop that fit (still have to try a few on), the rest of the time I have to wear ones that fit across the hips and are hanging off the legs. Hopefully it looks like I'm doing it on purpose. Because fashion or something.

This is it in a nutshell. Women come in so many different shapes and sizes, that's why it's so hard to find a uniform size to fit all.

You can be pear shaped - size 12 will fit your waist, but not your hips.

Apple shaped - size 12 will slide up your hips, but not close around your waist.

Straight up and down - well, the size 12 might fit you, but it could look completely shapeless on your figure.

Let's not even go into the frustration of shopping for tops when you have bigger than average boobs and have to buy something two or three sizes bigger than normal just to accommodate the girls, whilst swamping your middle.

It was a stupid, mean comment to make from her and does nothing to help the self esteem of people watching who might be battling their own demons. Fat people aren't stupid - they know they're fat - they certainly don't need some one hit wonder rent-a-gob to make them feel like shit about themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I don't know if you're saying that based on her comment but watched an episode of Nevermind the Buzzcocks with her as a guest and she really didn't come across as the sharpest knife in the drawer at all - I remember thinking that then even before she made the comment in the OP.

I don't know the chungwan from Eve and had never heard of her. I just thought that was an utterly daft assertion to come out with. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

For f**ks sake this thread is just a place for women to humble-brag about the size of their boobs

Craftily done OP, so thinly veiled you almost got away with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

Something standardised would be great. A guy can, generally, measure his waist, walk into a shop and buy a size 32 inch waist trousers and they will fit grand, there's nothing like that for women; we're left trying to guess whether we're an 8 or a 12 in any given shop.

I was asking about this earlier!

A colleague I brought it up to today said that women are differently shaped, that they might have the chest of a size 16 but the waist of a size 10 or whatever.

I just thought to myself.. So why not just have a seperate measurement around the chest?

I am 6'4 with a 32 inch waist so some clothes would be short in the leg say. But if you get a pair that is measured by leg as well as waist it will fit you every time. Fail to see why women can't have something similar. Isn't that sort of what bra sizes are about no?

So confused...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

The problem with fat shaming is you generate fat acceptance and HAES crowd. That is promoting a unhealthy body image especially the likes of Tess Holiday. I'm two minds over clothing sizes as people need clothes and not feel shunned but there has to be a line for people were they think "This is getting out of hand. I won't be able to buy trousers for work if I continue".

A colleague I brought it up to today said that women are differently shaped, that they might have the chest of a size 16 but the waist of a size 10 or whatever.

I just thought to myself.. So why not just have a seperate measurement around the chest?

I am 6'4 with a 32 inch waist so some clothes would be short in the leg say. But if you get a pair that is measured by leg as well as waist it will fit you every time. Fail to see why women can't have something similar. Isn't that sort of what bra sizes are about no?

So confused...

Bravissimo/Pepperberry do something like this with their tops and dresses - everything has a dress size and a "curvy size". For example, a 10 Curvy would fit someone who was around a DD/E cup, a 10 Really Curvy would fit someone in the F/G cup range and a 10 Super Curvy would fit someone in the H/J cup range. The waist and hip measurements in each case correspond to a fairly standard size 10.

These women with H/J cup breasts and size 10 waists don't exist :D

awaits responses haha

Cormac... wrote: »
    These women with H/J cup breasts and size 10 waists don't exist :D

awaits responses haha

A 28/30H bust isn't as crazy as it sounds on a small frame :pac:

Big? Yes. Basketball sized? No.

A 28/30H bust isn't as crazy as it sounds on a small frame :pac:

Big? Yes. Basketball sized? No.

Are you speaking from experience?

yes, they have taken the bait, the space-hopper boobed ones will come out of the woodwork soon,

So confused...
    Basically because a shop could never stock enough. No shop would be able to stock, say, shirts in 28 waist 32A, 28W-32B, 28w-32C and so on and so on. You really just have to get the closest you can. It's a real pain if you have a large bust and a small waist; you're either swamped and look huge if you buy to fit your bust, or look like a trashy porn star if you buy to fit your waist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Shenshen wrote: »
    .......... Isn't that sort of what bra sizes are about no?

So confused...

No :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Most people who are fat are ashamed of it. Believe me. I've been fat. I was miserable.

But let me tell you why I was fat. I had lost my family in a car accident. I went sick from work. I was put on anti depressants. I didn't want to leave the house. I didn't want to cook dinner. I didn't want to go for a nice walk by the sea. And the fatter I got, the less I wanted to go out to do shopping. The more anti depressants I needed. The less I wanted to go for that nice walk by the sea. I was fat, and I had so much else going on in my head, that being fat only added to my misery.

It wasn't self discipline and gluttony. It was depression and medication.

So people get fat, they get fat for all sorts of reason, some of them are only codding themselves that they're genetically built that way, and some of them are only codding themselves that they have a slower metabolism than most, but some of those people are like that for other reasons that you and I will never know about.

I read a post from a poster here once who purposely put on weight because she had been sexually abused, so she actively sought to make herself unattractive.

So for those reasons, I try not to judge people who don't fit in to my ideal little box. I wish they would lose weight, I really do, but only because I know that there's unlikely anyone who's truly happy about the fact they're fat.

Thank god I got out the other side of all that and got fit, but I'm a very strong willed person. Not everyone is lucky enough to have that trait.

(and btw, size 0 is the American size. It's a UK 4. Any high street shop I've been in sell a size 6, many sell a size 4).

Yeah, just all of this tbh.

I think someone's attitude to fat people is generally a great measure of their intelligence tbh. The level of vitriol directed at them generally is proportionate to their dimwittedness or just general lack of education or compassion as a human being.

I think that's a fairly accurate read on yer wan Jamelia in this case. Hardly the brightest crayon in the box god love her.

We all know that vanity sizing is a thing, we all know that most frequently the fastest items off the clothing rack are the 14s and 16s with the 6s and 8s left gathering dust, we all know that too many women use the impossibly stick thin mannequin in the front window of River Island as a gauge of what they should be wearing as opposed to the actual mirror - with often cringe-inducing results. And that most Irish women are a size 14 and yes, that does qualify as overweight for a vast majority.

Does that mean that all these people who are carrying extra pounds should be banished to some sort of unmentionable 'bold corner' ("specialist shop")?

I'm an emotional eater, in good nick now but any time I've gained weight over the years how bad or ashamed I was made to feel was paralleled by the ensuing depression that would lead to more stress eating. That's a lot of people's story. Fat can be a coping mechanism for any number of traumatic reasons - that serves no purpose but to allow someone to shoot themselves in the foot repeatedly and continue in a downwards spiral of depression and basically wanting-to-be-dead because of their weight. It's a horrible rut to find yourself in, to hate the sight of yourself in the mirror.

Very, very few people are "fat and proud", despite the rhetoric, and bullying or banishing someone into submission as a tactic of solving the growing obesity problem is probably the most counter-productive approach you can take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

^^^^^^^

Stop talking sense, woman. We don't like your kind around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Jamelia record or plus sized big women.

I'll take ms plus size thanks. Those in glass houses love, stick a shoe in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,877 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

What's always amazed me is that different sizes in clothing cost the same. The same bolt of material can probably make 9/10 size 8's or 5/6 size 18's so you'd expect to pay less for the size 8 since it has less input costs.

Why should some guy who can fit into a 28" pair of jeans pay as much for them as I pay for the same jeans in a 34" when there's roughly a 16% difference in the size of the things we're buying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Sleepy wrote: »
    What's always amazed me is that different sizes in clothing cost the same. The same bolt of material can probably make 9/10 size 8's or 5/6 size 18's so you'd expect to pay less for the size 8 since it has less input costs.

Why should some guy who can fit into a 28" pair of jeans pay as much for them as I pay for the same jeans in a 34" when there's roughly a 16% difference in the size of the things we're buying?

I bought a pair of jeans recently in Next in a size 6 and the cost is the same for a size 6 and a size 26. It seems unfair to me.

In general for everything else when you want bigger then you pay extra.